fbpx
Escale – Carl Mayotte

Escale

Composers
Performers
Release date May 13, 2022
Album code AN 28836
Genres Jazz

Album information

A Stopover with Carl Mayotte

Bassist, composer and arranger, Carl Mayotte is recognized in the jazz world as an exceptional musician. With this third album, Escale, he presents a personal work, which he composed, interpreted and produced. An invitation to discover his universe. 

An improvised Escale

For this album, Carl Mayotte has opted for a different approach from the one he used for the two previous ones, where he would polish each musical line at length during the writing stage. This time, the emphasis is on spontaneous composition and improvisation, for a more organic and personal touch. This liberating method is reflected in every step of the album’s production, from sound recording to photography, from composition to recording.

This stopover in Carl Mayotte’s universe takes the electric bass out of its traditional role of accompaniment and allows us to discover the great versatility of the instrument. Carl Mayotte puts his virtuosity at the service of the music through his melodic and subtle playing that leaves plenty of room for his collaborators. By taking the paths of jazz fusion and improvisation, he reinvents the genre with a beautiful modernity by his choice of varied instrumentation from the harmonica to the kanoun. 

Young, gifted and virtuoso

Carl Mayotte started playing in bars in the Quebec City area at the age of 16. His music has taken him on trips to Quebec and France, and has allowed him to rub shoulders with a wide variety of styles, from Quebec singers like Bruno Pelletier to European big bands. 

Equipped with a solid academic background – a bachelor’s degree from Laval University in jazz performance, and a master’s degree in jazz from McGill University – he embarked on directing and arranging, collaborating with artists like Chloé Sainte-Marie  as well as a symphony orchestra and a choir. In 2019, his first album, Fantosme, was released, concocted with musician and UZEB alumnus Michel Cusson. It will be followed, two years later, by Pop de Ville Vol.1, an ode to jazz fusion and Japanese city pop.

Named Radio-Canada Jazz Revelation 2020-2021, he was nominated at the ADISQ Gala in the category Jazz Album of the Year.

 

Read more

About

Carl Mayotte
0

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
Escale – Carl Mayotte

Escale

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 13 mai 2022
Numéro de l'album AN 28836
Genres Jazz

Informations sur l'album

Une Escale avec Carl Mayotte

Bassiste, compositeur et arrangeur âgé de 25 ans, Carl Mayotte est reconnu, dans le monde du jazz, comme un musicien exceptionnel. Avec ce troisième album, Escale, il signe une œuvre personnelle, qu’il a composée, interprétée et réalisée. Une invitation à découvrir son univers. 

Une Escale improvisée

Pour cet album, Carl Mayotte a choisi une approche différente de celle empruntée pour les deux précédents, où il peaufinait longuement chaque ligne musicale à l’étape de l’écriture. Cette fois-ci, l’emphase est mise sur la composition spontanée et l’improvisation, pour une approche plus organique et plus personnelle. Cette démarche libératrice se reflète dans toutes les étapes de la réalisation de l’album, de la prise de son à celle de la photographie, de la composition à l’enregistrement.

Cette escale dans l’univers de Carl Mayotte décloisonne la basse électrique de son rôle d’accompagnement et nous fait découvrir la grande polyvalence de l’instrument. Carl Mayotte met sa virtuosité au service de la musique par son jeu mélodique qui laisse une grande place à ses collaborateurs. En empruntant les chemins du jazz fusion et de l’improvisation, il réinvente le genre avec une belle modernité par son choix d’instrumentation variée allant de l’harmonica jusqu’au  kanoun. 

Jeune, surdoué et virtuose

Carl Mayotte a fait ses classes en jouant dans les bars de la région de Québec, dès l’âge de 16 ans. Sa musique l’emmène en voyage au Québec et en France et lui permet de se frotter à tous les styles, de Bruno Pelletier aux big bands européens. 

Fort d’un solide bagage universitaire – un baccalauréat de l’université Laval en interprétation jazz, et une maîtrise en jazz de l’université McGill – il se lance dans la réalisation et les arrangements, collaborant aussi bien avec Chloé Sainte-Marie qu’avec un orchestre symphonique ou une chorale. En 2019, paraît son premier disque, Fantosme, concocté avec le musicien et ancien d’UZEB, Michel Cusson. Il sera suivi, deux ans plus tard, par  Pop de Ville Vol.1, ode au jazz fusion et au city pop japonais.

Nommé révélation Jazz Radio-Canada en 2020, il était en nomination au Gala de l’ADISQ dans la catégorie Album jazz de l’année.

Lire la suite

À propos

Carl Mayotte
0

Start typing and press Enter to search