fbpx
AN 2 9842-3

Haydn op.33 (2CD)

Performers
Release date October 02, 2012
Album code AN 2 9842-3
Periods Baroque

Album information

Haydn, Op. 33

In the summer and early autumn of 1781, Joseph Haydn began work on the six quartets we know today as Op. 33, or more eruditely as Hoboken III: 37-42. They are also known popularly as the “Jungferne” quartets, the “Russian” quartets and “gli scherzi”.

In the late autumn of that year, Haydn sent letters to several “gentleman amateurs, great connoisseurs and patrons of music” inviting them to subscribe to manuscript parts of “for the price of 6 ducats… 6 Quartets for 2 violins, viola and violoncello concertante… written in a new and special way.” That Haydn was in a position to send such a letter was due to the wonderful gift Prince Nicolaus Esterhazy gave his Kapellmeister in 1779 – license to write whatever works he chose for sale outside of his duties at the Esterhazy court.

Haydn’s German phrase describing the pieces was “von einer Neu, gantz besonderer Art”, so indeed, Haydn’s “new and special way” might also be rendered as “new and completely different” or even “novel and entirely exquisite”.
To put the price into perspective, a decent set of clothes tailored in Vienna cost 7 Ducats; Haydn’s official salary from the Prince was 600 Ducats/annum, although in fact, with additional awards, his earnings were nearer 1000.

Three of Haydn’s letters trying to sell subscriptions for the quartets still exist. The first is addressed to Johann Kaspar Lavater, a Swiss poet, and one of the leading exponents of the Sturm und Drang movement. The second is addressed to Robert Schlecht, Cistercian Abbott of Salmannsweiler in Land Baden (a musically significant hub) a repeat customer, having acquired Haydn’s Symphony No. 24 in 1773. The third is to Prince Oettingen-Wallerstein, whose court was a hotbed of chamber music activity. Beyond hiring an excellent orchestra and fine composers, he encouraged traveling musicians to perform at court there, hosting, among many others, Beethoven in 1787 and Haydn on his first journey to London, in 1791.

Haydn anticipated selling 16 such subscriptions, representing approximately one sixth of his annual official pay. In December, 1781, he sent the quartets to his primary publisher, the Viennese house of Artaria, understanding that they would be published after he had satisfied his subscribers. Artaria, however, had the pieces engraved very quickly, and offered them for sale on December 29, 1781. This enraged Haydn, who stood to lose a considerable sum, and he immediately ceased all further correspondence with Artaria (Artaria’s selling price for the engraved quartets was 4 gulden, which represented about 14% of the 6 Ducats Haydn was asking for the manuscript parts). Two weeks later, realizing perhaps the advantage of the long-term relationship with Artaria, Haydn had calmed down; within a month of that, Haydn offered the quartets to Hummel in Berlin, and Forester in London, both of whom published them that year. The Hummel edition featured an engraving of a young maiden, or “Jungferne”, the first of the popular names for the quartets. All of this activity points to the significance and popularity of the works, which were consumed almost exclusively by amateur performers; the notion of a public, professional string quartet concert in most of Europe was still several decades away.

The first documented performance of the quartets was in the chambers of the Russian Grand Duke Paul (later Tsar Paul I). Haydn inscribed a dedication on the manuscript copy of the quartets that he gave to the Grand Duke, hence the second popular nickname, the “Russian” Quartets.

The third popular name, “gli scherzi” or “the Jokes”, speaks to the music itself. For the first time in his quartets, Haydn replaces the minuet movement with one entitled scherzo; while all six movements share essentially the same form, they demonstrate incredible variety of texture and invention. In the trio section of the scherzo of Op. 33, No. 2 in E flat major (Hob. III: 38, which is itself known as “the Joke”), Haydn specifies fingerings in the first violin part that imply sliding between the pitches (perhaps a slightly tipsy tavern fiddler?). The last movement of the same piece features an elaborate joke, with several false endings, finishing with precisely the same two measures as it began. Haydn again uses the technique of reprise in the opening movement of Op. 33, No. 5 (Hob. III: 41, the “How do you do?”) again using a two-measure unit. As these pieces were intended for private consumption, they are also full of jokes for the performers themselves. One of our favourites is in the last movement of Op. 33, No. 4 (Hob. III: 40), in which the first violinist has awkward string crossings at breakneck speed, while the second violinist essentially fills in the first violinist’s part in the higher octave; what we hear is a simple line, what we see is Haydn torturing the first violinist, making him work a great deal harder than absolutely necessary!

© Patrick Jordan

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9842-3

Haydn op.33 (2CD)

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 02 octobre 2012
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9842-3
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

L’opus 33 de Haydn

À l’été et au début de l’automne 1781, Joseph Haydn commence à travailler sur ce que nous connaissons aujourd’hui sous le numéro d`opus 33, identifié de façon plus érudite par le numéro de catalogue Hoboken III: 37-42, connu de façon populaire sous les surnoms « Jungferne » (jeune fille), « russes » et « gli scherzi ».

À la fin de l’automne, Haydn envoie des lettres à plusieurs « gentlemen amateurs, grands connaisseurs et mécènes musicaux », les invitant à souscrire aux partitions manuscrites « au prix de 6 ducats… 6 quatuors pour 2 violons, alto et violoncelle concertante … dans un genre tout à fait nouveau». Haydn pouvait se permettre d’envoyer une telle lettre grâce au merveilleux cadeau que le prince Nicolaus Esterhazy avait offert à son Kapellmeister en 1779 : la liberté d’écrire et vendre toute œuvre non conçues dans le cadre de ses fonctions à la cour Esterhazy.

Les termes allemands utilisés par Haydn pour décrire les œuvres, « von einer neu, gantz besonderer Art », traduits par «d’un genre nouveau, particulier », peuvent aussi signifier « nouveau et entièrement différent» ou encore « nouveau et entièrement exquis ».

Histoire de mettre le prix en perspective, un habit fait sur mesure à Vienne coûtait 7 ducats, le salaire officiel de Haydn payé par le prince était de 600 ducats par année, même si, grâce aux attributions supplémentaires, ses revenus avoisinaient plutôt 1000 ducats.

Trois des lettres dans lesquelles Haydn tente de vendre ses quatuors existent toujours. La première est adressée à Johann Kaspar Lavater, un poète suisse, et l’un des représentants les plus importants du mouvement Sturm und Drang. La deuxième est adressée à Robert Schlecht, abbé cistercien de Salmannsweiler dans le Land Baden (une plaque tournante musicale importante), client régulier, qui s’était déjà porté acquéreur de la Symphonie no 24 en 1773. La troisième était destinée au prince Oeetingen-Wallerstein, dont la cour bouillonnait d’activité musicale. En plus d’engager un excellent orchestre et de réputés compositeurs, il encourageait les musiciens de passage à jouer chez lui, accueillant notamment Beethoven en 1787 et Haydn lors de son premier voyage à Londres en 1791.

Haydn pensait vendre 16 souscriptions, ce qui aurait représenté approximativement le sixième de son salaire annuel. En décembre 1781, Haydn transmit les quatuors à son éditeur principal, la maison viennoise Artaria, prenant pour acquis qu’ils seraient publiés une fois ses souscripteurs contentés. Toutefois, Artaria grava rapidement les pièces et les mit en vente le 29 décembre 1781. Cela enragea Haydn qui, de cette façon, allait perdre une importante somme; il cessa séance tenante toute correspondance avec Artaria (le prix proposé par l’éditeur pour les quatuors gravés était de 4 guldens, ce qui représentait environ 14 % des 6 ducats demandés par Haydn pour les copies manuscrites). Deux semaines plus tard, réalisant peut-être les avantages d’une collaboration à long terme avec Artaria, Haydn se calma; un mois après, il offrit les quatuors à Hummel à Berlin et Forester à Londres, qui tous deux les publièrent cette même année. L’édition Hummel proposait en couverture la gravure d’une jeune fille, ou « jungferne », le premier des surnoms populaires des quatuors. Ceci démontre l’importance et la popularité des œuvres, achetés presque exclusivement par les musiciens amateurs, le concept même du concert de quatuor à cordes ne devenant réalité que quelques décennies plus tard.

La première interprétation documentée des quatuors prit place dans les appartements du grand-duc russe Paul (qui devait devenir le tsar Paul I). Haydn inscrivit une dédicace sur la copie manuscrite des quatuors qu’il offrit au grand-duc, d’où le deuxième surnom populaire, les quatuors « russes ».

Le troisième, « gli scherzi » ou « la plaisanterie » est lié à la musique elle-même. Pour la première fois dans ses quatuors, Haydn a remplacé le menuet par un scherzo identifié comme tel. Même si les six adoptent une forme semblable, on y retrouve une incroyable variété de textures et d’invention. Dans le trio du scherzo de l’opus 33 no 2 en mi bémol majeur (Hob. III : 38, connu sous le nom de «la plaisanterie»), Haydn précise des doigtés dans la partie du premier violon qui suppose des glissements entre les notes (peut-être portrait d’un violoneux de taverne légèrement éméché?). Le dernier mouvement de la même pièce propose une farce élaborée, comportant plusieurs fausses finales, avant de se terminer précisément par les mêmes deux mesures du début. Puisque ces pièces étaient conçues pour un usage privé, elles sont également remplies de blagues pour les interprètes eux-mêmes, l’une des préférées se voulant le dernier mouvement de l’opus 33 no 6 (Hob. III : 40), dans lequel le premier violon multiplie les sauts de cordes à vitesse grand V, alors que le deuxième violon fait plus ou moins du remplissage de la partie du premier violon à l’octave supérieure; nous entendons une simple ligne, alors qu’Haydn semble torturer le premier violon qui travaille bien plus que nécessaire!

© Patrick Jordan
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers
AN 2 9520 Clarke Ravel The End of Flowers

Start typing and press Enter to search