fbpx
AN 2 9914

Joseph Leopold Eybler: String Quartet Op.1, Nos 1-3

Composers
Performers
Release date September 19, 2006
Album code AN 2 9914
Periods Classique
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

Eybler Quartet

The Eybler Quartet came together in late 2004 to explore the works of the first century of the string quartet, with a healthy attention to lesser known composers such as their namesake, Joseph Leopold Edler von Eybler. The group plays on instruments appropriate to the period of the music it performs. In its brief but busy existence, the Toronto-based ensemble has consistently garnered praise for their “glowing and committed,” “spirited,” and “lively and energizing” live performances.
Violinists Julia Wedman and Aisslinn Nosky, and violist Patrick G. Jordan, are all members of Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra; Julia and Aisslinn are also members of I FURIOSI Baroque Ensemble. ‘Cellist Margaret Gay is much in demand as both a modern and period instrument player.

The group brings a unique combination of talents and skills: years of collective experience as chamber musicians, technical prowess, experienced in period instrument performance, and an unquenchable passion for the repertoire. This world premiere recording of Eybler’s Opus 1 is also the premiere recording of the group.

A successful working career doesn’t guarantee a place in posterity. Such was the fate of Joseph Leopold Edler von Eybler. His professional life, replete with official court positions, would have been conventionally regarded as more successful than Mozart’s, yet Eybler languishes today in obscurity. We are delighted to be part of an effort to reintroduce his charming and distinctive voice.

Eybler’s life (1765-1846) spanned virtually the whole of the Classical period; he crossed paths with most of the major figures of the day. He was a distant cousin of the Haydns, and like them was a choirboy at Vienna’s St. Stephan’s Cathedral. In a letter of recommendation from 1793, Johann Albrechtsberger (Beethoven’s teacher in later years) wrote that “…after Mozart, he (Eybler) is the greatest musical genius to be found in Vienna.” He knew the Baron van Swieten, the musical antiquarian who introduced Bach and Handel to the musical cognoscenti of Vienna ca. 1775-1800. Wolfgang Mozart engaged Eybler as vocal coach for the premiere of Così fan tutte, and the two remained very close friends until Mozart’s death in 1791. Constanza Mozart, seeking a completion of Mozart’s unfinished Requiem, turned first to Eybler; he finished the Sequenz but was overcome by awe for his departed friend’s genius, and left off having barely begun the Lacrimosa.

In 1792 Eybler was appointed Choirmaster at the Carmelite Church in Vienna, and two years later was promoted to the same position at the Scottish Monastery. In 1804 he was appointed Deputy Hofkapellmeister under Antonio Salieri, and in 1824, succeeded him as Hofkapellmeister to the Emperor. As Hofkapellmeister, he had the dubious distinction of rejecting Franz Schubert’s Mass in A flat when it was presented for performance in 1825. Eybler suffered a stroke in 1833, ironically while conducting Mozart’s Requiem.

The three quartets of Eybler’s Opus 1 were completed in April, 1787; they were the first works published by the Viennese house of Johann Traeg in 1794. The engraved parts, especially the first violin, are elegant but not free of errors. The plates were later sold to Artaria of Vienna and republished.

During the early 1780s, Eybler established a close epistolary relationship with Joseph Haydn, a constant champion of the younger composer’s works; Opus 1 is dedicated to Haydn. Eybler’s works show Haydn’s influence, especially in their formal inventiveness. The quartets also point to Eybler’s acquaintance with the works of his friend Mozart. Throughout, Eybler reveals his own voice as infectiously lyrical and harmonically adventurous.

Opus 1, no. 1, in D Major opens with a brief Adagio introduction to a sonata-form movement, which develops its chromatic first theme material, and forgoes a restatement of the same in the recapitulation. The Minuet and Trio is straightforward, opening with an echo of the second theme of the first movement. The slow movement is in binary form, lavishly demonstrating Eybler’s lyrical gift. The last movement is a theme and variations, employing the standard techniques of elaboration and including a minor key variation. Eybler cunningly re-introduces the chromatic first theme of the first movement in the Finale’s coda.

Opus 1, no. 2 in C Minor is a brooding sonata-form movement, which like the Opus 1, no. 1, avoids a literal recapitulation. The development of this movement begins with a restatement of the opening material in the distant key of G-flat major. The lyrical slow movement, muted in all the parts, deflects the intensity of the first movement. The C-minor Minuet is powerful, opening with strong imitative two-part writing; the Trio offers a very playful, major key respite. The C-minor last movement is in sonata form, based on dramatic material the development of which takes us on a harmonic adventure from G major, through F minor to D-flat major. Eybler again sidesteps the literal recapitulation, but makes his way back to C minor to close with the same dramatic power of the opening.

The first movement of Opus 1, no. 3 in B-flat Major departs from the conventional sonata form, offering instead a binary form. It begins with a brief introduction and features an interrupted cadence that shifts the movement to the relatively remote keys of D-flat major in the first section and G-flat major in the second. The coda reflects the material of the introduction as a bookend to the movement. The harmonically ambiguous opening of the movement sets the tone for the entire piece. The binary-form Adagio begins in G minor but ends us up in G major. The Minuet and Trio are resolutely in B-flat major, but the quartet’s tone of ambiguity is maintained in the second half of the Minuet by a section in 5/4 time. It is worth noting the similarity of texture and material in Eybler’s Trio to that of the Trio in Mozart’s quartet in D Minor, K. 421. Both feature the first violin playing an arpeggiated figure accompanied by pizzicato; the arpeggiated figure is reinforced by the viola at the octave at the end of both movements. The last movement, while true to the harmonic ambiguity of the piece as a whole, is in sonata form with a substantial development and a full, if cleverly disguised, recapitulation.

Finally, we must consider the place of Eybler’s Opus 1 in his greater output. They are early works, completed when the composer was a mere 22 years old. The designation Opus 1 is misleading, since three of Eybler’s keyboard sonatas were published in 1787, seven years before “Opus 1”. In her biographical sketch of Eybler accompanying the thematic catalogue of his works, Hildegard Herrmann has suggested that Eybler faced an existential crisis of needing to please the aristocracy at the expense of being able to express himself freely. While that may be an incisive observation concerning his entire output, and accepting that Eybler’s later work is more conventional, these quartets predate any of his official positions at court. Through their formal ingenuity and harmonic challenges, the quartets of Opus 1 offer us a more youthful and possibly less jaded Eybler.

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9914

Joseph Leopold Eybler: Quatuor à cordes Op.1, Nos 1-3

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 19 septembre 2006
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9914
Periodes Classique

Informations sur l'album

Le Quatuor Eybler s’est constitué à la fin de 2004 dans le but d’approfondir les œuvres du premier siècle du quatuor à cordes, avec une attention toute spéciale pour les compositeurs moins connus, tels Joseph Leopold Edler von Eybler, qui a donné son nom à l’ensemble. Le Quatuor Eybler joue sur des instruments qui conviennent à l’époque de la musique qu’il interprète. Au cours de son existence brève mais intense, cet ensemble de Toronto a toujours été louangé pour ses exécutions publiques  » lumineuses et engagées « ,  » pleines d’esprit  » et  » vivantes et stimulantes « .
Les violonistes Julia Wedman et Aisslinn Nosky et l’altiste Patrick G. Jordan sont tous membres de l’orchestre baroque Tafelmusik; Julia et Aisslinn font aussi partie de l’ensemble baroque I FURIOSI. La violoncelliste Margaret Gay est une interprète fort sollicitée tant sur instrument moderne que d’époque.

L’ensemble réunit de manière toute singulière les diverses compétences et talents de ses membres : des années d’expérience en tant que chambristes, la prouesse technique, la pratique assidue des instruments d’époque ainsi qu’une passion inextinguible pour le répertoire. Cette première mondiale sur disque des quatuors opus 1 d’Eybler est également le premier enregistrement de l’ensemble.

Une carrière reluisante n’est pas garante d’une place de choix dans les annales de l’histoire. Tel a été le sort de Joseph Leopold Edler von Eybler. Sa vie professionnelle, émaillée de nombreux postes officiels à la cour, aurait normalement valu à Eybler d’avoir droit à plus de considération même que Mozart. Et pourtant, il est aujourd’hui tombé dans l’oubli. Nous sommes ravis de contribuer à sortir de l’ombre l’œuvre charmante et personnelle de ce compositeur négligé.

La vie d’Eybler (1765-1846) s’étend sur presque toute la période classique et il a rencontré la plupart des figures marquantes de son époque. Il était un cousin éloigné des frères Haydn et, comme eux, a chanté garçon dans le chœur de la cathédrale St-Stéphane de Vienne. Dans une lettre de recommandation datée de 1793, Johann Albrechtsberger — qui devait plus tard enseigner à Beethoven —, a écrit :  » après Mozart, il [Eybler] est le plus grand génie musical que compte Vienne.  » Il connaissait le baron van Swieten, le grand expert de musique ancienne qui avait fait découvrir Bach et Handel à l’élite musicale de Vienne dans les années 1775-1800. Wolfgang Mozart avait fait appel à Eybler comme répétiteur vocal pour la première de Così fan tutte et les deux sont demeurés proches jusqu’à la mort de Mozart en 1791. Constance Mozart, cherchant à faire compléter le Requiem inachevé de son mari, s’est tourné en premier vers Eybler. Il a achevé la Séquence, mais, paralysé d’admiration pour son défunt ami, a abandonné après seulement quelques mesures du Lacrymosa.

En 1792, Eybler a été nommé chef de chœur de l’église carmélite de Vienne. Deux années plus tard il s’est vu promu au même poste au monastère écossais. En 1804, il a été nommé Hofkapellmeister adjoint sous Antonio Salieri et lui succéda en 1824 comme Hofkapellmeister de l’empereur. À ce titre, il lui est revenu le triste honneur de rejeter la Messe en la bémol majeur de Franz Schubert lorsque celle-ci a été proposée pour une exécution en 1825. En 1833, assez ironiquement en dirigeant le Requiem de Mozart, Eybler a eu une attaque d’apoplexie.

Les trois quatuors de l’opus 1 d’Eybler ont été complétés en avril 1787; ce furent les premières œuvres publiées par la maison Johann Treag de Vienne en 1794. Les parties gravées, surtout celle du premier violon, sont élégantes mais non exemptes d’erreurs. Les plaques ont plus tard été vendues à la maison Artaria de Vienne, qui en ont réalisé une réédition.

Au début des années 1780, Eybler a établi une relation épistolaire régulière avec Joseph Haydn, un champion de tous les instants des œuvres du jeune compositeur. Cet opus 1 lui est dédié. Ces œuvres d’Eybler montrent l’influence de Haydn, surtout par leur invention sur le plan formel. De surcroît, les quatuors laissent entrevoir la familiarité d’Eybler avec les œuvres de son ami Mozart. Toutefois, Eybler y révèle partout le lyrisme contagieux de sa voix propre, où transparaît aussi la hardiesse de ses harmonies.

L’opus 1 no 1 en ré majeur s’ouvre sur une brève introduction Adagio qui fait place à un mouvement de forme sonate développant le matériau chromatique de son thème initial, tout en évitant de le présenter à nouveau lors de la récapitulation. Le Menuet – Trio de facture traditionnelle présente en son début une réminiscence du second thème du premier mouvement. Le mouvement lent binaire démontre à merveille le don mélodique d’Eybler. Le dernier mouvement, un thème et variations, emploie les techniques habituelles d’élaboration, dont une variation en mode mineur. Eybler fait preuve de finesse en faisant réentendre le thème initial chromatique du premier mouvement dans la coda de ce Finale.

L’opus 1 no 2 en do mineur débute sur un inquiétant mouvement de forme sonate qui, tel l’opus 1 no 1, évite une récapitulation littérale. Le développement de ce mouvement s’ouvre sur une reprise du matériau initial dans le ton très éloigné de sol bémol majeur. Le mouvement lent lyrique, avec sourdines dans toutes les parties, vient déjouer l’intensité du premier mouvement. Le robuste Menuet en do mineur commence avec une solide écriture imitative à deux voix; le Trio, quant à lui, offre un heureux répit en majeur. Le dernier mouvement, en do mineur, est de forme sonate. Son matériau très dramatique nous fait voyager au cours du développement de sol majeur à fa mineur, pour aboutir à ré bémol majeur. À nouveau Eybler évite une récapitulation exacte, mais nous ramène au do mineur pour terminer avec le même impact dramatique qu’au début.

Le premier mouvement de l’opus 1 no 3 en si bémol majeur esquive la forme sonate conventionnelle, proposant en lieu et place une forme binaire. Il s’ouvre sur une brève introduction où une cadence rompue nous mène vers les tonalités plutôt éloignées de ré bémol majeur dans la première partie et de sol bémol majeur dans la seconde. L’ambiguïté harmonique du début du mouvement donne le ton à la pièce tout entière. L’Adagio de forme binaire commence en sol mineur pour se terminer en sol majeur. Le Menuet et le Trio sont tous deux résolument en si bémol majeur, mais l’atmosphère d’ambiguïté y est maintenue grâce au passage de mesure 5/4 dans la seconde partie du Menuet. Notez la parenté de texture et de matériau du Trio d’Eybler avec le même mouvement dans le Quatuor en ré mineur, K. 421 de Mozart. Les deux présentent une figure arpégée au premier violon accompagnée par des pizzicatos. La figure arpégée est renforcée à l’octave dans la partie d’alto à la fin des deux mouvements. Le dernier mouvement, bien que toujours fidèle à l’ambiguïté harmonique de l’ensemble du quatuor, est de forme sonate avec un imposant développement et une récapitulation adroitement dissimulée mais complète.

Enfin, il convient de considérer la place de l’opus 1 d’Eybler parmi la totalité de sa production. Il s’agit là d’œuvres de jeunesse composées lorsque Eybler n’avait que 22 ans. La dénomination  » opus 1  » porte cependant à confusion puisque trois sonates pour clavier d’Eybler avaient été publiées en 1787, soit sept ans avant cet  » opus 1 « . Dans l’esquisse biographique qui accompagne son catalogue thématique des œuvres d’Eybler, Hildegard Herrmann a suggéré qu’Eybler ait fait face à une sorte de crise existentielle, devant se plier aux goûts de l’aristocratie plutôt que de pouvoir s’exprimer librement. Alors qu’il s’agit là peut-être d’une observation perspicace au sujet de l’ensemble de son œuvre — puisqu’il faut bien admettre que ses œuvres plus tardives sont plus conventionnelles —, ces quatuors précédent tous ses postes officiels à la cour. À travers leurs plans formels ingénieux et leurs audaces harmoniques, les quatuors de l’opus 1 offrent le portrait d’un Eybler plus ardent et peut-être moins désabusé.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ground Midnight | James Gelfand TrioRavel, Boudreau, Rimsky-Korsakov: The Bounds of our Dreams / Aux Frontières de nos Rêves | Alain Lefèvre, National Arts Centre Orchestra & Alexander Shelley