fbpx
AN 2 9972

Nin, Wolf, Bizet: Gardens of Spain

Release date October 05, 2010
Album code AN 2 9972
Periods 20th century
Genres Recitative

Album information

As one of Canada’s foremost sopranos, Lyne Fortin is as much at ease on the greatest operas stages that as guest with orchestras or in recital. Here, she invites us on a visit of the Gardens of Spain, in a program that include new takes on popular old songs dressed up in the shades of Nin, Delibes, Bizet or Obradors, as well as troublingly beautiful young girls whom Richard Strauss transforms into flowers.

Spanish Gardens

Escape to a garden in Spain. Get caught up in its luxuriant flora, the precision of its outlines. Hear water trickling through the canals, feel the wind that flutters the leaves. Abandon yourself to the scent of opulent vegetation. Flee the heat on a stone bench or at the foot of a fruit tree. Let time melt away listening to popular old songs dressed up in the shades of Nin or Obradors, savour Wolf’s interpretation of old Spanish poetry, seek out the Iberian nuances hidden within French compositions, or allow yourself to be seduced by troublingly beautiful young girls whom Richard Strauss transforms into flowers. Many are the ways to assimilate the essence of an idealized Spain, as varied as its own roots.

Though many view its music as a poor cousin to the German, French and Italian traditions, few countries can boast of a musical history richer than that of Spain. Because of its particular geographical location, it can lay claim to both Mediterranean and Islamic influences; to the Visigoth culture, which instilled an original notation system in which the reading of notes, modes and rhythms were closely linked; to French ascendancy, as manifested in the spread of polyphony; and to a fascination with the first Italian operas, a genre to which the zarzuela is related.

At the end of the 19th century, moved by a burgeoning of national sentiment and becoming fully aware of the musical genius emerging from their land—a realization magnified even further by Spanish-styled works from the pens of Liszt and Glinka, but above all by the French composers Delibes, Bizet, Lalo, Chabrier, and Ravel—Spanish musicians finally achieved emancipation and, in 1891, signed the manifesto Por nuestra música, an initiative of Felipe Pedrell. “Musically purified and morally ennobled,” Spanish folklore began to appear in works by Albéniz, Granados and de Falla, as well as those by Nin and Obradors, who employed numerous regional references and linked Castilian, Catalonian, and Andalusian traditions.

And like the region itself, Spanish folklore has a variety of flavours; to confine it to Flamenco melismas and rhythms would be needlessly reductionist. Initially invaded by the Moors before becoming a land of refuge for the gypsies, Andalusia thus became a remarkable melting-pot of different musical styles. Byzantine chant, Berber laments, Greek modes, the cantillation practiced in synagogues, and even Gregorian plainchant and Indian raga—all were integrated into and unified in the cante jondo, a timeless form that attracts ordinary people and trained musicians alike. In it, farrucas, malagueñas, tiranas to the Virgin Mary, fandangos, zapateados, polos and many other dances all become extensions of a single gesture, a single ethos.

Born in Cuba, Joaquín Nin (1879–1949) grew up in Spain and continued his studies in Paris with Moritz Moszkowski and Vincent d’Indy at the Schola Cantorum (where he would himself teach from 1905 to 1908). Even if, as a composer and pianist, Nin travelled Europe and Latin America defending the old Spanish masters, he is known today primarily for his important musicological work, his publication of forgotten manuscripts, and his harmonization of old songs, including the collection 20 cantos populares españoles, published in 1923.
While he learned the piano from his mother, as a composer Fernando Obradors (1897–1945) was completely self-taught in composition, harmony and counterpoint. As conductor of the Gran Canaria Philharmonic Orchestra, the Liceo Orchestra and Barcelona Radio Orchestra, he wrote numerous symphonies and zarzuelas, but his most important works were his Canciones clásicas españolas, published in four volumes between 1921 and 1941. His essentially neoclassical arrangements of traditional Catalan songs possess a lightness that is both charming and contagious.

The place of Hugo Wolf (1860–1903) in history was assured during his lifetime, thanks especially to the major cycles of lieder he wrote over a very brief span. After treating texts by Mörike, Eichendorff and Goethe, he turned, between 1889 and April 1890, to 44 Spanish poems of the 16th and 17th centuries, translated into German by Emanuel Geibel and Paul Heyse; some of these poems were sacred (including Die ihr schwebet), but most were secular. The mood of these works walks a delicate tightrope, fluctuating between tears and smiles, shade and light, tenderness and passion, each one displaying an admirable individuality. “What I am writing now, I write for the future,” wrote Wolf in a letter. “There has not been anything like it since Schubert and Schumann.”

Richard Strauss (1864–1949) worked in a variety of musical genres during his prolific career, whether it be chamber music, the symphonic poem or opera. But only one accompanied him throughout his long life, from his compositional infancy at the age of six to his very last breath, with Malven nearly 80 years later (a work kept secret by soprano Maria Jeritza until her death in 1982): the lied. Mädchenblumen, composed in 1888 to poems by Felix Dahn, is a collection bursting with lyricism that conveys with sensitivity and sensuality the various emotions evoked by the texts, which compare young girls to their floral equivalents, an acceptable literary gesture in the 19th century. In “Kornblumen,” the flowing softness of the cornflower is found in the piano part, while in “Mohnblumen,” Strauss evokes the vibrant energy of the poppy in a series of trills over which the vocal part pours out. In “Epheu,” the arpeggiated accompaniment binds to the vocal line like the invasive ivy it represents, while the cycle ends with “Wasserrose,” a delicate, fanciful hymn to the exotic beauty of the woman, who, even as she sings I do not love you, invites you to open your heart to her.

Read more

About

AN 6 1050
AN 6 1050
AN 6 1050
AN 6 1050

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9972

Nin, Wolf, Bizet: Jardins d'Espagne

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 05 octobre 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9972
Periodes XXe siècle
Genres Récit vocal

Informations sur l'album

L’une des plus grandes voix du Canada, Lyne Fortin mène une carrière multiforme, qui lui permet d’aborder avec autant de conviction les plus grands rôles opératiques que le concert ou le récital. Elle nous propose ici une incursion dans les Jardins d’Espagne, programme qui comprend aussi bien des chansons populaires habillées de nouveaux coloris par Nin, Delibes, Bizet ou Obradors que des odes à la beauté de jeunes filles en fleur signées Richard Strauss.

Jardins d’Espagne

S’évader dans un jardin en Espagne. Se laisser happer par la luxuriance de la flore, la clarté des lignes esquissées. Percevoir le ruissellement de l’eau dans les canaux, le vent qui fait osciller les feuilles. S’abandonner au parfum des plantes opulentes. Fuir la chaleur en s’installant sur un banc de pierre ou au pied d’un arbre fruitier. Attendre que le temps se dissolve en écoutant des chansons populaires surannées habillées des coloris de Nin ou Obradors, savourer les relectures de poèmes de jadis de Wolf, rechercher les nuances ibériques au cœur de pages françaises ou accepter d’être séduit par ces jeunes filles à la beauté troublante qui deviennent fleurs sous le regard de Richard Strauss. Voilà autant de façons de s’approprier une Espagne sublimée, essentielle, aussi multiple que ses racines.

On la perçoit parent pauvre des traditions allemandes, françaises ou Italiennes, mais peu de nations peuvent se vanter d’un passé musical aussi prestigieux que celui de l’Espagne. Par sa situation géographique particulière, le pays se réclame à la fois d’influences méditerranéennes et islamiques, de la culture wisigothique qui y inculqua une notation originale, liant intimement lecture des notes, des modes et des rythmes, de l’ascendant français qui se manifesta par un déploiement de la polyphonie ou de la fascination exercée par les premiers opéras italiens, genre dont la zarzuela se veut le prolongement.

À la fin du XIXe siècle, mus par un réveil du sentiment national et prenant pleine conscience du génie musical à émerger de leur territoire, réalisation magnifiée par les pages que lui consacrent Liszt et Glinka, mais surtout les Français Delibes, Bizet, Lalo, Chabrier et Ravel, les musiciens espagnols s’émancipent enfin et adhèrent, en 1891, au manifeste Por nuestra música, initié par Felipe Pedrell. « Purifié musicalement et ennobli moralement », le folklore est intégré aux œuvres d’Albéniz, Granados et de Falla, mais aussi à celles de Nin et Obradors, qui multiplient les références régionalistes et lient traditions castillane, catalane et andalouse.

À l’image de cette région, le folklore espagnol se décline de multiples façons; le confiner aux mélismes et aux rythmes du flamenco se révélerait inutilement réducteur. D’abord envahie par les Maures avant de devenir terre de refuge pour les gitans, l’Andalousie a ainsi su établir une remarquable synthèse des musiques rencontrées sur son territoire, du chant byzantin aux mélopées berbères, des modes grecs à la cantillation pratiquée dans les synagogues ou même du plain-chant grégorien aux raga indiens, en les unissant dans le cante jondo, forme intemporelle qui séduit aussi bien le peuple que les musiciens cultivés. Farrucas, malagueñas, tiranas à la Vierge, fandangos, zapateados, polos et tant d’autres danses se transforment en autant de déclinaisons d’un même geste, d’un même souffle.

Né à Cuba, Joaquín Nin (1879-1949) a grandi en Espagne puis a poursuivi ses études à Paris, auprès de Moritz Moszkowski et de Vincent d’Indy à la Schola Cantorum (où il enseignera lui-même de 1905 à 1908). Même si, en tant que compositeur et pianiste, Nin sillonne l’Europe et l’Amérique latine en défendant les vieux maîtres espagnols, on reconnaît surtout aujourd’hui l’importance de ses travaux musicologiques, la publications de manuscrits oubliés et ses harmonisations de chants anciens, dont ses 20 cantos populares españoles, recueil publié en 1923.

S’il apprend le piano avec sa mère, Fernando Obradors (1897-1945) reste entièrement autodidacte pour la composition, l’harmonie et le contrepoint. Chef de l’Orchestre philharmonique de la Grande Canarie ainsi que de ceux de Liceo et de la radio de Barcelone, il écrira nombre de symphonies et de zarzuelas mais ses plus importantes compositions demeurent ses quatre volumes de Canciones clásicas españolas, publiés entre 1921 et 1941. Ses arrangements d’airs traditionnels catalans, essentiellement néoclassiques, se déclinent en une légèreté à la fois charmante et contagieuse.

Le nom d’Hugo Wolf (1860-1903) passera à l’histoire de son vivant, surtout grâce aux grands cycles de lieder qu’il commettra sur une période très brève. Après avoir traité des textes de Mörike, d’Eichendorff et de Goethe, le compositeur se tourne entre 1889 et avril 1890 vers 44 poèmes espagnols des XVIe et XVIIe siècles, traduits en allemand par Emanuel Geibel et Paul Heyse, certains sacrés (dont Die ihr schwebet), la majorité profanes. En un délicat équilibre, le climat de ceux-ci oscille entre larmes et sourire, voile et lumière, tendresse et passion, chaque page se révélant dans son admirable individualité. « Ce que j’écris maintenant, je l’écris pour l’avenir, mentionne Wolf dans une lettre. Depuis Schubert et Schumann, il n’y a rien eu de tel! »

À travers sa prolifique carrière, Richard Strauss (1864-1949) touchera à divers genres musicaux, que ce soit la musique de chambre, le poème symphonique ou l’opéra. Un seul l’accompagnera tout au long de sa vie, de ses premiers balbutiements de compositeur à six ans à son dernier souffle, avec Malven (Mauves), près de 80 ans plus tard, œuvre gardée secrète jusqu’à la mort de la soprano Maria Jeritza en 1982 : le lied. Mädchenblumen, composé en 1888 sur des poèmes de Felix Dahn, se veut un recueil au lyrisme prégnant, qui transmet avec une sensualité à fleur de peau les diverses émotions suscitées par les vers, qui comparent les jeunes filles à leurs équivalents botaniques, geste littéraire admis au XIXe siècle. Dans «Kornblumen », on retrouve la fluidité et la douceur de la centaurée à fleur bleue dans la partie du piano, alors que dans «Mohnblumen », Strauss évoque l’énergie vibrante des pavots à travers une série de trilles sur lesquels s’épanche la voix. Dans «Epheu », l’accompagnement arpégé se lie à la ligne vocale tel l’envahissant lierre représenté avant que le cycle ne s’achève par «Wasserrose », délicat et fantaisiste, hymne à la beauté exotique de la femme qui, même quand elle chante Je ne t’aime pas, nous invite à lui ouvrir son cœur.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9112
AN 2 9112
AN 2 9112
AN 2 9112

Start typing and press Enter to search