fbpx
AN 2 2004

Handel: Arias and Dances, Excerpts from Agrippina and Alcina

Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2004
Periods Baroque

Album information

Handel was first and foremost a composer of opera. It was his passion for opera which first led him away from his homeland to Italy. Handel soon became the darling of Italian opera lovers, and ended his three-year sojourn with a triumphant production of his opera Agrippina in Venice in 1709. It ran for an unprecedented 27 nights.

The plot revolves around Agrippina, wife of the Emperor Claudius, and her determination to secure the throne for her son Nero. The other female role in the opera is Poppea, a coy young beauty who is at the centre of several romantic intrigues. The selection of arias for this recording opens with an aria sung by Agrippina to Poppea, “Non hò cor che per amarti.” Agrippina has tricked Poppea into believing that her lover, Ottone, has forsaken her. The irony of the text of this aria is evident in the unusually angular accompaniment. Agrippina’s aria “Ogni vento” closes Act II: after many difficulties Agrippina believes that she has finally accomplished her goal. The aria “Vaghe perle” is Poppea’s opening aria, sung as she gazes into her mirror: she is desired by Ottone, Claudio and Nerone and radiates confidence and delight. The aria “Se giunge un dispetto” is sung by Poppea upon being convinced by Agrippina that her one true love, Ottone, has forsaken her for the throne. To these arias we have added dances from the ballet which is thought to have been performed at the end of Agrippina.

Following the great success of Agrippina, Handel left to make his mark in London. For over 20 years Handel regaled London audiences with a steady stream of opera productions at the King’s Theatre in the Haymarket. By the 1730’s, the passion for opera was starting to wane. The public was intrigued by the new English oratorio, and Handel met a further challenge with the formation of a second opera company: in 1734 the Nobility Opera took over the Haymarket Theatre. The impresario John Rich came to his rescue, offering him the use of his newly-built theatre at Covent Garden for two nights each week. The theatre was wonderfully well equipped, with a large stage and lavish stage machinery. Handel was inspired to produce five operas, the last of which, Alcina, opened at Covent Garden on April 16, 1735 and ran successfully until July 2.

Alcina is a “magical” opera, resplendent with supernatural effects. Alcina herself is a sorceress who entices people to her magic island and transforms them into trees, animals or stones. Her most recent captive is Ruggiero, who has thus far been spared the fate of his predecessors because Alcina has fallen in love with him. Ruggiero’s fiancée Bradamante, disguised as her own brother Ricciardo, is shipwrecked on the island, and is the object of affection of Alcina’s sister, Morgana. Various intrigues embellish the plot, but at the heart of the story is Alcina’s ruin. Alcina’s first aria, “Di, cor mio,” is confident and assured, as she displays the delights of her idyllic island and of her love for Ruggiero to the newly arrived Ricciardo. The delightful aria “Tornami” is sung by Morgana to Ricciardo. The short bravura aria “Barbara” is sung by Oberto, a youth who has come to the island in search of his father, one of Alcina’s captives. The final two arias are sung by Alcina as she begins to lose her magical powers. To these arias is added a selection of the dances written to display the talents of Marie Sallé, the foremost dancer of her generation.

© Charlotte Nediger

Read more

About

AN 2 9835
AN 2 9835
AN 2 9835

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2004

Handel: Airs et danses, Extraits de Agrippina et Alcina

Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2004
Periodes Baroque
Genres Musique vocale

Informations sur l'album

Handel était avant tout un compositeur d’opéras. C’est d’ailleurs sa passion pour l’opéra qui l’amena d’abord à quitter sa patrie pour l’Italie. Handel y devint rapidement la coqueluche des amateurs d’opéra, et termina son séjour de trois ans avec une production triomphale de son opéra Agrippina à Venise en 1709. Cette production a tenu l’affiche pendant 27 soirées, un succès sans précédent.

L’intrigue tourne autour d’Agrippine, épouse de l’empereur Claude, et de sa détermination à faire monter son fils Néron sur le trône. L’autre personnage féminin de l’opéra est Poppée, une jeune coquette qui est au centre de plusieurs intrigues amoureuses. Le premier des airs sur ce disque, ‘Non hò cor che per amarti’, est chanté par Agrippine à Poppée. Celle-ci est amenée à croire par la rusée Agrippine que son amant Othon l’a abandonnée. L’ironie du texte est soulignée par l’accompagnement exceptionnellement anguleux. L’air d’Agrippine ‘Ogni vento’ termine le deuxième acte: après maintes péripéties, Agrippine croit avoir enfin accompli son dessein. ‘Vaghe perle’ est le premier air de Poppée dans l’opéra, chanté alors qu’elle se mire dans une glace: elle est désirée par Othon, Claude et Néron, et resplendit de confiance et de liesse. L’air ‘Se giunge un dispetto’ est chanté par Poppée alors qu’Agrippine vient de la convaincre que son véritable amour, Othon, l’a délaissée pour le trône. Nous avons ajouté à ce choix d’airs des danses tirées d’un ballet qui aurait été présenté à la fin d’Agrippina.

Suite au triomphe d’Agrippina, Handel quitta l’Italie pour se faire un nom à Londres. Pendant plus de vingt ans, Handel a régalé le public anglais d’une suite ininterrompue d’opéras présentés au King’s Theatre dans le Haymarket. Au cours des années 1730, cependant, la passion pour l’opéra se mit à péricliter. L’oratorio anglais naissant avait éveillé la curiosité du public, et Handel fut confronté à un autre écueil formidable lorsqu’on institua en 1734 une seconde compagnie d’opéra, le Nobility Opera, qui le remplaça au théâtre du Haymarket. L’impresario John Rich est venu à la rescousse du compositeur en lui offrant, deux soirs par semaine, le théâtre du Covent Garden, flambant neuf. Ce théâtre jouissait d’installations splendides, avec sa vaste scène et ses imposantes machineries. Handel fut inspiré à y créer cinq opéras dont le dernier, Alcina, créé le 16 avril 1735 au Covent Garden, demeura à l’affiche avec beaucoup de succès jusqu’au 2 juillet.

Alcina est un opéra  » magique « , resplendissant d’effets surnaturels. Alcina est elle-même une ensorceleuse qui leurre les gens vers son île enchantée pour les transformer soit en arbre, en animal ou en pierre. Son captif le plus récent est Ruggiero, qui jusqu’à maintenant a été épargné le sort de ses prédécesseurs parce qu’Alcina a jeté sur lui son dévolu. Bradamante, la fiancée de Ruggiero, sous le déguisement de son propre frère Ricciardo, fait naufrage sur l’île puis devient l’objet de l’affection de Morgana, sœur d’Alcina. Plusieurs incidents viennent émailler l’intrigue, mais c’est le malheur d’Alcina qui est au cœur de l’histoire. Dans son premier air, ‘Di, cor mio’, Alcina respire la confiance alors qu’elle dépeint à Ricciardo les délices de son île et de son amour pour Ruggiero. Le ravissant air ‘Tornami’ est chanté par Morgana à Ricciardo. Le court air de bravoure ‘Barbara’ est chanté par le jeune Oberto, venu sur l’île à la recherche de son père, prisonnier d’Alcina. Les deux derniers airs sont chantés par Alcina alors que ses pouvoirs magiques commencent à l’abandonner. À ces airs est ajouté un choix de ballets composés pour mettre en valeur le talent de Marie Sallé, la plus illustre danseuse de son temps.

© Charlotte Nediger
Traduction : Jacques-André Houle

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1044
AN 6 1044
AN 6 1044

Start typing and press Enter to search