fbpx
FL 2 3022-3

Le Livre d'Orgue de Montréal: In 1978, an unknown manuscript from the period of Louis XIV was found in Montreal...

Performers
Release date February 26, 1999
Album code FL 2 3022-3
Periods Baroque
Genres Piano et autres claviers

Album information

In 1978, the most voluminous extant manuscript of French organ music of the period of Louis XIV was found in Montréal. This precious document was brought to New France in 1724 by Jean Girard, a Sulpician cleric from Bourges in France, who was organist of Notre Dame Church in Montréal until his death in 1765.

The manuscript was named Livre d’orgue de Montréal by the musicologist Elisabeth Gallat-Morin, who made the discovery, and Kenneth Gilbert, who gave the first public performance of this music in the twentieth century.

Jean Girard (1696-1765), to whom we owe the survival of the manuscript, seems to have been Montréal’s first professional musician. A tonsured cleric, he received complete musical training at the choir school of Bourges’ Sainte-Chapelle, prior to his sojourn at the Sulpicians’ in Paris, where he prepared himself to play the organ in Montréal. He performed this function for forty years, teaching also at the boys’ school. He did not, however, compose the music of the manuscript. Not only is there no sample of his handwriting to be found in it, but the style of the music, which belongs to the end of the 17th century, together with the physical aspect of the document, indicate that the volume was already completed and bound when it was given to the young organist departing for the New World.

A certain mystery continues to surround the 540-page manuscript which bears no composer’s name. A close study of the document revealed a link with one of the King’s four organists, Nicolas Lebègue (1630-1702); the manuscript contains sixteen of his pieces (fifteen of which appear in his three published Livres d’orgue with a sixteenth piece to be found only in a contemporary manuscript at the Paris Bibliothèque nationale (Vm 7.1823)). In addition, the many points of resemblance which exist between the anonymous pieces and Lebègue’s music further link the manuscript to the school of this famous composer and teacher, whose reputation extended beyond the frontiers of his own country. It is not unreasonable to believe that the Livre d’orgue de Montréal may contain some of his unknown pieces.

The manuscript, which is made up mostly of verses for the Magnificat, includes among other works six masses, a Pange lingua and three Te Deum. The verses in the French organ repertory of the 17th and 18th centuries are relatively short, as they were intended to alternate with the sung verses of Masses and hymns; thus the organ replaced every second verse. Another specific characteristic of French organ music of that period: the various pieces were composed with a particular sound colour in mind and the registration and the title of the piece are often one and the same. The Wolff organ, with its suspended action, flexible wind, voicing and d’Alembert tuning, meets the specifications of the French classical organ; it recreates the sound atmosphere in which the Livre d’orgue de Montréal was composed, with its typical Plein Jeu (full organ), Grand Jeu with the reed stops, Jeu de Tierce and solo stops.

I. Magnificat en D (man. nos. 1 to 7)

No doubt wishing to start with the most beautiful pieces, the person who compiled the Livre d’orgue de Montréal (which is made up of separate quires), placed this Magnificat at the very beginning of the volume; it opens with a “Prélude” in which the Plein Jeu of the Great organ dialogues with that of the Positif. Next comes a “Duo” in a triple-time dance rythm, played on the Tierces, and a “Récit” played on the Cornet, inspired by vocal music. In a brilliant piece, the Trumpet stop alternates between Dessus (Treble) and Basse, ending with both hands on the Trumpet. After another “Plein Jeu,” the Magnificat concludes with a “Dialogue” and a final “Plein Jeu” according to the plan adopted by Nicolas Lebègue for his Magnificat.

II. Pieces en D (man. nos. 14 to 20)

In this series of pieces in the church tone of D (or first tone), the first “Récit” is played on the Cromhorne, followed by a “Dialogue” on the Grands Jeux. Then comes a “Fugue grave” on the Trumpet. In the “Duo,” which opposes the Jeux de Tierces of the Great organ and the Positif, the composer takes pleasure in prolonging the effect of syncopated rythm in short note-values, as in certain harpsichord pieces; one must not forget that the organists of that period were also harpsichordists.

III. Magnificat en C (man. nos. 30, 31, 32, 29 and 35)

Following a rather meditative opening “Plein Jeu,” the “Duo,” light but with a marked rythm, ends with a syncopated passage that requires a degree of virtuosity on the part of the performer. The serene “Trio” precedes a brilliant “Basse de Trompette” (no. 29) that replaces the unfinished “Basse” (no. 33). The Magnificat ends with a typical “Dialogue” on the Grand Jeu.

IV. Fugue [in Dialogue] (man. no. 46)

The registration of this fugue is unusual, with indications of Dessus and Basse where the various parts enter on the Great organ.

V. Tierce en Taille en D (man. no. 184) Cromhorne en Taille du 7e by Nicolas Lebègue (man. no. 196)

In the manuscript, the first piece belongs to a series of consecutive anonymous Tierces en Taille, which is immediately preceeded by a series of eight Tierces or Cromhornes en Taille by Lebègue; he is considered the creator of this most expressive genre of the French classical organ repertory, in which the melody occupies the medium register of the organ. Since these two series of pieces are placed side by side and are so similar in style, one may well ask the question whether or not the anonymous series contains unknown pieces by Lebègue. Or else did a student reproduce the style of the master? The Cromhorne en Taille du 7e is indeed a work by Lebègue; also heard on the record are his Tierce en Taille en F, as well as three other anonymous pieces of the same type.

VI. Fugue (man. no. 273)

This four-part fugue is played on the Crom-horne.

VII. Pange Lingua (man. nos. 270 to 272)

The “Plein Jeu” which opens this hymn to the Holy Sacrament — sung at Vespers in France as well as in New France — is one of the rare piece in the manuscript where one hears the plain chant used as a cantus firmus in the bass. The ornementation of the plain chant in the “Récit sur le même chant” reminds one of the Pange Lingua by Nicolas de Grigny, the most famous of Lebègue’s students. The concluding “Dialogue” also borrows its thematic material from the plain chant.

VIII. Messe en sol

The Messe en sol from which the record presents excerpts (man. nos. 117, 118, 119 and 133), and the Suite en F, heard further on, share a certain number of pieces, transposed in passing from one suite to the other. As the same “Plein Jeu” opens the two series of pieces, it has been replaced here in the Messe en sol by another “Plein Jeu” (man. no. 63). The central section of this piece is quite unusual in French classical organ music: toccata style parallel roulades in sixteenth notes are played by both hands over a long pedal point. Following a “Fugue” and a “Trio,” the “Tierce en Taille” reminds one of Lebègue’s works. A “Dialogue” concludes the Messe en sol with a series of brilliant runs in sixteenth notes.

IX. Magnificat en D (man. nos. 8 to 13)

After the opening “Plein Jeu,” the “Dessus de Voix humaine” (a stop greatly appreciated in New France) dialogues with the Echo. Follows a piece on the Cornet, a “Basse de Cromhorne,” a “Récit” played on the Cornet and a “Dialogue” on three manuals: Grand Jeu, Petit Jeu and Echo.

X. Three Fugues (man. nos. 276, 278 and 279)

These “Fugues” are part of a consecutive series of thirteen such pieces. They are quite typical of those found generally in the French organ repertory of the classical period (particularly with Nicolas Lebègue); indeed they are in the tradition of the fugue-verses for organ of Catholic countries, a concise genre derived from the Italian ricercar. The first “Fugue” is played on the Cromhorne, the second on the Trumpet, while the last one returns to the Cromhorne.

XI. Tierce en Taille en g.b. (man. no. 185)

Several passages of this anonymous piece remind one of Nicolas Lebègue’s Tierce en Taille du 6e ton.

XII. Messe du 4e ton (man. nos. 327 to 344)

In the Messe, due to the alternation of the verses between the organ and the singers, five ver-ses of the Kyrie fall to the organ, nine verses of the Gloria and two each in the Sanctus and Agnus. The organ verses, even if they are relatively short because of their liturgical purpose, are not less well written and the verses of this complete Messe go through the entire range of sound colours of the French classical organ.

XIII. Messe double – Kyrie (man. nos. 307 to 311)

This Mass for double feasts, like the Mass published by Lebègue, the Messe pour les Paroisses by Couperin and de Grigny’s Mass, is written on the plain chant of the Kyrie cuntipotens genitor Deus (Mass IV). According to the precepts of the Cérémonial de Paris (1662), the cantus firmus is clearly stated in the bass in the first and last verses of the Kyrie and the Gloria and at the beginning of the Sanctus and the Agnus. It was current practice to make the cantus firmus stand out on the pedal Trumpet, even if there were no instructions to that effect in the printed music.

XIV. Magnificat en E si my (man. nos. 346, 347, 348, 354, 356, 350, 362)

In the Preface to his organ Masses, André Raison states that organists who require Magnificat may compose them from the Mass verses, by choosing six or seven of them. Indeed, certain pieces of the Messe en E si my of the Livre d’orgue de Montréal bear the figures 1 to 7, but not in perfect order; could these numbers correspond to Magnificat verses? If one puts the pieces in order, the Magnificat opens with the appropriate “Plein Jeu”; a “Fugue” is in the usual second place, and the two last verses, the sixth and the seventh, are a “Dialogue” and a “Plein Jeu,” as in Magnificat by Lebègue and Guilain. (There are no precise indications for the intermediary pieces; here we have a “Récit” (played on the Cornet), a “Basse de Trompette” and a “Voix humaine.”) The presence of these numbers on some of the Mass verses suggest that it was quite usual to compose Magnificat in this fashion and that it was not a practice peculiar to André Raison. It is also interesting to note that the handwriting of the titles of the pieces in this Mass is very similar to that of a letter left by Lebègue. If it is indeed his handwriting, it would be his only extant musical autograph.

XV. Suite en F (man. nos. 134, 137, 136, 195, 142)

The “Plein Jeu” in three sections dialogues between the Great organ and the Positif. The expressive “Récit,” played on the Nazard, is strongly inspired by vocal music, whereas one finds harpsichord and lute-like passages in the central section of the “Trio.” The “Tierce en Taille” is taken from the series of eight such pieces written by Nicolas Lebègue to be found in the manuscript. Lastly, in the final “Dialogue” played on the Grand Jeu, one can hear a motif of church chimes.

XVI. Trois fugues (man. nos. 49, 277 and 283)

The first fugue in three-parts (or “Trio”) is written in the manuscript on three separate staves, as in pieces intended for several instruments. The two other fugues are in four parts and are played on the Trumpet and Clairon and on the Crom-horne.

XVII. Tierce en Taille en C (man. no. 187)

This anonymous “Tierce en Taille” is characterized by metrically non-symetrical runs of sixteenth notes.

XVIII. Magnificat du Premier (man. nos. 22 to 28)

Although it is not so entitled, the genre and arrangement of the pieces within this suite correspond to that of the Magnificat. Analogies exist between the various pieces that make up this suite and works of Lebègue. His influence is particularly obvious in the “Cornet” (no. 24) in which the rather brief motifs enounced by the Cornet are repeated textually, as in the Echos of Lebègue’s first Livre d’orgue; even the way the repeat is indicated by the word “bis” is identical. The first of the pieces entitled “Trio” (no. 26) is, in fact, a “Dialogue de Récits” in which the Cromhorne and the Cornet alternate, as in a vocal duo, before joining over a pedal bass.

XIX. Fugue (man. no. 169)

This four-part fugue is played on the reed stops.

XX. Te Deum (excerpts) (man. nos. 71, 72, 81, 85, 86)

In the 17th and 18th centuries in France, important events were the occasion for elaborate ceremonies, during which the Te Deum was sung in great pomp, often following a solemn procession. New France had by no means set aside this custom, if one is to judge from the great number of Te Deum prescribed by the bishops. As in the Masses and the Magnificat, the verses of the Te Deum played on the organ alternate with the sung verses. As there are thirty-two in all, these verses are rather short. In the five excerpts chosen here, a “Plein Jeu” introduces the first verse, Te Dominum; the verse Tibi omnes angeli is a “Dessus de Tierce.” In the third verse, Judex crederis, the “Voix humaine” alternates between the Basse and Dessus, whereas the Miserere of the fourth verse calls for the expressivity of the Cromhorne. The final verse, In te Domine, is a “Dialogue” on the Grands Jeux.

XXI. Grand Jeu (man. no. 174)

The record ends with a “Dialogue” on the Grand Jeu, which calls for three manuals and is not unlike the DuMage piece with the same title. The trumpet-like flourishes at the beginning call to mind the splendours of Louis XIV’s reign, whereas the final section, in triple time, reminds one of the Dernier couplet du Gloria of François Couperin’s Messe pour les Couvents.

© Élisabeth Gallat-Morin, Ph. D. Musicologist

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3022-3

Le Livre d'Orgue de Montréal: En 1978, on retrouve à Montréal une oeuvre inédite de l'époque de Louis XIV...

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 26 février 1999
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3022-3
Periodes Baroque
Genres Piano et autres claviers

Informations sur l'album

En 1978 fut mis au jour, à Montréal, le plus volumineux manuscrit de musique d’orgue française de l’époque de Louis XIV à nous être parvenu. Ce précieux document fut apporté en Nouvelle-France en 1724 par Jean Girard, clerc sulpicien originaire de Bourges et organiste à Notre-Dame de Montréal jusqu’à sa mort en 1765.

Le manuscrit fut appelé « Livre d’orgue de Montréal » par la musicologue Élisabeth Gallat-Morin, qui en fit la découverte, et Kenneth Gilbert, qui en donna la première exécution publique au XXe siècle.

Jean Girard (1696-1765), à qui nous devons la survie du manuscrit, semble avoir été le premier musicien de métier que Montréal ait connu. Clerc tonsuré, il avait reçu une formation musicale complète à la maîtrise de la Sainte-Chapelle de Bourges, avant de se préparer, chez les Sulpiciens de Paris, à tenir l’orgue à Montréal, ce qu’il fit pendant quarante ans, tout en enseignant à la petite école des garçons. Il n’est pas, toutefois, le compositeur de la musique du manuscrit: non seulement n’y trouve-t-on aucun exemple de sa graphie, mais aussi le style de la musique, de la fin du XVIIe siècle, ainsi que l’aspect matériel du document indiquent plutôt que c’est un volume déjà complet et relié qu’on a remis au jeune organiste qui partait pour le Nouveau-Monde.

Un certain mystère continue d’entourer ce manuscrit de 540 pages, dans lequel on ne retrou-ve aucun nom de compositeur. L’étude poussée du document a révélé un lien avec l’un des quatre organistes du roi, Nicolas Lebègue (1630-1702), dont le manuscrit renferme seize pièces (quinze qui figurent, parfois avec des variantes, dans ses trois Livres d’orgue publiés, en plus d’une seizième qui ne se retrouve que dans un manuscrit contemporain de la Bibliothèque nationale à Paris (Vm 7.1823). En outre, les nombreuses ressemblances qu’offrent les pièces anonymes avec la musique de Lebègue rattachent le manuscrit à l’école de ce célèbre compositeur et pédagogue, dont le rayonnement était considérable; d’ailleurs il n’est pas interdit de penser que le Livre d’orgue de Montréal renferme des pièces inédites de sa main.

Composé en majeure partie de versets pour le Magnificat, le manuscrit comprend, entre autres, six Messes, un Pange lingua, et trois Te Deum. Les versets d’orgue du répertoire français des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles sont relativement courts, étant destinés à alterner avec les versets des Messes ou des hymnes qui étaient chantés; ainsi l’orgue remplaçait un verset sur deux. Autre particularité de la musique d’orgue française de cette époque: les diverses pièces étaient pensées pour une couleur sonore particulière, la registration se confondant souvent avec le titre de la pièce. L’orgue Wolff, dont la traction suspendue, le vent flexible, l’harmonisation et l’accord selon d’Alembert se conforment à ceux de l’orgue classique français, restitue l’ambiance sonore dans lequel a été conçu le Livre d’orgue de Montréal, avec son Plein Jeu typique, son Grand Jeu d’anches, ses Jeux de Tierce et ses jeux solistes.

I. Magnificat en D (man. nos 1 à 7)

Comme s’il avait voulu commencer par le plus beau, le compositeur du manuscrit, fait de cahiers séparés et reliés par la suite, a placé au tout début du volume ce Magnificat, qui ouvre sur un « Prélude » dans lequel le Plein Jeu du Grand orgue dialogue avec celui du Positif. Suivent un « Duo » sur un rythme de danse ternaire, joué sur les Tierces, et un « Récit de Cornet », qui évoque la musique vocale. Une brillante pièce pour la Trompette fait alterner ce jeu éclatant entre le Dessus et la Basse, pour réunir à la fin les deux mains sur le jeu de Trompette. Après un autre « Plein Jeu », le Magnificat se termine par un « Dialogue » et un « Plein Jeu » final, suivant en cela le plan adopté par Nicolas Lebègue pour ses Magnificat.

II. Pièces en D (man. nos 14 à 20)

Dans cette série de pièces dans le ton de ré (ou premier ton), le premier « Récit » est joué sur le Cromhorne, suivi d’un « Dialogue » sur les Grands Jeux. Vient ensuite une « Fugue grave » sur la Trompette. Dans le « Duo », qui oppose les Jeux de Tierces du Grand orgue et du Positif, le compositeur prend plaisir à multiplier les effets de syncopes en valeurs brèves, à la manière de certaines pièces de clavecin; il ne faut pas oublier que les organistes de l’époque étaient aussi clavecinistes.

III. Magnificat en C (man. nos 30, 31, 32, 29 et 35)

Après le « Plein Jeu » initial, plutôt méditatif, le « Duo », marqué et léger, se termine par un passage tout en syncopes dont l’exécution exige quelque virtuosité. Le « Trio » à l’allure sereine précède une brillante « Basse de Trompette » (no 29) qui remplace la « Basse » (no 33) non terminée. Le Magnificat prend fin avec un « Dialogue » typique sur le Grand Jeu.

IV. Fugue [en Dialogue] (man. no 46)

Cette fugue en dialogue présente une registration originale, avec des indications de Dessus et Basse marquant les entrées des voix au Grand orgue.

V. Tierce en Taille en D (man. no 184) Cromhorne en Taille du 7e de Nicolas Lebègue (man. no 196)

Dans le manuscrit, la première pièce fait partie d’une série consécutive de Tierces en Taille anonymes, immédiatement précédée d’une série de huit Tierces ou Cromhornes en Taille de Lebègue, qui passe pour être le créateur de ce genre le plus expressif du répertoire d’orgue français de l’époque classique, dans lequel la voix mélodique évolue dans la tessiture médiane de l’orgue. En raison de la proximité de ces deux séries de pièces et de leur parenté de style, on peut se poser la question: y aurait-il dans la série anonyme des œuvres inconnues de Lebègue ou encore un élève aurait-il voulu reproduire le style du maître? Le Cromhorne en Taille du 7e est effectivement une œuvre de Lebègue, dont on entendra aussi sur le disque une Tierce en Taille en F, ainsi que trois autres pièces anonymes du même type.

VI. Fugue (man. no 273)

Cette fugue à quatre voix est jouée sur le Cromhorne.

VII. Pange Lingua (man. nos 270 à 272)

Le « Plein Jeu », qui débute cet hymne au Saint-Sacrement, chanté aux Vêpres tant en France qu’en Nouvelle-France, est une des rares pièces du manuscrit à faire entendre le plain-chant qui sert de cantus firmus à la basse. L’ornementation de la ligne mélodique dans le « Récit » sur le même chant rappelle le Pange lingua de Nicolas de Grigny, le plus célèbre des élèves de Lebègue. Le « Dialogue » final aussi emprunte le matériau du plain-chant.

VIII. Messe en sol

La Messe en sol, dont le disque présente des extraits (man. nos 117, 118, 119 et 133), et la Suite en F, entendue plus loin, ont un certain nombre de pièces en commun, qui ont été transposées en passant d’une suite à l’autre. Comme le même « Plein Jeu » ouvre les deux séries de pièces, il a été remplacé ici dans la Messe en sol par un autre « Plein Jeu » (man. no 63). Tout à fait inusitée dans la musique française classique pour orgue est la section centrale de cette pièce, où des roulades en doubles-croches sont exécutées en parallèle par les deux mains, sur une tenue de pédale, rappelant des traits de toccata. Après une « Fugue » et un « Trio », la « Tierce en Taille » rappelle celles de Lebègue. Le « Dialogue » qui clôt la Messe en sol se signale par une succession de brillantes tirades en doubles-croches.

IX. Magnificat en D (man. nos 8 à 13)

Après le « Plein Jeu » initial, le « Dessus de Voix humaine » (jeu fort apprécié en Nouvelle-France) dialogue en écho. Suivent une pièce sur le Cornet, une « Basse de Cromhorne », un « Récit » sur le Cornet et un « Dialogue » sur trois claviers: Grand Jeu, Petit Jeu et Écho.

X. Trois Fugues (man. nos 276, 278, 279)

Ces Fugues font partie d’une série consécutive de treize. Elles sont bien typiques de celles que l’on retrouve couramment dans le répertoire français pour orgue de l’époque classique (notamment chez Nicolas Lebègue), qui participent de la tradition des versets-fugues pour orgue des pays catholiques, genre concis dérivé du ricercar italien. La première fugue est jouée sur le Cromhorne, la deuxième sur la Trompette; la dernière revient au Cromhorne.

XI. Tierce en Taille en g.b. (man. no 185)

Pièce anonyme dont les traits rappellent la Tierce en Taille du 6e ton de Nicolas Lebègue.

XII. Messe du 4e ton (man. nos 327 À 344)

Dans la Messe, en raison de l’alternance des versets entre l’orgue et les chantres, cinq versets du Kyrie incombent à l’orgue, neuf versets du Gloria ainsi que deux versets chacun du Sanctus et de l’Agnus. Les versets d’orgue, même s’ils sont relativement courts en raison de leur destination liturgique, n’en sont pas moins bien écrits et l’ensemble des versets de cette messe fait entendre la palette complète des couleurs particulières de l’orgue classique français.

XIII. Messe double – Kyrie (man. nos 307 à 311)

Cette messe pour les fêtes doubles, tout comme la Messe publiée par Lebègue, la Messe pour les Paroisses de Couperin et la Messe de Grigny, est faite sur le plain-chant Kyrie cunctipotens genitor Deus (Messe IV). Selon les pres-criptions du Cérémonial de Paris (1662), le cantus firmus est énoncé clairement à la basse dans les premier et dernier versets du Kyrie et du Gloria et au début du Sanctus et de l’Agnus; il était de pratique courante de le faire ressortir à la trompette de pédale, même si la partition ne portait pas d’indication à cet effet.

XIV. Magnificat en E si my (man. nos 346, 347, 348, 354, 356, 350, 362)

Dans la préface de ses messes d’orgue, André Raison indique que les organistes qui en auraient besoin peuvent composer des Magnificat, à partir des versets de Messe, en en choisissant six ou sept. Or, certaines des pièces de la Messe en E si my du Livre d’orgue de Montréal portent les chiffres de 1 à 7, mais pas dans un ordre parfait; ces chiffres correspondraient-ils à des versets de Magnificat? Si l’on replace les pièces dans l’ordre, le Magnificat s’ouvrirait, comme il se doit, par un « Plein Jeu »; une « Fugue » se trouve à l’endroit habituel en deuxième position, et les deux derniers versets, le sixième et le septième, sont un « Dialogue » et un « Plein Jeu », comme dans les Magnificat de Lebègue et de Guilain. (Il n’y a aucune prescription précise pour les mouvements intermédiares; nous avons ici un « Récit » (joué sur le Cornet), une « Basse de Trompette » et une « Voix humaine ».) Ces chiffres inscrits sur des versets de Messe nous suggèrent que la pratique de composer ainsi des Magnificat était courante et n’était pas particulière à André Raison. Par ailleurs, il est à signaler que la graphie des titres des pièces de cette Messe est très voisine de celle d’une lettre laissée par Lebègue: s’il s’agit véritablement de son écriture, nous serions en présence du seul autographe musical de sa main qui ait survécu.

XV. Suite en F (man. nos 134, 137, 136, 195, 142)

Le « Plein Jeu » tripartite dialogue entre le Grand orgue et le Positif. L’expressif « Récit », joué par le Nazard, est fortement inspiré de la musique vocale, tandis que le « Trio », dans sa section mé-diane, renferme des traits clavecinistiques et lu-thés. La « Tierce en Taille » provient de la série de huit pièces de ce genre composées par Nicolas Lebègue, que renferme le manuscrit. Enfin, dans le « Dialogue » final sur le Grand Jeu, on devine un motif de carillon.

XVI. Trois Fugues (man. nos 49, 277 et 283)

La première fugue à trois voix (ou « Trio ») est écrite dans le manuscrit sur trois portées séparées, à la manière des pièces destinées à plusieurs ins-truments. Les deux autres fugues sont à quatre voix et sont jouées sur la Trompette et Clairon et sur le Cromhorne.

XVII. Tierce en Taille en C (man. no 187)

Cette Tierce en Taille anonyme se caractérise par de grandes envolées de doubles-croches métriquement assymétriques.

XVIII. Magnificat du Premier (man. nos 22 à 28)

Bien qu’elle n’en porte pas le titre, le genre et l’agencement des pièces de cette suite correspondent à ceux des Magnificat. Des analogies existent entre les diverses pièces qui la composent et les œuvres de Lebègue. Son influence est particulièrement évidente dans le « Cornet » (no 24) dans lequel les motifs assez brefs énoncés par le Cornet sont repris textuellement, comme dans les Échos du Premier Livre d’orgue de Lebègue; même l’indication de la reprise par le mot « bis » est identique. La première des pièces intitulées « Trio » (no 26) est, en fait, un « Dialogue de Récits » dans lequel le Cromhorne et le Cornet échangent comme dans un duo vocal, avant de se réunir sur une basse de pédale.

XIX. Fugue (man. no 169)

Cette fugue sur les anches est à quatre voix.

XX. Te Deum [extraits] (man. nos 71, 72, 81, 85, 86)

Aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles en France, les événements marquants donnaient lieu à des cérémonies élaborées, au cours desquelles on chantait le Te Deum avec grand faste, souvent à la suite d’une procession solennelle. La Nouvelle-France ne le cédait en rien à la mère-patrie, à en juger par le nombre imposant de Te Deum prescrits par les mandements des évêques. Comme pour les Messes et les Magnificat, les versets du Te Deum joués à l’orgue alternent avec ceux qui sont confiés aux chantres. Comme il y en a trente-deux en tout, ces versets sont assez brefs. Dans les cinq extraits choisis, un « Plein Jeu » introduit le premier verset, Te Dominum; le verset Tibi omnes angeli est un « Dessus de Tierce ». Dans le troisième verset, Judex crederis, la « Voix humaine » alterne entre la Basse et le Dessus, tandis que le Miserere du quatrième verset fait appel à l’expressivité du Cromhorne. Le verset final, In te Domine, est un « Dialogue » sur les Grands Jeux.

XXI. Grand Jeu (man. no 174)

Le disque se termine par un Dialogue sur le Grand Jeu qui fait appel à trois claviers et qui n’est pas sans rappeler la pièce de DuMage qui porte le même titre. Les fanfares du début évoquent les splendeurs louisquatorziennes, tandis que la section finale, à trois temps, fait penser au « Dernier Couplet du Gloria » de la Messe pour les Couvents de François Couperin.

© Élisabeth Gallat-Morin, Ph. D. Musicologue

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search