fbpx
AN 2 9827-8

Mozart: Complete Piano Trios (2CD)

Performers
Release date January 17, 2006
Album code AN 2 9827-8
Periods Classical

Album information

In this recording, the Gryphon Trio presents Mozart‘s complete oeuvre—all six works—for piano trio.

Mozart: Piano Trios

The genre first emerged in the second half of the 18th century, with the rise in popularity of a new instrument: the “pianoforte.” As the name implied, this keyboard instrument had the ability to play a range of dynamics—something the harpsichord lacked—and shiny new pianofortes soon replaced old harpsichords in salons everywhere. There consequently arose a pressing demand for music that, while remaining accessible to amateurs, would show off the new instrument’s capabilities; and not just solo works, but chamber music too, so that family and friends could participate in the music making. Thus was born the trio for piano, violin and cello, a combination for which Joseph Haydn composed no fewer than 45 works. By comparison, Mozart’s half-dozen would at first glance seem a rather meagre output, but in terms of quality, this more humble corpus marks a fairly significant step in the genre’s evolution.

Divertimento in B flat major (K. 254)

Before Mozart, the piano trio more often than not resembled a piano sonata with string accompaniment, the violin doubling the pianist’s right hand and sharing the odd melodic phrase, and the cello limited to bolstering the left hand. When Mozart first tried his hand at the piano trio in 1776 (Divertimento in B flat major (K. 254)), in Salzburg, he stuck to this model. However, with his genius for melody and his instinct for the unexpected detour, he was already transcending the genre’s conventions. Between the two fast movements, the slow movement unfurls a superb ornamented cantilena, which the piano and violin pass back and forth in a serene, Olympian dialogue.

Piano Trio in G Major (K. 496)

Mozart would not return to the piano trio for another ten years. Completed in July of 1786, the Piano Trio in G Major (K. 496) marks a profound change in Mozart’s conception of the genre—an extension of the stylistic evolution he had undertaken with other genres in the meantime, particularly opera and the piano concerto. In this second trio, the dramatic dimension is much more pronounced, the piano part more soloistic, and the string parts more autonomous. From the first “Allegro,” in the central development section that arrives like a cloudburst, the cello becomes the piano’s primary partner. The “Andante” proves to be a true three-way conversation, while in the theme and variations of the “Allegretto,” the cello breaks free once again in the fourth variation with a languid melody.

Piano Trio in B-flat Major (K. 502)

Dated November of the same year, the Piano Trio in B-flat Major (K. 502) was thus composed a mere three months after the previous one, and Mozart continues to innovate. In the opening “Allegro,” he takes gleeful pleasure in toying with the conventions of sonata form: in the exposition, just when one expects a second, contrasting theme in the dominant key, he brings back the opening theme, shown in a new light by a different string accompaniment. Then, the listener now expecting a monothematic sonata form, Mozart surprises again at the beginning of the development by introducing the second theme expected earlier, first in the violin, then taken up by the piano and cello in parallel motion. The E-flat-major “Larghetto,” in ABACA form, features the piano and violin sharing a highly ornamented cantilena in a moving dialogue, which the cello supports at times with its own countermelody. The “Allegretto,” on a gavotte rhythm, burgeons with contrasts between sparkle and subtlety, between melodic profusion and rich counterpoint.

Piano Trio in E Major (K. 542)

The last three trios were all composed in 1788. The opening “Allegro” of the Piano Trio in E Major (K. 542), dated June 22, introduces an initial theme that alternates forte and piano within each motif. The second theme, dolce e legato, initially presented in the dominant by the violin and the piano successively, is taken up a third time subito forte by the cello in a stirring transition passage. The “Andante grazioso” in A major takes the form of a large da capo (ABABA) and acquires a hint of melancholy when the middle A section occurs in the minor mode. Just as “gracious,” the rondo of the “Allegro” has a more subtle structure (ABACBA), with the C section in C-sharp minor remarkable for its bohemian overtones, rare in Mozart, but that seem to foreshadow Brahms.

Piano Trio in C Major (K. 548)

In the Piano Trio in C Major (K. 548) , composed a month later, all the instruments introduce, in a grand forte unison, an opening theme might have been taken from The Marriage of Figaro. The piano answers, piano in fact, with a second theme, which is then taken up by the violin. Then, subito forte, like a burst of “figaresque” laughter, a soloistic piano gesture settles into the second theme. Mozart chose to qualify the “Andante” with “cantabile,” and with good reason since this ornamented cantilena is a high point in the art of making the piano sing. Here, the cello, following the example of the violin, echoes certain motifs, even preceding the violin at the beginning of the development. In the joyful rondo of the last “Allegro,” the cello becomes increasingly active, building cumulatively to good effect at the end.

Piano Trio in G Major (K. 564)

The Piano Trio in G Major (K. 564) was completed on October 27. Mozart’s sketches reveal that he had first conceived it as a piano sonata. But the addition of strings in no way makes it sound patched together; on the contrary, they contribute significantly. Mozart had never before given the cello such a beautiful part. From the start, cello and violin support the exposition of the first theme in the piano with sustained notes. The cello then doubles the violin in parallel motion in the repeat of this opening theme, supports the violin with its own countermelody in the exposition of the second theme in the dominant, and, during the recapitulation, it is the cello that reintroduces this second theme in the original key. In the “Andante,” the cello participates in all sections of the theme and variations, whose stripped-down melody is in striking contrast to the richly ornamented cantilenas of the previous trios’ slow movements. But by abandoning the superfluous, this rare scarcity, far from being a weakness, seems rather to show the way to the voluntary simplicity that some contend is the only way to reach true happiness, of which the last, exuberant variation is an illustration. The “Allegretto” that ends the work takes the form of a rondo on a delightful siciliana rhythm.

And with this traditional pastoral metre, often used at Christmas to portray shepherds and angels singing, Amadeus, the “beloved of God,” took his leave of the genre. His stay was brief, but he did not fail to leave his divine, angelic mark.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Gryphon Trio
FL 2 3127

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9827-8

Mozart: L'intégrale des trios avec piano (2CD)

Interprètes
Date de sortie 17 janvier 2006
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9827-8
Periodes Classique

Informations sur l'album

Dans cet enregistrement, le Gryphon Trio propose l’intégrale de ses six trios avec piano de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Mozart : Trios avec piano

Le genre émerge dans la seconde moitié du XVIIIe siècle lorsque les mélomanes se passionnent pour ce nouvel instrument qu’on appelait  » pianoforte « . Comme son nom l’indique, ce clavier avait la capacité que n’avait pas le clavecin de pouvoir varier les dynamiques. Dans les salons, on troque donc son vieux clavecin contre un rutilant pianoforte et la demande d’un répertoire dans lequel le nouvel instrument puisse être mis en valeur, tout en demeurant accessible aux amateurs, devient pressante. On ne veut pas seulement des œuvres solos, mais aussi de chambre pour pouvoir faire de la musique en famille ou entre amis. De là naît le trio pour piano, violon et violoncelle, formation pour laquelle Joseph Haydn composa pas moins de 45 œuvres. En regard, la demi-douzaine que Mozart écrivit peut paraître bien maigre, mais ce corpus plus humble en quantité marque qualitativement une étape non négligeable dans l’évolution du genre.

Divertimento en si bémol majeur (K. 254)

Avant Mozart, le trio ressemblait plus souvent qu’autrement à une sonate pour piano accompagnée par les cordes : le violon doublait la main droite du pianiste, partageant parfois avec elle quelques éléments mélodiques, alors que le violoncelle se limitait à renforcer la main gauche. Lorsqu’en 1776, à Salzbourg, il tente un premier essai dans le genre (Divertimento en si bémol majeur (K. 254), Mozart s’en tient à ce modèle courant. Mais il y transcende déjà les convenances du genre par son génie mélodique et son sens inné du détour inattendu. Entre les deux mouvements vifs, le mouvement lent déploie une superbe cantilène ornementée que le piano et le violon se relancent à part égale dans un dialogue d’une sérénité tout olympienne.

Trio en sol majeur (K. 496)

Mozart ne reviendra au trio avec piano que dix ans plus tard en 1786. Achevé en juillet 1786, le Trio en sol majeur (K. 496) marque une profonde mutation dans la conception mozartienne du genre, tributaire de l’évolution stylistique qui s’est faite à travers les autres genres abordés entre-temps, plus partcuilèrement dans l’opéra et le concerto pour piano. Dans ce second trio, la dimension dramatique est plus prononcée, la partie de piano plus concertante et les parties de cordes plus autonomes. Dès le premier  » Allegro « , dans le développement central qui éclate soudainement comme une tempête, le violoncelle devient le principal interlocuteur du piano. L' » Andante  » s’avère une véritable conversation à trois, alors que, dans le thème et variations de l' » Allegretto « , le violoncelle s’émancipe à nouveau dans la quatrième variation en un chant langoureux.

Trio en si bémol majeur (K. 502)

Daté de novembre de la même année, le Trio en si bémol majeur (K. 502) fut donc composé à peine trois mois après le précédent et tous les aspects novateurs s’y retrouvent à nouveau. Dans l’  » Allegro  » d’ouverture, Mozart prend ici un malin plaisir à jouer avec les conventions de la forme sonate. Au moment où l’on s’attend dans l’exposition à la présentation à la dominante d’un second thème contrasté, il ramène celui du début avec un nouvel accompagnement des cordes qui lui donne un nouvel éclairage. Alors qu’il vient ainsi de nous annoncer une forme sonate monothématique, Mozart nous surprend encore une fois au début du développement en nous présentant au violon le second thème attendu plus tôt et aussitôt repris par le piano et le violoncelle en mouvement parallèle. Dans le  » Larghetto « , en mi bémol majeur et de forme ABACA, une cantilène richement ornementée passe du piano au violon dans un émouvant dialogue que le violoncelle soutient par moments de son propre contre-chant. Dans l' » Allegretto « , sur un rythme de gavotte, Mozart multiplie avec brio les contrastes entre éclat et délicatesse, profusion mélodique et riche contrepoint.

Trio en mi majeur (K. 542)

Les trois derniers trios furent tous composés en 1788. Daté du 22 juin, le Trio en mi majeur (K. 542), présente dans son  » Allegro  » d’ouverture un premier thème où forte et piano alternent à l’intérieur de chaque motif. Le second thème, dolce e legato, d’abord exposé successivement à la dominante par le violon et le piano, est repris une troisième fois subito forte par le violoncelle dans un passage modulant saisissant. L' » Andante grazioso « , en la majeur et de forme grand da capo (ABABA), prend une teinte mélancolique lorsqu’en son cœur, le thème principal est repris en mineur. Tout aussi  » gracieux « , le rondo de l' » Allegro  » final offre une structure plus subtile (ABACBA) dans laquelle la partie centrale C se distingue par un thème contrastant en do# mineur aux parfums bohémiens peu fréquents chez Mozart et qui semblent préfigurer Brahms.

Trio en do majeur (K. 548)

Dans le Trio en do majeur (K. 548) composé un mois plus tard, tous les instruments exposent forte en grand unisson un premier motif qui semble tout droit sorti des Noces de Figaro . Le piano répond, piano justement, avec un second motif que reprend aussitôt le violon. Éclate alors subito forte, comme un grand rire  » figaresque « , un ample geste concertant au piano se décantant jusqu’au second thème. Mozart a qualifié avec raison son  » Andante  » de  » cantabile  » car il y atteint un sommet dans l’art de faire chanter le piano en une ample cantilène ornementée dont le violoncelle, à l’instar du violon, reprend lui aussi en écho certains motifs, précédant même le violon au début du développement. Dans le joyeux rondo du dernier  » Allegro « , le violoncelle se fait de plus en plus actif créant ainsi un bel effet cumulatif final.

Trio en sol majeur (K. 564)

Le Trio en sol majeur (K. 564) fut achevé le 27 octobre. Des esquisses révèlent que Mozart avait d’abord pensé à une sonate pour piano. Mais l’ajout des cordes n’a rien d’une pièce rapportée. Au contraire, on trouve dans leur traitement quelques avancées notables. Jamais le violoncelle n’avait eu, jusque-là, la part aussi belle. Dès le départ, il soutient avec le violon en notes longues l’exposition du premier thème au piano. Il double ensuite le violon en mouvement parallèle dans la reprise de ce premier thème, le sous-tend encore, mais cette fois de son propre chant, dans l’exposition du second thème à la dominante et, lors de la récapitulation, c’est lui qui réexpose ce second thème dans la tonalité principale. Dans l' » Andante « , il est de toutes les parties du thème et variations dont la mélodie tranche par son dépouillement sur les cantilènes richement ornementées des mouvements lents des trios précédents. Mais ce dénuement rare, quintessencié, loin d’être une faiblesse, semble plutôt indiquer, en se délestant du superflu, le chemin de cette simplicité volontaire qui seule permettrait, selon certains, d’accéder à la véritable joie, dont la dernière variation, plus exubérante, deviendrait ainsi l’illustration. Suit un  » Allegretto  » qui achève le tout par un rondo sur un délicieux rythme de sicilienne.

C’est par ce rythme traditionnel de pastorale, que l’on privilégiait à Noël pour faire chanter les bergers et les anges, qu’Amadeus,  » l’aimé de Dieu « , prit congé du genre. Il ne le fréquenta que brièvement, mais ne manqua pas d’y laisser son empreinte… divine et angélique.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

Gryphon Trio
AN 6 1016

Start typing and press Enter to search