fbpx
AN 2 9857

Tango nuevo: Piazzolla, Durán, Ginastera

Performers
Release date October 21, 2008
Album code AN 2 9857
Periods Contemporaine
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

The Nuevo tango. Discover this recording program inspired by tango music composed by Piazzolla, Durán and Ginastera, brilliantly performed by The Gryphon Trio. With these new arrangements for violin, cello, and piano, The Gryphon Trio (Junos Award winner) expands the piano trio repertoire.

The tango

The tango: a lascivious dance born in the bordellos of Buenos Aires. Or so goes the legend. There is some truth in it but the real story of how the genre came to define the Argentine identity is far richer. In the late nineteenth century, European immigrants, mainly from Italy and Spain, flooded into Argentina hoping to prosper from the agricultural boom. Many were unable to buy land, however, and settled instead in the working-class neighbourhoods of Buenos Aires. Homesick, and often poor and unemployed, these immigrants, along with the port city’s natives, gave expression to their daily struggles by creating a new hybrid art form.

The tango’s musical sources were as varied as its creators: a blend of Italian Mediterranean culture, Spanish flamenco and the Cuban habanera. Even its flagship instrument, the accordion-like bandoneón—invented in Germany as a portable organ for church services—was an unlikely protagonist. By the 1920s, Carlos Gardel, the “king” of tango, had popularized the genre’s sung form; and the tango’s acceptance by Parisian high society helped spread its popularity worldwide.

But even a vibrant tradition risks stagnating if not renewed. And sometimes what is required is an outsider’s fresh perspective. The burden to stop the “tango from becoming a relic of the past”, observed pianist and conductor Daniel Barenboim, fell on the shoulders of Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992).

Astor Piazzola: Nuevo Tango

Born in Mar del Plata to parents of Italian descent, Piazzolla’s family moved to New York City when he was just four. By eight he was playing the bandoneón. As a teenager, he returned to Argentina and within a few years landed a position in Aníbal Troilo’s famous tango orchestra. Soon bored by a genre that he felt had reached an impasse, in his spare time he cultivated his long-held interest in classical music by composing a substantial body of “serious” music. In 1954, anticipating a career in classical music, he went to France to study with the world’s most famous composition pedagogue, Nadia Boulanger. The encounter changed his life—and the history of the tango—forever.

Boulanger considered Piazzolla’s music to be well-crafted and noted its debt to Ravel, Stravinsky and Bartók. But she thought it lacked spirit. When she learned that Piazzolla composed and arranged tangos for a living (he was ashamed of this), she asked him to play one. He reluctantly obliged. Boulanger then took his hands in hers and said: “Astor, this is beautiful. Here is the true Piazzolla—do not ever leave him.”

Calling this epiphany “the great revelation of my life”, Piazzolla returned to Argentina where he founded his famous Quintet (bandonenón, violin, piano, electric guitar, bass), the principal vehicle for his nuevo tango, a new style that incorporated the dissonant harmonies and cross-rhythms of twentieth-century classical masters. In the process, he took the tango off the dance floor and into the concert hall.

Piazzolla’s take on tango, however, met with fierce resistance from traditionalists. After one concert, an audience member asked snarkily: “Maestro, why don’t you play a tango?” The question haunted him throughout his career. In his memoirs, he even claimed to have once been beaten in the streets by a disgruntled member of tango’s old guard.

Las cuatro estaciones porteñas

Among the many pieces that Piazzolla wrote for his Quintet is Las cuatro estaciones porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires; “porteño” means “of Buenos Aires”). All four pieces bristle with energy, grating dissonances and percussive punch. Slow interludes provide contrasting moments of nostalgic lyricism. The fast-slow-fast scheme (except in Invernio porteño (winter) where it is reversed) is perhaps the most significant reference to the work’s famous predecessor, Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Otherwise Piazzolla’s seasons, which were not even conceived as a set, have little to do with Vivaldi’s in either style or concept. Whereas Vivaldi’s are pastoral and literal (dogs barking, birds twittering and storms brewing), Piazzolla’s are urban, tied to a specific locality and depict each season’s essence rather than its literal sounds. Piazzolla wrote Verano porteño (summer) first, in 1965, and completed the rest by 1969.

Milonga del ángel, Muerte del ángel, Resurrección del angel, Tango del ángel

Even more loosely interrelated are the pieces that make up the “angel” series, four of which appear on this recording (composed between 1957 and 1965). The haunting Milonga del ángel (Milonga of the Angel) is one of Piazzolla’s signature pieces: soothing, yet tinged with yearning, it creeps under the skin. Muerte del ángel (Death of the Angel) begins and ends with a furious fugue that does as much to invigorate the tango as to breath new life into the old baroque form. The steady, descending chromatic bass line in Resurrección del ángel (Resurrection of the Angel) recalls the baroque symbol of lament. Tango del ángel (Tango of the Angel) is alternately driving and mellow.

Oblivion

Piazzolla was also much in demand as a film composer. In 1985, he composed the music for the award-winning El exilio de Gardel by the leftist Argentine director Fernando Solanas, who, despite his disapproval of Piazzolla’s “questionable opinions” about the brutal military dictatorship in the 1970s, recognized that Piazzolla “succeeded in expressing the anguish, melancholy, nostalgia and depression so typical of the man from Buenos Aires”. Oblivion, with its soaring lines and gently pulsating accompaniment, is the highlight of the score to another film, Enrico IV (1984), by Marco Bellocchio after Pirandello’s play.

Alberto Ginastera: Milonga

While working in the cabarets of Buenos Aires before his studies with Boulanger, Piazzolla honed his craft by taking composition lessons with Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983), an Argentine composer who became famous for his special blend of folk music and modernist techniques. Ginastera’s Two songs for voice and piano, Op. 3 (1938) include the widely transcribed Milonga whose sighing, plaintive melody unexpectedly turns cheerful. (The milonga, a traditional Argentine song genre, was another key source of the tango.)

Hilario Durán: Contradanza, New Danzon

In his own way, Juno award-winning Cuban-Canadian composer and pianist Hilario Durán (1953- ) has revisited old forms from his native land. His fantasy-like Contradanza is based on the eighteenth-century Cuban collective dance of the same name whose ancestor was the populist English country dance. Cuban musicians enriched the form by adding the habanera rhythm. Then in the late nineteenth century, the contradanza evolved into the first entirely Cuban dance form, the danzón, which became Cuba’s national dance. In New Danzon, Durán refreshes the genre with heartfelt lyricism, jazz harmonies and a sophisticated playfulness.

© 2008 Robert Rival

Read more

About

Gryphon Trio
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9857

Tango nuevo: Piazzolla, Durán, Ginastera

Interprètes
Date de sortie 21 octobre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9857
Periodes Contemporaine
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Le nuevo tango. Laissez-vous transporter par la musique inspirée du tango de Piazzolla, Durán et Ginastera, interprétée par le Gryphon Trio. Avec ces nouveaux arrangements pour violon, violoncelle et piano, le Gryphon Trio (gagnant de deux Junos) démontre encore une fois sa volonté d’élargir le répertoire pour trio avec piano.

Le tango

Il était une fois le tango, danse lascive née dans les bordels de Buenos Aires… du moins, ainsi le veut la légende. Une part de vérité y est liée mais l’histoire du tango en tant qu’élément identitaire de l’Argentine se veut bien plus riche. À la fin du dix-neuvième siècle, les immigrants européens, principalement originaires d’Italie et d’Espagne, débarquent en Argentine, mus par l’espoir de profiter de l’essor agricole du pays. Plusieurs sont incapables d’acheter des terres cependant et doivent plutôt s’installer dans les quartiers ouvriers de Buenos Aires. Déchirés par le mal du pays, souvent pauvres et sans emploi, ces immigrants, tout comme les natifs de la cité portuaire, transcenderont leurs combats quotidiens en créant une nouvelle forme d’art hybride.

Les sources musicales du tango, un mélange de culture italienne et méditerranéenne, de flamenco espagnol et d’habanera cubaine, sont aussi multiples que ses créateurs. Même son instrument emblématique, le bandonéon – cousin de l’accordéon, inventé en Allemagne comme orgue portatif pour des services religieux – semble un protagoniste inattendu. Dans les années 1920, Carlos Gardel, le  » roi  » du tango, popularise la forme chantée du genre. La haute société parisienne se l’approprie bientôt, ce qui contribue à propager sa popularité partout dans le monde.

Mais même une tradition vibrante risque de stagner si elle ne se renouvelle pas et parfois, pour ce faire, elle a besoin qu’un nouveau regard soit posé sur elle par un étranger. Comme l’a fait remarquer le pianiste et chef d’orchestre Daniel Barenboïm, le fardeau afin d’éviter que  » le tango ne devienne une relique du passé  » a été déposé sur les épaules d’Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992).

Astor Piazzola: Nuevo Tango

Né à Mar del Plata de parents d’origine italienne, Astor Piazzolla émigre à New York avec sa famille alors qu’il n’a que quatre ans. Dès huit ans, il joue du bandonéon. Adolescent, il retourne en Argentine et, en quelques années, obtient un poste dans le célèbre orchestre de tango d’Aníbal Troilo. Rapidement ennuyé par un genre qui, selon lui, connait une impasse, dans ses temps libres, il se met à cultiver son intérêt de longue date pour la musique classique en composant un corpus de musique  » sérieuse  » considérable. En 1954, prévoyant faire carrière en musique classique, il se rend en France pour étudier avec la plus célèbre pédagogue en composition de l’époque, Nadia Boulanger. Cette rencontre changera sa vie – et l’histoire du tango – à jamais.

Boulanger considère la musique de Piazzolla comme bien faite et y reconnait l’influence de Ravel, Stravinski et Bartók. Pourtant, selon elle, il y manque l’esprit. Quand elle apprend que Piazzolla compose et arrange des tangos pour gagner sa vie (avec une certaine honte), elle lui demande de lui en jouer un. À contrecœur, il s’exécute. Boulanger prend alors ses mains dans les siennes et lui dit :  » Astor, c’est magnifique. Voilà le vrai Piazzolla – ne le quitte jamais. « 

Considérant ce moment comme  » la plus grande révélation de sa vie « , Piazzolla retourne en Argentine pour y fonder son célèbre Quintette (bandonéon, violon, piano, guitare électrique, contrebasse), véhicule-clé de son nuevo tango, un nouveau style qui intègre les harmonies dissonantes et les polyrythmes des maîtres classiques du XXe siècle. Ce faisant, il fait passer le tango du plancher de danse à la salle de concert.

La vision du tango de Piazzolla devait cependant rencontrer une résistance féroce de la part des traditionnalistes. Après un concert, un auditeur lui demanda en ricanant :  » Maestro, pourquoi ne jouez-vous pas un tango?  » La question devait le hanter pendant toute sa carrière. Dans son autobiographie, il soutient même avoir été battu une fois dans les rues par un membre de la vieille garde du tango contrarié.

Las cuatro estaciones porteñas

Parmi les nombreuses pièces écrites par Piazzolla pour son Quintette, on retrouve Las cuatro estaciones porteñas (Les quatre saisons de Buenos Aires;  » porteño  » signifiant  » de Buenos Aires « ). Les quatre pièces sont pleines d’énergie, de dissonances grinçantes et de rythmique percussive. Des interludes lents offrent des sections contrastantes de lyrisme nostalgique. Le schéma vif-lent-vif (sauf celui d’Invernio porteño, renversé) est peut-être le clin d’œil le plus significatif aux Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi, œuvre de son célèbre prédécesseur. Sinon, les Saisons de Piazzolla, non conçues comme un tout, ont peu à voir avec le style ou le concept de Vivaldi. Alors que les Saisons de Vivaldi sont pastorales et littérales (chiens aboyant, oiseaux gazouillant et orages se préparant), celles de Piazzolla sont urbaines, liées à une ville en particulier et dépeignent l’essence de chaque saison plutôt que d’en traduire littéralement les sonorités. Piazzolla écrivit Verano porteño (été) d’abord, en 1965, et compléta les autres segments de 1965 à 1969.

Milonga del ángel, Muerte del ángel, Resurrección del angel, Tango del ángel

Les pièces qui constituent la série  » ange  » (composées entre 1957 et 1965), dont quatre sont reprises ici, sont liées de façon encore plus lâche. L’ensorcelante Milonga del ángel (Milonga de l’ange) est l’une des pièces signature de Piazzolla : apaisante, mais teintée d’un désir ardent, elle colle à la peau. Muerte del ángel (Mort de l’ange) débute et s’achève par une furieuse fugue qui revigore le tango autant qu’elle offre un nouveau souffle à une vieille forme baroque. La ligne de basse chromatique, constante, de Resurrección del ángel (Résurrection de l’ange) évoque le symbole la complainte baroque. Tango del ángel (Tango de l’ange) est tour à tour fonceur et serein.

Oblivion

Piazzolla, également très en demande comme compositeur de trames sonores, composa en 1985 la musique pour le salué El exilio de Gardel du réalisateur argentin de gauche Fernando Solanas. En dépit de sa désapprobation face aux  » opinions discutables  » de Piazzolla envers la brutale dictature militaire des années 1970, Solanas a dû reconnaître que le compositeur  » avait su exprimer l’angoisse, la mélancolie, la nostalgie et la dépression si typiques de l’homme de Buenos Aires « . Oblivion, avec ses lignes enlevées et son accompagnement doucement pulsé, est le sommet de la trame sonore d’un autre film, Enrico IV (1984) de Marco Bellocchio, d’après la pièce de Pirandello.

Alberto Ginastera: Milonga

Alors qu’il travaillait dans les cabarets de Buenos Aires, avant ses études avec Boulanger, Piazzolla a affiné ses dons en suivant les leçons de composition d’Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983), un compositeur argentin célèbre par son habileté à marier la musique folklorique et les techniques modernistes. Les Deux Chants pour voix et piano, opus 3 (1938) de Ginastera, comprennent la souvent transcrite Milonga, dont la mélodie plaintive, soupirante, devient tout à coup enjouée. (La milonga, chant traditionnel argentin, est une autre source du tango.)

Hilario Durán: Contradanza, New Danzon

À sa façon, le compositeur et pianiste cubain-canadien Hilario Durán (1953- ), récipiendaire d’un Juno, a revisité les vieilles formes de sa terre natale. Sa Contradanza, presque une fantaisie, est basée sur une danse collective cubaine du même nom, dont l’ancêtre était la populiste contredanse ( » country dance « ) anglaise. Les musiciens cubains en ont enrichi la forme en y intégrant le rythme de l’habanera avant que la contredanza ne se transforme, à la fin du XIXe siècle, en une toute nouvelle forme de danse, la danzón, devenue danse nationale de Cuba. Dans New Danzon Durán rafraîchit le genre en y insufflant un lyrisme senti, des harmonies jazz et une sophistication taquine.

© 2008 Robert Rival
Traduction: Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Gryphon Trio
AN 6 1016
AN 6 1016

Start typing and press Enter to search