fbpx
AN 2 9954

Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence, Quartet No. 1

Release date September 22, 2009
Album code AN 2 9954
Periods Classical

Album information

I Musici de Montréal are back with a new album featuring their landmark repertoire: the music of Tchaikovsky. Souvenir de Florence and the First Quartet, works they have played numerous times over their history, are recorded in orchestral versions realized by maestro Yuli Turovsky. A new long-awaited CD to be added on this ensemble prestigious discography.

Tchaïkovsky: Souvenir de Florence

Florence is so very dear to my heart. The longer you spend here the fonder you grow of it. This isn’t a noisy capital, where your eyes don’t know which way to look and which tires you with its bustle. But at the same time, there are so many things here full of artistic and historical interest that there is no chance of being bored.

Piotr Il’ich Tchaïkovsky (1840-1893) first set foot in Florence in 1878, thanks to the generosity of the wealthy widow Nadezhda von Meck, to whom he sent his impressions every day. He was immediately enchanted by the city’s museums, churches and art galleries, but he made their acquaintance gradually, almost tenderly. He would stroll around in the early morning before returning to his work table around 11 a.m. “I cannot begin to tell you how glorious the perfect tranquility of the evenings is, when all you can hear is the distant sound of the waters of the Arno as they tumble or flow down an incline. One can’t imagine a more comfortable or suitable place to work.”

Tchaikovsky never forgot Florence, and in the early 1890s, after the triumphant premiere of Sleeping Beauty, he returned to his “dream city.” There, he composed most of The Queen of Spades and began his String Sextet, a work promised four years earlier to the president of the Imperial Chamber Music Society in Saint Petersburg. After dashing through the conception of the opera, Tchaikovsky made much slower progress with the sextet. In June of 1890, he wrote to the pianist Alexander Siloti, “I have the constant feeling that instead of writing for six voices, I am writing an orchestral transcription for six instruments.” To his brother, he confided, “It requires six independent and equal voices. It’s incredibly difficult!”

The sextet was first performed privately in Moscow in November 1891 in the presence of Alexander Glazunov and Anatoly Lyadov , who had some reservations about the last two movements. Tchaikovsky confidently made some revisions and, at last satisfied, gave the score to his publisher in June. The definitive version was premiered in Saint Petersburg six months later.

Somewhere between a quartet and a symphony for strings (fully justifying the decision here to record the piece in a larger version, heard in an orchestral transcription by Yuli Turovsky), Souvenir de Florence basks in a contagious joie de vivre, despite its minor key. This is how Tchaikovsky describes the work in a letter from 1892: “The first movement must be played with great passion and spirit, the second singingly, the third facetiously, and the fourth gaily and determinedly.”

The first movement, a rondo set to a waltz rhythm, seems to draw its inspiration from various popular songs. The second opens with a chorale that fades away before a theme that one might believe was taken from Shakespeare’s world, which inspired so many of Tchaikovsky’s most successful works. The ensuing “Allegro moderato” admirably conveys a melancholy so typical of the Russian soul, the strings going so far as to imitate the sound of balalaikas. The finale includes a fugato in which Tchaikovsky apparently took particular pride.

Tchaïkovsky: String Quartet No.1 in D, Op. 11

While Souvenir de Florence proved to be Tchaikovsky’s final chamber music work, his String Quartet in D, Op. 11 is an example of his excellent early efforts in this line. With this work, dated 1871—and the first string quartet written by a Russian composer—, Tchaikovsky came very close to pure music and achieved a remarkable structural balance, brilliantly exposed on this recording in a transcription from Yuli Turovsky.

Rooted in a Schubert-like style, the opening “Moderato e semplice” has broad, classical proportions, counterbalanced by an asymmetry of details, such as the syncopated first theme or the fluctuating time signatures of the second, which give the movement a sense of great freedom. The rich textures are attained through a contrapuntal treatment of the material.

The second movement, freely adapted from a folk song, is one of Tchaikovsky’s best-known works. Its arrangements are numerous and include one for cello and string orchestra that Tchaikovsky wrote himself 15 years later. If the movement’s popularity exasperated him at times—”They don’t want to hear anything else!”—it was nevertheless a performance of this movement that marked one of the most memorable moments of his career. “In my entire life, I have perhaps never been so flattered and my composer’s pride has never been so moved as when Leo Tolstoy, sitting beside me, shed tears upon hearing the ‘Andante’ of my first string quartet,” he wrote in his journal ten years later.

The charming scherzo alternates duple and triple rhythms, while the completely contrasting trio features a certain rhythmic rigidity, achieved primarily through superposition.

The finale unravels and reweaves two themes, the first bright and festive, the second lyrical and typically Russian. Tchaikovsky would go on to write two other string quartets, but for most people, the first remains the Tchaikovsky quartet.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9954

Tchaïkovski: Souvenir de Florence, Quatuor no 1

Date de sortie 22 septembre 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9954
Periodes Classique

Informations sur l'album

I Musici de Montréal nous présente un nouvel album mettant en vedette leur répertoire de prédilection : l’univers du compositeur russe Tchaïkovski. Souvenir de Florence et le Premier quatuor, des œuvres jouées par cet orchestre de chambre à d’innombrables reprises sont enfin gravées dans des orchestrations de maestro Yuli Turovsky. Voici un nouvel opus attendu qui s’ajoute à une discographie d’une cinquantaine d’albums salués par la critique.

Tchaïkovski : Souvenir de Florence

 » Comme Florence est une ville chère à mon cœur. Plus vous y habitez et plus vous vous y attachez. Elle n’est pas une capitale bruyante dans laquelle vos yeux ne savent plus où se poser et qui vous épuise par son agitation. En même temps, il y a tant de choses d’intérêt artistique et historique qu’il n’y a aucune chance de s’y ennuyer.  »

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski (1840-1893) met les pieds à Florence pour la première fois en 1878, grâce à la générosité de madame von Meck, à qui il transmet ses impressions au jour le jour. D’emblée, il est séduit par les musées, les églises, les galeries d’art, mais les apprivoise en douceur, avec une certaine tendresse. Il s’y promène en début de matinée pour mieux retrouver sa table de travail vers onze heures.  » Je ne puis commencer à vous dire combien glorieuse est la paix parfaite des soirées, quand tout ce que vous pouvez entendre est l’écho lointain des eaux de l’Arno se bousculant ou coulant doucement en pente. On ne pourrait imaginer un lieu plus confortable ou plus propice au travail.  »

Jamais Tchaïkovski n’oubliera Florence et au début 1890, après le triomphe de la création de La Belle au bois dormant, il retrouve sa  » ville de rêve « . Il y compose la plus grande partie de La dame de Pique et amorce son Sextuor à cordes, partition promise quatre ans auparavant au président de la Société impériale de musique de chambre de Saint-Pétersbourg. Après avoir conçu son opéra dans l’urgence, Tchaïkovski avance avec difficulté. Il écrit au pianiste Alexandre Siloti en juin 1890 :  » J’ai tout le temps l’impression de ne pas avoir six voix, mais d’écrire pour orchestre dans une transcription pour six instruments.  » À son frère, il précise :  » Il faut six voix indépendantes et homogènes. C’est incroyablement difficile ! « 

Une première audition privée a lieu à Moscou en novembre 1891, à laquelle assistent Alexandre Glazounov et Anatoli Liadov , qui émettent quelques réserves envers les deux derniers mouvements du sextuor. Avec conviction, Tchaïkovski s’attèle aux révisions. Enfin satisfait du résultat, il confie sa partition à son éditeur en juin et, six mois plus tard, l’œuvre est créée sous sa forme définitive à Saint-Pétersbourg.

Entre quatuor et symphonie pour cordes (ce qui justifie sans peine le choix de présenter la pièce en version augmentée, comme ici dans une transcription orchestrale de Yuli Turovsky), Souvenir de Florence baigne dans une contagieuse joie de vivre, malgré sa tonalité mineure. Dans une lettre datée de 1892, Tchaïkovski évoque en ces termes l’œuvre :  » Le premier mouvement doit être joué avec beaucoup de passion et d’entrain, le second chantant et le troisième facétieux; le quatrième, gai et décidé. « 

Le premier mouvement, un rondo sur un rythme de valse, semble puiser son inspiration dans diverses chansons populaires. Le deuxième s’ouvre par un choral qui s’efface devant un thème qu’on croirait tiré de l’univers shakespearien qui a inspiré nombre de pages parmi les plus réussies du compositeur. L’Allegro moderato transmet ensuite admirablement un spleen associé à l’âme russe, les cordes allant jusqu’à imiter le son des balalaïkas. Le finale comprend un fugato dont Tchaïkovski se voulait particulièrement fier.

Tchaïkovski : Quatuor no 1 en ré, opus 11

Si Souvenir de Florence s’avèrera l’ultime œuvre de musique de chambre de Tchaïkovski, son Quatuor en ré, opus 11 témoigne plutôt de ses premiers essais, fort convaincants. Dans cette œuvre datée de 1871 – et tout premier quatuor à cordes signé par un compositeur russe –, Tchaïkovski s’approche aussi près que possible de la musique pure et atteint un équilibre structural remarquable, mis en valeur sur cet enregistrement par une transcription de Yuli Turovsky.

Tributaire de Schubert, le Moderato e semplice entretient des proportions classiques, contrebalancées par une asymétrie des détails, que ce soit la syncope du premier thème ou les chiffres indicateurs fluctuants du second, qui donne une impression de grande liberté. La richesse des textures est obtenue à travers un traitement contrapuntique du matériau.

Le deuxième, inspiré d’un chant folklorique traité librement, reste l’une des pages les plus célèbres de Tchaïkovski. De multiples arrangements verront le jour, dont un signé par Tchaïkovski lui-même, pour violoncelle et orchestre à cordes, réalisé quinze ans après. Si la popularité du mouvement exaspérait à l’occasion le compositeur –  » Ils ne veulent connaître rien d’autre!  » –, c’est pourtant une interprétation de ce mouvement qui devait devenir l’un des moments les plus mémorables de sa carrière.  » De toute mon existence, je n’ai peut-être jamais été aussi flatté et ma fierté de compositeur aussi touchée que lorsque Léon Tolstoï, assis à côté de moi, fondit en larmes à l’écoute de l’Andante de mon Premier Quatuor « , confiait-il à son journal dix ans plus tard.

L’attrayant scherzo fait alterner rythmes binaires et ternaires, alors qu’en totale opposition, le trio privilégie une certaine rigidité rythmique, atteinte notamment par la superposition.

Le finale dénoue et retisse deux thèmes, un premier, brillant et festif, le second, lyrique et typiquement russe. Tchaïkovski devait écrire deux autres quatuors à cordes mais, pour la plupart des amateurs, le premier demeure  » le  » quatuor du compositeur.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1039
AN 6 1039
AN 6 1039

Start typing and press Enter to search