fbpx
AN 2 9894-6

Cello from Haydn to Bernstein (3CD)

Album information

Yuli Turovsky: From cellist to conductor, From life’s chances to the heart’s necessities

“Everything existing in the universe is the fruit of chance and necessity.”
? Democritus

“Man at last knows that he is alone in the immense indifference of the universe, whence he emerged by chance. Neither his fate nor his duty are written. The choice of making his life a heaven or a hell is his alone.”
? Jacques Monod, Chance and Necessity

When one asks Yuli Turovsky “why the cello?” he responds “by chance.” And in the same breath he adds that much of what came afterwards was also the result of life’s chances. As the ancient Greek philosopher Democritus remarked, everything that exists, exists by chance, but also by necessity. So while the cello may initially have been a “choice” resulting from a combination of circumstances, with very little left to personal will, what he subsequently accomplished with the instrument was more the result of the heart’s necessities and of the ability to grasp the passing moment, the chance that may never come again. This is the essence of the poet Horace’s famous phrase Carpe diem—seize the day. This is shaping one’s own destiny.

Born in the former USSR on June 7, 1939 on the eve of World War II, young Yuli had reached primary school age shortly after it ended, in 1946, when music burst into his life unexpectedly. His father was a lawyer and the family lived near Moscow’s Central Music School, a primary and secondary school renowned for its music concentration program. One day a piano teacher consulted Yuli’s father about a legal matter. Having come to know the boy’s parents quite well, the piano teacher asked them whether they had considered enrolling him in the nearby music school. To determine whether young Yuli had an aptitude for music, she had him sing back a few melodies and rhythm exercises. The results were so encouraging that she took him under her wing and prepared him for admission to the school. When it came time to choose an instrument, one of the school’s faculty suggested the cello. When Yuli asked “why the cello?” the teacher answered “it’s written all over your face!” and Yuli Turovsky’s fate was sealed.

After completing high school, he was admitted into the Moscow Conservatory in 1957, where until 1969 he studied with the renowned Galina Kozolupova, whose imperial presence reminded Turovsky of Catherine the Great. After completing his undergraduate work in 1962, he was admitted to the Conservatory’s “Aspirantura” level (graduate school), completing the equivalent of a doctorate in 1965. In 1969, he won first prize at the USSR National Cello Competition, and the following year, second prize at the Prague Spring International Music Competition. About this time, he became an associate to his illustrious teacher at the Conservatory while teaching the younger students at his former school. Even more decisive, he earned the position of principal cello in the famous Moscow Chamber Orchestra, conducted by the legendary Rudolf Barshai. Then there were numerous recitals with, among others, Conservatory friends such as violinist Vladimir Spivakov (who, in 1969, won first prize at the Montréal International Music Competition). With his many rehearsals, concerts and recitals, finding time for individual work became increasingly rare, and Turovsky would take advantage of every chance he got to practice. On tour with the Moscow Chamber Orchestra, he would even occasionally practice on the tour bus.

But he recalls that the tensions of daily life under the Communist regime were so great that while the idea of leaving one’s homeland was unthinkable, for some there came point—at a time when even remaining silent, remaining inconspicuous and living only for music was considered suspicious—that remaining became harder than leaving. For Yuli Turovsky and his wife, a violinist and talented pedagogue, the critical threshold came in 1976.

Why Canada? Why Montréal? Chance, answers Turovsky yet again. In those years, the world was divided in two: Russia and the rest of the world—a vast, nebulous, poorly defined place. If the Turovskys chose Montréal, it was that during a recording session in Russia, Yuli had met a Canadian soprano then living in Montréal with her husband, a violinist (many Montréal music lovers will no doubt remember with nostalgia Gaelyne and Taras Gabora). When they learned that the Turovskys had left the USSR, they encouraged them to come to Montréal.

After the Turovskys settled into their new city, Yuli renewed his acquaintance with two other recently emigrated Russian musicians: violinist Rostislav Dubinsky and his wife, pianist Luba Edlina. Dubinsky had been, until that point, the first violin and soul of the famous Borodin Quartet, which he had founded some 30 years earlier, in 1946—just as seven-year-old Yuli was first discovering music and the cello. Before emigrating, they had discussed the possibility of working together once they arrived in the West. They met again in New York, in their agent’s apartment, where they put together a series of four concerts, each comprising three trios for piano, violin and cello.

Thus was formed, in 1976, the Borodin Trio, with whom the cellist would record almost all of the standard trio repertoire for the Chandos label (along with less well-known but nonetheless interesting works), in addition to giving hundreds of concerts around the world. He also began to take on the concerto repertoire, appearing as a guest soloist with major orchestras, and he formed the Duo Turovsky with his wife.

In addition to his intense performing career, he was also a teacher. From 1977 to 1985, he taught at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal and, since 1981, at the Université de Montréal. In 1983, he realized that the number of students he and his wife had trained since their arrival in Montréal six years earlier was sufficient to form a chamber orchestra, and an old dream began to haunt him: to found and conduct a small string ensemble, similar to the one he played in under Barshai before leaving for the West. Many of his colleagues thought the idea far-fetched in Montréal’s already teeming chamber music scene. However, Turovsky managed to interest the French arm of the CBC, Société Radio-Canada, in the project (can one really speak of chance now, as opposed to determination?), suggesting his students record Handel’s Concerti grossi, Opus 6. The program director of SRC’s former “Chaîne Culturelle,” Jacques Bertrand, loved the idea. Shortly thereafter, Turovsky played the result to some executives from Chandos, the British label that recorded the Borodin Trio. The response was so enthusiastic that they offered a three-record deal, with the first to be recorded immediately. However, the ensemble, which had not yet even performed in public, needed a name. Turovsky chose “I Musici de Montreal” in honour of the famous Italian ensemble I Musici di Roma, which he had always admired.

I Musici de Montréal gave its first concert on November 8, 1984, just as the first recording was hurriedly being placed on record store shelves. The year that followed saw the group’s first American tour and first Montréal concert series. In a very short time, I Musici de Montréal had become one of Canada’s most active chamber ensembles, and in 1993, Turovsky left the Borodin Trio to dedicate himself to his new project full time. Now, as the ensemble’s 25th anniversary approaches, I Musici de Montréal has over forty recordings to its credit and every year performs over 100 concerts around the world. And the adventure continues.

Originality of style is often the sum of many different influences. Some artists refuse to recognize this; but for others, like Yuli Turovsky, knowing where one comes from, being able to put one’s finger on the precise impact of a teacher or a colleague, is a sign of maturity. Turovsky likes to quote Pablo Picasso: “If there is something to steal, I steal it!”

Beyond the solid training he got at the Kozolupova Conservatory, Turovsky speaks of three colleagues who had major influences on him over his career. Under the baton of Barshai, he discovered the specific sound quality of each centimetre of the bow, and of how the bow is for the violinist or cellist like the artist’s palette of colours. Turovsky recalls that Barshai’s bowing technique had a mathematical precision, yet it never lost sight of the ultimate goal: the expression of emotion. To develop cohesion and ensemble playing, Barshai also developed unusual rehearsal techniques that Turovsky still uses with I Musici. For instance, Barshai sometimes had his musicians play a passage holding the bow above the strings—in other words, playing silently, concentrating on the movement of the bow and on the other musicians, and trying to harmonize their movements. With Spivakov, his friend from the Moscow Conservatory, Turovsky learned to weigh the emotional content of each note and to make “each note speak.” And from Dubinsky, “a master at understanding form,” he developed not only his analytical powers but also the ability to immerse himself in a work’s formal structure.

All of these elements helped shape the style of Yuli Turovsky the cellist and that of I Musici de Montréal.

____________________________________

This box set—an assemblage of the main works for cello and chamber orchestra recorded by the virtuoso and his orchestra over the years—is a wonderful illustration of both. It contains Baroque and Classical concertos, either in their original versions or transcribed for cello (a common practice in the 18th century). But it also features a variety of modern works, highlighting both the openness of spirit and the spirit of research that have characterized the artistic process of I Musici de Montreal and its conductor from the ensemble’s very beginnings. These choices resemble less the fruits of chance than the results of an uncommonly strong will—a will that in always striving to push boundaries has, out of life’s chances, forged creations of absolute necessity.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9894-6

Violoncelle de Haydn à Bernstein (3CD)

Date de sortie 28 août 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9894-6
Periodes Hors période
Genres Orchestre de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Yuli Turovsky: Du violoncelle à la direction d’orchestre, Des hasards de la vie aux nécessités du coeur

« Tout ce qui existe est le fruit du hasard et de la nécessité. »
? Démocrite

« L’homme sait enfin qu’il est seul dans l’immensité indifférente de l’univers d’où il a émergé par hasard. Non plus que son destin, son devoir n’est écrit nulle part. A lui de choisir entre le royaume et les ténèbres. »
? Jacques Monod, Le hasard et la nécessité

Lorsqu’on demande à Yuli Turovsky  » pourquoi le violoncelle ? « , il répond  » par hasard « . Et il ajoute du même souffle que tout ce qui lui est arrivé par la suite est aussi, en grande partie, dû aux hasards de la vie. Comme déjà dans la Grèce Antique le philosophe Démocrite l’avait noté, tout ce qui existe est certes le fruit du hasard… mais c’est aussi le fruit de la nécessité. Si le choix du violoncelle a pu être, au départ, le résultat d’un concours de circonstances où la volonté du premier intéressé eut peu à voir, ce que ce dernier devait accomplir par la suite avec cet instrument relève cependant plus des nécessités du coeur, de la capacité à saisir l’instant qui passe, l’occasion qui pourrait ne plus se représenter. C’est le sens du fameux  » Carpe diem « ,  » Cueille le jour « , locution latine tirée d’un poème d’Horace. C’est ce qu’on appelle forger son propre destin.

Né dans l’ancienne URSS le 7 juin 1939, à la veille de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le jeune Yuli venait d’atteindre l’âge de commencer son primaire lorsqu’au lendemain de la guerre, en 1946, la musique fit irruption de manière inattendue dans sa vie. Son père était avocat et la famille vivait tout près de l’École centrale de musique de Moscou, une école primaire et secondaire réputée pour sa forte concentration en musique. Un jour, une professeur de piano vint consulter son père pour un problème juridique. S’étant rapidement liée avec les parents, elle leur demanda dans quelle école ils comptaient inscrire leur fils, s’ils avaient envisagé l’école de musique juste à côté. Pour voir si le jeune Yuli avait de bonnes aptitudes musicales, elle lui demanda de rechanter après elle quelques mélodies et exercices de rythme. Les résultats furent assez convaincants pour qu’elle le prenne en charge et le prépare à son admission. Au moment de choisir un instrument, un membre de l’équipe professorale suggéra le violoncelle. Lorsque Yuli lui demanda :  » Pourquoi le violoncelle ? « , le professeur répondit :  » Tu l’as écrit sur le front !  » Ainsi fut scellé le destin de Yuli Turovsky.

À la fin de ses études secondaires, il est admis en 1957 au Conservatoire de Moscou, dans la classe de Galina Kozolupova, pédagogue réputée dont la prestance impériale, se souvient Turovsky, lui faisait penser à La Grande Catherine. À la fin du premier cycle, en 1962, Yuli est accepté au niveau supérieur dit  » Aspirantura  » et obtient en 1965 l’équivalent d’un doctorat. En 1969, il remporte le premier prix au Concours national de violoncelle de l’U.R.S.S. ; l’année suivante, il décroche le deuxième prix au Concours international  » Printemps de Prague « . À la même époque, il devient l’adjoint de son illustre professeur au conservatoire tout en commençant à enseigner aux plus jeunes dans son ancienne école. Plus déterminant encore, il obtient le poste de violoncelle solo du célèbre Orchestre de chambre de Moscou dirigé par le légendaire Rudolf Barshaï. À cela s’ajoutent de nombreux récitals avec, entre autres, des amis de conservatoire comme le violoniste Vladimir Spivakov (qui venait, en 1969, de remporter le premier prix du Concours international de musique de Montréal). Entre cours et répétitions, concerts et récitals, les moments pour travailler seul son instrument se font plus rares. Il profite de la moindre occasion et, en tournée avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Moscou, il lui arrivait parfois de le faire dans l’autobus.

Mais, sous le régime communiste, rappelle-t-il, les tensions de la vie quotidienne étaient telles que, même si l’on ne pouvait se faire à l’idée de quitter sa patrie, arrivait un moment où, pour certains, il devenait plus difficile de rester que de partir, lorsque rester silencieux, se tenir à l’écart, ne vivre que pour la musique, devenaient malgré tout suspects. Pour Yuli Turovsky et sa femme, elle aussi musicienne, violoniste et pédagogue de talent, ce seuil critique fut atteint en 1976.

Pourquoi le Canada ? Pourquoi Montréal ? Le hasard, répond à nouveau Turovsky. À cette époque, le monde était pour lui divisé en deux : la Russie et le reste, une grande nébuleuse plus ou moins différenciée. Si les Turovsky choisissent Montréal, c’est qu’au cours d’un enregistrement en Russie, Yuli avait fait la connaissance d’une soprano canadienne d’origine russe qui vivait à l’époque à Montréal avec son mari violoniste. Plusieurs mélomanes montréalais se souviendront sans doute avec nostalgie de Gaelyne et Taras Gabora. Lorsqu’ils apprennent que les Turovsky ont quitté l’U.R.S.S., ils les incitent à venir les rejoindre.

Sitôt installé à Montréal, Yuli reprend contact avec deux compatriotes, eux aussi musiciens nouvellement émigrés. Il s’agissait du violoniste Rostislav Dubinsky et de sa femme, la pianiste Luba Edlina. Dubinsky avait été jusque-là le premier violon et l’âme du célèbre Quatuor Borodine qu’il avait fondé quelque 30 ans plus tôt en 1946, l’année où, à sept ans, Yuli découvrait la musique et le violoncelle. Avant d’entreprendre leurs procédures d’émigration, ils avaient discuté de la possibilité d’entreprendre quelque chose ensemble une fois passé à l’Ouest. Ils se retrouvent à New York, dans l’appartement de leur agent, où ils travaillent avec acharnement à monter une première série de quatre programmes comprenant chacun trois trios pour piano, violon et violoncelle.

C’est ainsi que fut lancé en 1976 le Trio Borodine avec lequel le violoncelliste devait enregistrer sur étiquette Chandos pratiquement tout le répertoire standard de trio (et même des œuvres moins connues mais qu’ils jugeaient dignes d’intérêt), en plus de donner des centaines de concerts à travers le monde. Il commence d’autre part à être invité comme soliste par de grands orchestres, ce qui lui permet de s’épanouir aussi dans le genre du concerto, et il forme de plus avec sa femme le Duo Turovsky.

À cette intense carrière d’interprète s’ajoute celle de pédagogue. De 1977 à 1985, il enseigne au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal et, depuis 1981, à la faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal. En 1983, il constate que les élèves dignes de faire profession, que lui et sa femme ont formé depuis leur arrivée à Montréal six ans plus tôt, étaient assez nombreux pour former un orchestre de musique de chambre. Un vieux rêve revient alors le hanter : fonder et diriger un petit ensemble de cordes comme celui dans lequel il avait joué sous la direction de Barshaï jusqu’à son départ pour l’Ouest. Plusieurs autour de lui croient la chose utopique dans le contexte; il y a selon eux déjà trop d’ensembles et de sociétés de musique de chambre à Montréal. Mais (est-ce encore le hasard ou plutôt la détermination de l’homme ?) Yuli Turovsky réussit à intéresser la Société Radio-Canada. Il propose de faire avec ses élèves un enregistrement des Concerti grossi, op. 6, de Haendel. Le directeur des émissions musicales de la défunte Chaîne Culturelle, Jacques Bertrand, trouve l’idée séduisante. Peu de temps après, Turovsky fait entendre le résultat aux responsables de Chandos, la compagnie de disques britannique pour laquelle le Trio Borodine enregistrait. Emballés, ils lui proposent illico de faire une première série de trois enregistrements. À cet ensemble qui n’avait pas encore donné de concert, il fallait donc trouver un nom. Yuli choisit  » I Musici de Montréal « , en hommage au célèbre ensemble italien I Musici di Roma qu’il avait toujours admiré.

I Musici de Montréal donne son premier concert le 8 novembre 1984, alors que le premier enregistrement arrive, par envoi aérien express, sur les tablettes des disquaires. Une première tournée américaine et une première saison montréalaise suivent dans l’année. En peu de temps, l’ensemble devient l’un des plus actifs au Canada. En 1993, Yuli Turovsky se voit obligé de laisser le Trio Borodine pour s’y consacrer entièrement. Alors qu’il approche de son 25e anniversaire, I Musici de Montréal compte plus d’une quarantaine d’enregistrements et donne plus de 100 concerts par an à travers le monde. Et l’aventure continue…

Ce qui fait l’originalité d’un style est souvent la somme de plusieurs influences. Certains artistes refusent de les reconnaître ; pour d’autres, comme Yuli Turovsky, savoir d’où l’on vient, pouvoir nommer avec précision ce qu’un professeur ou un collègue a pu nous apporter, est plutôt un signe de maturité. À ce sujet, la boutade de Picasso qu’il cite de mémoire lui a toujours plus :  » Si je peux voler quelque chose à quelqu’un, je le vole !  »

Au-delà de la solide formation de base reçue au conservatoire de Kozolupova, Turovsky retient trois influences majeures de collègues en cours de carrière. Sous la direction de Barshaï, il découvrit la spécificité sonore de chaque centimètre de l’archet, comment l’archet est, pour le violoniste ou le violoncelliste, sa palette de couleurs. La science de l’archet qu’avait Barshaï était d’une précision mathématique, se souvient Turovsky, mais paradoxalement, cette science n’oubliait jamais le but visé : l’émotion. Pour développer la cohésion du jeu d’ensemble, Barshaï avait aussi développé des techniques inusitées que Yuli Turovsky utilise encore en répétition avec ses I Musici. Barshaï demandait parfois à ses musiciens de jouer un certain passage en maintenant l’archet au-dessus des cordes, autrement dit de jouer en silence, en se concentrant sur les mouvements d’archet et sur la conscience des autres autour de soi en harmonisation ses mouvements avec les leurs. Avec Spivakov, son ami de conservatoire, Turovsky apprit à questionner le poids émotionnel de chaque note, à faire en sorte que  » chaque note parle « . Auprès de Dubinsky,  » maître de la compréhension de la forme « , il développa non seulement son sens de l’analyse, mais une faculté de s’imprégner de la structure formelle des œuvres.
Tous ces éléments ont contribué à forger tout autant le style du violoncelliste Yuli Turovsky que celui de son ensemble I Musici de Montréal.

___________________________________

Le présent coffret en offre une belle illustration en réunissant les principales œuvres pour violoncelle et orchestre de chambre que le virtuose et son orchestre ont, au fil des ans, enregistrées ensemble. On y retrouve, d’une part, des concertos baroques et classiques, soit originalement conçus soit transcrits, comme cela se faisait souvent au 18e siècle, pour le violoncelle. D’autre part, un choix diversifié d’œuvres modernes illustrent aussi l’ouverture d’esprit et l’esprit de recherche qui, dès les débuts de l’ensemble, ont caractérisé la démarche artistique du chef et de ses musiciens. Et ces choix ressemblent moins aux fruits du hasard, qu’aux résultats d’une volonté peu commune qui, cherchant à aller toujours plus loin, a su, des hasards de la vie, faire œuvre d’une absolue nécessité.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9954
AN 2 9954
AN 2 9954
AN 2 9954

Start typing and press Enter to search