fbpx
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder

Jordan Pal: Into the Wonder

Composers
Release date November 03, 2017
Album code AN 2 9521
Periods Contemporary

They spoke about it

Album information

Starling

Triple concerto for violin, cello, piano and orchestra

Online videos of flocking starlings, performing breathtaking, whirling aerial displays as they prepare to roost for the winter season, have gone viral. This phenomenon, known as murmuration, is nature in its most fleetingly beautiful and instinctively synchronous form, displaying processes that are poised at the moment of change, to be spontaneously and almost entirely transformed. Not unlike the collective unconscious of a great orchestra breathing together as one, the celestial congregation of starlings and other phenomena are clear testaments to the natural world’s capacity to re-inspire.

Amidst the emergent environmental crisis, it might appear that very little energy is spent on conveying to the public the visceral beauty of our ever-changing, ever-renewing natural world. By suggesting through the comparable power of music – and without programmatic depictions – nature’s awe-inspiring capabilities, my hope is to inspire a greater appreciation of our environment. This is not an original theme: the suggestion and subtlety of Debussy’s La Mer, Sibelius’ adoration of the Finnish landscape in musically embodying the moods of nature and the ever-changing seasons, and Messiaen’s timeless tribute to the infinite creativity, ingenuity, and vitality of the natural world, as examples. After all, music is possibly the only human endeavor that has the potential to match nature’s evanescent splendor.

Starling seeks to capture in musical form the same boundless, breathless, fleeting and visceral qualities indicative of nature. Evocative and startling colours, characters and textures inspire a work that uncovers a deeply intuitive and mystical relationship to nature through sound. Musical techniques, such as aleatoric devices, spontaneous content-driven forms, and the soloists’ dynamic interactions with each other and the orchestra, assist in suggesting the intuitively ever-changing, non-linear processes of nature.

Into the Wonder

for orchestra

As twilight unveils the faint glimmer of distant stars, a child is born. His mother’s heart swells, her breath suspended, joy coalesces with pain. 7,000 light years away, vast stellar nurseries – the remnants of once great celestial giants – are churning gas and dust into new beginnings. Sunrise nears and a hollowed tree, its trunk collapsing under its own weight, returns to the earth. An elderly man takes his last breath. The burgeoning world envelops him.

Spanning three movements, Into the Wonder celebrates the creative will of our universe. Evoking birth and death, creation and destruction, universal interconnectedness and the rapture of love, this piece seeks to capture the mystery, awe and wonder of life. Nature’s own great works of art are reminders that we are a part of this magnificent range of possibilities, that we are part of something much greater. This symphony celebrates all that is beautiful.

Bound together by the “connective tissue” of a single musical idée fixe, the three movements of Into the Wonder highlight the ineffability of the universe by means of mysterious sound worlds, colours and textures (aided in part by the addition of the keyboard synthesizer). The first movement muses over the baffling complexity of life and the universe, and their infinite range of possibilities. The middle movement, lyrically fluent and infatuated, explores birth and death, joy and pain, and their inextricable connection to one another. While rejoicing in the magnificence of it all – the fecundity of Mother Earth, the creativity of the universe, the rapture of love, and the insatiable will that drives us forth into the wonder – the final movement fervently thrusts towards the end of the work, cycling back to the mysterious music of the opening movement.

© Jordan Pal

A note from Arthur Post

It’s been an exhilarating experience performing and recording the music of Jordan Pal. From my first encounter, I was attracted to his music’s compositional integrity. Here was new music animated by logical and natural progressions, music that embraced traditional tonality, pulse, and expression, while displaying a distinctly 21st century sonic brilliance. Its language was accessible and its intent uplifting – qualities that showed in our audience’s immediate and enthusiastic response. The process of commissioning and bringing these new works into being has galvanized the musicians and staff of the Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra, and the effort of navigating the music’s considerable challenges has been amply rewarded by the revelation and achievement of Jordan’s fresh vision. My gratitude goes to our fabulously talented and dynamic partners, the Gryphon Trio, and to our wonderful producer, Carl Talbot, as well as to the musicians and patrons of the TBSO.

Read more

About

Gryphon Trio
Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra
Jordan Pal

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9521 Jordan Pal Into The Wonder

Jordan Pal: Into the Wonder

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 03 novembre 2017
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9521
Periodes Contemporaine

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Starling

Triple concerto pour violon, violoncelle, piano et orchestre

Les vidéos présentant des volées d’étourneaux qui effectuent des tournoiements aériens à couper le souffle – alors qu’ils se préparent à s’installer pour l’hiver, sont devenues très populaires. Connu sous le nom de « murmure », ce phénomène représente la beauté éphémère et la synchronicité instinctive de la nature, et démontre un équilibre statique dans un moment de changements, où soudainement tout est presque entièrement transformé. Comme les membres d’un orchestre qui respirent inconsciemment ensemble comme un tout, la congrégation d’étourneaux célestes et d’autres phénomènes sont le témoignage de la capacité de la nature à « ré-inspirer ».

À l’ère d’une crise environnementale émergente, on pourrait constater que très peu d’énergie est mise sur la démonstration de la beauté intime de la nature en évolution et en constant renouvellement. En utilisant les pouvoirs de la musique pour évoquer les possibilités inspirantes et grandioses de la nature – sans description du programme, j’espère pouvoir insuffler une plus grande appréciation des milieux naturels canadiens tout en sensibilisant à l’importance de protéger notre environnement. La nature n’est pas un thème nouveau ; pensons par exemple aux subtilités de La Mer de Debussy, à l’adoration des paysages finlandais par Sibelius qui incarnent les humeurs de la nature et le changement des saisons dans sa musique et à l’éternel hommage que fait Messiaen à la créativité, à l’ingéniosité et à la vitalité du monde naturel. La musique est peut-être la seule activité humaine qui s’approche de la splendeur évanescente de notre monde naturel.

Starling cherche à capter, par sa forme musicale, les qualités éphémères, viscérales, illimitées et extraordinaires de la nature. Les couleurs évocatrices et étonnantes, le caractère et les textures de la nature inspirent l’œuvre qui par sa sonorité dévoile une relation mystique et profondément intuitive avec celle-ci. Des techniques musicales, telles que des processus aléatoires, des figures spontanées et l’interaction dynamique des solistes entre eux et avec l’orchestre, suggèrent les processus non linéaires et en constant changement de la nature.

Into the Wonder

pour orchestre

À la lueur du crépuscule, sous le faible scintillement d’étoiles lointaines, un enfant est né. Le cœur de sa mère se gonfle, sa respiration suspendue, la joie se fond à la douleur. À 7000 années-lumière, une vaste pouponnière d’étoiles – les reliques de merveilleux géants célestes – crée un tourbillon de gaz et de particules pour un nouveau commencement. À l’aube, un arbre creux s’effondre sous son poids, et retourne à la terre. Un homme âgé rend son dernier souffle. Autour de lui, le monde expire.

Déployant trois mouvements, Into the Wonder célèbre le pouvoir créateur de notre univers. De la naissance à la mort, de la création à la destruction, du lien absolu à l’univers et de l’extase de l’amour, cette œuvre cherche à capter le mystère, le grandiose et les merveilles de la vie. La magnifique oeuvre d’art qu’est la nature nous rappelle que nous faisons partie de ces merveilleuses possibilités, de quelque chose de beaucoup plus grand. L’art possède le pouvoir de nous faire voir la grandeur et la beauté de la nature qui nous entoure. Cette symphonie célèbre la beauté.

Unis par le tissu conjonctif d’une seule idée fixe, les trois mouvements de Into the Wonder mettent en lumière le caractère ineffable de l’univers en exposant un mystérieux monde sonore, de couleurs et de textures – appuyé par l’ajout du synthétiseur. Le premier mouvement engage une réflexion sur la complexité déconcertante de la vie et de l’univers, et de leurs possibilités infinies. Le mouvement central, d’un lyrisme fluide et épris, dépeint la naissance et la mort, la joie et la douleur, et les liens inextricables qu’il y a entre elles. Alors qu’on se réjouit de toute cette beauté – la fécondité de mère nature, la créativité de l’univers, l’extase de l’amour et la volonté insatiable qui nous mènent jusqu’à l’émerveillement – le dernier mouvement nous entraîne ardemment vers la fin de l’oeuvre, retournant sur les pas de la mystérieuse musique du premier mouvement.

© Jordan Pal

Un mot d’Arthur Post

Quelle expérience exaltante que celle d’interpréter et d’enregistrer la musique de Jordan Pal. Dès la première approche, j’ai été séduit par l’intégrité de ses compositions musicales. De la musique contemporaine animée par des progressions logiques et fluides qui épouse une tonalité, une pulsation et un mode d’expression traditionnels, tout en explorant une sonorité brillante et distinctive du 21e siècle. Son langage est accessible et son intention enivrante – des qualités observables par l’immédiate réponse enthousiaste de notre audience. Le processus de commander et de créer de nouvelles œuvres a exalté les musiciens et le personnel de l’Orchestre symphonique de Thunder Bay (TBSO), et les efforts nécessaires pour faire face aux défi s considérables de cette musique ont été grandement récompensés par les révélations et les prouesses de la vision musicale novatrice de Jordan Pal. Mes remerciements vont à nos partenaires dynamiques d’immense talent, le Gryphon Trio, au remarquable producteur Carl Talbot ainsi qu’aux musiciens et aux mécènes de TBSO.

Lire la suite

À propos

Gryphon Trio
Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra
Jordan Pal

Start typing and press Enter to search