fbpx
AN 2 9171 Kora Flamenca – Zal Sissohko

Kora Flamenca

Release date February 07, 2020
Album code AN 2 9171
Periods Others
Genres World Music

They spoke about it

Album information

This recording is the fruit of a musical project that I nurtured over a long period of time. The idea was born during a trip to Seville, when I first became interested in the sounds of flamenco. I was fascinated by the playing techniques of the musicians I met in Andalusia, and became set on creating music that would combine flamenco with the Mandinka culture of my native West Africa. When I was offered an artistic residency by the Centre des musiciens du monde in 2018, I approached Caroline Planté, a musician with more than 25 years’ experience as a composer, soloist and performer, but also one of the few women around today who plays the flamenco guitar professionally. Other collaborators on this project include Miguel Medina on percussion, Mohamed Masmoudi on oud and on double bass, and Jean Félix Mailloux on double bass. I am infinitely grateful for their contributions to this intimate, acoustic ensemble.

With this creation, I sought to expand the limits of my instrument, the kora, as far as possible. Inspired by soaring improvisational flamenco riffs, I tried to create a hybrid style that blends the traditional kora playing technique with flamenco influences. I call this style “tradimodern”. In my mind, musical inspiration begins with respect for the instrument’s tradition, history and sounds. Then, through various encounters and experiments, I sought to take the playing technique even further and at the same time push my collaborators to stimulate each other, to create music in which composition, technical prowess and improvisation unite in perfect harmony.

Zal Sissokho

The Centre des musiciens du monde’s Collection

This collection features works created during artistic residencies offered by the Centre des musiciens du monde. In our modern age, when life moves at a frenetic pace, the Centre wanted to offer musicians the luxury of time to experiment, to write, to scrap what they’d done and start again: to fully explore their ideas and imagination. These residencies therefore provide time and space for artists, where they can meet other people, forge lasting musical relationships and nourish their creativity. The Centre is open to a wide range of artistic projects, which are selected on the basis of their quality and musicality.

Kiya Tabassian,
the Collection’s Artistic Director

Read more

About

Zal Sissokho
Caroline Planté

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9171 Kora Flamenca – Zal Sissohko

Kora Flamenca

Date de sortie 07 février 2020
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9171
Periodes Autres

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Cet album est l’aboutissement d’un projet musical longuement mûri. C’est dans le cadre d’un voyage à Séville que cette idée est née, alors que j’ai commencé à m’intéresser aux sonorités du flamenco. Fasciné par les techniques de jeu des musiciens rencontrés en Andalousie, mon objectif était alors de créer une musique qui marierait à la fois ce flamenco et la culture mandingue d’Afrique de l’Ouest dont je suis issu. Ainsi, lorsqu’une résidence artistique m’a été offerte par le Centre des musiciens du monde en 2018, j’ai fait appel à Caroline Planté, musicienne qui compte plus de vingt-cinq ans d’expérience comme compositrice, soliste et interprète, en plus d’être l’une des rares femmes de notre époque à jouer de la guitare flamenca professionnellement. Se sont également ajoutés à ce projet Miguel Medina aux percussions, Mohamed Masmoudi au oud et à la contrebasse, ainsi que Jean Félix Mailloux à la contrebasse, dans une formation que j’ai voulu intimiste et acoustique.

À travers cette création, j’ai souhaité repousser au maximum les limites de mon instrument : la kora. En m’inspirant des envolées d’improvisation propres à la guitare flamenca, j’ai tenté de créer un style hybride où la technique de jeu traditionnelle de la kora s’arrime aux influences du flamenco : un style que j’aime nommer « tradimoderne ». Pour moi, l’inspiration musicale commence d’abord par le respect de la tradition de l’instrument, de son histoire et de ses sonorités. Puis, à travers différentes rencontres et expérimentations, je porte la technique de jeu plus loin et pousse du même coup mes collaborateurs à s’inspirer les uns des autres, afin de créer une musique où compositions, prouesses techniques et improvisations se conjuguent et s’harmonisent parfaitement.

C’est ainsi que sont nées les compositions que vous entendrez sur cet album ; des œuvres aux sonorités métissées entre l’Espagne et le Sénégal, où les spécificités tout comme la polyvalence de nos différents instruments à cordes sont mises à l’honneur.

Zal Sissokho

Collection Centre des musiciens du monde

Cette collection vous propose des œuvres nées de résidences artistiques offertes par le Centre des musiciens du monde. À une époque où tout va à un rythme effréné, le Centre a senti le besoin d’offrir aux musicien.ne.s le temps pour essayer, écrire, effacer et réécrire, explorer en profondeur leurs idées et leur imagination. Les artistes se retrouvent ainsi dans un « espace-temps » où sont privilégiés les rencontres humaines et les liens musicaux durables, à même de nourrir la créativité. Enfin, le Centre est ouvert à un large éventail de propositions artistiques, ayant pour ligne directrice la qualité et la musicalité des projets.

Kiya Tabassian,
directeur artistique de la Collection

Lire la suite

À propos

Zal Sissokho
Caroline Planté

Start typing and press Enter to search