fbpx
AN 2 2015

Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos. 30, 31, 32

Performers
Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2015
Periods Classical
Genres Piano

Album information

Beethoven: The Final Piano Sonatas

Sonata No. 30 in E Major, Op. 109

Few works make such a powerful impact in such a short space of time as the Sonata in E Major, Op.109. Each movement is like a haiku, beautifully formed, not wasting a word, yet making a very significant point. The first movement gives us perhaps the finest integration of Beethoven‘s formal and improvisatory styles, molded into a very tightly compressed, yet smooth sonata form. This results in an uncanny sensation of the utmost freedom superimposed on absolute order and organization—something one fervently wishes could also be achieved in the political sphere. The wild and tumultuous Prestissimo is a précis of sonata form, with every element reduced to a stark minimum. Here, its original furor dissipated, it is used in a flowing lyrical vein, but still retains a dark and threatening countenance. After this storm, what a beautiful sensation it is as the last movement sings out the heavenly theme for its variations. All turmoil is gone, and we are engulfed by serene yet powerful expression.

Sonata No. 31 in A-flat Major, Op. 110

Op. 110 is the most accessible and the most popular of the late sonatas. Its unabashedly melodic opening tenderly sings out two consecutive full-fledged tunes, something almost unique among the Beethoven sonatas, which with rare exceptions start with ideas, motives or patterns, rather than singing melodies. The Allegro molto is a short, highly dramatic movement, serving the function of a scherzo, even though it is in 2/4 time. It is in the trio that we first visit mysterious, other-worldly realms found so often in the late works. A cascading figure with unpredictable chromatic aberrations, crossing through its own pointillistic accompaniment, gives a penetrating sense of anxiety and surrealistic confusion. The uniquely designed finale commences with an improvisatory recitative, clearly introductory in character, its harmonies and tempo wandering freely. The Arioso gives way to a fugue, and if the former was vocal, certainly the latter must be choral. After a second massive climax, the harmony unexpectedly sags down a half-step to G minor, and we find ourselves back in the Arioso, exhausted and weakened to borrow Beethoven‘s own terms. From here to the conclusion, the music swells and strains heroically, its expression disarmingly warm and open, inviting all to rejoice and resonate with its happy fervour.

Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111

The contrast between the two movements of Op.111 could not be greater. The first is passionate, strident, angular, and complex in its moody key of C minor; the second, in the untroubled key of C major, is smooth, resigned, and transcendentally sweet. Some see here an initial portrayal of the strife and terror of the world which gives way to the peace and spirituality of the hereafter. The short introduction opens with three bolts of lightning, followed by a lengthy ebbing away, still in the same double-dotted rhythm as the opening, but the energy apparently sapped by the three spent bolts. The short and thunderous six-note flourish that opens the Allegro is enormously expanded into a theme by a series of extensions. The fact that everything important is proclaimed immediately and the rest of the theme is just an echoing, rambling extension, is what gives it such a powerfully assertive character. The Arietta, which is followed by five variations, is one of the most sublime and simple themes ever created. The first half of the theme is glowing, sweet, and untroubled, while the second, starting in A minor, contains a hint of darkness, as a small cloud temporarily casts a shadow.

© Anton Kuerti

Read more

About

FL 2 3141
FL 2 3141

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2015

Beethoven: Sonates pour piano Nos. 30, 31, 32

Interprètes
Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2015
Periodes Classique
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Les dernières sonates de Beethoven

Sonate no 30 en mi majeur, opus 109

Peu d’œuvres laissent une impression aussi forte dans un temps aussi court que l’opus 109. Chaque mouvement est comme un haïku finement ciselé dans lequel chaque mot est porteur de sens. Dans le premier mouvement, Beethoven a peut-être atteint le plus haut degré de fusion entre forme et improvisation, en conservant dans une forme-sonate d’une rare densité une étonnante souplesse. Le résultat est une étrange sensation d’une extrême liberté superposée à un ordre et une organisation absolus, quelque chose que l’on aimerait ardemment voir s’accomplir aussi dans la sphère politique. Le sauvage et tumultueux Prestissimo est aussi un précis de forme-sonate dont chaque élément a été réduit au strict minimum. Ici, sa fureur originale s’est dissipée et cette ligne est utilisée dans une veine plus lyrique; mais elle conserve néanmoins un caractère sombre et menaçant. Après cet orage, quelle merveilleuse sensation que d’entendre, au début du dernier mouvement, le chant céleste qui servira de thème à une série de variations. Et lorsque cette lumière diminue graduellement, alors que le thème est répété une dernière fois, le sens subsiste et gagne même en intensité.

Sonate no 31 en la bémol majeur, opus 110

L’opus 110 est la plus accessible et donc la plus populaire des dernières sonates. Son ouverture, indéfectiblement mélodique, chante tendrement deux mélodies bien définies, phénomène unique dans les sonates de Beethoven qui, sauf de rares exceptions, commencent par des idées brèves, courts motifs ou figures, plutôt que par des mélodies aussi lyriques. L’Allegro molto est un mouvement court et dramatique, servant de scherzo bien que sa mesure soit en 2/4. C’est dans le Trio que l’on entre pour la première fois dans ces lieux mystérieux et éthérés que l’on rencontre si souvent dans les dernières œuvres. Un trait en cascade qui, à travers son accompagnement pointilliste, s’égare dans un chromatisme étrange et imprévisible, laisse une impression pénétrante d’anxiété et de confusion surréalistes. Le finale, d’une facture unique en son genre, commence par un récitatif improvisé, d’un caractère clairement introductif, ses harmonies et son tempo errant librement. L’Arioso débouche sur une fugue, et si la première était de nature vocale, cette dernière devrait être vue comme chorale. Après un second sommet massif, l’harmonie s’affaisse soudainement d’un demi-ton vers sol mineur et l’on se retrouve à nouveau dans l’Arioso,  » exténué et affaibli  » (selon les propres termes de Beethoven). Jusqu’à la conclusion, la musique s’intensifie et s’étend héroïquement, son expression d’une largesse et d’une chaleur désarmantes invitant tous les cœurs à se réjouir et à résonner de la même ferveur.

Sonate no 32 en do mineur, opus 111

Le contraste entre les deux mouvements de l’opus 111 ne pourrait être plus grand. Le premier, dans la sombre tonalité de do mineur, est passionné, strident, angulaire et complexe; le dernier, en do majeur, est paisible, résigné et d’une douceur transcendante. Certains voient dans le premier l’illustration des terreurs et des conflits de ce monde et, dans le second, celle de la béatitude spirituelle de l’au-delà. La courte introduction commence par trois éclairs suivis d’un long reflux, toujours dans le même rythme doublement pointé, mais dont l’énergie semble avoir été sapée par les trois éclairs du début. L’Allegro con brio débute avec un élan bref, orageux, qui ne devient réellement thème que lorsqu’il est prolongé. Le caractère résolu du mouvement naît de ce début: ce qu’il y a d’essentiel et de fondamental est immédiatement proclamé, et le reste n’est qu’un écho, une extension dans laquelle se perd le thème. Le thème de l’Arietta, qui sera suivi de cinq variations, est l’un des plus simples et plus sublimes jamais composés. La première moitié du thème est radieuse, charmante et paisible, alors que la seconde, qui débute en la mineur, contient un soupçon d’inquiétude, comme l’ombre passagère d’un nuage.

© Anton Kuerti

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9785
AN 2 9785

Start typing and press Enter to search