fbpx
FL 2 3112-3

J.S. Bach: The Leipzig Chorales and other mature works

Performers
Release date March 09, 1998
Album code FL 2 3112-3
Periods Baroque

Album information

“You told me yourself that if life were to take away your faith and hope, this chorale would suffice to give them back to you”.
[Schumann to Mendelssohn after having heard him play chorale BWV 654 at the organ of Saint-Thomas in Leipzig in 1840]

One of the most precious manuscripts of Bach’s organ music to have come down to us is a certain volume (labeled P 271) whose components were perhaps not all originally bound together. This manuscript contains, in the following order, the organ sonatas, fifteen organ chorales, BWV 651-665 (all autograph copies), two chorales, BWV 666-667 copied by J.C. Altnikol (Bach’s pupil), an autograph version of the Canonic Variations, BWV 769a, and finally, the chorale BWV 668 ending at bar 26, and copied by an unknown hand. These last nineteen pieces were all put down on paper during the Cantor’s last years in Leipzig, probably sometime between 1744 and 1748 or later.

The Leipzig Chorales had until recently been called “The Eighteen”, comprising all the manuscript’s chorales which, by the way, all had earlier versions dating back to the Weimar period (c 1710-14). However, only the seventeen first chorales can truly be considered as a collection, since they are presented consecutively in the manuscript. What’s more, the first and last chorales, according to Bernard Lagacé, seem to enshrine the collection, as they both are addressed to the Holy Ghost, are marked “in organo pleno’” and contain at the end the musical signature B-A-C-H (the notes B flat, A, C and B natural). Also, in manuscript P 271, the chorale BWV 668 Vor deinen Thron tret’ ich [Before your throne I now appear ] is incomplete.

This chorale is the same as the one, but completed, published at the end of the first edition of The Art of Fugue, whose preface claims it was dictated by a blind and dying Bach “to a friend”. (This chorale can be found, in this “Intégrale”, following the recording of The Art of Fugue.

The main interest of the collection, apart from its most beautiful and profound music, is the variety of forms which it contains, and Bach has certainly achieved in these chorales an art exceedingly mature and personal. One can distinguish, among other forms, paraphrased chorales whose lines are derived from the cantus firmus (BWV 651, 655, 657, 664, 665), ornamented chorales with the theme in the soprano or tenor lines (BWV 653, 654, 659, 660, 662, 663), fantasy-chorales with the cantus firmus in the bass line (BWV 651, 661), and trios (BWV 655, 664).

It is striking to witness Bach so occupied at the end of is life at re-working and revising older works, as he does in the Leipzig Chorales, or exploring to the limits the ancient science of counterpoint, as in The Musical Offering and The Art of Fugue, for example. In both cases, he is delving into compositional techniques of a former time. Perhaps Bach, being a good teacher, wished to leave as a legacy a vast repertoire of genres that had been the hallmarks of an epoch bygone.

© Jacques-André Houle

_________________________________________

To this excellent introduction to the wonderful collection of the Leipzig Chorales, I wish to simply add a personal hypothesis. If Bach, sick and nearly blind, took the time to revise and copy these old chorales (there is nearly thirty years between their composition and their revision) while busy with the completion and editing of The Art of Fugue, it surely means that he admired these works enough to wish offering them in the most perfect form possible, and he may even had intended their publication. This collection would then have been the fifth part of the Keyboard Exercises (Clavierübung), of which The Art of Fugue would have constituted the sixth and last part, thus accomplishing the six days of Creation… Bach emulating God the Creator…

Two Chorales and two great Preludes and Fugues complete this album. First, a different and ornate version (from the Kirnberger Collection) of the fifth Leipzig Chorale, which is close in style to the Orgelbüchlein Chorales and would have been worthy of that collection. It is followed by the five voice and double pedal version of the third Leipzig Chorale, in which the melody, this time barely ornamented, is in the soprano rather than in the tenor. This version was probably written before the Leipzig version, but nevertheless shares its main stylistic traits such as harmonic progressions and melodic and contrapuntal movement, and we can surely find it as deeply moving.

The two Preludes and Fugues in B and in E minor (BWV 544 and 548) are among Bach’s greatest works. Both no doubt belong to the Leipzig period, probably around 1730, and both are notable for their inventiveness and the extraordinary variety of their writing. Nearly symphonic and highly “baroque” in character, they both radiate an atmosphere of grandeur, and display an unyielding energy and a dramatic character.

© Bernard Lagacé

Read more

About

FL 2 3123-4
FL 2 3123-4

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
FL 2 3112-3

J.S. Bach: Les Chorals de Leipzig et autres oeuvres de maturité

Interprètes
Date de sortie 09 mars 1998
Numéro de l'album FL 2 3112-3
Periodes Baroque

Informations sur l'album

« Tu m’as affirmé toi-même que si la vie devait t’ôter la foi et l’espérance, ce choral à lui seul te les rendrait »
[Schumann à Mendelssohn après une exécution par celui-ci du choral BWV 654 à l’orgue de Saint-Thomas de Leipzig en 1840]

Un des manuscrits les plus précieux qui nous soient parvenus de la musique d’orgue de Bach se présente sous la forme d’un volume (identifié comme P 271) dont les composantes n’ont peut-être pas été reliées au même moment. Ce manus-crit contient, dans l’ordre, les sonates pour orgue, quinze chorals pour orgue, BWV 651-665 (tous de la main de Bach, ou autographes), deux chorals, BWV 666-667 copiés par J.C. Altnikol (élève de Bach), une version autographe des Variations canoniques, BWV 769a, et pour terminer, un choral, BWV 668 tronqué à la mesure 26, d’une main inconnue. Les dix-neuf dernières pièces furent consignées sur papier à Leipzig durant les dernières années de la vie du Cantor, vraisemblablement entre 1744 et 1748 ou plus tard encore.

On a longtemps considéré comme faisant partie du recueil dit des Chorals de Leipzig, les dix-huit chorals pour orgue de ce manuscrit, qui, par ailleurs, existent tous dans des versions antérieures non autographes datant de l’époque de Weimar (vers 1710-1714). Pourtant, seuls les dix-sept premiers constituent un véritable recueil, puisqu’ils se présentent de façon consécutive dans le manuscrit. De plus, selon Bernard Lagacé, le premier et le dernier chorals semblent encadrer les autres, étant tous deux des invocations à l’Esprit Saint marquées « in organo pleno », et comportant à la fin la signature musicale B-A-C-H (si bémol, la, do, si bécarre). Aussi, dans le manuscrit P 271, le choral BWV 668 Vor deinen Thron tret’ ich [Devant ton Trône je vais paraître] est incomplet.

Ce choral est le même que celui, complet, imprimé à la fin de la première édition de l’Art de la fugue, et qui aurait été dicté « à un ami » par un Bach mourant et aveugle, selon la préface de l’édition (Dans cette Intégrale, on trouvera ce choral à la suite de l’Art de la fugue.

L’intérêt du recueil réside principalement, outre la beauté et la profondeur de la musique, dans sa grande variété de formes. Sans être pour autant innovateurs à cet égard, ces chorals n’en représentent pas moins chez Bach une manière achevée et personnelle. On y retrouve, entre autres, des chorals paraphrasés dont chaque ligne est issue du thème (BWV 651, 655, 656, 657, 664, 665), des chorals ornés avec le thème au soprano ou au ténor (BWV 653, 654, 659, 660, 662, 663), des fantaisies avec le thème à la basse (BWV 651, 661) et des trios (BWV 655, 664).

Il peut sembler étonnant que Bach, à la fin de sa vie, se soit tant occupé à retravailler et à réviser des œuvres plus anciennes, comme il le fit avec les Chorals de Leipzig, ou à explorer en profondeur la science archaïque du contrepoint, dans l’Offrande musicale et l’Art de la Fugue par exemple. Dans les deux cas, il traitait des techniques d’écriture déjà anciennes. Peut-être Bach a-t-il voulu en bon péda-gogue, fournir à la génération montante un vaste répertoire des genres qui firent la grandeur d’une époque désormais révolue.

© Jacques-André Houle

______________________________________

À cette excellente introduction au merveilleux recueil des Chorals de Leipzig, j’aimerais simplement ajouter une hypothèse personnelle selon laquelle, si Bach, déjà malade et presque aveugle, se donna la peine de réviser et de recopier lui-même ces grands chorals déjà anciens (plus de trente ans séparent leur composition de cette révision), alors même qu’il s’efforçait de terminer la composition de l’Art de la fugue et d’en préparer l’édition, c’est sans doute qu’il les admirait assez pour souhaiter les léguer à la postérité sous une forme la plus parfaite possible, et il est très vraisemblable même qu’il ait eu l’intention de les faire publier. Cette collection serait donc devenue la cinquième partie des Exercices pour clavier (Clavierübung), dont l’Art de la fugue aurait alors constitué la sixième et dernière partie, correspondant ainsi aux six jours de la Création… Bach, émule du Dieu Créateur…

Deux chorals et deux grands préludes et fugues viennent compléter cet album. D’abord, une autre version (provenant de la Collection Kirnberger), ornée celle-là, du cinquième choral de Leipzig en Trio, qui ressemble aux Chorals de l’Orgelbüchlein et ne serait pas indigne de cette collection. Puis, la version à cinq voix et double pédale du troisième choral de Leipzig, et où la mélodie, à peine ornée cette fois, se trouve au Soprano plutôt qu’au Ténor; autrement, cette version, très probablement antérieure à celle du recueil de Leipzig, en est très proche par son harmonie et par le mouvement mélodique et contrapuntique des voix, et l’on peut certes ne pas la trouver moins émouvante. Enfin, les Préludes et fugues en si et en mi mineurs BWV 544 et 548 comptent parmi les plus grandes œuvres de Bach. L’un et l’autre datent sans doute de la période de Leipzig, probablement autour de 1730, et démontrent une capacité d’invention de même qu’une richesse et une variété d’écriture vraiment extraordinaires. D’allure quasi symphonique et hautement « baroque », ils dégagent tous deux une énergie inépuisable, un caractère très dramatique, et une atmosphère de grandeur.

© Bernard Lagacé

Lire la suite

À propos

FL 2 3093
FL 2 3093

Start typing and press Enter to search