fbpx
AN 2 2022

Brahms

Composers
Performers
Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2022
Periods Romantic
Genres Piano

Album information

At the age of ten, Johannes played his first concert, a private affair, but didn’t perform on a public stage until his fifteenth year, by which time unrelieved poverty at home necessitated his Klavierspielend not just evenings but oftimes nights in the saloons and brothels along Hamburg’s notorious St. Pauli waterfront. Then, in 1849, Brahms met Eduard Reményi, a Hungarian violinist three years his senior, who had fled from the revolutions of 1848 in Central Europe to northwestern Germany. In 1849, they began a touring association that lasted into 1853. Not only did Reményi instill a lifelong fascination with “Hungarian” music (actually Verbunkos, popularized by gypsies, rather than echt Magyar), he introduced his younger colleague to the slightly older but already celebrated violinist, Joseph Joachim. When Reményi and Brahms parted ways after Weimar, following their famous meeting with Liszt that left Brahms musically unmoved, Joachim dispatched his new friend to Düsseldorf. There, on September 30, 1853, Brahms presented himself chez Schumann; the ensuing visit stimulated Robert to take up his pen for the first time in ten years. In an article (his last ever) for the November issue of Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, he hailed Brahms as “a young man over whose cradle Graces and Heroes stood guard… one man who would show his mastery, not through a gradual process but, like Athene, sprung fully armed from the head of Zeus.” By year’s end, 20-year-old Brahms was famous wherever German was read or spoken.

If not quite the culmination of Brahms’ earliest creative period, the F-minor Sonata proved to be the climactic work for keyboard. In Op. 5, his one striking departure from sonata structure as Beethoven left it for Schubert and the legion who followed was a five-movement form, with a ruminative Intermezzo between the Scherzo third movement and Rondo finale. Not only that, the chief theme of this extra movement derives from the opening theme of his “official” slow movement. Brahms subtitled the latter “Backward Glance,” and underlined its introspection throughout with a drumbeat in the bass register. If this work seems a descendent of Beethoven (the Fifth Symphony, but especially the Hammerklavier Sonata), Brahms’ own voice declares hitself at once, for the duration.

The Op. 79 Rhapsodies were his largest solo works from 1871 through 1893 without rivaling the size of his three astonishing solo sonatas, composed before Brahms was legally an adult. But the Rhapsodies are plainly kindred despite their conciseness expressively passionate without restraint or surcease: passion, however, distilled by nearly 30 years of adulthood. On May 7, 1863, the august Singakademie elected him its new director; concurrently he began to give piano lessons, not because of financial need but out of kindness to petitioners. Among his first pupils was Elisabet von Stockhausen. He relished Elisabet’s youthful comeliness, her superlative cuisine, her scrupulous criticism of his music, and her coddling confidence. To this singular woman, after much cogitation, Brahms dedicated his Op. 79 Rhapsodies. Almost everyone who has written about them has remarked on the oxymoron of such structurally formal music (in sonata-form) being called Rhapsodies. Ivor Key, in his Johannes Brahms is right on target when he writes that the Rhapsodies, Op. 79, “deploy a grand passion with no punches pulled.”

© Roger Dettmer

Read more

About

AN 6 1026
AN 6 1026

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2022

Brahms

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2022
Periodes Romantique
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

À l’âge de dix ans, Johannes donna, privément, son premier concert mais ne joua pas en public avant l’âge de quinze ans. La misère dans laquelle vivait sa famille le força alors à jouer non seulement le soir, mais souvent la nuit dans les bars et les bordels du célèbre port de Hambourg. En 1849, Brahms fit la connaissance d’Eduard Reményi, un violoniste hongrois, son aîné de trois ans. Non seulement Reményi insuffla-t-il chez son jeune collègue une fascination pour la musique  » hongroise  » (en réalité  » erbunk « , danse popularisée par les tziganes), mais il le présenta au déjà célèbre violoniste, Joseph Joachim, un peu plus âgé que lui. Quand, après Weimar, Reményi et Brahms se séparèrent à la suite de leur célèbre rencontre avec Liszt, dont la musique avait laissé Brahms indifférent, Joachim expédia son nouvel ami à Düsserldorf. Là, le 30 septembre 1853, Brahms se présenta chez Schumann; c’est cette visite qui incita Schumann à reprendre la plume pour la première fois en dix ans. Dans un article, son dernier, pour la parution de novembre du Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, il salua en Brahms  » un jeune homme béni des Grâces et des Héros… un homme qui allait déployer son talent non pas graduellement mais, comme Athéna, en surgissant, en armes, de la tête de Zeus « . À la fin de l’année, Brahms, alors âgé de vingt ans, était célèbre partout où l’on lisait ou parlait allemand.

Même si elle ne représente pas tout à fait le point culminant de la première période de création de Brahms, la Sonate en fa mineur n’en constitue pas moins l’apogée de son œuvre pianistique. Dans l’opus 5, Brahms s’éloigna de la structure habituelle de la sonate (telle que Beethoven l’a laissée à Schubert et aux légions qui ont suivi) par l’emploi d’une architecture de l’œuvre en cinq mouvements, avec un intermezzo méditatif entre le Scherzo du troisième mouvement et le Rondo final. Mais plus encore, le thème principal de ce mouvement supplémentaire découle du thème d’ouverture de ce mouvement lent  » officiel « . Brahms a sous-titré cet Intermezzo  » Regard en arrière  » et en a souligné l’introspection au moyen d’un roulement sourd de tambour dans le registre grave. Même si cette pièce semble descendre directement de l’héritage de Beethoven (on pense à la Cinquième Symphonie et plus particulièrement à la sonate Hammerklavier), la voix de Brahms se fait entendre d’entrée de jeu jusqu’à la fin.

Les Rhapsodies, opus 79 sont ses principales pièces pour piano seul de 1871 à 1893, sans qu’elles rivalisent en taille avec ses trois remarquables sonates composées avant que Brahms ne soit légalement un adulte. Toutefois, les Rhapsodies sont de même nature malgré leur concision, extrêmement passionnée sans retenue ni répit: la passion, même diluée par trente ans de vie adulte. Le 7 mai 1863, l’auguste Singakademie fit de Brahms son nouveau directeur; concurremment, il commença à donner des leçons de piano, non pas pour l’argent mais par bonté pour ceux qui le lui demandaient. Elisabet von Stockhausen fut l’une de ses premières élèves. Il appréciait les manières jeunes d’Elisabet, sa cuisine remarquable, la critique scrupuleuse qu’elle faisait de sa musique et sa hardiesse câline. C’est à cette femme singulière et après y avoir longuement réfléchi, que Brahms dédicaça les Rhapsodies. Presque tous ceux qui ont écrit à leur sujet ont remarqué l’alliance en apparence contradictoire d’une musique à structure aussi formelle (sonate) à ce qu’on appelle rhapsodie. Ivor Key, dans son ouvrage Johannes Brahms, va droit au but quand il écrit que les Rhapsodies, opus 79  » déploient une grande passion où la retenue n’a pas sa place « .

© Roger Dettmer
Traduction: Danielle Lachance

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9980
AN 2 9980

Start typing and press Enter to search