fbpx
AN 2 9964

Chopin

Performers
Release date March 03, 2009
Album code AN 2 9964
Periods Romantic
Genres Piano

Album information

A great piano wizard, André Laplante is using all of his artistry in those renewed versions of Chopin’s staples of the romantic repertoire; among them, the Sonata in B Flat minor Op. 35 and the Fantaisie in F minor Op.49.

Chopin, pianist and poet

For Chopin, music was simply a language, one that could express anything from thoughts to feelings to sensations. “Man’s undefined (undetermined) speech is sound,” he explained in an unpublished piano method. “Chopin’s genius was the most profound and the most full of feeling and emotions that has ever existed. He made a single instrument speak the language of infinity. He could often condense in ten lines what a child could play, poems of immense elevation, dramas of unequalled energy. He did not need massive means to express his genius,” wrote George Sand, the composer’s greatest love, in her autobiography, Story of My Life.

Bard of the piano

Chopin had the ability to link together phrases, periods, breaths, accents and articulations into gestures of apparent simplicity but that were nevertheless astonishing in the depth of feeling they aroused. “He is not just a virtuoso, he is also a poet, he can give us a glimpse of the poetry residing in his soul; he is a composer, and there is nothing like the joy he gives us when he sits at the piano and improvises. He is neither Polish, nor French, nor German. He is descended from the land of Mozart, of Raphaël, of Goethe, but his true homeland is the enchanted realm of poetry,” wrote the poet Heinrich Heine. “He pours his soul into his compositions like others pour theirs into prayer, spilling into them all those outpourings of the heart, the unexpressed sadness, those unutterable regrets that pious souls spill into their communion with God. He says in his works what they only say on their knees: those mysteries of passion and pain that Man was given to understand without words, because it was not given unto him to express them in words,” wrote Franz Liszt in a work about his friend.

So natural a part of Chopin‘s playing was this poetry that the piano lost its status as a percussion instrument and instead became the embodiment of cantilena. “Under his fingers, every musical phrase sounded like a song, one with such clarity that every note took on the meaning of a syllable, each measure that of a word, and each phrase that of a thought. It was a declamation exempt of all pathos, but rather simple and noble,” noted his students Mikuli and Koczalski.

Nocturnes, Mazurkas: Nostalgia for the homeland

“I have a premonition that if I leave Warsaw, I will never see my house again. I think to myself that I am leaving to die. Ah! What sadness it must be not to die where one has always lived […] Man is rarely happy. If he is destined only to have short hours of bliss, why would he abandon his illusions, which are themselves so fleeting?” These words, taken from a letter written by Chopin to his friend Titus Woyciechowski on September 4, 1830, less than two months before his exile, express the very essence of the nostalgia that would haunt him throughout his creative life. Like the silver chalice filled with earth from his native land that was buried with him, this hidden suffering is at the heart of many of his works, such as the Nocturne Op. 15 no. 1, the posthumous Nocturne in C-sharp minor, or his mazurkas, which are in many ways like a diary. On several occasions in these works, Chopin includes the instruction Con anima—with soul (or feeling)—and they do show us his innermost feelings. In just a few measures, we are seized by emotion, from the most exuberant joy to the most impenetrable sadness, from the dream of yesterday to the ache of today.

Composed in 1846, Opus 63 contains the last three mazurkas published before Chopin’s death. He seems to be thumbing his nose at his health, which was starting to fail, and he infuses them with an almost youthful vitality and freshness. Perhaps he had realized that he was taking one last look back into the past. It is not an unreasonable assumption, given that the last piece of the series is considered the epitome of his creative life. Alfred Cortot offers this wonderful description: “The shadow of memory dances here with the shadow of regret, to the sound of a far off melody. And the happy rhythm of past dances, the veil of indistinct melancholy, become an intangible symbol, an emanation, smoke. And the light touch of the mellow tones seems to convey, fleetingly and mysteriously, the frail image of evaporated happiness.”

Accepting death’s finality

Emotional and passionate—the very essence of the Romantic artist— Chopin had to love to be able to understand, to feel to be able to act. His latent vulnerability constantly pushed him to question and grasp the brevity of life on earth. And transcending this quest, he broadened the frontiers of the musical genres in which he worked.

Fantaisie in F minor Op. 49

The Fantaisie in F minor Op. 49, composed in 1841, is on several levels an extension of the mood of the Sonata in B-flat minor. In this magnificent and solemn work, Chopin experiments both with keys and moods, which move from the solemn opening motif to the exultation of the agitato passage, with its refined theme that seems like a fragment of an operatic duet, to the almost mystical central episode in B major.

Sonata No. 2 in B Flat minor Op. 35

The Sonata No. 2 in B Flat minor Op. 35, finished in 1839, disconcerted his contemporaries in several respects. Schumann saw it as a collection of four of Chopin’s “most unruly children,” while Mendelssohn disapproved of the frenzied presto. But when one considers the work at length, its musical ideas unfold with an implacable logic, all four movements cut out of the same expressive cloth. The last is a direct extension of the preceding march, while the raw energy of the heavily chromatic scherzo, on a mazurka rhythm, stems from the fury of the first movement. The anguish, torment and pain are only just erased by a middle section that is almost Bellini-like in its ethereal lightness. The cornerstone of the sonata, the famous “Funeral March” (which was played for the first time in public at Chopin‘s own funeral in 1849) merits being heard again as if for the first time. “Though funereal and gloomy, this lament is nevertheless so heartbreakingly sweet that it almost seems not of this earth,” noted Liszt. “These notes, seemingly muted by distance, instill a supreme reverence, as if they were sung by the angels themselves and were already floating in heaven around the divine throne.”

© Lucie Renaud
Translation : Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 6 1026
AN 6 1026

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9964

Chopin

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 03 mars 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9964

Informations sur l'album

André Laplante, grand magicien du piano, utilise toute sa science pour nous faire redécouvrir Chopin, le grand compositeur romantique. André Laplante interprète ici des œuvres majeures du répertoire pour piano, dont la Sonate no 2 en si bémol mineur op. 35 et la Fantaisie en fa mineur op. 49.

Chopin, pianiste et poète

Pour Chopin, la musique demeure essentiellement un langage, capable de tout exprimer : pensées, sentiments, sensations.  » La parole indéfinie (indéterminée) de l’homme, c’est le son « , explique-t-il d’ailleurs dans son projet de méthode pour pianistes.  » Le génie de Chopin est le plus profond et le plus plein de sentiments et d’émotions qui ait existé. Il a fait parler à un seul instrument la langue de l’infini; il a pu souvent résumer en dix lignes qu’un enfant pourrait jouer, des poèmes d’une élévation immense, des drames d’une énergie sans égale. Il n’a jamais eu besoin de grands moyens matériels pour donner le mot de son génie « , raconte George Sand, l’amour le plus marquant du compositeur, dans Histoire de ma vie.

Le chantre du piano

Dans un geste sublimé d’une apparente simplicité, mais qui confond par la profondeur des sentiments qu’il suscite, Chopin emboîte phrases, périodes, incises, respirations, accentuations, articulations.  » Il n’est pas seulement virtuose, il est aussi poète, il peut nous donner la perception de la poésie qui vit dans son âme, il est compositeur, et rien ne ressemble à la jouissance qu’il nous procure quand il s’assied au piano et qu’il improvise. Il n’est ni polonais, ni français, ni allemand ; il descend du pays de Mozart, de Raphaël, de Goethe : sa vraie patrie est le royaume enchanté de la poésie « , écrit le poète Heinrich Heine.  » Il épanche son âme dans ses compositions comme d’autres l’épanchent dans la prière : y versant toutes ces effusions du cœur, ces tristesses inexprimées, ces regrets indicibles, que les âmes pieuses versent dans leurs entretiens avec Dieu. Il dit dans ses œuvres ce qu’elles ne disent qu’à genoux : ces mystères de passion et de douleur qu’il a été permis à l’homme de comprendre sans paroles, parce qu’il ne lui a pas été donné de les exprimer en paroles « , évoque quant à lui Franz Liszt dans l’ouvrage consacré à son ami.

Cette poésie s’intègre avec naturel au jeu de Chopin. Le piano perd tout statut d’instrument de percussion pour devenir pure cantilène.  » Sous ses doigts, chaque phrase musicale sonnait comme du chant, et avec une clarté telle que chaque note prenait la signification d’une syllabe, chaque mesure celle d’un mot, chaque phrase celle d’une pensée. C’était une déclamation exempte de tout pathos mais à la fois simple et noble « , précisent ses élèves Mikuli et Koczalski.

Nocturnes, Mazurkas : La nostalgie de la patrie

 » J’ai le pressentiment que si je quitte Varsovie, je ne reverrai plus jamais ma maison. Je m’imagine que je pars pour mourir. Ah! Quelle tristesse ce doit être de ne pas mourir où l’on a toujours vécu (…) L’homme est rarement heureux. S’il ne lui est destiné que de courtes heures de félicité, pourquoi renoncerait-il à ses illusions qui sont, elles aussi, fugitives ?  » Ces quelques phrases, tirées d’une lettre de Chopin à son ami Titus Woyciechowski, datée du 4 septembre 1830, moins de deux mois avant son exil, contiennent l’essence même de la nostalgie qui le hantera tout au long de sa vie créatrice. Telle cette coupe d’argent remplie de sa terre natale qui suivra Chopin jusqu’au tombeau, cette douleur furtive se niche au cœur de nombre de ses œuvres, que ce soit son Nocturne opus 15 no 1, son Nocturne opus posthume en do dièse mineur ou ses Mazurkas, authentique journal intime. Con anima, avec âme, comme Chopin l’exprime à plusieurs reprises dans ces pages, elles nous ouvrent à son intimité. En quelques mesures esquissées à peine, l’émotion nous saisit, de la joie la plus exubérante à la tristesse la plus dense, de l’hier rêvé à l’aujourd’hui douloureux.

Composé en 1846, l’opus 63 comprend les trois dernières mazurkas publiées du vivant de Chopin. Il semble faire fi de sa santé devenue chancelante et y insuffle une vitalité et une fraîcheur presque juvéniles. Réalise-t-il qu’il doit jeter un ultime regard vers l’arrière? On pourrait le croire, la dernière de la série pouvant être considérée l’épitome de sa vie créatrice.  » L’ombre du souvenir danse ici avec l’ombre du regret, au son d’une lointaine mélodie. Et le rythme heureux des enchaînements du passé, le voile d’indécise mélancolie, devient symbole immatériel, émanation, fumée. Et dans l’effleurement des sonorités adoucies, semble passer, fugitive et mystérieuse, la frêle image du bonheur évanoui « , résume à merveille Alfred Cortot.

Accepter la finitude de la vie

Émotif, passionné, l’essence même de l’artiste romantique, Chopin doit aimer pour comprendre, ressentir pour agir. Sa vulnérabilité latente le pousse à se questionner continuellement, à apprivoiser la brièveté de la vie terrestre. En transcendant ses interrogations, Chopin repousse les limites des genres musicaux qu’il aborde.

Fantaisie en fa mineur op. 49

La Fantaisie en fa mineur op. 49, composée en 1841, prolonge à plusieurs niveaux l’atmosphère de la Sonate en si bémol mineur op. 35. Dans ces pages magnifiques et graves pour piano, Chopin expérimente tant avec les tonalités que les atmosphères, qui passent du solennel du motif d’ouverture à l’exaltation du passage agitato, au thème raffiné qui semble fragment d’un duo opératique ou à l’épisode central en si majeur, presque mystique.

Sonate no 2 en si bémol mineur op. 35

La Sonate en si bémol mineur op. 35, terminée en 1839, déconcertera ses contemporains à plusieurs égards. Schumann y voit un assemblage improbable de quatre des  » plus extravagants enfants  » de Chopin alors que le presto halluciné soulève la réprobation de Mendelssohn. Quand on s’y attarde pourtant, le déroulement de la pensée musicale se révèle d’une implacable logique, les quatre mouvements étant tirés d’une même trame expressive. Le dernier se veut prolongement direct de la marche qui le précède tandis que l’énergie brute du scherzo, sur un rythme de mazurka, chargé de chromatismes, découle de la furie du premier. L’angoisse, le tourment, la douleur, y sont à peine balayés par une section centrale d’une luminosité éthérée, presque bellinienne. La célèbre marche funèbre, pierre angulaire de la sonate, jouée pour la première fois devant public aux obsèques de Chopin en 1849, mérite d’être écoutée avec des oreilles vierges.  » Cette mélopée si funèbre et si lamentable est néanmoins d’une si pénétrante douceur, qu’elle semble ne plus venir de cette terre, évoque Liszt. Ces sons qu’on dirait attiédis par la distance, imposent un suprême recueillement, comme s’ils étaient chantés par les anges eux-mêmes et flottaient déjà dans le ciel, aux alentours du trône divin. « 

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1037
AN 6 1037

Start typing and press Enter to search