fbpx
AN 2 9922

Verlaine: Symbolist Poets and the French Melodie

Release date March 06, 2007
Album code AN 2 9922
Periods 20th century
Genres Recitative

Album information

Les poètes maudits—”The Accursed Poets”—was the title of an 1884 essay by Paul Verlaine dedicated to several fellow poets whose style he admired. The expression would forever brand the French Symbolists of the late 19th century, the works of whom quickly became an important source of inspiration for composers who would bring the French mélodie genre to its apogee. Whence the inspired idea of baritone Jean-François Lapointe for a series of recordings to individually feature these poètes maudits.

***

It is only fitting that the first disc in this collection focus on the poet who both captured the spirit of his generation with a dramatic catchphrase and also served as its emblematic incarnation through his life and work.

Pulled in different directions by opposing forces, Paul Verlaine (1844–1896) took solace in both poetry and alcohol from a young age. But despite an exceedingly chaotic existence, he published poetry throughout his life—over twenty collections in all—making him a dominant figure in French poetry.

After completing his bachelor’s degree in 1862 at the age of 18, Verlaine initially planned to study law. However, he soon abandoned this path in favour of the bohemian lifestyle led by the artists he began to frequent in Paris’ salons and cafés. In 1866, at the age of 22, he made a doubly remarkable entry onto the literary scene. First, seven of his poems were published in a collection entitled Le Parnasse contemporain, alongside poems by, among others, Théophile Gautier, Charles Baudelaire and Stéphane Mallarmé. These modernist Parnassians rejected the emotional outpourings of romanticism and promoted purity of form and the cult of “art for art’s sake” advocated by Gauthier.

But under the influence of Baudelaire, these poets soon became known as “symbolists.” More than mere romantic expression of sentiment, and even more than the purely formal thrust of the new Parnassians, Baudelaire experienced poetry as a spiritual quest that probed past the obvious meanings of words to examine their symbolic significance and create “correspondences,” which—symbol leading to symbol—aimed to reach beyond appearances to unify humanity and achieve sincerity of being.

In 1866, Verlaine also saw the publication of his first collection, Poèmes saturniens, a title he did not choose lightly. Convinced he was marked by the seal of unhappiness, the author attributed his state to the gloomy influence of the planet Saturn, traditionally the “star of melancholy.” The poems bear witness to this inner “happiness of being sad,” typified by a rejection of eloquence, metrical brevity and the constant search for a musicality evoking the minor mode. One need only think of “Chanson d’automne,” whose first line is today universally known for being the secret code transmitted over shortwave to announce the Normandy invasion on D-Day, in June 1944 during World War II.

Two other collections appeared in 1869. The first took its title, Fêtes galantes, from the painter Jean-Antoine Watteau’s famous oeuvre, an attempt by Verlaine not only to demonstrate the Parnassian desire to reject romanticism, but also to capture the spirit of the previous century—not so much that of the Age of Enlightenment, but that of freethinking libertarianism. In all, Gabbriel Fauré set four poems from Fêtes galantes: “Mandoline,” “En sourdine,” and “À Clymène” formed part of his five-song collection Chansons de Venise, and he set “Claire de Lune” in another collection. “Mandoline” was also set by both Claude Debussy and Reynaldo Hahn (though the latter used the generic title “Fêtes galantes”), and Hahn also set “En sourdine.” Canadian André Mathieu took inspiration from “Colloque sentimental,” the last gloomy poem of these fêtes, which start out so “gallantly” like a Watteau, but end on a darker note.

In June of the same year (1869), Verlaine met Mathilde Mauté, only just turned 16. He began to dream of a marriage that would bring some order and calm to his somewhat dissolute life, and he embarked an assiduous courtship that by year’s end resulted in La Bonne Chanson, a collection of poems that had decorated his letters to la bonne Mathilde, whom he hoped would set him on a more “moral” path. From this collection full of “good” intentions, Hahn set three poems as part of a collection of seven mélodies dedicated to Verlaine, which he entitled Chansons grises: “Tous deux” and “L’heure exquise,” (both untitled in the original collection of poems), and “La bonne chanson,” a generic title that Hahn gave this also untitled poem.

After abandoning his studies, Verlaine hoped to find peace by entering the Parisian civil service. With his marriage to Mathilde in August 1870, his desire for stability seemed at last to be fulfilled. But the next year was fraught with danger for Verlaine. In the spring of 1871, the civil servant-poet put his position in jeopardy by taking up the revolutionary ideas of the Paris Commune. That fall, he also put his marriage in jeopardy after meeting an aspiring young poet who had recently sent Verlaine his early poems. The young poet, Arthur Rimbaud, was only 16 years old, and Verlaine was his senior by almost 10 years. It was love at first sight, and all of Verlaines “good” morals and resolutions went by the wayside. In July of 1872, the two left Paris and vagabonded around France, Belgium and England, and out of this passionate idyll came what many consider Verlaine’s best work, Romances sans paroles, the title this time borrowed from a musician, Felix Mendelssohn. Verlaine had already used the expression in Fêtes galants (in “À Clymène”), but as a title for an entire collection, Romances sans paroles represented the epitome of the poet’s aspirations: that the plain meanings of words be overshadowed by “correspondences” (as Baudelaire would have said) suggested by the music of the words.

Hahn would transform “L’allée sans fin” and “Paysage triste” into mélodies for Chansons grises, along with “Offrande,” a poem which Fauré also set (though he kept the original English title, “Green”) making it the middle work of the Chansons de Venise cycle. Fauré also took “C’est l’extase” and “Spleen” from Romances sans paroles, while André Mathieu chose “Il pleure dans mon coeur comme il pleut sur la ville” (It weeps in my heart as it rains over the town), a moving lament in which Verlaine—paraphrasing a line of Rimbaud in the poem’s epigraph (“Il pleut doucement sur la ville” or “It rains gently over the town”)—seems to foresee the inevitable end of the affair.

And indeed, after a year, the idyll had turned into a nightmare. On July 10, 1873 in Brussels, learning that Rimbaud was going to leave him, Verlaine shot at him twice, wounding him in the hand. The ensuing investigation brought Verlaine’s homosexuality to light, and he was condemned to two years in prison. During his jail term, after converting to Catholicism, he wrote most of Sagesse, a collection in which the Verlaine professes to be a new, repentant, man—one who, at the end of a voluntary period of purgatory, glimpses the spiritual peace he longs for.

Three composers turned their attention to the most famous poem of this collection, “Le ciel est, par-dessus le toit, si bleu” (The sky is, above the roof, so blue), a marvelous description of what the speaker can see and perceive that makes only an implicit reference to prison. Hahn and Fauré entitled their settings of this untitled poem “Prison” and “D’une prison” respectively. Mathieu, on the other hand, preserved the mystery by using the first line as his title; he also set “Les chères mains.” Debussy drew upon other poems in Sagesse, setting “La mer est plus belle,” “Le son du cor s’afflige” and “L’échelonnement des haies.”

After his liberation from prison in 1875, Verlaine laid low in England for a time, teaching in a number of schools. When he returned to France, history, it seemed, would repeat itself, as Verlaine began a downward spiral that degenerated into complete ruin. In 1877, he managed to obtain a teaching position in Rethel. A year later, he became involved with one of his students who had only just turned 18. Verlaine fled with him to England, just as he had done with Rimbaud. The relationship lasted five years this time, ending with the young man’s premature death from typhoid. Verlaine’s health was also starting to suffer, and between hospital stays, he went from mistress to mistress, some of whom inspired new poem cycles, such as Chansons pour elle in 1891, from which Hahn took “L’incrédule,” the last poem of this recording remaining to put in context.

Verlaine’s final years were appallingly sad, but he nevertheless remained a leader in Paris’s literary scene to the very end. Through his numerous collections of poetry, through essays such as Les poètes maudits, and by arranging for the works of colleagues such as Rimbaud to be published, he contributed more than any other to the triumph of the Symbolist vision of poetry.

Note on the mélodie textes
In setting Verlaine’s poems to music, composers often took surprising liberties, such as omitting lines or even complete verses and changing words or punctuation. As this recording is first and foremost an homage to the poet, Jean-François Lapointe restored the original texts whenever it was possible to do so without harming the music. The texts that follow are thus Verlaine’s poems, with any alterations made by composers indicated as such.

© Guy Marchand
Translation : Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9922

Verlaine: Poètes maudits dans la mélodie française

Date de sortie 06 mars 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9922
Periodes Romantique
Genres Musique vocale

Informations sur l'album

Les poètes maudits… C’est le titre que Verlaine donna en 1884 à un essai consacré à quelques confrères dont il admirait le style. L’expression devait à tout jamais marquer au fer rouge les symbolistes français de la fin du XIXe siècle. Leurs œuvres devinrent rapidement une source importante d’inspiration pour les compositeurs qui, dans leur foulée, menèrent la mélodie française à son apogée. D’où l’heureuse idée du baryton Jean-François Lapointe d’une collection d’albums mettant à tour de rôle en valeur l’un de ces  » poètes maudits « .

***

À tout seigneur, tout honneur, le premier album de cette collection revenait à celui qui, non seulement sut traduire en une formule saisissante l’esprit de sa génération, mais s’est aussi trouvé à l’incarner, dans sa vie comme dans son œuvre, de manière emblématique.

Écartelé par des pulsions contradictoires, Paul Verlaine (1844-1896) trouva très tôt réconfort dans la poésie et l’alcool et, malgré une vie des plus chaotique, il ne cessa de publier des recueils, plus d’une vingtaine, qui en font aujourd’hui l’une des figures dominantes de la poésie française.

À la fin de son baccalauréat en 1862, il comptait bien à 18 ans entreprendre des études de droit pour assurer son avenir. Mais il les abandonne rapidement, aspiré par la vie de bohème que mène la faune artistique qu’il commence alors à fréquenter dans les salons et les cafés. En 1866, il fait à 22 ans une double entrée remarquée sur la scène littéraire. Sept de ses poèmes sont d’abord publiés dans un recueil collectif intitulé le Parnasse contemporain, auquel ont entre autres participé Théophile Gautier, Baudelaire et Mallarmé. S’inscrivant en faux contre les épanchements du Romantisme, ces parnassiens modernes défendaient l’épuration formelle et le culte de  » l’art pour l’art  » préconisé par Gautier.

Mais, sous l’influence de Baudelaire, ces poètes se qualifieront bientôt de  » symbolistes « . Plus que l’expression romantique du sentiment, plus que le jeu purement formel des nouveaux  » parnassiens « , Baudelaire vivait la poésie comme une quête spirituelle qui consistait à sonder, au-delà de leur sens premier, la portée symbolique des mots, à en faire surgir des  » correspondances  » qui, de symbole en symbole, permettraient de parvenir, au-delà des apparences, à l’unité du monde, à la vérité de l’être.

La même année, Verlaine voit paraître son premier recueil dont le titre, Poèmes saturniens, n’est pas choisi à la légère. Convaincu d’être marqué par le sceau du malheur, l’auteur attribuait cet état à l’influence funeste de la planète Saturne, traditionnel  » astre de la mélancolie  » . Témoignent de cet intime  » bonheur d’être triste « , le refus de l’éloquence, la brièveté de la métrique et la recherche constante d’une musicalité rappelant le mode mineur. On n’a qu’à penser à Chanson d’automne dont la première strophe est aujourd’hui universellement connue pour avoir servi de code secret pour annoncer sur les ondes courtes le débarquement de juin 1944 lors de la dernière guerre.

En 1869, deux autres recueils se succèdent. En empruntant, pour le premier, le titre Fêtes galantes au célèbre tableau de Watteau, Verlaine participait encore à cette volonté chez les parnassiens d’en finir avec le Romantisme, mais en tentant cette fois de retrouver l’esprit du siècle précédent, non tant celui des Lumières et de la Raison que celui du libertaire libertin. En plus de  » Claire de Lune « , Gabriel Fauré y a choisi trois des cinq poèmes de son cycle Chansons de Venise:  » Mandoline « ,  » En Sourdine  » et  » À Clymène « .  » Mandoline  » fut repris tant par Claude Debussy que Reynaldo Hahn (mais ce dernier sous le titre générique de  » Fêtes galantes « ) et  » En sourdine « , par Hahn. Le Canadien André Mathieu se laissa séduire le  » Colloque sentimental « , poème noir qui clôt ces  » fêtes  » qui se voulaient au départ  » galantes  » comme un Watteau, mais qui vont finalement en s’assombrissant.

En juin de la même année (1869), Verlaine fait la connaissance de Mathilde Mauté, de tout juste 16 ans. Il rêve alors d’un mariage qui mettrait un peu plus d’ordre et de calme dans sa vie quelque peu dissolue. Il entreprend une cour assidue qui aboutit, avant la fin de l’année, à La Bonne Chanson, un recueil des poèmes dont il avait émaillé ses lettres à la  » bonne  » Mathilde, sur qui il compte pour le remettre sur le chemin des  » bonnes  » mœurs. De ce recueil pétri de  » bonnes  » intentions, Hahn retint trois poèmes pour faire partie d’un cycle de sept mélodies consacré à Verlaine qu’il intitula Chansons grises :  » Tous deux  » et  » L’heure exquise « , qui toutes deux étaient sans titre dans le recueil original, et  » La bonne chanson  » qui reprend le titre générique car le poème était aussi originalement sans titre.

Après l’abandon de ses études, Verlaine avait espéré trouver la paix en entrant dans la fonction publique parisienne. En se mariant avec Mathilde, en août 1870, le désir de stabilité semblait enfin combler. Mais l’année suivante fut celle de tous les dangers. Au printemps 1871, le fonctionnaire-poète s’enflamme pour les idéaux révolutionnaires de la Commune de Paris et compromet son emploi. À l’automne, il compromet de plus sa vie conjugale en invitant à le rencontrer un jeune poète en herbe qui venait de lui envoyer ses premiers essais. Il s’appelle Arthur Rimbaud. Il n’a que 16 ans; Verlaine en a presque dix de plus. C’est le coup de foudre; finies les  » bonnes  » résolutions. En juillet 1872, ils partent tous deux en vagabondage sur les chemins de France, de Belgique et d’Angleterre. De cette fiévreuse idylle sortira ce que plusieurs considèrent le recueil le plus accompli de Verlaine, Romances sans paroles, qui emprunte cette fois son titre à l’œuvre d’un musicien, Félix Mendelssohn. Déjà dans le poème  » À Clymène  » des Fêtes Galantes, Verlaine avait glissé l’expression. Mais, comme titre de recueil, Romances sans paroles devient la quintessence de ce à quoi aspire le poète : que, des mots, le sens premier s’efface au profit des  » correspondances  » (aurait dit Baudelaire) suggérées par leur pure musicalité.

Deviendront mélodies sous la plume de Hahn  » L’allée sans fin  » et  » Paysage triste  » pour ses Chansons Grises, ainsi qu' » Offrande « , poème dont Fauré, sous son titre original anglais  » Green « , fit la pièce centrale de ses Chansons de Venise. Fauré retiendra aussi  » C’est l’extase  » et  » Spleen « , alors qu’André Mathieu se penchera sur  » Il pleure dans mon coeur comme il pleut sur la ville « , émouvante complainte dans laquelle Verlaine semble prévoir la fin inévitable de l’aventure en paraphrasant un vers de Rimbaud placé en exergue :  » Il pleut doucement sur la ville « .

Au bout d’un an, l’idylle tourne effectivement au cauchemar. Le 10 juillet 1873, à Bruxelles, apprenant que Rimbaud veut le quitter, Verlaine tire deux coups de feu sur lui et le blesse à la main. L’enquête révèle au grand jour son homosexualité; il sera condamné à deux ans de prison ferme. Et c’est là que, après avoir proclamé son retour au catholicisme, il compose l’essentiel de Sagesse, recueil dans lequel le poète s’affiche en homme repenti, entrevoyant au bout d’un purgatoire consenti, la paix de l’âme tant désirée.

Trois compositeurs s’arrêteront au plus célèbre poème du cycle,  » Le ciel est, par-dessus le toit, si bleu « , admirable épure qui ne fait qu’implicitement référence à la prison d’où le narrateur décline le peu qu’il peut voir et percevoir. Hahn et Fauré lui donneront respectivement le titre explicite de  » Prison  » et  » D’une prison « , alors que Mathieu conservera le mystère en se contentant de l’incipit de ce poème lui aussi sans titre. De son côté, Debussy puisera dans Sagesse  » La mer est plus belle « ,  » Le son du cor s’afflige « ,  » L’échelonnement des haies  » et Mathieu y trouvera encore  » Les chères mains « .

Après sa libération en 1875, Verlaine ira se faire oublier quelque temps en Angleterre où il enseigne dans différents établissements. De retour en France, l’histoire semble vouloir se répéter en une spirale descendante vers une complète déchéance. En 1877, il réussit à se faire engager comme professeur dans un collège à Rethel. Dès l’année suivante, il se lie avec l’un de ses étudiants qui vient tout juste d’atteindre 18 ans et fuit avec lui en Angleterre comme il l’avait fait avec Rimbaud. Mais la relation durera cette fois cinq ans, jusqu’à la mort prématurée du jeune homme qui succombe en 1883 à la typhoïde. La santé de Verlaine lui-même commence alors à gravement décliner. Entre les séjours à l’hôpital, il passera d’une maîtresse à l’autre, dont certaines lui inspireront de nouveaux cycles poétiques, comme en 1891, celui des Chansons pour elle, d’où Reynaldo Hahn tira  » L’incrédule « , dernier poème de cet enregistrement qu’il restait à situer.

Les dernières années du poète furent d’une affligeante tristesse, mais jusqu’à la fin, Verlaine demeura un animateur important de la vie littéraire parisienne. Par la publication de ses nombreux recueils de poésie, par des essais comme les Poètes maudits, par l’édition de confrères comme Rimbaud, il contribua plus que tout autre à faire triompher la haute vision qu’avaient les symbolistes de l’ars poetica.

Notes sur les textes des mélodies
En mettant en musique les poèmes de Verlaine, les compositeurs se sont souvent permis d’étonnantes libertés : omission de vers, voire de strophes complètes; changements de mots ou de ponctuation, etc. Comme cet enregistrement se veut d’abord un hommage au poète, Jean-François Lapointe a restauré les textes originaux partout où la chose était possible sans nuire à la musique. Ce sont donc les poèmes de Verlaine qui sont donnés ici dans les pages suivantes, avec les indications des altérations faites par les compositeurs.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1024
AN 6 1024
AN 6 1024
AN 6 1024

Start typing and press Enter to search