fbpx

Album information

Music of the aviary

Great works of art do not draw their poetic essence from the things they depict–rather, they make use of those things to conquer the specific poetic essence all their own.

Roland-Manuel,
Reflections on the Art of Music, 1957

The French harpsichord school reached its pinnacle in the first half of the 18th century, as composers published substantial numbers of collections focusing on dance, portraiture, and character pieces. At this time, Aristotle’s guiding principle for the arts–the imitation of nature–had taken on subtle hues, with a focus on subjects such as creating musical portraits of friends or prominent figures, depicting facets of human existence, among them love, and mimicking the noises of everyday life.

The extreme diversity of timbre, tune, and rhythm found in birdsong has always fascinated musicians. Even when the creatures in question are out of sight, their twittering, warbling, and chirping fi ll the air with sweet and pleasant music, both under the morning sun and at nightfall. But their sounds can be difficult to reproduce within our scales and harmonic conventions–apart from, perhaps, the cuckoo’s descending minor third, the hen’s clucking, or the nightingale’s trills.

Beyond the sounds birds made, their colours, shapes, movements, times of appearance, and conjugal “morals” were also observed in times past. Each bird thus acquired a kind of “personality” charged with symbolism and moral instruction. French harpsichordists in this age of gallantry exploited these conventions in composing their avian portraits, focusing primarily on various aspects of love as conveyed by these metaphors from the natural world–indeed unless the pieces were actually portraits of women by analogy.

The turtledove (tourterelle), which forms strong pair bonds, was an emblem of marital fidelity and tenderness, while the cuckoo (coucou), known for laying its eggs in other birds’ nests, evoked infidelity. The nightingale (rossignol) symbolized flights of poetic fancy, and its song was an omen of happiness–an ideal symbol of amorous conquest. The linnet (linotte) was a simpleton and rather timid, while the warbler (fauvette) was a protector of nest and home, with a clear and tuneful call in the springtime. The swallow (hirondelle) was another messenger of spring, its song suited to fertility rites. The graceful, white, and gently cooing dove (colombe) represented purity, simplicity, peace, and simultaneously the sublimation of desire and romantic achievement. The lark (alouette), with its swift and high flight, embodied youthful energy, and its joyful song was auspicious. The hen (poule), meanwhile, was seen as “often seized by stupid panic” and running frantically in circles.

These attributes, sonorous and otherwise, served as inspiration for the likes of Couperin, D’Agincour, Daquin, Dornel, Duphly, Dandrieu, and Février in their harpsichord pieces depicting birds, but were no more than starting points for the compositions themselves, which are independent from a musical standpoint. Thus, Rameau could flawlessly mimic the clucking of the “queen of the farmyard” and still transcend mere imitation to produce a soundscape full of tension and angst. With an orchestral texture created by strong block chords in dogged repetition, La Poule (The Hen) far surpasses its models and clearly illustrates the sovereignty of art.

© François Filiatrault, 2020
Translation © Ariadne Lih

Read more

About

Luc Beauséjour
AN 6 1008
AN 6 1008

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Musique dans la volière

« Les grandes oeuvres de l’art ne tirent pas leur poésie de ce qu’elles représentent – elles se servent de ce qu’elles représentent pour conquérir leur poésie spécifique. »

Roland-Manuel,
Réflexions sur l’art musical, 1957

L’école française de clavecin connaît ses plus belles heures durant la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle. Il se publie alors un nombre considérable de recueils, dans lesquels les compositeurs cultivent la danse, le portrait et la pièce de caractère. L’imitation de la nature, principe qui, selon Aristote, doit guider les arts, prend ici une couleur délicate et s’attarde à plusieurs objets : dresser le portrait d’un haut personnage ou d’une relation amicale, évoquer un aspect de l’existence humaine, dont le sentiment amoureux, ou calquer les bruits de la vie quotidienne.

Par son extrême diversité, le chant des oiseaux, ses timbres, ses motifs et rythmes subtils ont toujours fasciné les musiciens. Même quand on ne voit pas les volatiles en question, leurs ramages, gazouillements ou pépiements emplissent les airs de concerts doux et agréables, dans le soleil du matin ou à la tombée de la nuit. Ils sont cependant difficiles à reproduire dans nos gammes et notre système harmonique, à part peut-être la tierce mineure descendante du coucou, le « cot cot cot cot co daï » de la poule ou les trilles du rossignol.

Dans les temps anciens, au-delà des sons qu’ils produisent, les oiseaux étaient aussi considérés pour leurs couleurs, leurs formes, leurs mouvements, les moments de l’année où ils apparaissent et leurs moeurs conjugales. Chacun d’eux avait ainsi une sorte de « personnalité », chargée de symboles et d’enseignement moral. Tablant sur certaines de ces caractéristiques convenues, les clavecinistes français, dans leurs portraits d’oiseaux, s’attardent essentiellement, à cette époque de galanterie, aux diverses facettes du sentiment amoureux telles que véhiculées par ces métaphores naturalistes – à moins qu’il ne s’agisse, par analogie, de portraits féminins.

La tourterelle, toujours en couple, appelle la tendresse et la fidélité conjugales alors que le coucou, qui pond ses oeufs dans le nid des autres, parle d’infidélité. Le rossignol représente l’envolée poétique et son chant est présage de bonheur ; il est le chantre parfait de la conquête amoureuse. La linotte est un peu niaise et craintive, tandis que la fauvette protège son nid et sa maison, produisant au printemps un chant mélodieux et flûté. L’hirondelle est aussi messagère du printemps, et son chant préside aux rites de fécondité. La colombe, blanche et gracieuse, roucoule doucement ; elle incarne la pureté, la simplicité, la paix et la sublimation du désir autant que l’accomplissement amoureux. Comme le vol de l’alouette la porte très haut et rapidement dans le ciel, elle évoque pour sa part l’élan juvénile, et son chant joyeux est de bon augure. Quant à la poule, elle est « souvent prise d’une panique stupide » et court dans tous les sens…

Ces éléments, sonores et autres, ont inspiré les Couperin, D’Agincour, Daquin, Dornel, Duphly, Dandrieu ou Février dans leurs pièces de clavecin évoquant divers oiseaux, mais ils ne servirent que de points de départ à des compositions par ailleurs parfaitement autonomes sur le plan musical. Ainsi Rameau, même en reproduisant à merveille le caquet de la reine de la basse-cour, déjoue la plate imitation pour créer un univers plein de tension et d’angoisse. Avec sa texture orchestrale résultant de puissants accords obstinément répétés, La Poule dépasse largement son modèle et montre bien la souveraineté de l’art.

© François Filiatrault, 2020

Lire la suite

À propos

Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9768
AN 2 9768

Start typing and press Enter to search