fbpx
AN 2 9276

Alain Lefèvre: Blissfully Sleepless

Composers
Performers
Release date March 14, 2006
Album code AN 2 9276
Periods Contemporary
Genres Piano

Album information

Here is a further chapter in my Carnet de notes (Notebook), which I call Fidèles Insomnies. In spite of being to blame for the shipwreck of my nights, these insomnias have all been forgiven; for they have given life to numerous themes that were locked in my brain, only requiring the quietude of sleep to surface and awaken me to their music. Those of you already familiar with my earlier recordings will recognize Lylatov and Un Ange passe, two pieces that were part of my first disk of original works, Lylatov; they are presented here in a piano and strings rendition. The 3 preludes Petite mère, Vingt ans and La Callas were created on special commission for the Megaron (Athens Concert Hall) and were premiered at my recital in that prestigious Athens venue on November 24th, 2005, within the context of the Grands Interprètes series.

Comme en famille!

Rather than blood relationships, I tend to favour elective affinities, where an imperishable brotherhood – miraculous outcome of certain friendships – might very well unite erstwhile strangers for life and unto death, bringing them to the table together as family, as it were comme en famille. I offer to you this whirlpool of joy, this lightness of being, this celebration of life, written on an old upright piano to amuse the children of some very dear friends, one warm summer weekend in the country, between refreshing dips in Echo Lake and delicious wood-smoked hot dogs!

For my dear friends Françoise and Paul and their brood, Christine, Hubert and Charles Julien.

Petite mère

Although Petite mère was a commission of the Megaron of Athens, it was conceived and evolved in the depths of my own heart, for Love cannot be commissioned, especially not the love of a son for his mother. My mother never heard Petite mère, except as words muttered softly in her presence, while she was relinquishing her life to the cancer that took her from me before I could finish writing the piece she had inspired… My anguish at the thought of losing her had even kept me then from showing her the work in progress, since I feared, ironically, that playing it to her would precipitate her departure to the other side of the looking glass…

For my “petite mère”, Thérèse Lefèvre.

La Callas

Forever shining astral body, the light of La Callas will never falter in the Pantheon of Stars. Her radiance never dims, even in death and in spite of her dark destiny, for the Diva had the Secret Flame – that inner light that radiates sentiment and provokes shivers, emotions and upheavals of the soul, that quality that sets the true artist apart from the art technicians or the impostors. In strength as in fragility, both empress and deceived wife, Maria Callas gave us her all, inhabiting the stage as fully as she did her own life, obliterating her tomorrows by living solely in the moment.

For Christos D. Lambrakis, a prince of music.

Anemos (89)

Anemos (the Wind), follows Ilios (the Sun) and Thalassa ( the Sea) – these two last pieces having previously been heard on Lylatov and Carnet de notes, respectively – and completes the trilogy Impressions Hélléniques.

Anemos is firstly a timid rustling of the Grecian wind through the dishevelled boughs of olive trees, turning them from green to silver with its hot breath. Then comes an unforgettable memory of my visit to the Temple of Sounio – spectacular presence of an opened-skied past – dominating the cliffs, the sea, and Man himself, and through millennia holding fast against the repeated assaults of pitiless winds. Never will I forget this powerful and sublime sensation, as if intoxicated from too much air, where, for the time it takes for the sun to plunge into the sea, I became one with these ancestral stones, standing mute to the rape of the wind, and yet victorious by their everlastingness.

For my great friends, Dominique, Alexandrine and Gabriel Petridis.

Vingt ans

This piece I wrote as a present to my Jojo for our 20th wedding anniversary; it completes the 3 Préludes cycle, which was premiered at the Megaron in Athens on November 24th, 2005.

For Johanne Martineau, my muse, my accomplice of more than twenty years.

Paris sans toi

I was nineteen years old when I met my Jojo. A few days from the end of that summer, I was off to Paris, where I was to further my piano studies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique, leaving her behind. Her daily absence from my life in the City of Lights was often intolerable. I was sustained by her numerous letters – more than a hundred of them in less than nine months – that soothed my melancholy and brought me the inspiration for Paris sans toi.

For Johanne Martineau and our beginnings.

Lylatov

At seventeen, I left Montréal to pursue my piano studies at the CNSM in Paris. I was living in a constricted maid’s room, with just enough space to stand between my bed and my upright piano. Some friends of my parents, Ginette Levy and Kito Barouch, upon noticing my predicament, opened their hearts and their home to me and treated me as a true son. I composed Lylatov (which means “Good night” in Hebrew) for these survivors of World War II, in tribute and heartfelt gratitude for all that they were for me.

For Ginette Levy and Kito Barouch.

Un ange passe

Two days before I was to give a concert at Place des Arts with Charles Dutoit and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, I was awakened at 4 in the morning to learn of my father’s death in France from a cancer that I thought he had beaten… I was devastated and could not bring myself to accept that he was gone; I hadn’t even had the opportunity to say goodbye. I fell back asleep, awash in my grief. “The Dead are dead and gone” – my father had been taken from me before I could even tell him all my love… I awoke to a sense of unreality, as in a nightmare, but I then felt Papa by my side, like an angel passing… I went to the piano and poured out all my sorrow and despair into this final Adieu, which I dedicate to his memory.

For my dad, André Lefèvre.

Orphelin

This piece was adapted as a song, whose world premiere was given at the Théâtre Outremont by the extraordinary young singer Hugo, in the context of the 2004 edition of the Montreal HighLight Festival. Here are a few excerpts: “She left without a sound, she who had opened her flesh to my life, who had loved me before ever knowing me, who had carried me from morning till noon till night, never once complaining. Maman, I didn’t even have time for a last Adieu. Forgive me; you are now a sparrow and I am an orphan, and our destinies have parted. I extinguish the moon, I close out the day, I listen to your death lament my sorrow. Oh, but I wasn’t ready to lose you so soon, vacant eyes, cold, inanimate body – It can’t be true!”

For my wonderful friends, Martha, Daniel and their children, Sophie-Anne, Philippe and Antoine Vachon.

Au bout de mes rêves

This piece also became a song, sung in its world première at the Théâtre Outremont by the moving Léane Labrèche Dor, in the context of the 2004 edition of the Montreal HighLight Festival. A few excerpts: “I want to see Australia’s every grey koala and evolve in a world where I don’t have to fear the bombs… Turn off your TV sets, sleepwatchers! Please awaken and sow a little Peace… For I want to believe, without having always to dream, to dream…”

To the sweet memory of a wonderful woman, Fabienne Dor.

© Alain Lefèvre

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9276

Alain Lefèvre: Fidèles Insomnies

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 14 mars 2006
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9276
Periodes Contemporaine
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Un nouveau chapitre vient ici s’ajouter à mon Carnet de notes, celui de mes Fidèles Insomnies. Responsables du naufrage de mes nuits, elles sont toutes pardonnées pour avoir donné naissance à plusieurs thèmes qui, prisonniers dans ma tête, n’attendaient que le silence du sommeil pour se faire entendre et me réveiller à leur musique. Pour ceux qui connaissent déjà mes enregistrements précédents, ils retrouveront les pièces Lylatov et Un Ange passe, parues sur mon premier disque de compositions intitulé Lylatov, mais cette fois dans une version pour piano et cordes. Aussi, les 3 Préludes Petite Mère, Vingt ans et La Callas furent une commande spéciale du Megaron (Athens Concert Hall) et la première fut donnée lors de mon récital en cette prestigieuse salle d’Athènes, le 24 novembre 2005, dans le cadre de la Série des Grands Interprètes.

Comme en famille!

Je ne crois pas aux liens du sang, mais bien aux affinités électives, où l’indéfectible fraternité, petit miracle de l’Amitié, peut unir à la vie à la mort des étrangers et les rassembler autour d’une table comme en famille… Je vous offre ce tourbillon de joie, cette douceur de vivre, cette fête à la vie, composée sur un vieux piano droit pour amuser les enfants de mes amis très chers, un chaud week-end d’été passé à la campagne, entre les rafraîchissantes baignades dans le lac Écho et les délicieux hot-dogs sur feu de bois !

Pour mes chers amis Françoise et Paul et leurs enfants, Christine, Hubert et Charles Julien.

Petite mère

Petite mère est née d’une commande du Megaron d’Athènes, mais me fut dictée par mon cœur, car l’Amour ne se commande pas, surtout pas celui d’un fils pour sa mère. Mais maman n’aura jamais entendu Petite mère autrement qu’en mots doucement prononcés en sa présence, le cancer l’emportant avant que je ne puisse terminer cette pièce qu’elle m’aura inspirée… Et mon angoisse de la perdre m’aura empêché de la lui jouer même inachevée, car ironiquement, je craignais que l’exécution de mon œuvre allait précipiter son départ de l’autre côté du miroir…

Pour ma  » petite mère « , Thérèse Lefèvre.

La Callas

Astre à jamais scintillant, La Callas ne saurait s’éteindre dans la nuit des temps. Son rayonnement l’emportera sur sa mort malgré son sombre destin, car la Diva avait le feu sacré, cette flamme intérieure qui irradie l’émotion et provoque le frisson, l’émoi, le bouleversement, séparant les vrais artistes des techniciens de l’art et des imposteurs. Force et fragilité, impératrice et femme trompée, Maria Callas nous aura tout donné, habitant la scène comme la vie, oblitérant le lendemain et ne vivant que le moment présent.

Pour Christos D. Lambrakis, un prince de la musique.

Anemos (89)

Anemos (le vent), précédé d’Ilios (le soleil) et de Thalassa (la mer), ces deux dernières pièces respectivement parues sur Lylatov et Carnet de notes, vient compléter la trilogie intitulée Impressions Hélléniques.

Anemos, c’est d’abord un frisson timide du vent de Grèce dans le feuillage échevelé des oliviers, les décolorant du vert à l’argent de son souffle chaud. Puis, c’est un souvenir indélébile de mon passage au Temple de Sounio, spectaculaire présence du passé à ciel ouvert, dominant falaise, mer et hommes, et imperturbable aux assauts répétés d’un vent sans merci. Jamais, je ne pourrai oublier cette sensation forte et sublime d’ivresse provoquée par un trop-plein d’air, où je n’ai fait qu’un, l’espace d’un plongeon du soleil dans la mer, avec ces pierres ancestrales, muettes au viol du vent, mais combien victorieuses de par leur pérennité.

Pour mes grands amis, Dominique, Alexandrine et Gabriel Petridis.

Vingt ans

Cette pièce fut écrite en cadeau à ma Jojo, à l’occasion de notre 20e anniversaire de mariage et vient compléter le cycle des trois Préludes dont la première eut lieu au Megaron d’Athènes le 24 novembre 2005.

Pour Johanne Martineau, ma muse, ma complice depuis plus de vingt ans.

Paris sans toi

J’avais 19 ans lorsque j’ai rencontré ma Jojo. C’était à la fin de l’été et quelques jours plus tard, je devais la quitter pour Paris, afin de poursuivre mes études de piano au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris. Son absence au quotidien dans la Ville Lumière me fut souvent intolérable, cependant, ses nombreuses missives, plus d’une centaine en près de neuf mois, sont venues apaiser ma douce mélancolie et m’ont inspiré Paris sans toi.

Pour Johanne Martineau et nos premières rencontres.

Lylatov

À 17 ans, je quittais Montréal pour poursuivre mes études de piano au CNSM de Paris. Je vivais à l’étroit dans une chambre de bonne, avec juste assez de place pour me tenir debout entre le lit et mon piano droit. Voyant mon désarroi, des amis de mes parents, Ginette Levy et Kito Barouch, m’ont ouvert la porte de leur maison et celle de leur cœur et m’ont accueilli chez eux comme un vrai fils. Pour ces survivants de la Deuxième Guerre, j’ai composé Lylatov, (qui veut dire  » Bonne nuit  » en hébreu) en remerciement de tout ce qu’ils ont été pour moi.

Pour Ginette Levy et Kito Barouch.

Un ange passe

À l’avant-veille d’un concert à la Place des Arts avec Charles Dutoit et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, le téléphone a sonné à quatre heures du matin pour m’apprendre la mort de mon père en France, suite à un cancer que je croyais guéri… Dévasté, ne pouvant le croire, n’ayant pu lui dire au revoir, j’ai ravalé mes sanglots et ai dormi jusqu’au lendemain.  » Le mort était mort  » et mon père m’était volé avant même que je n’aie pu lui dire tout mon Amour… Le réveil fut irréel, comme un cauchemar, puis j’ai senti papa passer près de moi, comme un Ange passe… Je me suis alors assis au piano et j’y ai mis tout mon chagrin et mon désespoir dans ce dernier adieu que je lui dédie.

Pour mon papa, André Lefèvre.

Orphelin

Cette composition fait l’objet d’une chanson, interprétée en première mondiale au Théâtre Outremont par l’extraordinaire jeune chanteur Hugo, dans le cadre de l’édition 2004 du Festival Montréal en Lumière. En voici quelques extraits :  » Elle est partie sans bruit, celle qui a ouvert ses chairs à ma vie, qui m’a aimé avant de me connaître, qui m’a porté du matin au midi jusqu’à minuit, sans jamais redire, sans jamais se plaindre. Maman, je n’ai pas eu le temps, pour un dernier adieu, pardonne-moi, te voilà hirondelle, moi orphelin et nos destins qui se séparent. J’éteins la lune, je ferme le jour, j’écoute ta mort pleurer ma peine, ne m’en veux pas, mais je n’étais pas prêt à te perdre déjà, des yeux muets, ton corps glacé, inanimé, ce n’est pas vrai ! « 

Pour mes merveilleux amis, Martha, Daniel et leurs enfants, Sophie-Anne, Philippe et Antoine Vachon.

Au bout de mes rêves

Elle fait aussi l’objet d’une chanson, interprétée en première mondiale au Théâtre Outremont par l’émouvante Léane Labrèche Dor, dans le cadre de l’édition 2004 du Festival Montréal en Lumière. Quelques extraits :  » Je veux voir tous les koalas gris de l’Australie et circuler dans un monde où je n’ai pas à craindre les bombes… Fermez vos télés spectateurs au rang des dormeurs ! Réveillez-vous s’il vous plaît pour semer un peu plus de paix… Car je veux y croire, sans avoir à, devoir rêver, rêver…  »

À la douce mémoire d’une femme merveilleuse, Fabienne Dor.

© Alain Lefèvre

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search