fbpx
AN 2 9279

Jardin d'Images (Picture Garden)

Composers
Performers
Release date November 03, 2009
Album code AN 2 9279
Periods Others
Genres Piano

Album information

Alain Lefèvre‘s recording world would not be complete without mentioning the importance of the composer he has become in recent years. Jardin d’Images, his fourth CD featuring his own compositions, is a much-awaited opus after his Blissfully Sleepless. “Intimate letters at the piano” (La Presse), his compositions, much like snapshots of life, are tonal and their pianistic writing, “absolutely gorgeous and musically sophisticated” (Times Argus). With the participation of bassist Michel Donato, drummer Paul Brochu and writer Chrystine Brouillet… in a “whistling” performance!

It is always with the same emotion that I sign a new opus of my compositions, nervous as I am to share with you all their hues. In this picture garden (jardin d’images), I cultivate the imprints and the memories that inhabit my universe; my travels, my encounters, my souvenirs, my crushes, or simply my states of mind. When you listen to it, you will without a doubt see your own garden and images will unfold in front of your eyes or in your mind. This is, I believe, the magic of music…
? Alain Lefèvre

Jour de pluie (A Rainy Day)

We all have our own particular rainy day…
Mine has an English accent, avoids the sun, is eccentric, plays the double bass, draws divinely and wears a wool scarf even in the summer, as long as it is blue! Our friendship has lasted for over 20 years and it never let me down… How we love the rain and its moods.

For my dear friend, Michael McConnell.

Sous le ciel de Cap-Santé (Under the Skyes of Cap-Santé)

It is under the skies of Cap-Santé, nestled along the banks of the St. Lawrence, not far from Quebec City, that I discovered a village of overwhelming beauty, both picturesque and colourful, where, on a cold and windy night, I had the joy of inaugurating the church’s grand piano. Even though it was the fall, this magnificent landscape suddenly reminded me of the Christmas cards of my youth, with their winter scenes filled with skaters. I wasn’t able to leave Cap-Santé without immortalizing in my music the mark of nostalgia it left with me.

For my friends Joëlle Tremblay and Claude Morin.

Ville-Émard la belle (Ville-Émard the Beautiful)

When we moved to Quebec in 1967, my parents picked a house on Jogue Street for us. Despite a difficult childhood in the neighbourhood, I wear Ville-Émard tattooed on my heart and it will always have its place there. Memories come flooding back, some that I would wish to erase, but also some unforgettable: those beautiful outings at Angrignon Park, the rides I took in the alleys on my red bike and my visits to the convenience store, rue Jolicoeur …

For my buddies, Paul Brochu and Michel Donato, two of Quebec’s jazz giants.

Tendresse (Tenderness)

The tenderness a mother holds in her heart will never cease to move me, so powerful in its vulnerability, so touching in its protection, even the very first time she puts her hand on her rounded stomach to feel the small creature she already loves, even though she doesn’t yet know him. Fragile strength, her tenderness is undivided and free, in that first role where more often than not she plays second fiddle, so often the only one to understand, the only one to forgive.

For my friend France Chrétien-Desmarais.

Promenade italienne (Italian Promenade)

Milan, 1980, on the stage of the Piccola Scala.
I was giving my first recital in Italy, after the Grand Prix awarded at the Alfred Cortot International Piano Competition. I had performed despite a foot injury that upset my walk. It was at that particular moment that my Italian promenade started, and that I discovered Milan’s Cathedral, the cafés, the fashion stores, the new perfumes and the irresistible charm of the Italians. This piece is not only inspired by that first journey, but also wishes to pay tribute to the Italian cinema.

For my friends Rosi, Claudia, Julia and Gaspare Colletti.

Québec, terre promise (Quebec, Promised Land)

It is by the St. Lawrence Seaway that, after a long transatlantic crossing on a giant liner, I landed on Québécois land for the first time in 1967. I was five, had a French accent and held in my pocket my parents’ dream of “Quebec, the promised land”, born from their numerous readings of the times. It led them to this welcoming place that brought me so much and that I don’t want to leave today. My gratitude goes to the sisters of the Congrégation Notre-Dame for those countless hours on the piano. Thank you my loved ones, my friends, for your loyal support. Thank you, dear public, for your trust.

For my Jojo, the most beautiful gift Quebec has ever given me.

Dis-moi tout (Tell me Everything)

It is the work about all this is left unsaid, all the secrets, the fears of loving, of saying it, proclaiming it, living it. It is also the work about regrets and forgiveness that will never happen. It is the pride that kills love and friendship, the silence that drowns expectations and undermines happiness.

For all those who have lived the unsaid and are paralysed by the fear of words.

Le Panda magique (The Magic Panda)

Starting out as a whim to write a piece to be played exclusively on the black keys, Le Panda magique with its Oriental colours quickly became one of the cornerstones of my own world folklore. I played it as an encore for the first time in Beijing, in September 2006, after a performance of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with the China Philharmonic Orchestra, under the direction of its conductor, Long Yu.

For my friend André Desmarais.

La Danse des petits lapins (The Dance of the Little Bunnies)

For those who already know the anecdote concerning Lylatov, this piece is dedicated to Kito Barouch and Ginette Lévy, the wonderful couple who saved me from an indifferent and insensitive Paris when I was living in an attic room, alone and penniless. The Dance of the Little Bunnies seems a celebration, a window on life’s sweetness and happiness permitted. It was my first ode to the joy of finding a cozy family cocoon once again. This piece is just like Ginette, bright, witty, cheerful, sensitive, profound and benevolent.

To Ginette from her “Petit Lapin”.

” Fafoune “

She is ravishing, enigmatic, pretentious, intrepid, and irresistible. Far from being independent, Fafoune leads me by the nose, but I accept this sweet tyranny with pleasure and forgive her everything, even the broken pots! All this and more because she purrs and I fall for her… She also wanted “her” piece, after all those hours of complicity spent on my piano. Fafoune is one of the most magnificent Main Coon there is and to celebrate her, the great novelist Chrystine Brouillet, one of my dear friends who shares my passion for cats, brings her exceptional touch to the recording by punctuating the melody with her whistling, accompanied on the double bass by Michel Donato and on the drums by Paul Brochu. A little wink for all cat lovers.

For Danièle and Jean Lacroix, extraordinary and devoted breeders, thanks to whom I have Fafoune.

© Alain Lefèvre
Liner notes in collaboration with Johanne Martineau

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9279

Jardin d'Images

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 03 novembre 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9279

Informations sur l'album

L’univers du pianiste Alain Lefèvre ne saurait être complet sans évoquer toute la dimension du compositeur qu’il est devenu au fil des ans. Son quatrième disque de compositions, Jardin d’Images, se veut une suite tant attendue après Fidèles insomnies.  » Lettres intimes au piano  » (La Presse), ses compositions, tels des tableaux de vie, sont d’une écriture pianistique tonale et romantique,  » absolument magnifiques et musicalement sophistiquées  » (Times Argus). Avec la participation du contrebassiste Michel Donato, du batteur Paul Brochu et de l’auteure Chrystine Brouillet… dans une  » sifflante  » interprétation!

C’est toujours avec la même émotion que je signe un nouvel opus de mes compositions, fébrile de vous en révéler toutes les tonalités. Ce Jardin d’Images cultive toutes les empreintes et mémoires qui habitent mon univers. Celles des voyages, des rencontres, des souvenirs, des coups de foudre et des états d’âme tout simplement. À l’écoute, vous y verrez sans doute votre jardin et vos images défiler devant vos yeux ou dans votre tête et c’est là, je crois, toute la magie de la musique…
? Alain Lefèvre

Jour de pluie

À chacun son jour de pluie…
Le mien a l’accent anglais, fuit le soleil, est excentrique, joue de la contrebasse, dessine comme un dieu et porte un foulard de laine même l’été, pourvu qu’il soit bleu! Notre amitié a plus de vingt ans et il ne m’a jamais laissé tomber… Comme nous aimons la pluie et ses humeurs.

Pour mon fidèle ami, Michael McConnell.

Sous le ciel de Cap-Santé

C’est sous le ciel de Cap-Santé, niché le long des rives du St-Laurent non loin de Québec, que j’ai découvert un village bouleversant de beauté, à la fois pittoresque et coloré, où j’ai eu le bonheur d’inaugurer le piano à queue de l’Église, un soir de vent et de froidure. Quoique sous un ciel automnal, ce magnifique paysage m’a soudainement rappelé les cartes de Noël de mon enfance avec ses scènes d’hiver et de patineurs et je n’ai pu quitter Cap-Santé sans capturer par ma musique, toute l’empreinte nostalgique qu’il m’a laissée.

Pour mes amis Joëlle Tremblay et Claude Morin.

Ville-Émard la belle

Mes parents se sont installés rue Jogue en 1967, lors de notre arrivée au Québec. Malgré une enfance difficile dans le quartier, je demeure marqué par Ville-Émard où une partie de mon cœur y gardera toujours sa place, fort de tous les souvenirs qui s’imposent encore à moi, ceux qu’on souhaite effacer, mais aussi tous les autres, inoubliables, comme mes belles promenades au parc Angrignon, mes tours de vélo rouge dans le dédale de ruelles et mes visites chez le dépanneur du coin, rue Jolicœur…

Pour mes chums, Paul Brochu et Michel Donato, géants du jazz au Québec.

Tendresse

La tendresse d’une mère n’aura de cesse de m’émouvoir, si puissante dans sa vulnérabilité, si touchante de par sa protection, ne serait-ce que la première fois où elle pose la main sur son ventre rond pour sentir le petit être qu’elle aime déjà sans même le connaître. Force fragile, sa tendresse est intégrale et gratuite, dans ce premier rôle où elle passe le plus souvent au second plan, maintes fois seule à comprendre, maintes fois seule à pardonner…

Pour mon amie France Chrétien-Desmarais.

Promenade italienne

Milan, 1980, sur la scène de la Piccola Scala.

J’y donnai mon premier récital en Italie, suite au Grand Prix remporté au Concours International de Piano Alfred Cortot. J’avais joué malgré une blessure au pied qui m’était douloureuse et m’incommodait dans ma démarche. Ce fut là le début de ma promenade italienne, découvrant d’un pas lent la cathédrale de Milan, les cafés, la mode, les nouveaux parfums et l’irrésistible charme des italiens. Cette pièce s’inspire non seulement de ce premier voyage, mais se veut aussi un hommage au cinéma italien.

Pour mes amis, Rosi, Claudia, Julia et Gaspare Colletti.

Québec, terre promise

C’est par la voie maritime du St-Laurent qu’en 1967, après une longue traversée de l’Atlantique à bord d’un paquebot géant, je foulai le sol québécois pour la première fois. J’avais cinq ans, un accent français et le rêve de mes parents en poche, celui d’un  » Québec, terre promise « , né de leurs nombreuses lectures de l’époque, les incitant à découvrir cette terre d’accueil que je ne veux plus quitter aujourd’hui et duquel j’ai tout reçu. Merci mes sœurs de la Congrégation Notre-Dame pour toutes ces heures de piano offertes sans compter. Merci mes aimés, mes amis, pour votre fidèle soutien. Merci cher public de votre confiance.

Pour ma Jojo, le plus beau cadeau que le Québec m’ait donné.

Dis-moi tout

Elle est la pièce de tous les non-dits, de tous les secrets, de la peur d’aimer, de le dire, de le proclamer, de le vivre. Elle est aussi la pièce des regrets et des pardons qui ne viendront jamais. Elle est l’orgueil qui tue l’amour et l’amitié, le silence qui noie les attentes, qui mine le bonheur.

Pour tous ceux qui vivent les non-dits et que la peur des mots paralyse.

Le Panda magique

Née d’une fantaisie d’écrire une pièce uniquement sur les touches noires, Le Panda Magique aux couleurs d’Orient, est rapidement devenue l’une des pièces maîtresses qui compose mon folklore du monde. Je l’ai jouée en rappel pour la première fois à Beijing, en Septembre 2006, alors que je venais d’interpréter le Concerto No. 2 de Rachmaninov avec le China Philharmonic Orchestra sous la direction de son chef, Long Yu.

Pour mon ami André Desmarais.

La Danse des petits lapins

Pour ceux qui connaissent déjà l’anecdote entourant Lylatov, cette pièce dédiée à ce merveilleux couple, Kito Barouch et Ginette Lévy, qui m’a sauvé de ce Paris indifférent et insensible à ma lutte de jeune étudiant au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris, où je vivais dans une étroite chambre de bonne, seul et sans le sou, La Danse des Petits Lapins s’inscrit comme une fête, une fenêtre sur la douceur de vivre et le bonheur permis. Elle fut ma première ode à la joie de retrouver un cocon douillet et familial. Cette pièce est à l’image de Ginette, vive, spirituelle, enjouée, toute en finesse, profondeur et bienveillance.

Pour Ginette, de son  » Petit Lapin « .

 » Fafoune « 

Elle est ravissante, énigmatique, prétentieuse, intrépide, irrésistible. Loin d’être indépendante, Fafoune me mène par le bout du nez, mais j’accepte avec plaisir ce doux esclavage et lui pardonne tout, même les pots cassés! Tout ça parce qu’elle ronronne et me fait craquer… Elle aussi voulait  » sa pièce « , après toutes ces heures complices passées sur mon piano…  » Fafoune  » est l’un des plus magnifiques Main Coon qu’il soit et pour la célébrer ici, Chrystine Brouillet, grande romancière et amie qui partage aussi la passion des chats, apporte sa participation exceptionnelle ponctuant la mélodie de ses sifflements, accompagnée à la contrebasse de Michel Donato et de Paul Brochu à la batterie. Clin d’œil aux amoureux des félins!

Pour Danièle et Jean Lacroix de Lacocoon, extraordinaires et dévoués éleveurs à qui je dois Fafoune.

© Alain Lefèvre
Collaboration aux textes : Johanne Martineau

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search