fbpx
AN 2 9282

César Franck, Guillaume Lekeu - Sonatas; André Mathieu - Ballade-Fantaisie

Release date March 10, 2009
Album code AN 2 9282

Album information

Sonatas for violin and piano by César Franck and Guillaume Lekeu: two summits of the chamber music repertoire, championed here by two brothers, David Lefèvre et Alain Lefèvre who meet at last in the intimate setting of the recording studio—two people closely connected by their equally unquenchable thirst for music. An ideal post-script to the program, the Ballade-Fantaisie by André Mathieu is performed here in world premiere recording.

César Franck: Sonata in A major for Violin and Piano

Franck’s music is the denial of the static. Rhythmically, it is like blood flowing through the veins; in other words, like life itself, subject to the heart’s very pulsations.
?Maurice Kunel, César Franck, l’homme et son œuvre.

César Franck wrote the Sonata for violin and piano in 1886, at the age of 64 and at the peak of his creativity, as a wedding gift for the violinist Eugène Ysaÿe. The pianist Alfred Cortot recounts: “I learned, from Ysaÿe himself, with what anxious haste, what wonder-filled eagerness he read the manuscript, whose ink was barely dry… It is moving to imagine the young artist switching frantically from violin to piano, probing with passionate attention the secrets of these pages, whose sublime emanations seemed to furnish with miraculous and quasi-prophetic life a home almost empty of furniture but already filled with the expectation of glory.” As the work’s dedicatee, Ysaÿe premiered it on December 16 of the same year in Brussels.

The sweet, dreamlike first movement, “Allegro ben moderato,” demands a sense of poetry and mystery. The piano’s tender introduction receives a warm response in the violin. Initially a simple, barely-fleshed-out line, light as air, the melody gains increasing density as it is repeated, morphing into a lush, poignant song. The particularly expressive second theme is taken by the piano alone, its romantic ardor supported by a flurry of left-hand arpeggios, before the violin returns to the first theme with sobriety and subtlety.

In the tumultuous and deeply rhapsodic “Allegro” that follows, the piano opens the dance once again, the violin scudding on the turbulent currents of this ocean of sound, weathering the piano’s waves of broken chords. The tempest eventually dies down for a time before the raging first theme surges forth again, though less dramatically, dissolving anew into a false calm, charged with expectation, before emptying at last into the maelstrom.

The slow movement is fraught with heart-rending beauty and an almost improvisational character. A fragile thread stretched between dream and reality, a dialogue between two betrothed lovers, a moment of respite coloured with an increasingly present nostalgia, “heaven and earth according to César Franck,” says Alain Lefèvre, this movement is a showcase for the violin. Punctuated with feverish trills, delicately sketched arabesques and unfinished phrases, the violin line is supported by a full, free-flowing piano part.

The final movement is an exultation of confidence in life, as expressed through the initial statement of the luminous opening theme, but tinged with contained fervor. Franck then presents the theme in a fugue-like gesture, repeated four times, with the piano once again playing the role of guide and the violin taking up the same melody shortly afterward. Between these passages, the initial motif is reprised ever more insistently, the violin rising with increasing urgency over the spirited piano part.

Guillaume Lekeu: Sonata in G major for Violin and Piano

Even if it kills me, I put my very soul into my music.
?Guillaume Lekeu

Before succumbing to typhoid fever in 1894, at the age of 24, Guillaume Lekeu was considered one of Belgian music’s bright young stars. Largely self-taught as a composer, he initially immersed himself in the scores of Beethoven and Wagner. (The late quartets of the former were constantly in his possession, and he actually fainted after hearing the latter’s Prelude to Tristan und Isolde in Bayreuth.) In 1888, he moved to Paris to study with César Franck, becoming both disciple and friend. The renowned Belgian musicologist José Quitin noted, however, that he was “a composer whose modern harmonic ideas and vehement musical language probably would have led him beyond the limits of “Franckist” doctrine to evolve more along the lines of Claude Debussy.”

César Franck would die two years later, plunging Guillaume Lekeu into deep sorrow. In 1891, he composed the moving Adagio pour quatuor d’orchestre, a piano sonata and a cantata entitled Andromède, an excerpt of which he conducted on February 18, 1892 for a meeting of Les XX in Brussels. After the concert, Ysaÿe commissioned from him what would become his most famous work, the Sonata for Violin and Piano, which he completed that September. A melancholic and passionate work, it traveled the world thanks to Ysaÿe and would be performed by the 20th century’s great violinists. David Lefèvre has this to say about the work: “This sonata is without question a pure masterpiece, and I consider it to be an essential part of the chamber music repertoire. Yet, unbelievably, it is unknown even to many violinists, who look at you with a puzzled expression when you say Guillaume Lekeu. Alain and I have no desire to defend this music; it doesn’t need us for that! We have simply tried to play it from our hearts. Listeners sensitive to artistic sincerity cannot but be profoundly moved by the lyric spirit, sumptuous phrasing and passionate flights of expression in this score, written by a young man of only 22 years.”

The sonata opens with a slow introduction into which the composer slips the movement’s themes. While its chromaticism reflects the influence of César Franck and Richard Wagner, Lekeu develops the movement in a deeply rich and personal style, characterized by an abundance of melodic ideas, a certain harmonic audacity and an uncommon freedom of expression.

The second movement, “Très lent,” is almost unbearably intense, plunging the listener into a surreal world where whiffs of popular song intermingle with extreme lyricism and sorrowful introspection. The ambiguity of the movement’s 7/8 time infuses this sublime movement with an almost chance-like character.

Conceived of as a single flurry from beginning to end, the last movement takes up the main themes of the first two movements in a torrent of contrapuntal, chromatic and particularly acrobatic writing.

André Mathieu: Ballade-Fantaisie for Violin and Piano

André Mathieu did not discover music: it was inside of him.
?Léo-Pol Morin, 1939

André Mathieu (1929–1968) revealed an exceptional talent for the piano and composition from a very young age, composing evocative pieces as early as four years old and eliciting an abundance of superlatives. He made his New York debut on February 3, 1940 to great acclaim and two years later won first prize in the young composers competition organized by the New York Philharmonic for its centenary celebrations, beating, notably, a young Leonard Bernstein. When, that same year, he wrote his Ballade-Fantaisie pour violon et piano, he was therefore at the height of his all-too-brief glory.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9725-7
AN 2 9725-7
AN 2 9725-7

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9282

César Franck, Guillaume Lekeu - Sonates; André Mathieu - Ballade-Fantaisie

Date de sortie 10 mars 2009
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9282

Informations sur l'album

Les Sonates pour piano et violon de César Franck et de Guillaume Lekeu : deux sommets de la musique de chambre, défendus ici par deux frères, David Lefèvre et Alain Lefèvre qui, dans l’intimité d’un studio d’enregistrement, se retrouvent, soudés par une même soif inextinguible de la musique. Post-scriptum idéal à ce programme, la Ballade-Fantaisie de André Mathieu est enregistré ici en première mondiale.

César Franck : Sonate en la majeur pour piano et violon

 » La musique de Franck est le démenti au statique. Rythmique, elle l’est comme le sang qui coule dans les artères, c’est-à-dire d’une vie naturelle, assujettie aux pulsations même du cœur.  »
?Maurice Kunel, César Franck, l’homme et son œuvre

La Sonate pour piano et violon de César Franck a été écrite en 1886, par un compositeur de 64 ans, au zénith de son inspiration, pour être déposée dans la corbeille de mariage du violoniste Eugène Ysaÿe. Le pianiste Alfred Cortot raconte :  » J’ai su par Ysaÿe lui-même, avec quelle hâte fiévreuse, avec quel enthousiasme émerveillé avait été déchiffré le manuscrit dont l’encre était encore toute fraîche… Il est émouvant de se figurer le jeune artiste passant fébrilement du violon au piano, questionnant d’une attention passionnée les secrets de ces pages dont les sublimes émanations semblaient peupler d’une vie miraculeuse et quasi prophétique un logis presque vierge de meubles, mais déjà tout empli de l’attente de la gloire.  » Dédicataire de la partition, Ysaÿe en assurera la création le 16 décembre de cette même année à Bruxelles.

Le premier mouvement, allegretto ben moderato, une douce rêverie, exige poésie et mystère. Le piano propose une introduction tendre, à laquelle le violon répond avec chaleur. Tout d’abord simple ligne à peine esquissée, presque aérienne, la mélodie se fait de plus en plus dense au fil des reprises, jusqu’à devenir un chant poignant et luxuriant. Le deuxième thème, particulièrement expressif, est dédié au piano. Un foisonnement d’arpèges soutient cette ardeur romantique avant que le violon n’énonce de nouveau le matériel du premier thème, avec sobriété et subtilité.

Le piano ouvre la danse une fois encore dans l’allegro qui suit, tumultueux et profondément rhapsodique. Le violon se glisse dans les flots turbulents de cet océan sonore, résistant à la déferlante d’accords brisés du piano. La tempête s’apaise quelques instants avant que le premier thème rageur ne reprenne ses droits, de façon moins dramatique toutefois, se dissolvant une nouvelle fois dans une fausse douceur rehaussée d’expectative qui se jette enfin dans le tourbillon.

Le mouvement lent, presque improvisé, est empreint d’une beauté douloureuse. Fil fragile tendu entre rêve et réalité, dialogue entre deux êtres qui se sont promis l’un à l’autre, moment de répit doublé d’une nostalgie de plus en plus présente,  » le ciel et l’enfer selon César Franck  » dixit Alain Lefèvre, ce mouvement fait la part belle au violon. Celui-ci ponctue son discours de trilles fébriles, d’arabesques délicatement ébauchées et de phrases suspendues, obligeamment soutenues par la rondeur du piano.

Le mouvement final exulte la confiance en la vie, à travers un énoncé du motif initial lumineux, mais teinté d’une ferveur contenue. Franck présente ensuite le thème en un geste fugué, repris quatre fois, le piano assumant une fois de plus le rôle de guide, le violon récupérant la même mélodie peu après. Entre ces passages, le motif initial est repris de façon toujours plus insistante, le violon s’élevant de plus en plus urgemment au-dessus du piano qui s’emporte.

Guillaume Lekeu : Sonate en sol majeur pour piano et violon

 » Je me tue à mettre dans ma musique toute mon âme.  »
?Guillaume Lekeu

Guillaume Lekeu était perçu comme l’un des plus grands espoirs de la musique belge avant d’être emporté par la fièvre typhoïde à l’âge de 24 ans en 1894. Compositeur largement autodidacte, il s’est d’abord imprégné des pages de Beethoven et de Wagner. (Les derniers quatuors du premier lui serviront de lecture de chevet et il s’évanouira après avoir entendu le Prélude de Tristan und Isolde à Bayreuth du second.) En 1888, Lekeu s’établit à Paris où il étudie avec César Franck dont il devient disciple et ami. Le renommé musicologue belge José Quitin précise toutefois qu’il était  » un compositeur qui, par ses conceptions harmoniques modernes et par la véhémence de son langage musical, aurait probablement dépassé les limites imposées par les doctrines franckistes et évolué parallèlement à Claude Debussy « .

César Franck meurt deux ans plus tard, plongeant Guillaume Lekeu dans une profonde tristesse. En 1891, Lekeu compose son émouvant Adagio pour quatuor d’orchestre, sa Sonate pour piano et sa cantate Andromède, dont il dirige un extrait le 18 février 1892 au Cercle des XX à Bruxelles. Après le concert, Ysaÿe lui commande ce qui allait devenir son œuvre la plus célèbre, la Sonate pour piano et violon (qui sera achevée en septembre). Mélancolique et passionnée, celle-ci fera le tour du monde grâce à Ysaÿe et sera interprétée par les plus grands violonistes du XXe siècle. David Lefèvre s’exprime au sujet de cette œuvre :  » Cette sonate est sans contestation aucune un pur chef-d’œuvre! Je pense qu’elle est un maillon essentiel du répertoire de musique de chambre. Pouvez-vous croire qu’elle est souvent inconnue de bien des violonistes eux-mêmes qui vous regardent étonné lorsque vous dites Guillaume Lekeu? Alain et moi ne voulons pas défendre cette musique. Elle n’a pas besoin de nous pour cela! Nous tenons seulement à la jouer avec tout notre cœur. L’auditeur, sans nul doute sensible à la sincérité des artistes, ne pourra qu’être profondément touché par le souffle lyrique, les phrasés généreux et les envolées passionnées de ces pages écrites par un tout jeune homme de 22 ans ».

La sonate s’ouvre sur une lente introduction dans laquelle le compositeur glisse les thèmes du mouvement. Si les chromatismes utilisés témoignent de l’influence exercée par César Franck et Richard Wagner, Lekeu les développe en un mouvement d’une grande richesse, au style bien personnel, caractérisé par une abondance d’idées mélodiques, une certaine audace harmonique et une liberté d’expression peu commune.

Le deuxième mouvement,  » Très lent « , d’une intensité presque épidermique, plonge l’auditeur dans un univers onirique dans lequel se croisent relents de chants populaires, lyrisme exacerbé et douloureuse intériorité. L’ambiguïté du 7/8 privilégié par Lekeu insuffle un caractère quasi fortuit à cette page sublime.

Conçu d’un seul souffle du début à la fin, le dernier mouvement reprend les principaux thèmes des deux premiers en un torrent d’écriture contrapuntique, chromatique, particulièrement acrobatique.

André Mathieu: Ballade-Fantaisie pour violon et piano

 » La musique, André Mathieu ne l’a pas découverte : il l’avait en lui.  »
?Léo-Pol Morin, 1939

André Mathieu (1929-1968) révèle très tôt un talent exceptionnel pour le piano et la composition, signant des pièces évocatrices dès l’âge de quatre ans et suscitant une surenchère de superlatifs. Le 3 février 1940, André Mathieu fait des débuts new-yorkais louangés. Deux ans plus tard, il remporte le premier prix d’un concours pour jeunes compositeurs organisé par le New York Philharmonic à l’occasion de son centenaire, devançant notamment le jeune Leonard Bernstein. Quand il écrit sa Ballade-Fantaisie pour violon et piano, cette même année, il est donc au faîte de sa trop courte gloire.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025

Start typing and press Enter to search