fbpx
AN 2 9283

Mathieu, Shostakovich, Mendelssohn: Concertino & Concertos

Album information

On this recording are assembled three giants, two of whom, particularly precocious, were compared to Mozart in their day.

As well, a reunion of great performers: pianist Alain Lefèvre, violinist David Lefèvre, trumpeter Paul Archibald joined by the London Mozart Players led by Matthias Bamert. Recorded in London in Winter 2009, this album will delight the connoisseurs with never and rarely recorded works.

While Schumann freely referred to Felix Mendelssohn as the “Mozart of the 19th century,” Goethe, who saw both young musicians perform, felt that young Felix shone even more brilliantly than his predecessor. “I am Saul and you are my David; when I am sad and dismayed, come to me and comfort me with your music,” he declared after hearing the 13-year-old Mendelssohn improvise on the theme of a Bach fugue. A century later, a similar label was placed on André Mathieu. “I cannot say whether little André Mathieu will become a greater musician than Mozart, but I can say that at his age, Mozart had not created anything comparable to what this miraculous boy performed for us with stunning brio,” wrote Émile Vuillermoz in 1939.

Mathieu: Concertino for piano No. 2, Op. 13

André Mathieu, whose father was a composer and mother a violinist, was born on February 18, 1929. His exceptional talent was apparent from a very young age, and in 1936 he received a Quebec government grant to study piano and composition in Paris. In December of that year, his recital at the Salle Chopin-Pleyel was received with enthusiasm. Rachmaninov, seeing in him a sort of heir, took the young prodigy under his wing.

The Mathieu family would vacation in Montreal, but World War II prevented them from returning to Europe. On February 3, 1940, young André made his debut at the New York City Town Hall, to great praise. The next year, in Montreal, he premiered his Concertino No. 2 with the orchestra of the Concerts symphoniques de Montréal (later to become the OSM). In 1942, the work won first prize in the young composers competition organized by the Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York on the occasion of their centenary, beating out the likes of Leonard Bernstein. He performed the Concertino himself at Carnegie Hall under the direction of Rodolf Ganz. Albert Einstein heard the performance and was immediately charmed by the young boy: “He is the greatest proof of genius I have ever encountered.”

The Concertino for piano No. 2, Op. 13, with its three short movements, features a cadenza, newly discovered. The piano part was faithfully transcribed by composer and conductor Gilles Bellemare, who, at most, clarified certain enharmonics, dynamics and articulations. The orchestration, visibly in another hand, was edited to remove errors and weak harmonizations. “In order to respect the composer’s musical intent and to lighten the orchestral fabric, special attention was paid to maintaining a happy balance between piano and orchestra,” notes Bellemare.

Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 35

If Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) cannot be portrayed as a child prodigy, he nevertheless had remarkable gifts as a performer. A pianist whose talents were noticed by the critic of the Zhizn Iskusstva (Artistic Life) at a diploma recital in 1923, and who premiered most of his own works for the instrument, he baldly asserted that “all composers should be able to play their works themselves on the piano.”

His Piano Concerto No. 1, completed in 1933, only a few weeks after the first version of the opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, is a deliciously sardonic work, closer to the subtle spirit of Haydn than to the dark confusion so often associated with Shostakovich. “When listeners laugh at a concert of my symphonic music, I am not at all upset. In fact, it pleases me,” he wrote in a Soviet magazine the following year. For Shostakovich, humour was both an outlet and a sign, offering a way of bearing the unbearable. Casual, exuberant and dryly humorous, the concerto was designed to “fill a void in the Soviet instrumental repertoire,” according to the composer. He favoured a nearly classical style of writing and minimal orchestration: strings and solo trumpet (the score having been written with his friend, Alexandre Schmidt of the Leningrad Philharmonic, in mind), which only heightens the work’s eccentricity.

With quotes from Haydn, Beethoven, popular song and jazz, the mood wavers between an almost circus-like exuberance (“Allegro moderato”), a serious and powerful meditation reminiscent of the second movement of Ravel ‘s G-major concerto (“Lento”), and the almost absurdly dizzying fury of the last movement (“Allegro con brio”).

Mendelssohn: Concerto for piano and violin in D minor

Grandson of the philosopher Moses Mendelssohn and son of a prosperous Berlin banker, Félix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) grew up in a household that was frequented by the intellectual elite of the day, from writers to philosophers to musicians. Every week, he would encounter the likes of Hegel and Heine, musicians of the Berlin Philharmonic, up-and-coming singers, and Carl Friedrich Zelter, his first teacher. Carl Maria von Weber, who also visited, also had a marked influence on him. Young Felix composed constantly and feverishly, fed by his readings, family trips and discussions with his sister, Fanny, to whom he showed every draft. In 1822, she wrote in her journal: “I have followed the progression of his talent every step of the way, and I can say that I have always been his only musical advisor. He never puts a thought to paper without first submitting it for my approval, so I have known his works before he has written even a single note.” On December 5th of the same year, he performed for the first time in public, accompanying the singer Anna Milder-Hauptmann, and playing a just completed piano concerto in A minor.

His output in the next year was remarkable: six symphonies, a second piano quartet, a concerto for violin and strings in D minor, a concerto in E major for two pianos, an opera entitled The Two Nephews and a Concerto for piano, violin and string orchestra in D minor. Mendelssohn was well acquainted with the subtleties of both the piano and the violin, which perhaps explains why as soon as he began composing concertos, he was immediately able to achieve a perfection of form honed by past composers. After the 1822 piano concerto, and the concerto for violin a few months later, it was only logical that young Felix should wish to unite their forces in a work of broad scope – generous, brilliant and certainly influenced by the lessons in virtuosity he received from Weber and Hummel (the latter a student of Mozart’s).

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1033
AN 6 1033
AN 6 1033

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9283

Mathieu, Chostakovitch, Mendelssohn: Concertino et Concertos

Informations sur l'album

Trois géants dont deux compositeurs particulièrement précoces, associés de leur vivant au légendaire Mozart, se côtoient sur cet enregistrement.

Également, une rencontre de grands interprètes: le pianiste Alain Lefèvre, le violoniste David Lefèvre, le trompettiste Paul Archibald se joignent aux London Mozart Players dirigés par Matthias Bamert. Enregistré à Londres à l’hiver 2009, cet album comblera l’amateur de découvertes avec des oeuvres jamais ou rarement enregistrées.

Si Schumann n’hésitera pas à qualifier Mendelssohn de  » Mozart du XIXe siècle « , Goethe lui-même, qui avait été témoin des interprétations des deux tout jeunes musiciens, confirmait que celui-ci jouait de façon encore plus lumineuse que son prédécesseur.  » Je suis Saül et tu es mon David; quand je suis triste et ennuyé, viens à moi et réconforte-moi par ta musique « , aurait-il déclaré à l’adolescent de 13 ans, après l’avoir entendu improviser sur le sujet d’une fugue de Bach. Un siècle plus tard, on apposera très rapidement ce même sceau au nom d’André Mathieu.  » Je ne sais pas encore si le petit André Mathieu deviendra un plus grand musicien que Mozart, mais j’affirme qu’à son âge, Mozart n’avait rien créé de comparable à ce que nous a exécuté, avec un brio étourdissant, ce miraculeux garçonnet « , écrira Émile Vuillermoz en 1939.

Mathieu: Concertino pour piano no 2, op. 13

Né le 18 février 1929 d’un père compositeur et d’une mère violoniste, le jeune André Mathieu révèle très tôt un talent exceptionnel. En 1936, boursier du gouvernement du Québec, il se rend à Paris pour étudier le piano et la composition. En décembre de la même année, son récital à la salle Chopin-Pleyel soulève l’enthousiasme. Rachmaninov prend le jeune prodige sous son aile et voit en lui son successeur.

La famille Mathieu revient à Montréal pour des vacances, mais la guerre la contraint à demeurer en Amérique. Le 3 février 1940, André fait ses débuts new-yorkais au Town Hall et suscite des critiques dithyrambiques. L’année suivante, il crée à Montréal son Concertino pour piano no 2 pour piano avec l’orchestre des Concerts symphoniques de Montréal (qui deviendra l’OSM). En 1942, il remporte avec l’œuvre le premier prix d’un concours pour jeunes compositeurs organisé par la Philharmonic-Symphonic Society of New York à l’occasion de son centenaire, devançant notamment Leonard Bernstein. Il la jouera lui-même au Carnegie Hall, sous la direction de Rudolf Ganz. Albert Einstein l’entend et est immédiatement séduit par le jeune garçon :  » Il est la plus grande preuve de génie que j’aie jamais rencontrée. « 

Le Concertino pour piano no 2, op. 13 de Mathieu, en trois courts mouvements, comprend une cadence nouvellement découverte à la fin du dernier. La partie de piano a été fidèlement retranscrite par le compositeur et chef d’orchestre Gilles Bellemare, qui y a tout au plus clarifié certaines enharmonies, nuances et articulations. L’orchestration, visiblement d’une autre main, a quant à elle été revue, afin de gommer erreurs d’écriture et faiblesses d’harmonisation.  » Dans le respect de la pensée musicale du compositeur et dans le but d’alléger le tissu orchestral, une attention particulière a été portée afin de préserver un équilibre heureux entre le piano et l’orchestre « , précise Bellemare.

Chostakovitch: Concerto pour piano no 1, op. 35

Si Dmitri Chostakovitch (1906-1975) ne peut être dépeint tel un enfant prodige, il possédait néanmoins des dons remarquables d’interprète.  » Tout compositeur devrait pouvoir jouer ses œuvres lui-même au piano « , affirmait sans ambages celui dont les talents de pianiste avaient été remarqués par le critique de Zhizn Iskusstva (Vie artistique) lors de son récital de sa remise de diplôme en 1923 et qui créa lui-même la plupart de ses œuvres pour l’instrument.

Son Concerto pour piano no 1, op. 35, complété en 1933, quelques semaines à peine après la première version de l’opéra Lady Macbeth du district de Mtsensk, se veut une page délicieusement sardonique, plus proche du subtil esprit de Haydn que du sombre désarroi associé trop souvent à Chostakovitch.  » Quand les auditeurs rient à l’un de mes concerts de musique symphonique, je ne suis pas du tout choqué. En fait, cela me fait plaisir « , écrivait-il dans un magazine soviétique l’année suivante. Pour lui, l’humour sert à la fois d’exutoire et de révélateur, offre un moyen de faire face à l’insupportable. Désinvolte, exubérant, pince-sans-rire, le concerto avait été conçu pour  » combler une lacune dans le répertoire instrumental soviétique  » selon Chostakovitch. Volontairement, le compositeur y privilégie une écriture presque classique et une orchestration minimale : cordes et trompette solo (la partition ayant été pensée pour son ami Alexandre Schmidt, du Philharmonique de Leningrad), qui magnifient le côté excentrique de l’œuvre.

À coups de citations de Haydn, de Beethoven, de chansons populaires, d’accents jazz, le ton oscille entre une exubérance par moments digne du cirque (Allegro moderato), une méditation grave et puissante, parente du deuxième mouvement du Concerto en sol de Ravel (Lento) et la fureur étourdissante, à la limite de l’absurde, du dernier mouvement (Allegro con brio).

Mendelssohn: Concerto pour piano et violon en ré mineur

Petit-fils du philosophe Moses Mendelssohn et fils d’un banquier berlinois prospère, Félix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) grandit dans une maison fréquentée par l’élite intellectuelle de l’époque, tant littéraire, philosophique que musicale. S’y croisent, de façon hebdomadaire, Hegel, Heine, plusieurs musiciens du Philharmonique de Berlin, de jeunes chanteurs prometteurs, Carl Friedrich Zelter, premier maître du prodige, mais aussi Carl Maria von Weber, influence marquante. Mendelssohn écrit avec une fébrilité constante, nourri par ses lectures, les voyages de la famille et ses échanges avec sa sœur Fanny, à qui il confie la moindre esquisse. Elle note dans son journal en 1822 :  » J’ai suivi pas à pas les progrès de son talent, et je puis dire que j’ai toujours été son unique conseillère musicale. Il ne met jamais une pensée sur le papier sans l’avoir soumise à mon approbation, aussi ai-je connu ses opéras avant qu’il en eût écrit une seule note.  » Le 5 décembre de la même année, il paraît pour la première fois en public, alors qu’il accompagne la cantatrice Anna Milder-Hauptmann et joue en soliste son Concerto en la mineur pour piano, à peine complété.

La production de l’année suivante s’avèrera remarquable : six symphonies, un deuxième quatuor avec piano, un Concerto pour violon et cordes en ré mineur, un Concerto en mi majeur pour deux pianos, son opéra Les Deux Neveux et le Concerto en ré mineur pour piano, violon et orchestre à cordes! Mendelssohn connaît bien les subtilités des deux instruments, qu’il fréquente en profondeur. Ceci explique peut-être que, dès qu’il aborde le genre du concerto, il semble atteindre d’emblée la perfection d’une forme rodée par ses aînés. Après un concerto dédié en 1822 au piano, puis quelques mois plus tard au violon, il semble logique que Mendelssohn souhaite unir les forces des deux instruments dans une œuvre de vastes proportions, généreuse, lumineuse, certes influencée par les leçons de virtuosité reçues de Weber et de Hummel – élève de Mozart.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1033
AN 6 1033
AN 6 1033

Start typing and press Enter to search