fbpx
AN 2 9280

Selected Works (Only at Archambault)

Performers
Release date May 08, 2007
Album code AN 2 9280

Album information

Romanticism and its Multiple Facets

Romantic composers felt it was essential for music to be able to express everything. To achieve that goal, they pushed the limits of the instrument, broadened the spectrum of technique and favoured a profusion of ideas and textures. Throughout his career, Canadian pianist Alain Lefèvre has made this repertoire his, breathing vitality, eloquence and poetry into it. He will be heard here in three works by André Mathieu, a composer with whom he has been closely associated in the last few years, but also in a Liszt transcription, pieces by Mussorgsky, Rachmaninov, Walter Boudreau and a rendition of Richard Addinsell’s ever-popular Warsaw Concerto.

“The first piece I ever heard by André Mathieu was his Prélude romantique,” confides Alain Lefèvre. “I was fifteen then and was stunned by its beauty.” This infatuation never completely vanished and it led him to champion Mathieu’s works here as well as in the United States, Europe and Asia. “There is something in Mathieu’s music that sweeps all of us off our feet, something uncontrollable. I believe in Mathieu’s genius,” states the pianist.

Though composed in 1943, the Concerto de Québec is permeated with relents (?) of Rachmaninov (who strongly believed the “Canadian Mozart” would be his successor). Alain Lefèvre here performs two versions of the work, the first with orchestra (the concerto’s first movement) and the second for solo piano, essentially the slow central movement (part of the soundtrack for the Canadian film La Forteresse suspendue) with bits and pieces of the other two movements.

Composed by one of Canada’s leading composers, Walter Boudreau, La Valse de l’asile is part of the incidental music for Claude Gauvreau’s play L’Asile de la pureté (The Asylum of Purity). “The presence of this piece on the program is my way of putting André Mathieu into historical context,” says Lefèvre. “Listeners will sense intuitively that this painfully sad, almost surrealistic little waltz serves as a kind of benediction not only on all that André Mathieu stood for, but more importantly, on what he might have become.”

Transcription, a favoured means for music lovers to grasp a greater knowledge of opera and symphony, was a very prosperous business in the 19th century. Franz Liszt saw it mostly as a way to make his the essence of a work he admired. Several of Bach’s works inspired him, namely this fugue taken from the Prelude and fugue in A minor BWV 543.

Sergei Rachmaninov remains without a doubt one of the 20th century’s legendary pianists, with his towering and faultless technique, a phenomenal fingers’ independence that would bring polyphonic clarity to his playing and an infinitely delicate touch in the most intimate moments. In his Moments musicaux, Rachmaninov achieved new summits, virtuosic as well as poetic. The Fourth and the Sixth moments explode with fervour, while tumultuous motifs share the stage with epic themes and powerful chords.

Alain Lefèvre was inspired by Ravel’s orchestral version when he approached Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, a summit of the piano repertoire. That is why he chose to transpose instrumental timbres in a surprisingly diversified piano register. “Gnomus,” a portrait of the magician Chernomor, a deformed gnome, carries us through its threatening dissonances and chromaticisms into a world almost as phantasmagorical as the one portrayed in Night on the Bald Mountain. On the other hand, nostalgia reigns in “Il Vecchio Castello,” a piece infused with an atmosphere of timelessness supported by the unflagging repetition of a tonic pedal.

The soundtrack to the movie Dangerous Moonlight (1941) brought fame and fortune to British composer Richard Addinsell. The Warsaw Concerto, part of the movie score, was such an instant success that it became the war-horse of most pianists for decades to come and it has been recorded more than one hundred times. The Concerto is openly romantic, as its sumptuous harmonies and lyrical soaring attest.

© Lucie Renaud

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9280

Morceaux choisis (Une exclusivité Archambault)

Informations sur l'album

Romantisme aux visages multiples

Pour les compositeurs romantiques, la musique devait être capable de tout exprimer. Pour atteindre ce but, ils ont repoussé les capacités sonores de l’instrument au maximum, élargi les horizons de la technique et favorisé le foisonnement des idées et des textures. Au cours de sa carrière, le pianiste canadien Alain Lefèvre s’est magistralement approprié ce répertoire et lui a insufflé vitalité, éloquence et poésie. Nous le retrouvons ici dans trois pages d’André Mathieu, compositeur auquel son nom a beaucoup été associé depuis quelques années, mais aussi dans une transcription de Liszt, des œuvres de Moussorgski, Rachmaninov, Walter Boudreau et le très populaire Concerto de Varsovie de Richard Addinsell.

 » La première pièce que j’aie entendue d’André Mathieu fut son Prélude romantique, confie Alain Lefèvre. J’avais quinze ans à l’époque et je fus bouleversé par sa beauté.  » Coup de foudre dont il ne se remettra jamais complètement et qui l’a mené à défendre les œuvres du compositeur tant ici qu’aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie :  » Il y a quelque chose dans la musique de Mathieu qui vient tous nous chercher, quelque chose d’incontrôlable. Je crois au génie de Mathieu.  »

L’ombre de Rachmaninov, qui voyait en ce  » Mozart canadien  » un successeur, plane sur le Concerto de Québec, pourtant terminé en 1943. Alain Lefèvre en présente ici deux versions, avec orchestre (premier mouvement du concerto) et pour piano seul, essentiellement le mouvement lent central (qui devait être intégré à la trame sonore du film canadien La Forteresse) auquel se greffent des fragments des autres mouvements.

La Valse de l’asile fait partie de la musique de scène composée par Walter Boudreau, l’un des plus éminents compositeurs canadiens, pour la pièce de théâtre intitulée L’Asile de la pureté de Claude Gauvreau.  » La présence de cette œuvre à mon programme est ma façon de remettre André Mathieu en perspective historique. L’auditeur sentira en lui-même que cette petite valse douloureusement triste, presque surréaliste, est une sorte de bénédiction non seulement pour tout ce qu’André Mathieu a représenté, mais plus encore, pour ce qu’il aurait pu devenir. »

Moyen privilégié de faire connaître opéras et symphonies aux mélomanes, la transcription devait connaître un véritable âge d’or au XIXe siècle. Franz Liszt y voyait plutôt une façon de s’approprier l’essence même d’une œuvre qu’il admirait. Plusieurs œuvres de Bach l’ont inspiré, dont cette fugue tirée du Prélude et fugue en la mineur BWV 543.

Sergueï Rachmaninov reste sans aucun doute l’un des pianistes légendaires du XXe siècle, avec sa technique apparemment sans faille, une indépendance des doigts qui donnait une clarté polyphonique à son jeu et un toucher d’une infinie délicatesse dans les passages plus intimes. Dans ses Moments musicaux, son écriture atteint de nouveaux sommets, tant virtuoses que poétiques. Les Quatrième et Sixième explosent d’un dynamisme intense où figures houleuse côtoient thèmes épiques et accords puissants.

Pour aborder les Tableaux d’une exposition de Modest Moussorgski, sommet du répertoire pianistique, Alain Lefèvre s’est inspiré de la version orchestrale de Ravel pour transposer les timbres dévolus aux différents instruments en une registration pianistique étonnamment variée.  » Gnomus « , portrait du magicien Chernomor, gnome difforme, nous fait plonger dans le monde presque fantasmagorique de la Nuit sur le Mont Chauve avec ses dissonances et ses chromatismes menaçants.  » Il Vecchio Castello  » évoque plutôt un univers où règne la nostalgie, dans une atmosphère d’intemporalité soutenue par la répétition inlassable d’une pédale de tonique.

Le compositeur britannique Richard Addinsell a connu son heure de gloire avec la trame sonore du film Dangerous Moonlight (1941), dans laquelle on retrouve notamment son Concerto de Varsovie. Succès renversant qui devait être enregistré plus d’une centaine de fois et cheval de bataille de nombre de pianistes pendant des décennies, le concerto est ouvertement romantique, comme en témoignent ses harmonies somptueuses et ses envolées lyriques.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9202-3
AN 2 9202-3

Start typing and press Enter to search