fbpx
AN 2 9286

Mathieu,Trio & Quintette; Chausson, Concert

Album information

Music is an enchanting and powerful mistress. Her lovers are many, and she always rewards those who serve and love her well. It is their path to immortality.
(André Mathieu, June 18, 1953)

The Ritz Carlton Hotel, December 7, 1950. More than 15 years after his first recital, which would change André Mathieu’s life forever, the “Canadian Mozart” was performing again. The packed program included his sonata for violin, Quatre Mélodies sur des textes de Verlaine (sung by Jean-Paul Jeannotte), a piano reduction of his Quatrième Concerto, and the premier of his piano trio. For the critics in attendance, the performance left no doubt; at the age of 21, Mathieu had become a composer in full control of his craft. “What is surprising and inwardly delightful in Mathieu’s compositional style is that he never substitutes music with mathematics, doesn’t employ the current decadent system, and never wallows in insolent melodies or impenetrable rhythms,” wrote Eugène Lapierre in Le Devoir on December 11, 1950. “He can be bold, but we are always listening to music. […] Furthermore, his music is essentially symphonic… it is all about clarity—clarity of rhythm, clarity of harmony, simple and supple melodies with a surprising breadth. This probably stems from his own virtuosity as a performer, since he always seems to be swept up by a need for motion and timbre, the sure sign of a natural composer.”

André Mathieu: Trio

Comprised of two movements that are at once complementary and contrasting, the piano trio opens with a dreamlike and radiant Andante that is firmly anchored in the 20th century. The piano carries on a tender, almost loving, dialogue with its partners, at times yielding to the violin and at others supporting trills in the cello, in a sparkling tableau. A second Andante serves as a transition to the virtuosic and flamboyant Allegro con fuoco, revealing a Mathieu at the height of his powers.

The work was performed again on March 17, 1952 at the Cercle Universitaire during what would be the last “Soirée Mathieu” organized by the composer’s father, Rodolphe. “The work is an important one and, compared with the other Mathieu works on the program, points to the emergence of a powerful musical personality,” noted Jean Vallerand, a respected music critic at Le Devoir. “[…] With this piano trio, we find ourselves in a different musical landscape, a land of gales and earthquakes. And I believe that Mathieu’s instincts work best in this land. […] The trio reveals a free and solitary Mathieu, a Mathieu who has yielded to a spiritual experience in his art, one that is presented with unbridled rawness and sincerity. With this work, the composer has entered the pantheon of great composers. The piece does not merely repeat what those before him have said, it says what only Mathieu can say, and he expresses it in a language whose syntax is the very image of the work’s spiritual substance.”

André Mathieu: Quintette

Mathieu’s last masterwork was his piano quintet. Although it was completed on May 12, 1953, it was not premiered until May 28, 1956 on Radio-Canada’s radio program Présences by the Montréal Quartet and the composer himself. The work is spangled with remarkable technical difficulties. In the tradition of the great French schools, he employs contrasts, even within sections, that oscillate between powerful drama and an almost naïve charm. “Many people think they are receiving a gift when they get the chance to listen to a piece of music. What they don’t realize is that the composer, by offering his work to the public, is merely issuing them a temporary passport to a magnificent realm where he is king. Music is a paradise where the flowers are always in bloom,” wrote Mathieu in Le progrès on March 10, 1954.

Ernest Chausson: Concert

Just over a half-century earlier, in 1899, Ernest Chausson’s creativity was tragically snuffed out at its height by a bicycle accident at the age of 44. His music—passionate, exceptionally poetic, at times bubbly and at others undulant, favoring intense chromaticisms (like Mathieu), fervent and filled with an almost erotic charge—nonetheless never strayed outside of its given framework. Although a devoted disciple of César Franck, he would surely have agreed with artist Georges Braque’s maxim: “I like the rule that balances emotion. I like emotion that balances the rule.”

Aware very early on of the need to free himself from the stifling influence of Wagner, Chausson favored a more classical mode of expression, one that stemmed from the old masters Couperin and Rameau. He reintegrated French terms into his tempo indications (décidé, animé, calme, un peu retenu) along with the old forms themselves. Rather than calling his Opus 21 a sextet, he instead chose the title Concert, a popular term in the 18th century. In any case, the work is more akin to a concerto for piano and violin, with the two solo parts projected against the background of a string quartet. Above all, he wished to prove to his contemporaries, especially those he called “les théâtreux,” that a piece of chamber music could be as intense as opera. As Paul Dukas summarized in 1903: “The gradual conquest of Ernest Chausson over his personality, of which each work marked another step, conferred upon his art the definitive originality of a harmonious balance between the serene expression of his own peaceful life and the painful accents aroused in him by a world he wished was more happy and magnificent.”

A dense and virtuosic work, representative of Chausson’s writing, Concert was premiered in Brussels in 1892 by Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe (its dedicatee), the members of the Ysaÿe Quartet, and pianist Auguste Pierret. The visibly spellbound audience received it triumphantly. The first movement is based on a three-note motif, first presented in the piano, from which springs the main material. Abandoning the classical development, which reinterprets the principle ideas, Chausson instead weaves the themes into a sumptuous damask. The graceful and subtle “Sicilienne” that follows features the solo violin in two finely wrought themes. The “Grave” remains one of Chausson’s most moving works, the two solo instruments occasionally conversing alone, their phrases intertwining with a sinuous rapport. Although the “Finale” employs a gigue rhythm, the movement’s driving energy is more akin to a toccata. Resisting the pull of a perpetuum mobile, Chausson sets another dense, lyrical melody in the piano part, a striking contrast to the effervescence that otherwise imbues the movement.

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
FL 2 3075
FL 2 3075
FL 2 3075

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9286

Mathieu,Trio & Quintette; Chausson, Concert

Informations sur l'album

« La musique est une adorable et puissante maîtresse. Ses amants sont nombreux et elle récompense toujours ceux qui l’ont bien servie et aimée. C’est ce qui fait leur immortalité. »
(André Mathieu, 18 juin 1953)

Ritz Carlton, 7 décembre 1950. Plus de 15 ans après le premier récital qui devait bouleverser à jamais la vie d’André Mathieu, le « Mozart canadien » retrouve son public. Le programme est chargé : sa Sonate pour violon, les Quatre Mélodies sur des textes de Verlaine (chantées par Jean-Paul Jeannotte), une réduction pour piano de son Quatrième Concerto et la création de son Trio. Pour les critiques présents, aucun doute possible : à 21 ans, André Mathieu est devenu un compositeur en pleine possession de ses moyens. « Ce qui surprend et réjouit intérieurement dans les procédés de composition d’André Mathieu, c’est qu’il ne troque pas la musique pour de la mathématique, il n’exploite pas le système décadent actuel, il ne se complaît point aux insolences mélodiques ni aux rythmes abracadabrants, écrit Eugène Lapierre dans Le Devoir du 11 décembre 1950. Quelles que soient ses audaces, on écoute de la musique. […] D’autre part, sa musique est essentiellement symphonique… tout chez lui est clarté, clarté de rythme, clarté d’harmonie, mélodie simple et souple d’un souffle surprenant. Cela lui vient sans doute de ses qualités de virtuose, car il semble toujours emporté par un besoin de mouvement et de timbres où se décèle le compositeur-né. »

André Mathieu: Trio

En deux mouvements à la fois complémentaires et contrastants, le Trio s’ouvre sur un Andante rêveur, d’une luminosité radieuse, ancrée dans le 20e siècle. Le piano entretient un dialogue tendre, presque amoureux avec ses complices, cédant tantôt la place au premier violon, soutenant à d’autres moments les trilles du violoncelle, en un tableau chatoyant. Un deuxième Andante sert de transition à l’Allegro con fuoco virtuose et flamboyant, révélant un Mathieu au sommet de ses moyens.

L’œuvre sera reprise le 17 mars 1952 au Cercle Universitaire, lors de ce qui deviendra la dernière Soirée Mathieu organisée par le père du compositeur, Rodolphe. « L’œuvre est d’importance et indique, si on la compare aux autres œuvres de Mathieu présentées au même programme, une prise de conscience d’une puissante personnalité musicale, note Jean Vallerand, critique musical respecté du Devoir. […] Avec le Trio, nous sommes dans une autre contrée musicale, dans la contrée des grands vents et des tremblements de terre. Et je crois que c’est dans ce pays que Mathieu retrouve son instinct. […] Le Trio révèle un Mathieu libre, un Mathieu solitaire, un Mathieu qui cède dans son art à une expérience spirituelle présentée avec brutalité et avec une sincérité sans contrainte. Par cette œuvre, l’auteur entre dans la grande tradition de la musique. Dans ces pages, Mathieu ne répète pas ce que d’autres ont dit avant lui, il dit ce que seul Mathieu peut dire et il le dit dans une langue dont la syntaxe est l’image même de la substance spirituelle de l’œuvre. »

André Mathieu: Quintette

Ultime œuvre maîtresse complétée le 12 mai 1953, mais qui ne sera créée que le 28 mai 1956 sur les ondes de Radio-Canada, dans le cadre de l’émission radiophonique Présences (par le Quatuor de Montréal et le compositeur), son Quintette est constellé de difficultés techniques remarquables. Héritier des grandes écoles françaises, Mathieu inscrit les contrastes à l’intérieur même de ses sections, oscillant entre la puissance du drame et un charme presque naïf. «Plusieurs personnes s’imaginent recevoir un cadeau quand elles ont l’occasion d’écouter une œuvre musicale. Ces mêmes personnes ne savent-elles pas que le compositeur, en livrant son œuvre au public, ne fait que leur donner un passeport pour pénétrer quelques instants dans un royaume magnifique où il est roi? La musique est un paradis où les fleurs sont toujours épanouies », écrira-t-il dans Le Progrès, le 10 mars 1954.

Ernest Chausson: Concert

Un peu plus d’un demi-siècle auparavant, en 1899, s’éteignait Ernest Chausson, fauché en pleine créativité par un bête accident de vélo à l’âge de 44 ans. Passionnée, éminemment poétique, tantôt bouillonnante, tantôt ondoyante, privilégiant les chromatismes exacerbés tout comme celle de Mathieu, ardente, possédant une charge presque érotique, sa musique demeure pourtant toujours maintenue à l’intérieur d’un cadre donné. Ce disciple avoué de César Franck aurait pu considérer sienne la maxime de Braque : « J’aime la règle qui corrige l’émotion. J’aime l’émotion qui corrige la règle. »

Très tôt conscient de la nécessité de s’affranchir de l’influence étouffante exercée par Wagner, Chausson privilégie une expression plus classique, tributaire des maîtres anciens Couperin et Rameau. Il réintègre dans ses partitions les termes français de tempo (décidé, animé, calme, un peu retenu) et les formes antiques elles-mêmes. Plutôt que d’apposer l’étiquette de sextuor à son opus 21, il opte pour Concert, terme populaire au XVIIIe siècle – l’œuvre se voulant de toute manière plus proche d’un concerto pour piano et violon, les deux solistes se projetant sur la toile de fond du quatuor à cordes. Surtout, il souhaite prouver à ses contemporains, notamment à ceux qu’il nomme les théâtreux, qu’une page de musique de chambre peut se révéler aussi concentrée qu’un opéra entier. « La conquête graduelle qu’Ernest Chausson faisait de sa personnalité, et dont chacune de ses œuvres marque une étape, eût assuré à son art l’originalité définitive d’un harmonieux équilibre entre la sereine expression du calme de sa vie et les douloureux accents que lui arrachait le spectacle d’un monde qu’il eût voulu heureux et magnifique », résumait Paul Dukas en 1903.

Œuvre concentrée et virtuose, représentative de l’écriture de Chausson, le Concert a été créé à Bruxelles en 1892 par le violoniste belge Eugène Ysaÿe, son dédicataire, les membres du Quatuor Ysaÿe et le pianiste Auguste Pierret. Le public, visiblement sous le charme, lui assurera le triomphe. Le premier mouvement est basé sur un motif de trois notes, d’abord présenté au piano, duquel jaillira le matériau principal. Délaissant un développement classique, qui réinterpréterait l’idée maîtresse, Chausson tisse les mélodies en un damas somptueux. La sicilienne qui suit, gracieuse et subtile, offre au violon solo deux thèmes ouvragés. Le Grave reste l’une des pages les plus émouvantes du compositeur, les deux instruments solistes y dialoguant à l’occasion en solitaires, leurs propos s’entrelaçant en une sinueuse complicité. Si le rythme de la gigue est mis de l’avant dans le finale, son énergie motrice le rapproche davantage de la toccate. Refusant de céder à l’attrait d’un perpetuum mobile, Chausson consacre une autre mélodie lyrique et dense au piano, contraste saisissant à l’effervescence imprégnant tout le mouvement.

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1028
AN 6 1028
AN 6 1028

Start typing and press Enter to search