fbpx

Album information

The idea of offering you this Petit Noël (Little Christmas) is not fortuitous. It follows naturally from the special Christmas Eve broadcast that I present live on Espace Musique and the Première Chaîne of Radio-Canada, alongside my career as a concert pianist. As a matter of fact, for eight years now, as the host and at the piano, I have been sharing December 24 with all the people who, in solitude or reunited, joyful or nostalgic, join together to experience these few hours before the stroke of midnight in a cozy and festive atmosphere suggestive of possible happiness, as they listen to the most beautiful songs of the holiday season.

It was with great pleasure that for this recording I again met up with the violinist Philippe Dunnigan, with whom I had worked on the Montréal Jazz Club Session 3 project. He immediately accepted the invitation to join me with his quartet so that we could prepare this intimate Petit Noël, recorded in the peacefulness of Saint-Benoît de Mirabel Church.

I also called on Richard Savignac, once again, for the arrangement of the pieces. He was praised by the critics for his arrangements of some of my compositions, which were played by the Pacific Symphony Orchestra at the Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall in California and by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, in the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier Hall at Place des Arts.

Petit Noël is also the title of one of the pieces that I composed and that you will find here, with two new works, Noël en traineau (Sleigh Ride)) and Première neige à Kamouraska (First Snow in Kamouraska). Certain “classics” complete the musical selections, along with the work Un Canadien errant (A Wandering Canadian). The latter is in memory of my father-in-law and great friend, Louis Martineau, who particularly liked it, and who, much to my sadness, passed away last December 24, in the morning. It is addressed to all the lonely individuals for whom this period of the year is synonymous with hardship, as well as to all those abroad who cannot join their families, friends and loved ones for the holiday celebrations.

© Alain Lefèvre

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9725-7
Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9725-7

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

L’idée de vous offrir ce Petit Noël n’est pas fortuite et s’inscrit tout naturellement dans le prolongement de l’émission spéciale que j’anime en direct, la veille de Noël, sur les ondes d’Espace Musique et de la Première Chaîne de Radio-Canada, en marge de ma carrière de pianiste concertiste. En effet, depuis maintenant huit ans, je partage le 24 Décembre au micro et au piano avec tous ceux qui se retrouvent réunis dans la solitude ou le rassemblement, dans l’euphorie ou la nostalgie, afin de vivre ensemble ces quelques heures avant le coup de minuit, dans une ambiance feutrée et festive, celle d’un bonheur possible, à l’écoute des plus belles mélodies du temps des Fêtes.

C’est avec grand plaisir que j’ai retrouvé à l’occasion de cet enregistrement, le violoniste Philippe Dunnigan avec qui j’avais collaboré sur le projet de Montréal Jazz Club Session 3 , lequel a d’emblée accepté de se joindre à moi avec son Quatuor, afin de vous concocter ce Petit Noël, intimiste, enregistré dans la tranquillité de l’Église Saint-Benoît de Mirabel.

J’ai également fait de nouveau appel à Richard Savignac pour l’arrangement des pièces, lequel s’était fait remarquer par la critique pour les arrangements de certaines de mes compositions qui furent interprétées par le Pacific Symphony Orchestra au Renée et Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall en Californie et par l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, à la Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier de la Place des Arts.

Petit Noël c’est aussi le titre de l’une des pièces que j’ai composée et que vous retrouverez ici avec deux nouvelles compositions, soit Noël en traineau et Première neige à Kamouraska. Certains « classiques » viennent compléter le choix musical, ainsi que la pièce Un Canadien errant. Cette dernière est à la mémoire de mon beau-papa et grand ami, Louis Martineau, qui l’affectionnait tout particulièrement et qui à ma grande tristesse, s’est éteint dans la matinée du 24 Décembre dernier… Elle s’adresse aussi à toutes les âmes seules pour qui cette période de l’année est synonyme d’épreuve, ainsi qu’à tous ceux qui retenus à l’étranger, ne peuvent rejoindre famille, amis et aimés pour les célébrations des Fêtes.

© Alain Lefèvre

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1033
Alain Lefèvre
AN 6 1033

Start typing and press Enter to search