fbpx
AN 2 9281

André Mathieu: Concerto No. 4; Orchestral Works

Album information

Canadian pianist Alain Lefèvre devotes his new recording entirely to André Mathieu, recorded live in concert with the Tucson Symphony Orchestra and Choir under the renowned conductor George Hanson. It features the world premiere of André Mathieu’s Piano Concerto No. 4, a recently discovered work representative of the composer’s “Modern Romanticism,” and perhaps his boldest creation.

On March 22, 2003 pianist Alain Lefèvre was in Germany to perform Grieg’s Piano Concerto with the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra. At the helm, George Hanson agreed to replace the indisposed Victor Pöhl at a moment’s notice. Pianist and conductor quickly established an impressive affinity, which led to the beginnings of a new friendship and the planning of future collaborations. Soon thereafter, Hanson, Music Director of the Tucson Symphony Orchestra, invited Lefèvre to perform Gershwin’s Concerto in F the following season. Alain Lefèvre having just released his recording of André Mathieu’s Concerto de Québec, suggested that George Hanson add this unknown work to the concert programs of November 18, 19 and 21, 2004. The gamble was generously rewarded as the audience, the critics and the orchestra alike fell under the Mathieu/Lefèvre spell.

Lefèvre was naturally invited for the opening of the 2006-2007 season. When Hanson suggested to Lefèvre Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, the great defender of André Mathieu couldn’t help but propose Rhapsodie romantique, which he had just recorded with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Once again, the response was overwhelming.

In July 2006, though, Lefèvre had a revelation upon hearing Mathieu’s own recording of his Concerto No. 4 (solo piano version), a work believed forever lost. That was enough to send our visionary performer dreaming.

Piano Concerto No. 4: World Premiere

Alain Lefèvre had witnessed Hanson’s open-mindedness, but this time the sheer scope of the project was such that it would certainly require a crusader’s faith, a convert’s zeal and a politician’s resolve. The project resembled a four-tiered obstacle course: sell the idea of an all-Mathieu program to the orchestra; record the three concerts and turn that into a CD; fund the first commercial recording in the history of the TSO; and prepare the score of Piano Concerto No. 4, which didn’t yet exist!

Let’s go back in time a little. On September 21, 2005 at André-Mathieu Hall in Laval, Quebec, Alain Lefèvre was performing the Concerto de Québec for the Orchestre symphonique de Laval’s season opener. After the concert, as the audience was leaving, a couple lingered behind, the woman apparently wanting a word with Alain Lefèvre. With much emotion, she told him she knew André Mathieu, and that she was even his last sweetheart. The woman then handed him a bag, telling him it should rightly be his. Alain asked for her address and phone number so he could thank her, but her companion, ill at ease, led her away and put an end to the encounter. In the bag, between two sheets of brown cardboard, wew five vinyl records with André Mathieu’s handwriting on the center labels. The ten sides contained four works: Laurentienne (1946), the Sonata for violin and piano (1949) and excerpts from the 1949 Trio. The huge surprise, though, was on the last four sides. There could be no mistake—Mathieu’s hieroglyphic handwriting read: Piano Concerto No. 4.

At first, Lefèvre thought this was yet another version of the Concerto de Québec, also known as the Symphonie romantique, Concerto romantique and Concerto No. 3. So why not another version of the composer’s signature work, Mathieu’s improvisational genius being so well documented? After having the four sides transcribed, though, it became quite obvious this was a new and unknown work, perhaps one of Mathieu’s strongest and boldest. The second movement was later reworked by Mathieu into the Rhapsodie romantique, but the first and third movements revealed what was probably his best work, most representative of his “modern Romanticism.”

Now let’s travel even further back in time. In September 1946 André Mathieu set sail for Paris to work with Arthur Honegger. Upon his return to Montreal at the end of the summer of 1947 he undoubtedly already had the Piano Concerto No. 4 in his luggage since he played two of its movements on the October 8 Radio-Canada show Radio-Carabin. He programmed the work at every one of his concerts from 1948 to 1955. It is impossible to know, however, when André Mathieu made those records, especially since he had left other recorded testimonies of the work in the form of individual movements and even an abridged version of the concerto. Putting together these various source materials, Alain Lefèvre asked the composer and conductor Gilles Bellemare to take on the colossal task of putting together a workable score.

Working from just these tinny sounds, Gilles Bellemare had to take down the entire work in musical dictation, devise a coherent piano score, and deduce what should be allocated to the orchestra or the piano. That done, he had to substitute his own ears for Mathieu’s in order to determine the nature of the accompaniment and of the orchestration. Luckily, Bellemare was well acquainted with the composer’s compositional and pianistic styles, having previously revised the score of the Rhapsodie romantique and published a new edition of twelve piano pieces by André Mathieu.

Everything finally fell wonderfully into place so that the three concerts of May 8, 9 and 11, 2008 in Tucson, Arizona were a musical celebration that we can all now share in, thanks to this recording.

Scènes de ballet: orchestral work

Scènes de ballet took form over seven years. While studying in Paris (1936-1939) with the composer Jacques de la Presle, André Mathieu wrote “Berceuse” in May 1938, dedicating it to his teacher. Mathieu premiered it during the graduation ceremony of the Lycée Bossuet in June 1939. The second movement, “Complainte” dated March 1945, first appeared in a program performed by André Mathieu and Gilles Lefebvre on June 13, 1945 in Ottawa. “Dans les Champs” bears the same title as the first movements of Concertino No. 1 and the Suite for Two Pianos. Father and son Rodolphe and André often played these two works. Finally, the “ Danse des Espiègles” is a piece originally conceived for these Scènes de ballet. On a draft copy of a score for two pianos kept in Ottawa, André Mathieu wrote down the outline of the ballet: “thème de la solitude” (theme of solitude), “danse de la mort par la femme” (woman’s dance of death), “retour dans la rue et solitude” (back to the streets and solitude, page 25), and “danse des trois femmes” (dance of the three women). The four pieces were orchestrated between March 1944 and the spring of 1945.

Four Melodies for choir and orchestra

The four Mélodies pour voix seule et piano were transcribed, harmonized and orchestrated by the composer and conductor Gilles Bellemare for the 2005 edition of the Mondial Choral Loto-Québec festival. Three of them are dedicated to Mrs. Rose Lallier. André Mathieu composed both words and music to “Oh! Mon bel amour.” Two autograph manuscripts give two different dates—March 16 and December 16, 1957—and two dedicatees—”À ma grande amie Rose Lallier” and to the soprano Claire Gagnier, “avec ma sincère admiration.” “Les chères mains,” dedicated “À ma mere” (to my mother), and “Il pleure dans mon coeur” are two melodies that were inspired to André Mathieu by the French poet Verlaine. The two works were composed in the summer of 1946. Finally, “Si tu crois,” on a poem by Jean Laforest, was composed on September 18, 1955 at the Domaine Claire Vallée.

© Georges Nicholson, 2008
Translation: Jacques-André Houle

Read more

About

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9282
AN 2 9282

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9281

André Mathieu: Concerto no 4; Oeuvres pour orchestre

Informations sur l'album

Le pianiste Alain Lefèvre offre un programme entièrement consacré à André Mathieu, enregistré en concert avec le Chœur et l’Orchestre symphonique de Tucson (Arizona) sous la direction du réputé chef d’orchestre George Hanson. En première mondiale, le Concerto pour piano no 4, une œuvre récemment redécouverte, représentative du  » romantisme moderne  » d’André Mathieu, et peut-être la plus audacieuse du compositeur.

Le 22 mars 2003 le pianiste Alain Lefèvre est en Allemagne, soliste invité de l’Orchestre symphonique de Nuremberg dans le Concerto de Grieg. Le chef annoncé, Victor Pöhl, est indisposé. George Hanson accepte de le remplacer au pied levé. L’entente entre les deux musiciens est impressionnante, une amitié s’amorce, des collaborations s’annoncent. Directeur musical du Tucson Symphony Orchestra, Hanson invite Alain Lefèvre la saison suivante dans le Concerto en fa de Gershwin. Comme Alain Lefèvre vient de lancer son enregistrement du Concerto de Québec d’André Mathieu, il offre à Hanson d’ajouter cette œuvre inconnue au programme des 18, 19 et 21 novembre 2004. Coup de dés puis coup de foudre : le public, la critique et le Tucson Symphony Orchestra sont emportés par la déferlante André Mathieu/Alain Lefèvre.

Alain Lefèvre est évidemment invité pour l’ouverture de la saison 2006-2007. George Hanson lui propose la Rhapsody in Blue de Gershwin. Celui qui s’est juré de réhabiliter André Mathieu suggère d’inclure la Rhapsodie romantique, qu’il vient d’enregistrer avec l’OSM. De nouveau, Mathieu enthousiasme les Américains.

Mais en juillet 2006, Alain Lefèvre a entendu l’enregistrement par André Mathieu lui-même de son Concerto no 4 (version piano solo), œuvre que l’on avait cru à jamais perdue, et il n’en faut pas plus pour que notre visionnaire mette en branle sa machine à rêver.

Concerto pour piano no 4: Première mondiale

Alain Lefèvre a bien perçu l’ouverture d’esprit de George Hanson mais cette fois, l’envergure du projet est tel qu’il faut la foi du croisé, la ferveur du converti et la détermination d’un politicien pour le mener à terme. Le projet se décline comme une course à obstacles en quatre temps : vendre à l’orchestre un programme tout Mathieu, enregistrer les trois concerts et en faire un disque, sponsoriser le premier enregistrement commercial de l’histoire de l’orchestre et établir la partition du Concerto no 4, qui n’existe pas encore !

Travelling arrière : 21 septembre 2005, Salle André-Mathieu de Laval. Ce soir-là, Alain Lefèvre, pianiste invité pour l’ouverture de la saison de l’Orchestre symphonique de Laval, a inscrit le Concerto de Québec. À la fin du concert, un couple s’attarde. Lefèvre comprend que la femme veut lui parler. Visiblement émue, elle lui dit qu’elle a connu André Mathieu et qu’elle a même été son dernier amour. La dame lui tend un sac en lui disant que cela lui revient. Alain lui demande une adresse ou un numéro de téléphone pour pouvoir la remercier, mais son compagnon, mal à l’aise, l’entraîne et met fin à la rencontre. Dans ce sac, entre deux morceaux de carton brun : cinq disques avec, sur les pastilles, l’écriture d’André Mathieu. Quatre œuvres se partagent les dix faces : la Laurentienne de 1946, la Sonate pour violon et piano de 1944 et des extraits du Trio de 1949. Mais la surprise, l’étonnement, le choc, ce sont les quatre dernières faces qui les contiennent. Sans erreur possible, de son écriture hiéroglyphique, Mathieu a inscrit : Concerto no 4.

Alain Lefèvre croit d’abord tenir une autre version du Concerto de Québec, aussi appelé Symphonie romantique, Concerto romantique, Concerto no 3, pourquoi pas une autre version de l’œuvre fétiche, le génie d’improvisation d’André Mathieu étant bien documenté. Mais après avoir fait transcrire les quatre faces, c’est pourtant bien une œuvre nouvelle, inconnue, forte, peut-être la plus audacieuse de Mathieu qui se dévoile. Le deuxième mouvement, André Mathieu l’a retravaillé plus tard pour en tirer la Rhapsodie romantique, mais, avec les premier et troisième mouvements, Mathieu révèle sans doute sa meilleure œuvre, l’œuvre la plus représentative de son  » romantisme moderne « .

Flash-back : En septembre 1946 André Mathieu s’embarque pour Paris pour travailler avec Arthur Honegger. Quand il rentre à Montréal à la fin de l’été 1947, il a sans doute dans ses bagages le Concerto pour piano no 4 puisqu’il en joue deux mouvements le 8 octobre à l’émission Radio-Carabin de Radio-Canada. L’œuvre figure à tous ses programmes de 1948 à 1955. À quel moment Mathieu a-t-il gravé ces disques ? Impossible de l’affirmer, d’autant plus que Mathieu nous a laissé d’autres témoignages enregistrés de mouvements isolés et même une version abrégée du concerto. À partir de ces sources, Alain Lefèvre demande au compositeur et chef d’orchestre Gilles Bellemare de réaliser une partition, un défi colossal.

À travers ces sons grêlés, celui-ci doit prendre en dictée une œuvre complète, établir une édition piano cohérente, déduire ce qui appartient à l’orchestre et ce qui revient au piano. Une fois réalisé le partage, se substituer à Mathieu et entendre avec  » ses  » oreilles, décider de la nature des accompagnements et enfin orchestrer l’œuvre. Mais Gilles Bellemare connaît très bien l’écriture et le style pianistique du compositeur, ayant révisé la partition de la Rhapsodie romantique et publié une nouvelle édition de douze pièces pour piano de Mathieu.

Le programme arrêté, l’enregistrement décidé, la partition terminée, les trois concerts des 8, 9 et 11 mai 2008 ont été une fête que nous pouvons maintenant partager.

Scènes de ballet : œuvre pour orchestre

La composition des Scènes de ballet s’étale sur sept ans. Alors qu’il étudie à Paris (1936-1939) avec le compositeur Jacques de la Presle, André Mathieu compose sa  » Berceuse «  en mai 1938 et la dédie à son maître. André la créera à la remise des prix du Lycée Bossuet en juin 1939. Le deuxième mouvement,  » Complainte « , daté de mars 1945, apparaît pour la première fois au programme donné par André Mathieu et Gilles Lefebvre le 13 juin 1945 à Ottawa.  » Dans les Champs «  porte le même titre que le premier mouvement du Concertino no 1 et le premier mouvement de la Suite pour deux pianos. Les Mathieu fils et père ont joué ces deux œuvres très souvent. Enfin la  » Danse des Espiègles  » est une œuvre originale composée pour ces Scènes de ballet. Dans un brouillon d’une partition pour deux pianos déposée à Ottawa, Mathieu a inscrit des titres qui déroulent l’argument du ballet :  » thème de la solitude « ,  » danse de la mort par la femme « ,  » retour dans la rue et solitude « , et  » danse des trois femmes « . Les quatre pièces ont été orchestrées entre mars 1944 et le printemps 1945.

Quatre Mélodies pour chœur et orchestre

Les quatre Mélodies pour voix seule et piano ont été transcrites, harmonisées et orchestrées par le compositeur et chef d’orchestre Gilles Bellemare pour l’édition 2005 du Mondial Choral Loto-Québec. Trois d’entre elles sont dédiées à madame Rose Lallier. André Mathieu signe poème et musique de  » Oh ! Mon bel amour « . Deux manuscrits autographes donnent deux dates de composition, le 16 mars et le 16 décembre 1957 et deux dédicaces :  » À ma grande amie Rose Lallier  » et, au soprano Claire Gagnier,  » avec ma sincère admiration « .  » Les chères mains « , dédiée  » À ma mère « , et  » Il pleure dans mon cœur «  sont deux des quatre mélodies que Verlaine a inspirées à Mathieu. Les deux œuvres ont été écrites à l’été 1946. Enfin  » Si tu crois « , poème de Jean Laforest, a été composée le 18 septembre 1955 au Domaine Claire Vallée.

© Georges Nicholson, 2008

Lire la suite

À propos

Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 9288
AN 2 9288

Start typing and press Enter to search