fbpx
AN 2 2007

Brahms: Lieder

Composers
Release date September 16, 2008
Album code AN 2 2007
Periods Romantic
Genres Recitative

Album information

Throughout his life, Johannes Brahms cultivated the Lied like a private garden growing around the edges of his great symphonic and chamber works. Months and even years might go by between the composition of a song and its publication, during which time Brahms would reflect on its merits and make refinements. The first collection appeared in 1853; Brahms had just turned 20. The last was published in 1896, just a few months before his death. During the intervening 43 years, he offered 33 collections to the public—some 190 songs in all.

Among the poets he did set, Brahms—the lonely figure tormented by unattainable love who takes consolation in nature—found themes that echoed his own feelings and material that could be transcended by music. Most of his Lieder evoke his deep, inner sentiments: the ache of unrequited love, the loneliness of the human condition, the inescapable finality of life, but also the comfort offered by nature.

The Opuses 69 and 86 of this recording are wonderfully representative of these “Brahmsian bouquets.” For example, Op.86 begins with a poem in which Brahms probably heard a wistful echo of Clara Schumann’s attitude when, nearly twenty years his senior, she was faced with his declaration of love. In opposing the moods of the two characters, Brahms creates an effect worthy of the greatest minimalists. The careful progression created by the songs’ order is worth noting—the beloved’s refusal in the first, leading through various wanderings, and finally to Yearning for Death (No.6, Todessehnen).

Opuses 91 and 121 stand out both in the choice of texts and in their musical treatment. Finalized in 1884, Op.91 contains only two songs, but they are songs in which two alto “voices”—one human, the other instrumental—perform a dialogue above the piano accompaniment. The songs were composed nearly twenty years apart. The older one, Geistliches Wiegenlied (No.2, Sacred Lullaby), was composed in 1864 for the baptism of the son of his best friend, violinist Joseph Joachim, whose wife’s beautiful contralto voice inspired the idea of uniting alto voice and viola in song. Twenty years later, Brahms found another text that lent itself to this game, a poem by Rückert, Gestillte Sehnsucht (No.1, Longing Eased), in which “the whispering wind lulls the world to sleep,” but also the narrator’s longing.

Brahms began Vier ernste Gesänge (Four Serious Songs, Op.121) in early May 1896 after learning that Clara Schumann had suffered a stroke that would likely prove fatal. Both the biblical texts that Brahms chose and the contrapuntal and orchestral flavour of the piano accompaniment recall the German Requiem. The first three songs, excerpts from Ecclesiastes and Ecclesiasticus (Sirach), evoke different aspects of death. The third opposes the fearsome visage of death for those overly concerned with the secular, with the liberation it represents for those who can detach themselves from earthly matters. And finally, with the famous passage on charity from the First Epistle of Saint Paul to the Corinthians in the fourth, Brahms gives us his ultimate song of hope.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

Marie-Nicole Lemieux
AN 2 9836
AN 2 9836

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 2007

Brahms: Lieder

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 16 septembre 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 2007
Periodes Romantique
Genres Musique vocale

Informations sur l'album

En marge de ses grandes œuvres symphoniques et de musique de chambre, Johannes Brahms cultiva toute sa vie le lied comme un jardin privé. Plusieurs mois, voire des années, pouvaient parfois séparer la composition d’une chanson de sa publication, période pendant laquelle Brahms la retouchait tout en méditant ses mérites. Le premier parut en 1853; Brahms avait tout juste 20 ans. Le dernier fut édité en 1896, quelque mois avant sa mort. Pendant ces 43 ans, 33 recueils furent ainsi offerts au public, comptant en tout quelque 190 lieder.

Chez les poètes qui retinrent son attention, Brahms trouva une matière que la musique pouvait transcender. Et surtout, ce grand solitaire aux amours inaccessibles, qui cherchait consolation auprès de la nature, y reconnut des thèmes le rejoignant personnellement. La plupart de ses lieder ressassent cependant les sentiments qui le travaillaient intérieurement: la nostalgie de l’amour non partagé, la solitude de la condition humaine, l’inexorable finitude de la vie, mais aussi l’apaisement que peut procurer la nature.

Dans le présent enregistrement, les opus 69 et 86 sont tout à fait représentatifs de ces  » bouquets de chants  » brahmsiens. Par exemple, l’opus 86 commence par un poème dans lequel Brahms aura probablement retrouvé un nostalgique écho de l’attitude de Clara Schumann, de près de vingt ans son aînée, face à l’amour éperdu que, tout jeune homme, il lui avait avoué. Brahms atteint ici, par cette opposition des états d’âme des deux personnages, à une perfection dans le minimalisme digne des plus grands orfèvres. On peut aussi noter une soigneuse progression dans l’ordre des chants qui, suite au refus de la femme aimée dans le premier, passent par divers états de l’errance jusqu’à l’Aspiration à la mort (n°6, Todessehnen).

Finalisé en 1884, l’opus 91 ne compte que deux chants, mais dans lesquels deux  » voix  » d’alto, l’une humaine et l’autre instrumentale, dialoguent au-dessus du piano. Geistliches Wiegenlied (n°2, Berceuse sacrée) a été composé en 1864 pour le baptême du fils de son meilleur ami, le violoniste Joseph Joachim, dont la femme avait, paraît-il, une très belle voix de contralto, d’où l’idée d’un lied unissant voix et violon altos. Vingt ans plus tard, Brahms trouva un autre texte qui se prêtait à ce jeu, un poème de Rückert, Gestillte Sehnsucht (n°1, Nostalgie apaisée), dans lequel  » les vents murmurent une berceuse pour endormir le monde « , mais aussi la nostalgie du narrateur.

Brahms entreprit les Vier ernste Gesänge (Quatre chants sérieux, opus 121) au début de mai 1896, lorsqu’il apprit que Clara Schumann venait de subir une attaque d’apoplexie qui lui serait probablement fatale. Tant les textes bibliques, choisis par le compositeur lui-même, que la dimension contrapuntique et orchestrale de l’accompagnement de piano rappellent le Requiem allemand. Les trois premiers, extraits de l’Ecclésiaste et de l’Ecclésiastique (Siracide), évoquent différents aspects de la mort. Le troisième oppose le caractère menaçant qu’elle prend pour celui qui reste trop attaché aux choses terrestres, à la libération qu’elle devient pour celui qui a su s’en détacher. Enfin, Brahms fit du quatrième texte, citant le célèbre passage sur la charité du 1er Épître de saint Paul aux Corinthiens, un ultime chant d’espérance.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

Marie-Nicole Lemieux
AN 2 9836
AN 2 9836

Start typing and press Enter to search