fbpx
AN 2 9172 Levantine Rhapsody – Didem Başar

Levantine Rhapsody

Release date February 07, 2020
Album code AN 2 9172
Periods Others
Genres World Music

They spoke about it

Album information

After composing and playing with different artists and ensembles for the past 15 years, I wanted to create my own project, which would intertwine two musical influences: Turkish and Western classical music. The dialogue I created between the kanun and Western classical instruments (flute, percussion, violin and cello) is enriched by Turkish makams (modes), rhythmic cycles and improvisation, in compositions that have a distinctly impressionist approach.

Devr-i Raksan is the combination of different 15/8 (Raksan) and 7/8 (Devr-i Turan) rhythms. Devr-i Raksan also means the twirling of a dancer, which I tried to recreate through this piece.

Diving into the sea often produces a feeling of weightlessness. Gazing at the seabed below can make us feel like we’re flying. Méduse – French for jellyfish – is an attempt to invoke this lightness, this gentle sensation of gliding without effort.

What could be more relaxing than a walk in the forest, listening to the birds singing? In Bird Song, Guy Pelletier’s rich and varied instrument collection is used to evoke the pretty sounds of their chirping. Thank you, Guy!

Rast Pesrev is the only composition on the album that is not mine. It was written by Kantemiroğlu (Dimitrie Cantemir, 1673 – 1723), and despite its few hundred years of existence, this piece still has the capacity to amaze…

Cry is for all the innocent people suffering the consequences of deadly conflicts; for all the dreams too soon and unfairly cut short, for love stories mercilessly ended, for games abandoned by terrified children.

The defining moments of our life are often beyond our comprehension. When to be born, where to die, whom to love, why to cry. So many questions, almost all out of our control. Is life, then, not a Riddle whose answer may be too bitter?

I composed Lunenburg last year, in the Nova Scotian city of the same name, in the middle of a very busy concert schedule. I wanted to express my excitement about working with fellow musicians in such a rich musical environment.

5 à 7” is a Quebec expression meaning “happy hour,” that relaxed couple of hours in the early evening, when people get together to share a few laughs and enjoy their first taste of freedom after work. The piece tries to evoke this jovial environment with its rhythm of 5- and 7- beat cycles.

Didem Başar

The Centre des musiciens du monde’s Collection

This collection features works created during artistic residencies offered by the Centre des musiciens du monde. In our modern age, when life moves at a frenetic pace, the Centre wanted to offer musicians the luxury of time to experiment, to write, to scrap what they’d done and start again: to fully explore their ideas and imagination. These residencies therefore provide time and space for artists, where they can meet other people, forge lasting musical relationships and nourish their creativity. The Centre is open to a wide range of artistic projects, which are selected on the basis of their quality and musicality.

Kiya Tabassian,
the Collection’s Artistic Director

Read more

About

Didem Basar
Patrick Graham
AN 2 9262 Prix Azrieli Vol. 2

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9172 Levantine Rhapsody – Didem Başar

Levantine Rhapsody

Date de sortie 07 février 2020
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9172
Periodes Autres

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Après quinze années à composer et à accompagner de nombreux artistes et ensembles, je souhaitais désormais me consacrer à un projet plus personnel, qui combinerait deux influences musicales : les musiques classiques turque et occidentale. Le dialogue que j’ai ainsi créé entre le kanun et des instruments de tradition classique occidentale (flûtes, percussions, violon et violoncelle) est enrichi de makams turcs (modes), de cycles rythmiques et d’improvisation, dans des compositions à l’approche résolument impressionniste.

Devr-i Raksan est une combinaison de rythmes en 15/8 (Raksan) et en 7/8 (Devr-i Turan). Devr-i Raksan signifie d’ailleurs le tournoiement d’un danseur, que j’ai tenté de recréer par cette pièce.

Plonger dans la mer provoque souvent un sentiment d’apesanteur. Observer les fonds marins peut donner l’impression de voler. Méduse est une tentative d’évoquer cette légèreté, cette douce sensation d’un glissement sans effort.

Quoi de plus apaisant qu’une balade en forêt, à écouter le chant des oiseaux ? Dans Bird Song, leurs jolis gazouillis sont évoqués grâce à la riche collection d’instruments de Guy Pelletier. Merci à toi Guy !

Rast Pesrev est la seule pièce de cet album que je n’ai pas composée. Elle a plutôt été écrite par Kantemiroğlu (Dimitrie Cantemir, 1673 – 1723), et malgré quelques centaines d’années d’existence, elle arrive encore à nous émerveiller…

Cry est pour toutes ces personnes innocentes souffrant des conséquences de conflits meurtriers ; pour tous ces rêves injustement avortés, pour toutes ces histoires d’amour interrompues sans pitié, pour tous ces jeux d’enfants abandonnés.

Les moments décisifs de nos vies échappent souvent à notre compréhension. Quand naître, où mourir, qui aimer, pourquoi pleurer… autant de questions presque toutes hors de notre contrôle. La vie n’est-elle pas une énigme (Riddle) dont les réponses sont parfois amères ?

J’ai composé Lunenburg l’an dernier, dans la ville du même nom en Nouvelle-Écosse, au cours d’une tournée de concert fort chargée. Je souhaitais alors exprimer mon plaisir d’être entourée de fabuleux musiciens dans un environnement musical aussi riche.

5 à 7 est une expression québécoise équivalente au happy hour, ces quelques heures en début de soirée où les gens se rassemblent pour partager un bon moment et pour savourer leurs premiers instants de liberté après le travail. Cette pièce vise à évoquer une telle ambiance, avec son rythme caractérisé par des cycles de 5 et de 7 pulsations.

Didem Başar

Collection Centre des musiciens du monde

Cette collection vous propose des œuvres nées de résidences artistiques offertes par le Centre des musiciens du monde. À une époque où tout va à un rythme effréné, le Centre a senti le besoin d’offrir aux musicien.ne.s le temps pour essayer, écrire, effacer et réécrire, explorer en profondeur leurs idées et leur imagination. Les artistes se retrouvent ainsi dans un « espace-temps » où sont privilégiés les rencontres humaines et les liens musicaux durables, à même de nourrir la créativité. Enfin, le Centre est ouvert à un large éventail de propositions artistiques, ayant pour ligne directrice la qualité et la musicalité des projets.

Kiya Tabassian,
directeur artistique de la Collection

Lire la suite

À propos

Didem Basar
Patrick Graham
AN 2 8776 Inspirations Buzz Brass

Start typing and press Enter to search