fbpx
AN 2 9956

Wolf: Italienisches Liederbuch (Italian Songbook)

Composers
Release date September 07, 2010
Album code AN 2 9956

Album information

The miniature vignettes of the Italian Songbook constitute Wolf’s last major contribution to the lied, before his early death. After the high-minded philosophical sobriety of Goethe and the weighty devoutness of the Geistliche Lieder in the Spanish Songbook, Wolf must have found the lusty, direct gioia di vivere of the Italian poems a great breath of fresh air. He had a particular affection for them, to judge from his assertion in an 1891 letter that “my Italian songs are the most original and artistically the most perfect of all my things.”

As with the Spanish Songbook, Wolf does not seem to have intended these songs to be performed together as a cycle in concert. But the poems conveniently fall into three groups, roughly equal in number: those from a male standpoint, those from a female standpoint, and those that can be considered either way. The poems all preoccupy themselves with a wide gamut of male / female relationships and emotions, from flippancy to despair, complaint to provocation, intimacy and passion to adulation and reverence. Thus, the collection invites performance as a unit, with two singers alternating songs in a loose dramatic chronicle. A latitude for creative dramatization is inherent in the set, with some songs able to function as responses or provocative rebuttals to others. We have seen fit to follow the lead of Irmgard Seefried, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, and their accompanist Erik Werba, who employed the same ordering of songs in their 1958 Salzburg Festival performance.

Forty of the poems are rispetti in their original Italian – Tuscan folk poems of eight 11-syllable lines, with an ABABABC or similar rhyme scheme. The remaining six are Venetian vilote or folksongs. Paul Heyse was careful to preserve the poetic structure of the originals in his German translations, and in the process allowed for some limited license in meaning and connotation. The often disarming Mediterranean directness of the sentiments and imagery in the anonymous original Italian poems was no doubt part of the charm that attracted Heyse, made his publication successful in Germany, and so attracted Wolf.

The stylistic homogeneity of the entire set belies the fact that they were composed in two bursts of compositional activity, separated by over four years. The first spate of song writing, late in 1891, yielded 22 songs over a 90-day stretch. The remaining 24 were written in March / April 1896. The order of their composition corresponds to neither the published order in the score nor the sequence chosen for this recording.

The words “kleinen Dinge, die uns entzücken” in the opening song (‘little things that delight us’ – i.e., by extension, the songs that follow), introduce an opening group that consists primarily of songs of argument and strife, culminating in Verschling der Abgrund. The second and third songs form a pair in that they share the same key and principal musical motif, and function as statement and response. The uncertain, longing wretch in Nicht länger kann ich singen meets a heartless, cruel response in Schweig’ einmal still (with its derisive donkey brays), and the tone is set. Almost a third of the songs we encounter are sung by women, who (in Susan Youens’s words) “revile, dismiss, mock, or reproach their inconsiderate, faithless, and unsatisfactory lovers.” The man frequently idolizes the woman with an almost sacred adulation (Gesegnet sei, durch den die Welt entstund / Was für ein Lied / Benedeit / Sterb’ ich / Und steht Ihr früh / Wenn du mich mit den Augen / Ihr seid die Allerschönste), but such a stance is rarely reciprocated by the woman. Wenn du, mein Liebster and Wir haben beide lange Zeit are the exceptions, although these songs could as easily have been sung by the man. At times the fervency of the male seems hyperbolic in its poetic conceits, as in Der Mond and Dass doch gemalt, but Wolf wisely treats these poems with complete earnestness.

After the first group, the ensuing songs are concerned with reconciliation, to Wenn du, mein Liebster. The several songs that follow are primarily lyrical in nature, extolling devotion, longing for death, and vows of fidelity. We encounter songs of passion (Man sagt mir), anguish (Benedeit) and sensuousness (Und willst du deinen Liebsten), and soon songs of humour (Geselle, woll’n wir / Mein Liebster ist so klein / Wie lange schon / Ich liess mir sagen), lightheartedness (Ihr jungen Leute / Ein Ständchen euch zu bringen) and frivolity (Du denkst mit einem Fädchen / Nein, junger Herr / Ich hab’ in Penna) are added to the mix. The justly famous Ich hab’ in Penna that always concludes the Songbook brings us full-circle to the tone of the opening. It is as if the pitiless girl of Schweig’ einmal still returned to reveal her full nature in the final song.

The greatness of the Songbook lies in Wolf’s uncanny ability to find precise and telling musical counterparts to the ideas and images in the poems. Rarely does his instinct flag. The songs are vivid character sketches, some almost theatrical in their pictorial immediacy. This is all done with great wit and brevity, with few songs lasting for more than two minutes, and some less than one minute. Benedeit, die sel’ge Mutter stands out in this regard, being almost twice the length of even the longest of the other songs. Its ternary structure, with the entire opening section returning at the end, is common in Lieder literature generally, but unique in this cycle. This formal incongruity in the set would perhaps be problematic, were it not for the redeeming beauty of the music. It is the only poem that is neither rispetto nor vilote – unique in having more than one stanza. Unusually, Wolf brings back the opening two stanzas after the two contrasting ones. In sandwiching the passionate, anguished middle section between a hymn-like outpouring of love and devotion, Wolf seems to be saying that the latter state of being is greater than the former and encompasses it.

Although the merit of these songs goes far beyond mere pictorialism, vivid referential motifs abound, appropriately laconic for such aphoristic miniatures. Rapid figuration, grace notes, and wide leaps are frequent in the mocking, flippant songs for the women, like Schweig’ einmal still and Nein, junger Herr. The surges of the Arno River (and by extension, the disgust at the girl’s infidelity) are heard in Lass sie nur gehn – one of the few male songs that seem to match the disdain that surfaces so easily in the female songs. The disjunct dotted rhythms of Geselle, woll’n wir instantly capture the men’s mincing duplicity. In the constant lush arpeggiations of Und willst du deinen Liebsten, one feels both the sensuousness of the man’s stroking the woman’s hair and his supernal fervency of devotion. The twochord tidbits that open Mein Liebster ist so klein, with their tiny intervals, portray the minuscule lover and set in relief the huge leaps in the piano part when they occur. At the end, when the woman must bend low to kiss him, the piano postlude lets us know that the poor heightchallenged male, craning to reach her lips, is probably doing most of the work. The song that exploits candid pictorialism at its most direct has to be Wie lange schon, with its wicked portrayal of the meek violinist lover, whose romantic earnestness is more than matched by his ineptitude as a performer. His pedantic attempts at a love song in the postlude (marked ‘with great difficulty and hesitancy’) take up far too much time, and leave the girl speechless.

On occasion Wolf approaches a Wagnerian grandiosity of utterance, stretching the Lied to its breaking point. In Verschling’ der Abgrund, we are not far from the musical vocabulary of the Ride of the Valkyries. Wolf’s wholehearted appropriation of Wagnerian chromaticism serves his purpose well in the more tortured poetic utterances, as in Hoffärtig seid Ihr and the middle section of Benedeit.

Wolf responds to the Mediterranean serenade tradition with six fine contributions. In O wär dein Haus, the pervading repeated-note motif, with its octave leap, perfectly captures both the crystalline transparency of the glass, and the subdued passion of the lover. Note the single break in the pattern at vorüberstehle (‘to tip-toe by’). In Heb’ auf dein blondes Haupt, the iambic rhythm of both poetry and music portray the lover’s heartbeat and create the atmosphere of a lullaby, especially in the piano postlude. In Schon streckt’ ich, the cavalier lad’s impulsiveness is mirrored in the contrast between the two halves of the song. The most patent serenade, however, is reserved for Ein Ständchen Euch zu bringen, in which the swaggering Don Juan is more caught up in his own virtuosity and charisma than in any sincere romantic outpouring. The spirited postlude, with its decrescendo, tells us that it’s time to move on to the next balcony. In the exquisite Mein Liebster singt am Haus, we are privy to the girl’s response to hearing her lover’s song, heard in the piano. The vividness of this song lies in the simultaneous intertwining of the sinuous serenade with the helpless frustration of the girl, cloistered in her bedroom. Her passionate desperation overflows in Man sagt mir, with its tortured chromaticisms resolving finally into a victorious major-key postlude.

The sheet music libraries of most singers typically include numerous examples of excellent folksong arrangements, from Beethoven to Brahms to Britten. The aesthetic intent of the Italian Songbook, both in its poetic original and in Wolf’s musical manifestation, is diametrically opposed to the tradition of providing musical accompaniment to folk melodies. The poignancy (and indeed the whole raison d’être) of these miniatures is to encapsulate with great charm and endearment, more than a little envy, and the utmost sophistication, a vibrant, slightly exotic culture, very much alive with the pulse of human passion, through the spyglass of a more encompassing artistic field of vision.

As with all art song – but especially with the Italian Songbook – an appreciation of the subtleties and essence of this music hinges upon a commensurate comprehension and appreciation of the poetry.

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9956

Wolf: Italienisches Liederbuch (Livre de lieder italiens)

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 07 septembre 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9956

Informations sur l'album

Les vignettes miniatures du Livre de Lieder italiens se veulent la dernière contribution importante de Wolf à la forme du lied avant sa mort prématurée. Après avoir abordé la sobriété philosophique des sentiments nobles de Goethe et la ferveur solennelle des Geistliche Lieder du Livre de Lieder espagnols, Wolf a dû trouver rafraîchissante la vigoureuse et franche gioia di vivere des poèmes italiens. Il leur portait une affection particulière, comme
en témoigne cette déclaration tirée d’une lettre datée de 1891 : « Mes chants italiens sont ce que j’ai fait de plus original et de plus parfait artistiquement. »

Tout comme c’est le cas dans le Livre de Lieder espagnols, Wolf ne semble pas avoir souhaité que ces Lieder soient donnés en cycle au concert. Pourtant, les poèmes peuvent très bien se subdiviser en trois groupes à peu près égaux : ceux qui transmettent un point de vue masculin, ceux qui offrent un point de vue féminin et ceux qu’on peut considérer déclamés par l’un ou l’autre. Les poèmes abordent une vaste gamme d’émotions et traitent des relations homme / femme, de la désinvolture au désespoir, de la plainte à la provocation, de l’intimité et de la passion à l’adulation et à la révérence. Ainsi, le recueil invite à être donné en tant que tout, deux chanteurs alternant les pages en une chronique dramatique. Une certaine latitude qui permet la dramatisation créative réside au coeur même du groupe, certains Lieder pouvant agir à titre de réponses ou de rejets provocants. Nous avons cru bon de suivre l’exemple d’Irmgard Seefried, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau et leur accompagnateur Erik Werba, qui ont choisi un ordre de présentation identique lors de leur récital au Festival de Salzbourg en 1958.

Quarante des poèmes sont des rispetti dans l’original italien – des poèmes du terroir toscan, de huit vers de onze syllabes, privilégiant des rimes de forme ABABABC ou semblable. Les six autres sont des vilote (chants folkloriques) vénitiens. Paul Heyse a fait attention de préserver la structure poétique des poèmes originaux dans sa traduction allemande et ne s’est autorisé que très peu de licence, côté signification ou connotation. La franchise méditerranéenne souvent désarmante des sentiments et images évoqués par les poèmes anonymes italiens originaux a sans aucun doute séduit Heyse, transformé sa publication en succès d’édition en Allemagne et attiré Wolf.

L’homogénéité stylistique du recueil démentit le fait que les Lieder ont été conçus en deux temps, à quatre ans d’intervalle. Lors de sa première crue d’inspiration, à la fin de 1891, le compositeur a écrit 22 Lieder en 90 jours. Les 24 restants ont été complétés en mars et avril 1896. L’ordre dans lequel ils ont été composés ne correspond en rien à celui transmis dans la partition ou à la séquence choisie pour cet enregistrement.

Les mots «kleinen Dinge, die uns entzüchen » du lied d’ouverture (« ces petites choses qui nous ravissent » – par extension, les chants qui suivront) servent de présentation à un premier groupe constitué principalement de Lieder de discussion et de discorde, culminant avec Verschling der Abgrund. Les deuxième et troisième Lieder forment une paire, puisqu’ils partagent tonalité et motif musical principal, devenant question et réponse. Le malheureux incertain et nostalgique de Nicht länger kann ich singen reçoit une réponse cruelle dans Schweig’ einmal still (avec ses braiments d’ânes dérisoires) et le ton est donné. Près du tiers des Lieder présentés ici seront chantés par des femmes, qui (selon les mots de Susan Youen) « injurient, rejettent, moquent ou font des reproches à leurs amants inconsidérés, infidèles ou insatisfaisants ». L’homme idolâtre fréquemment la femme en une adulation presque sacrée (Gesegnet sei, durch den die Welt entstund / Was für ein Lied / Benedeit / Sterb’ ich / Und steht Ihr früh / Wenn du mich mit den Augen / Ihr seid die Allerschönste), mais une telle attitude se rencontre rarement chez la femme. Wenn du, mein Liebster et Wir haben beide lange Zeit se veulent les exceptions qui confirment la règle, même si ces Lieder pourraient tout aussi bien être chantés par un homme. Parfois, la ferveur du mâle peut sembler hyperbolique par sa suffisance poétique, comme dans Der Mond et Dass doch gemalt mais, fort judicieusement, Wolf traite ces poèmes avec un total sérieux.

Les Lieder qui suivent le premier groupe abordent la réconciliation, jusqu’à Wenn du, mein Liebster. Ils sont essentiellement lyriques par nature, exaltant le dévouement, appelant la mort, jurant la fidélité. Nous rencontrons des Lieder de passion (Man sagt mir), d’angoisse (Benedeit) et de sensualité (Und willst du deinen Liebsten), puis des textes qui parlent d’humour (Geselle, woll’n wir / Mein Liebster ist so klein / Wie lange schon / Ich liess mir sagen), de gaieté (Ihr jungen Leute / Ein Ständchen euch zu bringen) et de frivolité (Du denkst mit einem Fädchen / Nein, junger Herr / Ich hab’ in Penna). L’à juste titre célèbre Ich hab’ in Penna qui conclut toujours le recueil boucle la boucle et nous ramène à la tonalité du début, comme si la fille sans pitié de Schweig’ einmal revenait une fois de plus révéler sa vraie nature dans le dernier lied.

L’importance du livre de Lieder réside en grande partie sur l’étonnant talent de Wolf à trouver les équivalents musicaux des idées et images suscitées par les poèmes. Rarement son instinct fléchit-il. Les Lieder sont de vives peintures de caractère, quasi théâtrales dans leur immédiateté picturale. Tout ceci s’accomplit avec beaucoup d’esprit et de laconisme, puisque seuls quelques Lieder durent plus de deux minutes et certains moins d’une minute. En comparaison, Benedeit, die sel’ge Mutter sort du lot, étant presque deux fois plus long que même le plus long des autres Lieder. Si dans la littérature de Lieder en général on retrouve souvent la forme ternaire, la première section étant répétée intégralement à la fin, elle n’est utilisée ici qu’à une unique reprise. Cette incongruité formelle pourrait être problématique s’il n’en était de la beauté rédemptrice de la musique. Ce poème est le seul qui ne soit ni rispetto ou vilote – et à avoir plus d’une strophe. Exceptionnellement, Wolf reprend les deux premières strophes après les deux contrastantes. En coinçant la section centrale, passionnée et angoissée, entre deux épanchements d’amour et de serments traités de façon hymnique, Wolf semble affirmer que le dernier état d’esprit est plus grand que le précédent et l’englobe.

Même si le mérite de ces Lieder dépasse de beaucoup le simple pictorialisme, les motifs référentiels frappants abondent, bien sûr presque laconiquement, considérant ces miniatures aphoristiques. Des traits rapides, des ornements et de larges sauts sont fréquemment utilisés dans les pages moqueuses et désinvoltes de la femme, telles Schweig’ einmal still et Nein, junger Herr. Les montées du fleuve Arno (et par extension, le dégoût face à l’infidélité féminine) peuvent être entendues dans Lass sie nur gehn – l’un des rares Lieder masculins qui semble correspondre au dédain qui se manifeste si facilement dans les Lieder féminins. Les rythmes pointés disjoints de Geselle, woll’n wir transmettent immédiatement la duplicité fragile des hommes. Les accords riches, constamment arpégés, d’Und willst du deinen Liebsten renvoient à la fois à la sensualité de l’homme qui caresse la chevelure de la femme et à la ferveur de sa dévotion céleste. Les bribes en deux accords qui ouvrent Mein Liebster ist so klein et leurs infimes intervalles tracent le portrait du minuscule amant et met en relief les immenses sauts du piano quand ils se présentent. À la fin, alors que la femme doit se pencher bien bas pour l’embrasser, le postlude du piano nous permet de comprendre que le pauvre petit homme, qui doit se jucher pour atteindre ses lèvres, fait probablement presque tout le travail. Le lied qui exploite le pictorialisme de la façon la plus directe est certainement Wie lange schon, avec son cruel portrait d’un amant violoniste docile dont le sérieux romantique est plus qu’assorti à ses carences d’interprète. Ses tentatives pédantes d’énoncer une chanson d’amour dans le postlude (marqué « avec grande difficulté et hésitation ») prennent beaucoup trop de temps, laissant la jeune fille sans voix.

À l’occasion, Wolf s’approche d’une grandiloquence wagnérienne, tendant le lied jusqu’au point de rupture. Dans Verschling’ der Abgrund, nous ne sommes pas loin du vocabulaire musical de la Chevauchée des Walkyries. L’appropriation sans réserve du chromatisme wagnérien sert admirablement son propos lors des énoncés poétiques plus torturés, comme dans Hoffärtig seid Ihr et la section centrale de Benedeit.

Wolf répond à la tradition méditerranéenne de la sérénade avec six pages particulièrement réussies. Dans O wär dein Haus, le motif pénétrant de notes répétées et le saut d’octave captent bien la transparence cristalline du verre et la passion effacée de l’amant. Notez la seule cassure du motif à vorüberstehle (« marcher sur la pointe des pieds »). Dans Heb’ auf dein blondes Haupt, le rythme iambique de la poésie et de la musique dépeint le battement de coeur de l’amant et crée une atmosphère de berceuse, spécialement dans le postlude du piano. Dans Schon streckt’ ich, l’impulsivité du cavalier se reflète dans le contraste entre les deux moitiés du lied. La sérénade la plus manifeste, cependant, demeure Ein Ständchen Euch zu bringen, dans laquelle le fanfaronnant Don Juan est plus happé par sa virtuosité et son charisme que par un épanchement sincère et romantique. Le postlude fougueux, avec son decrescendo, nous rappelle qu’il est temps de passer à autre chose. Dans l’exquis Mein Liebster singt am Haus, nous sommes mis au courant de la réponse de la jeune fille qui entend le chant de son amant, transmis au piano. L’éclat de ce lied réside dans l’entrelacement simultané de la sérénade sinueuse et de la frustration impuissante de la jeune femme, cloitrée dans sa chambre. Son désespoir passionné déborde dans Man sagt mir, dont les torturés chromatismes finissent par se résoudre dans un postlude victorieux, en majeur.

La bibliothèque d’un chanteur regorge de nombreux exemples d’excellents arrangements de chansons folkloriques, de Beethoven à Brahms à Britten. L’intention esthétique du Livre de Lieder italiens, tant les poèmes originaux que leur transposition musicale par Wolf, est diamétralement opposée à la tradition d’offrir un accompagnement musical aux mélodies folkloriques. Le caractère émouvant (et, en fait, la raison d’être) de ces miniatures est de résumer, à travers la longue vue d’un champ de vision artistique enveloppant et avec beaucoup de charme, d’affection et la sophistication la plus achevée, une culture vive, quelque peu exotique, transportée par le pouls de la passion humaine.

Comme c’est le cas avec toute mélodie – mais particulièrement dans le Livre de Lieder italiens –, une appréciation des subtilités et de l’essence de cette musique dépend d’une compréhension et d’une appréciation de la poésie.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8781 Canciones
AN 2 8781 Canciones
AN 2 8781 Canciones

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates