fbpx

Album information

“The name ‘Marion’ will always stand for great determination, which imbued your entire career. It will stand for the consummate virtuoso whose playing is both refined and moving. And it will stand for the esteemed teacher. […] Your many outstanding students will proliferate your art for a very long time to come.” These words by Jean-Pierre Rampal, addressed to Alain Marion after his death on August 16, 1998, are a perfect summation of the memory and artistic legacy of one of the great flautists of the second half of the 20th century.

The musical community is very much aware of what it owes Alain Marion. Virtuosi today are common, but great artistic personalities are increasingly rare. And beyond his pure talent, it was Marion’s personal qualities that added so much to his influence. As Pierre Boulez said, “Of course we miss him, but he will henceforth serve as our role model, because for optimism, energy and generosity we need role models and we always will.”

If one were to use three words to describe the Marion’s great international career as performer and teacher, they would be talent, rigour and feeling. His sound—a marvel of beauty and expression—influenced generations of flautists. Philippe Bernold, one of his most brilliant disciples, remembers him this way: “For him, sound was not a quantifiable part of playing […]. Its quality depended entirely on its emotional substance […]. He was as enormously demanding as he was energetic, and we were literally swept along with and transcended by that energy […].

His teaching style may have seemed outwardly simple, and yet it had tremendous resonance with us, his young students. His presence will remain vivid in our hearts forever… Thank you, my very dear professor.” It is the special charisma that emanated from this man and artist which inspired us throughout the creation of this homage.

© Denis VERROUST

Read more

About

AN 2 2009
AN 2 2009
AN 2 2009

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

 » Le nom de Marion restera toujours comme le témoin d’une grande volonté qui t’a animé pendant toute ta carrière. Il restera comme celui d’un virtuose consommé au style raffiné et émouvant à la fois. Il restera aussi comme celui d’un professeur prestigieux (…) Les très nombreux et magnifiques élèves que tu as eus prolongeront ton art pendant très longtemps encore « . Ces quelques lignes que Jean-Pierre Rampal adresse à Alain Marion après sa disparition le 16 août 1998, résument parfaitement le souvenir et le legs artistique de celui qui fut l’un des plus grands flûtistes de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle.

Le monde musical sait bien ce qu’il doit à Alain Marion. Les virtuoses sont aujourd’hui nombreux, mais les grandes personnalités artistiques de plus en plus rares. De plus, au-delà de son pur talent, les qualités personnelles d’Alain Marion ajoutèrent encore à son rayonnement. Comme l’exprimait ainsi Pierre Boulez :  » Il nous manque, certes, mais ilnous sert désormais de modèle, car pour l’optimisme, l’énergie et la générosité, nous avons, et nous aurons, toujours besoin de modèles « .

Le don, l’exigence et l’émotion : voilà peut-être les trois mots qui pourraient le mieux caractériser cette superbe double carrière internationale d’Alain Marion, concertiste et enseignant. Sa sonorité, merveille de beauté et d’expression, aura quant à elle marqué bien des générations de flûtistes. Philippe Bernold, l’un des plus brillants disciples, s’en souvient à sa manière :  » Pour lui, le son ne représentait pas une donnée quantifiable du jeu (…). Sa qualité dépendait uniquement de sa charge émotionnelle (…). Son exigence était à l’égal de son énergie : grandiose ; nous étions littéralement poussés, transcendés par elle (…).

Cette pédagogie, aux contours qu’on aurait pu pafois trouver simples, trouvait une résonance et un écho prodigieux auprès des jeunes étudiants que nous étions. Son rayonnement restera vivace dans nos cœurs pour toujours… Merci, très cher professeur « . C’est ce charisme si particulier qui émanait de cet homme et de cet artiste qui nous a inspiré tout au long de l’élaboration de cet hommage.

© Denis VERROUST

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873
AN 2 8873

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates