fbpx

Album information

The birth of Jesus Christ revolutionized the temporal and cosmic order of Antiquity. He was the “Sun” of divine salvation and justice, who shed new meaning on all past and future events in the history of mankind.
Matilde Battistini, Simboli e allegorie, 2002.

No other feast in the liturgical calendar has given rise since the Middle Ages to such intense devotion or to a richer musical yield than Christmas. Next to large-scale works left by composers such as Schütz, Charpentier, Bach, and Berlioz, history has retained—especially from the Baroque period—a myriad of works in many genres which display all the joyousness associated with this celebration. Whether it be of anonymous or celebrated authorship, this repertoire’s mood is candid, and its melodies simple and easy to remember. Refraining from strict distinctions between the sacred and the secular, composers easily used as their starting point both popular tunes and plainsong associated since the Middle Ages with Christmastime. They put to music fitting devotional texts, like the Magnificat, or cantata librettos written especially “per il Santissimo Natale.”

Popular devotion naturally turned to the shepherds round the manger, probably because they were the first, according to the Gospel of Luke, to whom the angels announced the momentous birth, and also because the humble would be its main beneficiaries. To this end, peasants have long sung, danced, and also played pastoral instruments like recorders, chalumeaux, shawms, and oboes, as well as drone instruments like bagpipes and hurdy-gurdies. Composers would transpose and refine into learned forms the various elements of this modest and tender music.

Moreover, Italy saw in the gently swaying siciliana a transposition of the motherly affection which accompanies the birth of Jesus. As Johann Mattheson rightly observed, its particular rhythm (in a slightly dotted 6/8 or 12/8 time signature) recalls “an immaculate and chaste love, a genuine naivety, both natural and pleasant..” Whether an organ piece, a concerto movement or a cantata aria, the pastorale—which mustn’t be confused with the secular genre (often written “pastoral”) that features the happy or doomed love affairs of shepherds from mythical Arcadia—always follows to some extent this graceful lullaby rhythm. In some passages, a pedal point replaces the drone of rustic instruments.

Like the famous Christmas concertos of Arcangelo Corelli and Giuseppe Torelli, Gaetano Maria Schiassi’s Pastorale per il Santissimo Natale di nostro Signor Jesu also ends with a siciliana. Schiassi was a musician of the Bolognese school who died in Lisbon in 1754 after having worked some time in Germany. This concerto, which has come down to us only in manuscript form, makes liberal use of echo effects and it offsets the canonic writing of the Allegro against the ingenuousness of the closing pastorale. The final rising pianissimo scale undoubtedly seeks to illustrate the angels’ heavenward flight following their proclamation.

The Spanish-born Antonio de Salazar arrived in Puebla in 1679; eight years later and until his death in 1715, he occupied the post of maestro de capilla at the Mexico Cathedral. His villancico Tarara tarara qui yo soy Antóniyo features the young shepherd Antonio, “black at birth,” who joyfully and full of spontaneity invites us to follow him and marvel at Jesus and the Virgin Mary at the manger. The impact of the Mother figure on the collective imagination of Latin cultures is well known. Setting aside the abstract theological mystery of the Incarnation, Baroque aesthetics chose for the Nativity to concentrate rather on an emotion all could share in: maternal love, as so perfectly expressed by the birth of the Christ Child.

As with Salazar, the sacred and the secular combine in Alessandro Scarlatti’s Cantata pastorale, performed in Rome or Naples around 1700 in the palace of a prince or cardinal on Christmas Eve. Its text pays homage to the “pura verginella nacque già l’eterna prole” and enjoins the shepherds to hasten to “celebrar l’alto natale” by offering their heart to Jesus, who is both the Lamb of God and the greatest among shepherds. The second part of the cantata’s instrumental introduction and the final aria are both delicate sicilianas, whose bass notes are held like the drone of the zampogna, a type of Italian bagpipes.

The French expressed the more popular side of Christmas somewhat differently. Indeed, since the 17th century, organists such as Dandrieu and Louis Claude Daquin used noels (carols of sorts) that were widely sung by the ordinary folk, as themes for sometimes highly virtuoso variations. Used as supports for a variety of texts, the all-purpose melodies of these noels—though they cannot be traced with certainty— were undoubtedly of secular origin. Marc-Antoine Charpentier composed exceedingly beautiful instrumental noels around 1690, in parallel with his famous Messe de Minuit, in which he elegantly reconciled the learned style with the spirit of the original material. A few years later, Michel-Richard Delalande followed suit, except that he encased his gemlike noels in original sinfonies and ritournelles.

“By reconciling the techniques of the learned style with the tender, fresh and somewhat naive spirit of popular Christmas music,” in the words of Catherine Massip, the Baroque masters gave substance to the unfathomable mystery of the Incarnation, conferring on it emotions related to hope, peace, and pure love.

© François Filiatrault, 2005.
Translation: Jacques-André Houle

Read more

About

AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

La naissance de Jésus-Christ révolutionne l’ordre temporel et cosmique de l’Antiquité. Il est le  » Soleil  » du salut et de la justice divins, qui éclaire de nouvelles significations tous les événements passés et futurs de l’histoire de l’homme.
Matilde Battistini, Symboles et allégories, 2004.

Aucune fête de l’année liturgique n’a depuis le Moyen Âge suscité une dévotion aussi intense ni donné lieu à une aussi importante floraison musicale que celle de Noël. À côté des compositions de grande envergure que nous ont laissées Schütz, Charpentier, Bach ou Berlioz, l’histoire a retenu, particulièrement à l’époque baroque, une myriade d’œuvres en tout genre où se manifeste la joie associée à cette célébration. Qu’il soit anonyme ou signé des plus grands noms, une atmosphère de candeur se dégage de ce répertoire et les mélodies en sont simples et faciles à retenir. Sans établir de frontière stricte entre sacré et profane, les compositeurs emploient souvent comme points de départ tant des airs populaires que des plains-chants associés au temps de Noël depuis le Moyen Âge; ils mettent en musique des textes pieux de circonstance, comme le Magnificat, ou des livrets de cantates composées exprès  » per il Santissimo Natale « .

La ferveur populaire s’est volontiers identifiée aux bergers de la crèche, sans doute parce que c’est à eux d’abord, si l’on se fie à l’Évangile de Luc, que les anges ont annoncé la naissance salvatrice et aussi parce que ce sont les humbles qui en retireront le plus d’avantages. Pour manifester leur dévotion, les paysans chantaient, dansaient et jouaient depuis fort longtemps des instruments champêtres, flûtes à bec, chalumeaux, piffari, hautbois, ainsi que des instruments à bourdon que sont les musettes et vièles à roue. Les compositeurs transposeront dans des formes savantes et en les raffinant les éléments de ces musiques modestes et touchantes.

De plus, les Italiens ont associé le doux balancement de la sicilienne à la tendresse toute maternelle qui accompagne la naissance de Jésus, puisque, comme Johann Mattheson l’estime à juste titre, son rythme particulier — en 6/8 ou 12/8 légèrement pointé — évoque  » un amour immaculé et pudique, une naïveté sans fard, naturelle et agréable « . Quelles soient pièces d’orgue, mouvements de concertos ou arias de cantates, les pastorales — qu’il ne faut pas confondre avec le genre profane mettant en scène les amours heureuses ou contrariées des bergers de la mythologique Arcadie — suivent toutes de près ou de loin ce gracieux rythme de berceuse, avec dans certains passages une tenue de pédale qui remplace le bourdon des instruments rustiques.

À côté des concertos de Noël bien connus signés Arcangelo Corelli ou Giuseppe Torelli et qui se terminent par une sicilienne figure la Pastorale per il Santissimo Natale di nostro Signor Jesu de Gaetano Maria Schiassi, musicien de l’école de Bologne qui finira ses jours à Lisbonne en 1754, après avoir travaillé un temps en Allemagne. Ce concerto, conservé en manuscrit, oppose, au milieu de nombreux effets d’écho, le procédé du canon de son Allegro à la candeur de la pastorale qui constitue son dernier mouvement. Celui-ci s’achève sur une montée pianissimo qui cherche sans doute à illustrer l’envol des anges vers le ciel, une fois leur annonce faite.

Musicien espagnol arrivé à Puebla en 1679, Antonio de Salazar est huit ans plus tard et jusqu’à sa mort en 1715 maître de chapelle de la cathédrale de Mexico. Son villancico Tarara tarara qui yo soy Antóniyo donne la parole au jeune pâtre Antonio,  » noir de naissance « , qui familièrement et joyeusement nous invite à le suivre à la crèche pour contempler Jésus et la Vierge Marie. La figure de la Mère, on le sait, frappe particulièrement l’imaginaire des cultures latines. Délaissant le mystère théologique abstrait de l’Incarnation, l’esthétique baroque a préféré miser, à l’occasion de la Nativité, sur une émotion à laquelle chacun pouvait communier, soit l’amour maternel, si bien évoqué par la naissance de l’Enfant.

Comme chez Salazar, le sacré et le profane se confondent dans la Cantata pastorale d’Alessandro Scarlatti, donnée à Rome ou à Naples autour de 1700 dans le palais d’un prince ou d’un cardinal à la veille de Noël. Son texte rend hommage à la  » pura verginella nacque già l’eterna prole  » et enjoint les bergers à courir  » a celebrar l’alto natale  » en offrant leur cœur à Jésus, qui est à la fois l’Agneau de Dieu et le berger par excellence. La deuxième partie de l’introduction instrumentale de la cantate et sa dernière aria sont de délicates siciliennes, avec leurs notes de basse tenues comme le bourdon de la zampogna, ou musette italienne.

L’aspect populaire de la fête de Noël s’exprime un peu différemment chez les Français. Depuis le XVIIe siècle, en effet, comme thèmes pour des variations parfois fort virtuoses, les organistes, tels les Dandrieu ou Louis Claude Daquin, se servent des noëls que le peuple chante. Ce sont des mélodies passe-partout, puisqu’elles peuvent servir de support à plusieurs textes — c’est ce qu’on nomme des  » timbres  » —, dont l’origine lointaine est inconnue mais indubitablement profane. Marc-Antoine Charpentier en compose de fort beaux pour les instruments aux environs de 1690, parallèlement à sa célèbre Messe de Minuit, en conciliant avec élégance l’écriture savante et l’esprit du matériau de départ. Il sera suivi quelques années plus tard par Michel-Richard Delalande, qui insère cependant ses noëls proprement dits dans des simphonies et ritournelles originales, comme pour leur faire un écrin.

 » En conciliant les techniques de la musique savante et l’esprit de la musique populaire de Noël, fait de douceur, de fraîcheur et d’une certaine naïveté « , selon les mots de Catherine Massip, les maîtres du Baroque ont rendu palpable l’insondable mystère de l’Incarnation, le revêtant des émotions associées à l’espérance, à la paix et au pur amour.

© François Filiatrault, 2005.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8
AN 2 8794 Beethoven: Sonates pour violon et piano Nº 6, 7 & 8

Start typing and press Enter to search

Ground Midnight | James Gelfand Trio