fbpx

Album information

Francesca Caccini, or « La Cecchina », Florence-born composer. Soprano Shannon Mercer reveals herself has the perfect performer of her vocal oeuvre, heartfelt baroque music with a foot in the Renaissance era. Sylvain Bergeron (theorbo, baroque guitar), Luc Beauséjour (harpsichord, organ) and Amanda Keesmaat (cello) are the ideal musical companions on this path to baroque music discovery. One of the first album entirely devoted to Francesca Caccini.

Discerning affinities

For musicians, whose individual career paths are constantly overlapping, it is not an uncommon experience for affinities to develop during joint projects. But occasionally, the synchronicity of such affinities can be completely unexpected. After having explored the liturgical repertoire of Vivaldi and Bach, as well as music from France, England and Wales, soprano Shannon Mercer wanted to tackle a program of 17th-century Italian music that would include works by the female composers Barbara Strozzi and Francesca Caccini. At about the same time, harpsichordist and organist Luc Beauséjour came across the latter composer’s name in a work that mentioned she was known to Monteverdi. “He had spoken of the exceptional quality of her music, which piqued my curiosity,” explains Beauséjour. Over the summer, his research turned up facsimiles, and he suggested a reading session to get a better sense of Caccini’s musical personality. Given the variety and quality of these forgotten works, the idea of a recording project dedicated entirely to Caccini was a natural outcome.

A full life

Born in Florence in 1587 and often nicknamed “La Cecchina” (the singing bird), Francesca Caccini first studied music under the watchful eye of her mother, a soprano, and her father, Giulio Caccini, a prolific and respected composer and member of the Florentine Camerata, a circle of artists dedicated to the representation of the human soul through music. Along with her brother Pompeo and sister Settimia, she was a member of the Concerto Caccini, an ensemble whose notable performances included singing at the marriage of Henri IV of France and Maria de Medici in 1600. Four years later, when the king heard her in Paris, he was profoundly moved. “You are the best singer in France,” he unequivocally stated and immediately offered her a position at court, but the Florentine officials refused to release her from her engagement. In 1607, Francesca’s reputation was solid enough to win her a position with the Medici as a teacher, singer, vocal coach and composer of lyric and chamber music. The same year, she married another court musician, Giovanni Battista Signorini, whom she bore a daughter. In 1617, while the couple toured Milan, Parma, Lucca, Savona, and Genova, the poet Gabriello Chiabrera wrote: “Unquestionably, she was seen as a marvel and, in just a few days, her reputation had spread far and wide.”

Soon after the death of her first husband in December 1626, Francesca married a music-loving nobleman from Lucca, Tommaso Raffaelli, the father of her son. But Raffaelli died three years after their marriage, prompting her to return to the Medici court. In 1634, she took on the position as music teacher to the Medici princesses and to her own daughter, Margherita, with whom she also performed. She left the service of the Medici in 1641 and subsequently disappeared from the public record. She is buried in San Michele Visdomini cemetery in Florence, alongside her father and sister.

A unique style

A singer, lutenist, guitarist, and harpsichordist, by 1614, she had become the best paid court musician anywhere. Over the years, she composed an impressive number of works, including at least 16 stage works, of which unfortunately remain only the manuscripts of La liberazione di Ruggiero—the first Italian opera performed outside of Italy—and excerpts from La Tancia and Il passatempo. An examination of the few remaining scores of her works indicates the high degree of attention she paid to musical notation, in the rhythmical placement of syllables and words, especially beneath ornaments, in explicit phrasing indications, and in the meticulous notation of her frequently long and fluid melismas.

Francesca Caccini made use of surprising harmonies, which powerfully convey the various affects of the music. Instead of merely assuming their musical function, chords become colours. “She employed uniquely personal turns of phrase, especially in her cadential figures, and her bold dissonances do not always resolve where one would expect,” notes Beauséjour. “Cadences often end on a minor chord, when in Italy at the time, the major resolution was almost always preferred,” remarks Sylvain Bergeron, who also observes that “certain recurring melodic formulae are quite unusual.”

A seminal work

In 1618 she published Il primo libro delle musiche, dedicated to Cardinal Charles de Medici, a striking portrait of the artist in 36 tableaux. The varied collection includes euphoric religious songs, emotionally troubling laments, madrigals and canzonettas expressing the joys and perils of love, inspired by her own poems. While most of the pieces were probably accompanied by theorbo at the time, the musicians on this recording decided to use a fuller continuo, as implied by the inclusion of a bass line in the score. “We felt we would do better service to the music by having a more varied and lively instrumentation, giving us a wider palette of sounds to choose from,” states Beauséjour. It was Bergeron who proposed the choice of musical colours. “Above all, I tried to match instrumentation to style. Hence, the secular songs (canzonettas, arias, romanescas, etc.) employ Baroque guitar, cello and harpsichord, while the sacred songs use organ, cello and occasionally theorbo. The lighter, more rhythmical pieces were better suited to Baroque guitar, while for the more serious pieces, theorbo was the appropriate choice. And for songs with several verses, I used the text itself as a guide.”

In order to give the program some variety, the recording includes several instrumental tracks. Some songs were adapted for organ or cello, though strictly observing the written bass and melodic lines. The only works not by Francesca Caccini are Bergeron’s arrangement for Baroque guitar of four short songs by her father, Giulio, which Bergeron entitled Quattro Canzoni di mio padre, “as if Francesca had arranged a few of her father’s songs as a tribute.”

In tackling the interpretive challenges of this little-known repertoire, Mercer had to take a new approach to the trills, while also working on the control and breathing required to sustain Caccini’s long phrases and on clearly conveying the text, which includes many sonorous images. “It’s almost as if we were creating something completely new, or solving an equation. We had to be spontaneous and creative, and use our improvisational skills, and that’s what I love most about this repertoire. But we were all driven by the importance of bringing the work to light and recognizing the talent of this remarkable composer.”

© Lucie Renaud
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 9927-8
Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9927-8
AN 2 9927-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Francesca Caccini, ou « La Cecchina », compositrice d’origine florentine. Une oeuvre à fleur de peau, à la frontière de la Renaissance et du Baroque. La soprano Shannon Mercer, interprète idéale de cette musique enivrante, est accompagnée de Sylvain Bergeron au théorbe et à la guitare, Luc Beauséjour au clavecin et à l’orgue ainsi que par la violoncelliste Amanda Keesmaat. Un des premiers albums entièrement dédié à Francesca Caccini.

Affinités sélectives

Souvent, entre musiciens, des parcours se chevauchent, des complicités se développent, au fil de projets communs. Parfois, aussi, les synchronicités nous surprennent quand on s’y attend le moins. Après avoir abordé le répertoire liturgique de Vivaldi et Bach, mais aussi les univers français, anglais et gallois, Shannon Mercer souhaitait plonger dans un programme italien du 17e siècle, dans lequel elle pensait glisser des œuvres des compositrices Barbara Strozzi et Francesca Caccini. Au même moment ou presque, alors qu’il préparait un cours sur l’histoire de la musique, Luc Beauséjour tombe sur le nom de la seconde. « L’ouvrage mentionnait qu’elle était connue de Monteverdi et qu’il avait souligné la qualité exceptionnelle de sa musique; cela a piqué ma curiosité », explique le claveciniste et organiste. Pendant l’été, il poursuit ses recherches et déniche des facsimilés. Une première lecture est proposée, permettant de mieux cerner la personnalité musicale de Caccini. Constatant la multiplicité et la qualité de la facture de ces œuvres oubliées, l’idée d’un projet dédiée à la compositrice s’impose tout naturellement.

Une vie remplie

Née à Florence en 1587, souvent surnommée « La Cecchina » (l’oiseau chanteur), Francesca Caccini fait ses premiers pas musicaux sous l’œil attentif de sa mère soprano et de son père Giulio Caccini, prolifique et respecté compositeur, membre de la Camerata fiorentina, cénacle d’artistes souhaitant représenter en musique l’âme humaine. Avec son frère Pompeo et sa sœur Settimia, elle fait partie du Concerto Caccini, ensemble qui chante notamment au mariage du roi Henri IV et de Marie de Médicis en 1600. Quatre ans plus tard, quand le monarque l’entend à Paris, il est renversé. « Vous êtes la meilleure chanteuse de France », affirme-t-il sans ambages. Sur le champ, il lui offre un poste à la cour, mais les officiels florentins refusent de la délier de ses engagements. En 1607, la réputation de Francesca est suffisamment établie pour être engagée au service des Médicis, en tant que professeur, chanteuse, répétitrice vocale et compositrice d’œuvres lyriques et de musique de chambre. La même année, elle épouse Giovanni Battista Signorini, lui aussi musicien à la cour, qui lui donnera une fille. En 1617, alors qu’elle visite avec lui Milan, Parme, Lucques, Savone et Gênes, le poète Chiabrera écrit : « Sans contredit, elle a été perçue comme une merveille et, en quelques jours, sa réputation s’était propagée ».

Après le décès de son premier mari en décembre 1626, Francesca refait sa vie avec Tommaso Raffaelli, un noble mélomane de Lucques, qui mourra trois ans plus tard et dont elle aura un fils. Son veuvage la pousse à réintégrer ses fonctions à la cour des Médicis. En 1634, elle devient professeure des princesses et de sa fille Margherita, avec laquelle elle se produit. Elle quitte le service des Médicis en mai 1641 et se retire des sphères publiques. Elle est enterrée au cimetière San Michele Visdomini de Florence, aux côtés de son père et de sa sœur.

Un style unique

Chanteuse, luthiste, guitariste, claveciniste, dès 1614, elle devient la musicienne de cour la mieux payée. Au fil des ans, elle produira une impressionnante quantité de compositions, dont au moins 16 œuvres pour la scène, dont il ne reste malheureusement aujourd’hui que les manuscrits de La liberazione di Ruggiero – premier opéra italien présenté à l’étranger – et des extraits de La Tancia et Il passatempo. En se penchant sur les quelques pages qui nous restent d’elle, on constate l’attention portée à la transmission de sa musique, tant le placement rythmique des syllabes et des mots, tout spécialement quand ceux-ci sont ornementés que les phrasés explicites ou la notation minutieuse des mélismes, souvent très longs, toujours fluides.

Francesca Caccini utilise des harmonies surprenantes, qui transmettent avec puissance les divers affects évoqués par la musique. Les accords deviennent couleurs, plutôt que d’être réduits à une fonction donnée. « Elle possède des tournures à elle, particulièrement dans les formules cadentielles. Les dissonances audacieuses ne se résolvent pas nécessairement là où on les attend. » note Luc Beauséjour. « Ses cadences se terminent souvent sur un accord mineur alors qu’à l’époque, en Italie, on privilégie presque toujours la résolution en majeur. » fait remarquer Sylvain Bergeron qui souligne également que « certaines formules mélodiques sont récurrentes et assez inusitées.

Une œuvre phare

C’est en 1618 qu’elle publie Il primo libro delle musiche, œuvre dédiée au cardinal Charles de Médicis, portrait saisissant de l’artiste en 36 tableaux. Le recueil comprend aussi bien de radieux chants religieux que des complaintes troublantes d’émotivité, des madrigaux ou des canzonettas évoquant les joies et périls de l’amour, inspirés de ses propres poèmes. Si la plupart des pièces étaient vraisemblablement accompagnées à l’époque au théorbe, les musiciens ont privilégié ici l’utilisation d’un continuo plus rempli qui impliquait l’ajout d’une basse. « Nous souhaitions privilégier une palette sonore plus large, qui nous permettait de présenter les œuvres dans une instrumentation variée, qui soit la plus vivante possible. On ne sert pas moins bien la musique de cette façon-là », croit Luc Beauséjour. C’est donc Sylvain Bergeron qui a proposé le choix des couleurs. « J’ai cherché d’abord à instrumenter selon les styles. Les airs profanes (canzonettas, arias, romanescas, etc.) utilisent ainsi la guitare baroque, le violoncelle et le clavecin tandis que les airs religieux font appel à l’orgue, au violoncelle, parfois au théorbe. Les pièces plus légères, rythmées, convenaient bien à la guitare baroque, les pièces graves au théorbe. À l’intérieur d’une chanson strophique, je me suis laissé guider par le texte. »

Afin d’offrir un programme varié, quelques plages sont réservées à la musique instrumentale. Ainsi certains chants ont été adaptés pour l’orgue ou pour le violoncelle et ce, en conservant rigoureusement la basse et le dessus écrits par Francesca Caccini. Sylvain Bergeron a également arrangé quatre courtes chansons de Giulio Caccini pour la guitare baroque, seule digression hors du recueil de Francesca. Sylvain Bergeron les a baptisé Quattro Canzoni di mio padre, « un peu comme si Francesca reprenait quelques airs écrits par son père et lui rendait hommage ».

Pour relever les défis liés à l’interprétation de ce répertoire méconnu, Shannon Mercer a dû s’approprier une nouvelle façon d’approcher les trilles et a travaillé aussi bien le contrôle de la respiration afin de soutenir les longues phrases que de la transmission claire du texte, qui comprend beaucoup d’images sonores. « C’est presque comme si nous créions quelque chose de nouveau, que nous résolvions une équation. Il faut demeurer spontané, créatif, travailler nos dons d’improvisateur et c’est ce que j’aime avant tout de ce répertoire, poursuit-elle. Mais le plus important demeurait certainement de transmettre cette œuvre, de reconnaître le talent de cette remarquable compositrice. »

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9993
Luc Beauséjour
AN 2 9993
AN 2 9993

Start typing and press Enter to search