fbpx
AN 2 9883

Old Friends: Simon & Garfunkel, A Classical Tribute

Album information

It is with great pleasure that I worked on this classical album focused on the melodies of Simon & Garfunkel. Three months have elapsed between the start of this project and its recording, three months of creative adventure in the country of these monuments of song that the works of Paul Simon represent. The wealth of the harmonies on the violins, the grace of the harp, the depth of the bass and the nobility of the horn will, I hope, delight you and do justice to these melodies which have lived though time and continue to move us today.
— Antoine Bareil

The Dangling Conversation

The theme of this song is bad communication between lovers. Paul Simon has compared it to The Sound of Silence, but he added that The Dangling Conversation was more personal. Here we find a quote from the refrain of The Boxer, “Lie, lie, lie.”

The Sound of Silence

Simon & Garfunkel’s first great success, composed in February 1964, made possible the reunion of the duo after their first separation. At the time considered “the quintessence of folk-rock”, this song was also one of the favourites of the two artists. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting it in this version for violin and harp.

Bridge Over Troubled Water

Probably Simon & Garfunkel’s greatest success, taken from the album of the same name, this is their last gathering before their final separation. It is perhaps the work on this recording that is most faithful to its original version.

Old Friends/Bookends

Simon & Garfunkel very early on made it a habit to combine these two works during their performances. Both are drawn from the album Bookends, touching on the themes of loss, the American dream, the innocence of youth, and old age. Serving as an introduction and a conclusion, I had the idea of using a passage from the Concerto for Two Pianos by Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), which beautifully lent itself to the nostalgic atmosphere created by Simon.

April Come She Will

Paul Simon composed this song when he was living in London, in 1965. Following the failure of their first album, Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M., the previous year, the companions split up for the first time. Still, two years later they recorded Sounds of Silence, which will definitely set the beginning of their careers. Here I’d like to mention Cecilia, suggesting that it is she who evolves through the seasons.

Peggy-O [Traditionnal]

Peggy-O is an adaptation of The Bonnie Lass o’ Fyvie, a traditional Scottish folk melody, probably dating from the 17th century. The song talks about a soldier who falls in love with a girl who consistently rejects his advances. For the second part of the work, I composed a reel on which the original melody is wonderfully superimposed.

Benedictus [Orlando di Lasso]

Simon & Garfunkel’s style was in part inspired by the Everly Brothers duo. Very popular at the end of the 50s, they also sang in tight vocal harmony. It is therefore not surprising that later Simon was drawn by this two-voice motet by Roland de Lassus (1532-1594), from the Missa Octavi Toni. His interest in ancient music is also reflected in some of Paul Simon’s original compositions, Old Friends and The Sound of Silence, for example, which display a slight modal tinge. The Latin words read: “Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.”

Scarborough Fair [Traditionnal]

This classic of classics is what gave us the idea of producing the present recording. Scarborough Fair, dating from the end of the Middle Ages, is a traditional English ballad that Paul Simon took up again for the duo’s third disc, Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme. He is assumed to have learned it during his stay in London in 1965. You will also find it in the album href=”http://www.analekta.com/en/album/Fantaisie-Sur-Noel-Album-Exclusif-En-Telechargement.611.html”>Christmas Fantasies under the Analekta label.

America

This song describes the voyage of two companions looking for the real meaning of America. During this journey, the lovers’ hope turns, little by little, into a feeling of sadness.

For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her

Paul Simon dreams about Emily, beautiful, light, pure and perfect, and then wakes up next to her. He has said that this song was not about an imaginary woman, but rather a conviction, a metaphor of plenitude, implying that this ideal was not as inaccessible as we often imagine it. The image Paul Simon suggests of this aspiration for happiness in the shape of a woman made me think of the Virgin, and naturally an allusion to Schubert followed.

Mrs. Robinson

The duo’s second great success after The Sound of Silence, intended at first as a portrait of Mrs. Roosevelt (the First lady of the US from 1933 to 1945), this song ended up as the sound track of The Graduate (1967), in which we find the character Mrs. Robinson. A very rhythmic song, its central part is drawn from The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy) , which shares the same vivacity as Mrs. Robinson.

© Antoine Bareil

Read more

About

Valérie Milot
Antoine Bareil
AN 6 1012

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9883

Old Friends: Simon & Garfunkel, Hommage

Informations sur l'album

C’est avec beaucoup de plaisir que j’ai travaillé à cet album classique centré autour des mélodies de Simon & Garfunkel. Trois mois se seront écoulés entre l’ébauche de ce projet et son enregistrement, trois mois d’aventure créatrice au pays de ces monuments de la chanson que sont les œuvres de Paul Simon. La richesse des harmonies aux violons, la grâce de la harpe, la profondeur de la contrebasse et la noblesse du cor sauront, je l’espère, vous plaire et rendre justice à ces mélodies qui ont traversé les époques et continuent de nous toucher aujourd’hui.
— Antoine Bareil

The Dangling Conversation

Le thème de cette chanson est la mauvaise communication entre amoureux. Simon l’a déjà comparée à The Sound of Silence, mais ajoute que The Dangling Conversation est plus personnelle. On retrouve ici une citation du refrain de The Boxer, lorsqu’on y chante « Lie, lie, lie ».

The Sound Of Silence

Le premier grand succès de Simon & Garfunkel, composé en février 1964, a permis la réunification du duo après sa première séparation. Considérée à l’époque la « quintessence du folk-rock », cette chanson était également une des préférées des deux interprètes. J’ai eu moi-même beaucoup de plaisir à la revisiter dans cette version pour violon et harpe.

Bridge Over Troubled Water

Probablement le plus grand succès de Simon & Garfunkel, tiré de l’album du même nom, c’est le dernier fruit des chanteurs avant leur séparation définitive. C’est peut-être la pièce de cet album qui est la plus fidèle à sa version originale.

Old Friends / Bookends

Simon & Garfunkel a pris l’habitude très tôt de jumeler ces deux pièces lors de ses spectacles. Toutes deux tirées de l’album Bookends, elles touchent aux thèmes de la perte, du rêve américain, de l’innocence de la jeunesse et de la vieillesse. En guise d’introduction et de conclusion, j’ai eu l’idée d’utiliser un passage du Concerto pour deux pianos de Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) qui se prêtait à merveille à l’atmosphère nostalgique créée par Paul Simon.

April Come She Will

Cette chanson a été composée par Paul Simon alors qu’il vivait à Londres en 1965. Suite à l’échec de leur premier album Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M l’année précédente, les comparses se séparent pour la première fois. Ils enregistrent malgré tout Sounds of Silence deux ans plus tard, qui marquera définitivement le début de leur carrière. J’y fais ici une petite allusion à Cecilia, suggérant que c’est elle qui évolue au travers des saisons.

Peggy-O [Traditionnel]

Peggy-O est une adaptation de The Bonnie Lass o’ Fyvie, un air folklorique traditionnel écossais datant possiblement du 17e siècle. La chanson parle d’un soldat qui tombe amoureux d’une fille, laquelle refuse systématiquement ses avances. Pour la seconde partie du morceau, j’ai composé un reel sur lequel se superpose à merveille la mélodie originale.

Benedictus [Orlando di Lasso]

Le style de Simon & Garfunkel a été en partie inspiré du duo des Everly Brothers, très populaire à la fin des années 50, qui lui aussi chantait en harmonies vocales serrées. Pas surprenant que Paul Simon ait été plus tard séduit par ce motet à deux voix de Roland de Lassus (1532-1594), extrait de la Missa Octavi Toni. Cet intérêt pour la musique ancienne se reflète également dans quelques compositions originales de Paul Simon, par exemple Old Friends et The Sound of Silence, lesquelles possèdent une petite teinte modale. Les mots latins disent ici « Béni soit celui qui vient au nom du Seigneur ».

Scarborough Fair [Traditionnel]

Ce classique des classiques devait nous donner l’idée de produire ce présent enregistrement. Scarborough Fair est une ballade traditionnelle anglaise datant de la fin du Moyen-âge que Paul Simon a reprise pour le troisième disque du duo Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme. Il l’aurait apprise lors de son séjour à Londres en 1965. Vous la retrouverez aussi sur l’album href= »http://www.analekta.com/fr/album/Fantaisie-Sur-Noel-Album-Exclusif-En-Telechargement.611.html »>Fantaisies sur Noël sous étiquette Analekta.

America

Cette chanson décrit le voyage de deux compagnons à la recherche du vrai sens de l’Amérique. Lors de ce périple, l’espoir des amoureux se transforme peu à peu en un sentiment de tristesse.

For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her

Paul Simon rêve d’Emily, belle, légère, pure, parfaite, puis se réveille à ses côtés. Il a dit de cette chanson qu’elle ne traitait pas d’une fille imaginaire, mais plutôt d’une conviction, métaphore de la plénitude, comme quoi cet idéal n’est pas aussi inaccessible qu’on se l’imagine souvent. L’image que Simon suggère de cette aspiration au bonheur sous la forme d’une femme m’a fait penser à la Vierge et une petite allusion à Schubert s’est imposée naturellement.

Mrs. Robinson

Deuxième grand succès du duo après The Sound of Silence et se voulant d’abord un portrait de Mrs Roosevelt (première dame des États-Unis de 1933 à 1945), la chanson finira dans la trame sonore du film The Graduate (1967) dans lequel on y retrouve le personnage de Mrs Robinson. Chanson très rythmée, la partie centrale est ici tirée de The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy) qui partage la même vivacité que Mrs. Robinson.

© Antoine Bareil

Lire la suite

À propos

Valérie Milot
Antoine Bareil
AN 2 9986

Start typing and press Enter to search