fbpx
AN 2 8833

Montréal Variations - Montréal Jazz Club Session 3

Release date November 13, 2007
Album code AN 2 8833
Periods Hors période
Genres Jazz (Big Bands, Blues, R&B)

Album information

Montréal Variations

The first in a series of happy surprises concerning this recording was the eagerness of the marvelous pianist/composers I contacted to participate in the adventure. Admittedly the subject is a golden one: Montreal abounds with accents, perfumes and colours; it is at once simple and refined; even its few wrinkles speak to us. And in this era of the “global village”, isn’t it wonderful to evoke one’s own neighbourhood: the streets that saw our first steps, our first loves, and our first heartbreaks too. These are the places that shaped who we are.

With such a group of virtuosi, one could very well have expected a surfeit of erudite notes and flashy effects. But no, this disc, which aims to be accessible to all, bears instead the seal of emotion, and a measured dose of nostalgia. Hats off to these artists, who put Montreal first.

Because the very nature of solo piano recordings does not allow the artists much opportunity to meet, aside from hasty greetings at the studio entrance, I had to find a way to bring them together. I suggested that they each write a short variation on a common theme. These four notes, reminiscent of the departure signal of the Montreal metro, also begin the official theme song of “Man and His World,” which montrealers celebrate the
40th anniversary this year.

Sound engineering, like beauty or taste, is not a dogma but rather a point of view. In this work, I wanted a straightforward, almost raw sound, to give listeners the sense of being close to both artist and instrument.

Finally, I was happy to have the exceptionally talented Montreal photographer Luc Robitaille on this project, who for the insert employed a process that was similar to and inspired by jazz.

So sit down, get comfortable, and rediscover Montreal with the artists of Montreal Jazz Club as your guides.

Philippe Dunnigan
Artistic director and Producer

___________________________________

We never tire of hearing or reading about the things or people we love. The same goes for cities. And though violinist Philippe Dunnigan has always been fascinated by music, that hasn’t prevented an equal fascination with Montreal.

Dunnigan first got the idea of a musical portrait of Montreal after listening to Bach’s Goldberg Variations. Though he was born and raised in Quebec’s Eastern Towships region, he has never forgotten the strong impression Montreal made on his first trip to the city.

To bring his idea to life, he turned to pianists he knew and whose work is close to his heart. These artists were given carte blanche to evoke a area of the city dear to them. Pianists such as Lorraine Desmarais, James Gelfand and Oliver Jones were given a single imperative: create variations on this essentially urban theme.

When I was asked to write these notes, the lines of French poet Valery Larbaud immediately came to mind: “Cities, and more cities; / I have memories of cities like one has memories of love.” I admit it; I was won over in advance. Nature only enchants me in small doses, while cities, at least those that speak to me, intoxicate me.

Montreal is one of these. I was born among its walls, far too many years ago, and there is every reason to believe that my ashes will remain here.

Listening to these “Montreal Variations” takes you into dreamland. I won’t lie; I turned at once to Alain Lefèvre’s Ville-Émard la belle, for it was on the streets of this neighbourhood that I lived out my childhood and that, little by little, I learned to be a man. How can one not feel just a little melancholic?

I cannot imagine a true Montrealer being insensible to the poetry of this multi-artist sketch created by the different pianists united here. Each has its own individual sensibility, its particular nuances, but they have in common the grace brought about by feeling. They demonstrate without a doubt that we are always from somewhere.

Proof that Philippe Dunnigan—an unconditional lover of Pollini, Horowitz, Bill Evans, and Oscar Peterson—is a Montrealer at heart can be found in his hope that those who enjoy this disc will continue their exploration of jazz, and, perhaps inspired by some of the pieces in this collection, will seek out the past or present recordings of these artists, all of whom love this city in the same way they love music. I couldn’t agree more.

© Gilles Archambault
Writer and jazz lover

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Alain Lefèvre
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
Alain Lefèvre

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8833

Montréal Variations - Montréal Jazz Club Session 3

Date de sortie 13 novembre 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8833
Periodes Hors période
Genres Jazz (Big Bands, Blues, R&B)

Informations sur l'album

Montréal Variations

La première d’une série d’heureuses surprises concernant l’enregistrement de cet opus fut l’empressement avec lequel les merveilleux pianistes/compositeurs que j’ai contactés ont accepté de participer à l’aventure. Il faut dire que le sujet est en or. Montréal sonne de toutes sortes d’accents, de parfums et de couleurs. Elle est simple et raffinée à la fois, même ses quelques rides nous parlent. Et dans ce village global, qu’il fait bon d’évoquer son quartier, ces rues qui ont vu nos premiers pas, nos premières amours, nos premières peines aussi… Ces lieux qui ont façonné notre essence.

Avec un tel groupe de virtuoses, on aurait pu craindre une surenchère de notes savantes, d’effets éclatants. Il n’en fut rien. Ce disque, qui se veut accessible à tous, est marqué du sceau de l’émotion et d’une juste dose de nostalgie. C’est tout à l’honneur des artistes qui ont su mettre Montréal au premier plan.

La nature même d’un enregistrement piano solo ne permit aux artistes d’échanger entre eux que lors de furtives salutations à l’entrée ou au sortir du studio. Il fallait donc trouver une manière de les regrouper. Je leur ai alors proposé d’écrire une courte variation sur un thème commun. Ces quatre notes, réminiscence du signal de départ du métro de Montréal, constituent aussi la tête du thème de la chanson officielle de Terre des Hommes dont les montréalais fêtent cette année le quarantième anniversaire.

La prise de son, comme la beauté ou les saveurs, n’est pas un dogme, mais bien une question de point de vue. Dans cet opus, j’ai voulu une sonorité sans fards, presque crue, pour donner à l’auditeur la sensation d’être à proximité de l’artiste et de son instrument.

Finalement, ce fut aussi une grande chance de pouvoir compter sur le talent exceptionnel du photographe montréalais Luc Robitaille, qui pour ce livret, a adopté une démarche photographique qui s’apparente et s’inspire du jazz.

Installez-vous confortablement et redécouvrez Montréal, guidés par les artistes du Montréal Jazz Club.

Philippe Dunnigan
Concepteur et réalisateur

_____________________________________

On ne se lasse jamais d’entendre ou de lire des propos au sujet des choses ou des gens qu’on aime. Il en est ainsi des villes. D’être violoniste n’a pas empêché Philippe Dunnigan, que la musique a toujours fasciné, d’être un Montréalais de cœur.

Né et élevé en Estrie, il n’a pas oublié la forte impression qu’il a ressentie la première fois où il est venu dans la Métropole. L’écoute répétée des Variations Goldberg de Bach lui a donné l’idée d’un portrait musical de Montréal.

Pour ce faire, il s’est adressé à des pianistes qu’il connaît et dont l’œuvre lui est proche. Toute liberté leur a été donnée d’évoquer un quartier, un coin de la ville qui leur est chers. Qu’il s’agisse de Lorraine Desmarais, de James Gelfand ou d’Oliver Jones, une seule obligation : créer des variations sur ce thème essentiellement urbain.

Quand on m’a approché pour écrire le texte de ce livret, j’ai tout de suite songé à Valery Larbaud :  » Des villes, et encore des villes ; j’ai des souvenirs de villes comme on a des souvenirs d’amour « . Aussi bien l’avouer, j’étais gagné à l’avance. La nature ne m’enchante qu’à petites doses alors que les villes, du moins celles qui ont su me parler, me grisent.

Montréal en fait partie. C’est dans ses murs que je suis né il y a déjà trop d’années et il y a fort à parier que c’est là que j’y laisserai mes cendres.

On peut rêver tout à son aise en écoutant ces variations montréalaises. Pourquoi le cacher, je me suis dirigé d’emblée vers le Ville-Émard la belle d’Alain Lefèvre. C’est tout bonnement que c’est dans les rues de ce secteur que j’ai été enfant et que petit à petit j’ai appris à devenir homme. Comment ne pas être mélancolique un tout petit peu ?

Je n’imagine pas qu’un Montréalais de cœur puisse être insensible à la poésie qui se dégage de cette esquisse à plusieurs voix que suggèrent les différents pianistes réunis ici. Ils ont leur sensibilité propre, ils parviennent à suggérer des coloris différents, mais ils ont cette grâce qu’apporte l’émotion. Ils démontrent à n’en pas douter qu’on est toujours de quelque part.

La preuve que Philippe Dunnigan est vraiment montréalais de cœur ? Il souhaite, lui qui est amateur inconditionnel de Pollini, d’Horowitz, de Bill Evans et d’Oscar Peterson, que ceux qui aimeront ce disque poursuivent l’incursion en jazz, peut-être suscitée par l’audition de quelques pièces de ce florilège, et se procurent les disques passés ou présents de ces amants de la musique et d’une ville. Je suis avec lui de tout cœur.

© Gilles Archambault
Ecrivain et amateur de jazz

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025
AN 6 1025

Start typing and press Enter to search