fbpx
AN 2 8832

Montréal Jazz Club - Session 2

Release date August 23, 2005
Album code AN 2 8832
Periods Hors période
Genres Jazz (Big Bands, Blues, R&B)

Album information

Nothing like the first time? Don’t be so sure…

“Twice is a habit,” stated the protagonist of Albert Camus’ play Cross Purpose. And while the woman was referring to the murders she routinely committed with the complicity of her daughter, there is assuredly nothing routine or criminal about this second disc in the Montréal Jazz Club series. On the contrary, malcontents would do better to forget the old adage that says there’s nothing like the first time and instead, lend an attentive ear.

Spurred on by the success of the first disc, which appeared in the fall of 2004, producer Philippe Dunnigan took the same rhythm section (drummer Camil Bélisle; bassist Pierre Pépin; and pianist, trombonist and arranger—and my fellow Université de Montréal alumnus—Anthony Rozankovic) and surrounded them with a handful of musicians, including three of Montréal’s most talented singers. The group was given the mission of producing cool, classy jazz—inspired but never frenetic, laid-back but never dull.

The disc thus contains mostly ballads. Other than a few songs borrowed from Leonard Cohen (“Hallelujah”), Joni Mitchell (“Both Sides Now”), and Michel Legrand (“Windmills of your mind”), the recording draws most heavily upon the songbook of Quebec classics and popular tunes (“Quand les hommes vivront d’amour,” “Un peu plus loin,” “Je voudrais voir la mer,” “Le rendez-vous,” “Lucky Lucky”). However, we mustn’t forget the unforgettable jazz standard “My Funny Valentine,” in which singer Freddie James shows us why he’s known for having one of the best “soul” voices in town. And please indulge me if I also vaunt his poignant interpretation of “The True Colors of My Father’s Eyes,” with lyrics written by novelist David Homel and myself to music by Rozankovic.

With the same brio as Freddy, Martine Mai rises to the challenges of Rozankovic’s elegant arrangements with her crystal clear voice, while Rozankovic cedes his position as pianist and arranger to colleague Marianne Trudel on “L’indifférence.” Freddie and Martine join forces on two pieces (“Windmills of your mind,” and “Un peu plus loin”), illustrating just how beautifully their voices complement each other and blend with the dark, expressive sound of the Menasen String Quartet. In passing, there’s something very moving—something that embodies the cosmopolitan reality of Montréal—in the way Freddie James sings the Jean-Pierre Ferland lyrics with his English accent a la Nina Simone. And Betty Bonifassi, solidly accompanied by Jean-Marie Benoit on guitar, gives forth a “Lucky Lucky” that will certainly warm singer-songwriter Richard Desjardin’s heart.

Finally, I would be amiss if I did not underscore the excellent work of the other guests on this disc: Michel Dubeau on soprano and tenor sax, Frédéric Darveau on bass, Pierre Parent on harmonica, and Philippe Dunnigan himself on violin, who gives us several memorable passages. As for trumpet player David Mossing, whose beautiful playing we hear on the intriguing instrumental arrangement of “Je voudrais voir la mer,” he is for me both a discovery and a name to remember.

In my notes to the first Montréal Jazz Club disc, I said that while some may see the series as a fling, it looked to be a long-term fling. With this second disc refuting the idea that there’s nothing like the first time, we can now sit back and reflect on the prospect of a beautiful and lasting relationship.

Stanley Péan
Writer and jazz lover

Translation: Peter Christensen

Vocal: Martine Mai, Freddie James, Betty Bonifassi
Piano, Trombone: Anthony Rozankovic
Bass: Pierre Pépin, Frédéric Darveau
Drum: Camil Belisle
Trumpet: Dave Mossing
Guitar: Jean-Marie Benoit
Harmonica: Pierre Parent
Saxophones : Michel Dubeau

Quatuor Menasen
Philippe Dunnigan, Violin
Mélanie Bélair, Violin
Ligia Paquin, Viola
Sheila Hannigan, Cello

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Rien ne vaut la première fois? Ça reste à voir…

« L’habitude commence dès la deuxième fois », affirmait une protagoniste du Malentendu de Camus. Certes, la dame en question faisait référence à ces meurtres qu’elle commettait de manière routinière avec la complicité de sa fille. Qu’on se rassure toutefois : il n’y a rien de routinier ou de criminel sur ce deuxième disque de la série Montréal Jazz Club. Au contraire, les esprits chagrins feraient mieux d’oublier ce vieil adage selon lequel rien ne vaut la première fois et de tendre plutôt une oreille attentive.

Stimulé par la réussite du premier album paru à l’automne 2004, le réalisateur Philippe Dunnigan a encore réuni autour du même trio rythmique — Camil Bélisle à la batterie, Pierre Pépin à la contrebasse et mon condisciple de l’Université de Montréal Anthony Rozankovic au piano, au trombone ça et là et, bien sûr, aux arrangements — une poignée de musiciennes et musiciens, deux chanteuses et un chanteur parmi les plus talentueux de la métropole. À ce beau monde, la même mission a été confié : produire du cool jazz de grande classe, inspiré mais jamais frénétique, décontracté mais jamais soporifique.

De là, la sélection des pièces au programme, essentiellement des ballades. Outre des emprunts à Leonard Cohen (« Hallelujah »), à Joni Mitchell (« Both Sides Now ») et à Michel Legrand (« Les moulins de mon cœur »), ce qu’on nous propose puise abondamment aux sources de la chanson québécoise classique ou contemporaine (« Quand les hommes vivront d’amour », « Un peu plus loin »,  » Je voudrais voir la mer « , « Le rendez-vous », « Lucky Lucky »), sans oublier de revisiter un standard incontournable (« My Funny Valentine »), où le chanteur Freddie James investit ce « tout petit supplément d’âme » qui lui vaut la réputation de posséder l’une des plus belles voix soul en ville. Qu’on me permette aussi de m’enthousiasmer à l’écoute de son interprétation poignante de la chanson « The True Colors of My Father’s Eyes », dont le romancier David Homel et moi avons co-signé le texte sur une musique de Rozankovic.

Avec le même brio que Freddie James, Martine Mai relève de sa voix cristalline les défis que proposent les élégantes orchestrations de Rozankovic, qui ne cède sa place au piano et aux arrangements à sa complice Marianne Trudel que sur « L’indifférence ». Qui plus est, deux duos réunissant Freddie et Martine (« Les moulins de mon cœur », « Un peu plus loin ») illustrent à quel point leur voix se complètent et se marient à merveille au sobre lyrisme du quatuor à cordes Menasen. Soit dit en passant, entendre Freddie James, un anglophone, chanter le texte de Jean-Pierre Ferland avec son accent à la Nina Simone, a quelque chose d’émouvant, qui témoigne bien de la réalité cosmopolite du Montréal contemporain. Pour sa part, solidement soutenue par la guitare de Jean-Marie Benoit, la merveilleuse Betty Bonifassi accouche d’un « Lucky Lucky » qui fera certainement chaud au cœur à l’auteur-compositeur Richard Desjardins.

Je m’en voudrais de ne pas souligner aussi l’excellence du travail des autres invités, Michel Dubeau aux saxophones soprano et ténor, Frédéric Darveau à la contrebasse, Pierre Parent à l’harmonica et Philippe Dunnigan au violon, dont on retient les belles envolées. Quant au trompettiste David Mossing, joliment mis en valeur sur l’intrigante relecture instrumentale de « Je voudrais voir la mer », il est à la fois pour moi une découverte et un nom à retenir.

En conclusion de ma présentation du précédent Montréal Jazz Club, j’affirmais que la première aventure ne resterait pas sans lendemain. Maintenant que ce deuxième album a infirmé l’idée que rien ne vaut la première fois, il ne reste plus qu’à le savourer en songeant qu’il n’y a heureusement jamais deux sans trois…

© Stanley Péan
Écrivain et amateur de jazz

Voix: Martine Mai, Freddie James, Betty Bonifassi
Piano, Trombone: Anthony Rozankovic
Basse: Pierre Pépin, Frédéric Darveau
Batterie: Camil Belisle
Trompette: Dave Mossing
Guitare: Jean-Marie Benoit
Harmonica: Pierre Parent
Saxophones: Michel Dubeau

Quatuor Menasen
Philippe Dunnigan, Violon
Mélanie Bélair, Violon
Ligia Paquin, Alto
Sheila Hannigan, Violoncelle

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8781 Canciones
AN 2 8781 Canciones
AN 2 8781 Canciones

Start typing and press Enter to search

AN 2 9530 - Kuhlau: Grandes sonates