fbpx

Album information

When lifelong friends finally make their first record together, what should they play? Cellist Thérèse Motard and pianist Louise-Andrée Baril simply chose pieces they enjoy: music that is warm and touching, lyrical and melodious. Most of it is never heard in concert, other than as an encore appended to a recital of profoundness and pyrotechnics. Here, it is savoured for its own sake, for the pleasure it brings both performer and listener.

Song of the Birds
Catalan carol (arr. Pablo Casals)

In this old Catalan Christmas carol, the newborn Christ Child is serenaded by the sweet twittering of the birds.

Popper: Serenade—Spanish Dance, Op.54, No. 2

David Popper (1843-1913) was born in Prague, the son of a cantor. The greatest cellist of his day, he expanded his instrument’s technique and was renowned for his sweet and silky tone. He established the cello department at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest and composed dozens of salon pieces that have withstood the test of time.

Fauré: Après un rêve, Op.7, No.1

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) wrote this haunting melody Après un rêve about 1878. It consists of one long lyrical and tender phrase, moving forward continually, never stopping for breath.

Rachmaninov: Sonata in G Minor, Op.19
II. Andante

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943) dedicated this sonata to his cellist friend Anatoly Brandukov, and the two musicians gave its first performance in 1901, shortly after it was written. The piano dominates throughout, recalling Rachmaninov’s famous Second Piano Concerto, composed at nearly the same time.

Ravel: Pièce en forme de Habanera (arr. Paul Bazelaire)

In 1907, a voice teacher at the Paris Conservatory called for contemporary composers to write songs so his students could be exposed to modern vocal style. The Vocalise-Étude en forme de Habanera was one offering of Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) —a wordless melody accompanied by a seductive habanera rhythm. Transcribed for almost every conceivable combination of instruments, it has become one of Ravel’s most popular melodies.

Panizzon: Autumn Rhapsody

Vivianne Panizzon, a native and resident of Cornwall, Ontario, has always taught, performed and composed music. Autumn Rhapsody, from an imagistic series composed in 1998, served as the theme song of the Histo-arts Festival, a multi-disciplinary summer festival held in the area surrounding Cornwall.

Godard: Berceuse from Jocelyn

The opera Jocelyn, considered by some to be masterpiece of Benjamin Godard (1849-1895), was premiered in Brussels in 1888. It is remembered, however, only for this Jocelyn, a perennial favourite that shows the composer’s lyric talents at their best.

Saint-Saëns: The Swan

The Swan by Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) is surely his most popular work, and perhaps the best-known piece ever composed for the cello. It is the only one of the thirteen numbers from the Carnival of the Animals (1886) that Saint-Saëns allowed to be published during his lifetime. In it, he crystallizes his ideal of classical serenity.

Stravinsky: Serenata from the Suite italienne

The music of the Suite italienne is drawn from Stravinsky’s 1920 ballet Pulcinella, which in turn is based on themes of Pergolesi and other eighteenth-century Italian composers. The transcription for cello was made in 1932 at the prodding of, and in collaboration with, the great Russian-American cellist Gregor Piatigorsky.

Glazunov: Song of a Minstrel, Op. 71

The Song of a Minstrel, for cello and orchestra, dates from 1900; Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936) made this version with piano some thirty years later. It shows him in his most characteristic mood of restrained melancholy.

Von Paradis: Sicilienne

Blind from childhood, the Austrian Maria von Paradis (1759-1824) achieved fame as a composer, singer and pianist (Mozart wrote her a concerto). She founded a music school for girls and eventually devoted herself exclusively to teaching. In form, this enchanting Sicilienne looks back to the Baroque; in its expressive spirit, it anticipates the Romantic.

Nin: Granadina

Joaquín Nin (1879-1949) was born in Cuba of Catalan heritage. Having studied piano in Paris, he became known for his sensitive Spanish-flavoured piano compositions and subtle arrangements of old Spanish songs. As a musicologist, he edited early Spanish keyboard music. The Granadina was originally for voice and orchestra.

Londonderry Air – Irish folk song

The celebrated Londonderry Air, a most beautiful Irish melody, was first published in 1855 by George Petrie, a Dublin collector of folk tunes, in his Ancient Music of Ireland. The words it is now generally sung to (“Danny Boy”) are by F.E. Weatherly.

Schumann: Träumerei, Op.15, No.7

Schumann’s fiancée, concert pianist Clara Wieck, happened to remark to him that sometimes he seemed to her like a child. The little piano pieces called Scenes from Childhood, Op. 15, completed in 1838, were his ready response. Robert Schumann (1810-1856) cautioned her when playing them to “forget that you are a virtuoso.”

Bazelaire: “Chanson d’Alsace” and “Berceuse” from the Suite française

Paul Bazelaire (1886-1958) earned his Premier Prix in cello at the Paris Conservatory at the age of eleven. In addition to his brilliant career as a performer, Bazelaire was a composer, the author of books on cello technique and a professor at the Conservatory for nearly forty years. The Suite française is a setting of five popular French melodies.

Chopin: Nocturne in E-flat Major, Op.9, No.2 (arr. Louise-Andrée Baril)

It is in the nocturne, a form of short piano piece that emerged in the nineteenth century, that Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849) is at his most romantic. Published in 1832, the E-flat Nocturne, with its languid melody, was the most frequently played of the composer’s pieces in this genre during his lifetime.

Song of the Birds Catalan carol (arr. Pablo Casals, add. Louise-Andrée Baril)

A special thanks from the performers to their respective children, Amélie Tremblay-Motard and Louis-Michel Desjardins-Baril, for taking part in this second version of Song of the Birds.

Read more

About

AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029
AN 6 1029

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Quel répertoire devraient enregistrer deux amies de toujours pour leur premier album en duo? La violoncelliste Thérèse Motard et la pianiste Louise- Andrée Baril ont choisi de se faire plaisir en nous offrant des musiques lyriques et mélodieuses empreintes de chaleur et d’émotion.

La plupart de ces pièces ne sont jamais données en concert, sinon comme rappels, en conclusion d’un programme brillant et intense. Voici une occasion de les apprécier à leur juste valeur. À savourer pour le plus grand bonheur des interprètes autant que pour celui des auditeurs.

Le chant des oiseaux
Noël catalan (arr. Pablo Casals)

Cet ancien noël catalan nous fait entendre le doux gazouillis des oiseaux berçant l’enfant Jésus.

Popper: Sérénade — Danse espagnole, op. 54 no 2

Fils de cantor, David Popper (1843-1913) est né à Prague. Reconnu comme le plus grand violoncelliste de son époque, il a repoussé les limites techniques de son instrument et était surtout réputé pour la sonorité tendre et suave de son jeu. Créateur de la classe de violoncelle à l’Académie Franz Liszt de Budapest, il composa de nombreuses pièces de salon qui ont résisté avec grâce à l’épreuve du temps.

Fauré: Après un rêve, op. 7 no 1

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) a composé cette mélodie envoûtante en 1878. Elle consiste en une longue phrase empreinte de lyrisme et de tendresse qui se déploie sans jamais reprendre son souffle.

Rachmaninov: Sonate en sol mineur, op. 19 II. Andante

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943) a dédié cette sonate à son ami le violoncelliste Anatoly Brandoukov. Elle fut créée par les deux musiciens en 1901, peu après avoir été achevée. La voix du piano y domine du début jusqu’à la fin et rappelle le célèbre 2e Concerto de Rachmaninov, composé à peu près à la même époque.

Ravel: Pièce en forme de Habanera (arr. Paul Bazelaire)

En 1907, un professeur de chant du Conservatoire de Paris lança un appel aux compositeurs, leur demandant d’écrire des chansons afin que ses élèves puissent être exposés à un style vocal moderne. La Vocalise-étude en forme de Habanera fut l’une des contributions de Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) à ce répertoire. Il s’agit d’une mélodie sans paroles accompagnée d’un séduisant rythme de habanera. Transcrite pour à peu près toutes les combinaisons d’instruments imaginables, cette mélodie est devenue l’une des plus populaires de Ravel.

Panizzon: Autumn Rhapsody

Vivianne Panizzon, musicienne née à Cornwall (Ontario) où elle habite toujours, n’a jamais cessé d’enseigner, de jouer et de composer. Cette pièce tirée d’une série d’images musicales écrites en 1998 a été choisie comme chanson thème du Histo-arts Festival, un événement estival multidisciplinaire qui a lieu dans la région de Cornwall.

Godard: Berceuse de Jocelyn

L’opéra Jocelyn, considéré par certains comme le chef-d’œuvre de Benjamin Godard (1849-1895), a été créé à Bruxelles en 1888. On n’en a toutefois retenu que cette Berceuse, succès immortel où s’exprime la quintessence du lyrisme du compositeur.

Saint-Saëns: Le Cygne

Le Cygne est sans doute l’œuvre la plus populaire de Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921), et peut-être aussi la plus connue de tout le répertoire pour violoncelle. C’est la seule des treize pièces du Carnaval des animaux (1886) dont Saint-Saëns ait autorisé la publication de son vivant. Son idéal de sérénité classique y est cristallisé.

Stravinski: Suite italienne Serenata

La musique de la Suite italienne de Igor Stravinski (1882-1971) est tirée du ballet Pulcinella (1920) composé quant à lui à partir de thèmes de Pergolesi et d’autres compositeurs italiens du dix-huitième siècle. La transcription pour violoncelle, datée de 1932, fut écrite à la demande et avec la collaboration du grand violoncelliste américain d’origine russe Gregor Piatigorski.

Glazounov: Chant du ménestrel, op. 71

Le Chant du ménestrel, pour violoncelle et orchestre, a été composé en 1900. Alexandre Glazounov (1865-1936) en a écrit la version avec piano quelque 30 ans plus tard. Il se dégage de cette pièce une mélancolie contenue, état d’âme le plus caractéristique du compositeur.

Paradis: Sicilienne

Devenue aveugle à l’âge de cinq ans, l’Autrichienne Maria von Paradis (1759-1824)
a connu la gloire autant à titre de compositrice que de chanteuse et de pianiste (Mozart lui a écrit un concerto). Elle fonda une école de musique pour jeunes filles et choisit de se consacrer exclusivement à l’enseignement. Sur le plan formel, cette merveilleuse Sicilienne est plutôt tournée vers l’époque baroque; mais la force expressive qui s’en dégage manifeste un esprit précurseur du romantisme.

Nin: Granadina

De père catalan, Joaquín Nin (1879-1949) est né à Cuba. Il a étudié le piano à Paris et doit sa célébrité aux compositions qu’il a écrites pour cet instrument ainsi qu’à ses délicats arrangements d’anciens chants espagnols. Également musicologue, il édita la musique pour clavier d’anciens maîtres espagnols. Granadina a été originalement composée pour voix et orchestre.

Chanson folklorique irlandaise
Londonderry Air

Le célèbre Londonderry Air, superbe mélodie irlandaise, a été publié pour la première fois en 1855 par le collectionneur de musique folklorique dublinois George Petrie, dans un recueil intitulé Ancient Music of Ireland. L’air est de nos jours habituellement chanté sur des paroles de F.E. Weatherly ( « Danny Boy »).

Schumann: Rêverie, op. 15 no 7

La pianiste de concert Clara Wieck, fiancée de Robert Schumann (1810-1856), dit un jour à ce dernier qu’elle le voyait parfois comme un enfant. Le compositeur lui répondit en écrivant les Scènes d’enfants, une série de petites pièces complétée en 1838. Il conseilla à Clara de les jouer en mettant de côté toute idée de virtuosité.

Bazelaire: « Chanson d’Alsace » et « Berceuse » de la Suite française

Paul Bazelaire (1886-1958) a obtenu à 11 ans un Premier Prix de violoncelle au Conservatoire de Paris. En plus d’avoir poursuivi une brillante carrière de virtuose, il fut compositeur, publia des ouvrages sur la technique du violoncelle et enseigna pendant près de 40 ans au Conservatoire. La Suite française est un arrangement de cinq chansons populaires françaises.

Chopin: Nocturne en mi bémol majeur, op. 9 no 2 (arr. Louise-Andrée Baril)

C’est sous la forme de nocturne, courte pièce pour piano née au dix-neuvième siècle, qu’on trouve les pages les plus romantiques de Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849). Publié en 1832, le Nocturne en mi bémol, avec sa mélodie langoureuse, est celui qui fut le plus joué du vivant du compositeur.

Le chant des oiseaux Noël catalan (arr. Pablo Casals / adap. Louise-Andrée Baril)

Les musiciennes tiennent à remercier leurs enfants Amélie Tremblay-Motard et Louis-Michel Desjardins-Baril pour leur participation à la deuxième version du Chant des oiseaux.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032
AN 6 1032

Start typing and press Enter to search