fbpx

They spoke about it

Album information

Having spent my formative years in St. John’s, Newfoundland, I was very excited to introduce Ofra to this amazing Canadian province – one of the rare places to which her career had not yet taken her. We took a vacation in St. John’s in the summer of 2018, and she loved it so much we decided to buy a house and move here.

In the time following, Ofra has fallen in love with the beauty of the land, the spirit of the people, and the rare mystique of the culture. When we finished the Back to Bach album in the summer of 2019, we took a trip to explore some of the island. As we said “good-bye” to the Baroque album (much like having a child, once you’ve done your part, it’s time to let them go out into the world), we launched into researching the music of Newfoundland.

From the extensive list of music available to us, we have chosen a variety of material from unknown sources, to music borrowed from other lands, to songs and dances by some of Newfoundland’s most treasured writers.

A real challenge for me, as music arranger on this project, was to try to capture the essence of the original music while putting it in a context that made sense for Ofra’s solo cello. First and foremost, I wanted to ensure that I maintained the respect due this music. Also, I needed to find a way to introduce the cello in a way that added to these pieces without usurping the original nature of the music itself.

As the COVID-19 pandemic descended on the world in early 2020, we found ourselves able to immerse into this project, undistracted. As we all combined our efforts to develop this album, in isolation, we were thrilled with the contributions of our extraordinary guests: Alan Doyle, Bob Hallett, Heather Bambrick, Amanda Cash, Kelly- Ann Evans, Fergus O’Byrne, Kendel Carson, and Maureen Ennis.

With the guidance and contribution of Bob Hallett, we were able to compile a selection of songs, jigs, and reels that Ofra felt she really connected with and that told a story of what she has come to know and love about the province. I’m sure the time will come when she feels there is more of the story to tell. But this is what we have come up with, for now.

Mike Herriott St. John’s,
Newfoundland
Summer of 2020

 

1. She’s Like the Swallow

Newfoundland traditional

This song was discovered in 1930 in Newfoundland by folklorist Maud Karpeles, who learned it from John Hunt of Dunville, Placentia Bay. Over the years it has come to be seen as one of the fi nest Newfoundland songs. Karpeles was so taken with the song that before she died, she declared, “my life would have been worthwhile if collecting that was all that I had done.”

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – flugelhorns, trombone, bass trombone, electric bass, percussion

 

2. Saltwater Joys

Wayne Chaulk (b. 1949)

Singer and performer, Wayne Chaulk of the band Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers, wrote “Saltwater Joys” as an ode to his hometown of Charlottetown, Newfoundland, and the simpler outport life. It has become his best known song and one many Atlantic Canadians have taken for their own. Ofra is joined here by singer, and her daughter, Amanda Cash.

Amanda Cash – vocals
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – electric bass, percussion

 

3. Donald Willy and His Dog

Scottish traditional

This oddly named tune, which came to Atlantic Canada from the Scottish Highlands, is a favourite of fiddlers and pipers throughout the East Coast because of its simple yet hypnotic and sad melody. In this performance, the flugelhorn and cello engage in a back-and-forth dialogue, almost as if courting one another to dance.

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – flugelhorn, French horns, trombones, bass trombone, percussion

 

4. St. John’s Waltz / Cara’s Waltz

Ron Hynes (1950 – 2015)
Alan Doyle & Maureen Ennis

Ron Hynes, Newfoundland’s unofficial poet laureate, was a sharp observer of the people of St. John’s, and, like many here, he loved to walk along the docks. This song speaks of a simpler time, when foreign fishing boats still filled the harbour, Portuguese sailors played soccer in the piers, and a night spent waltzing in the bars was as much as anyone could ask.

“Cara’s Waltz” is a dance Maureen Ennis and Alan Doyle wrote to celebrate their mutual adoration of Cara Butler, an Irish dancer friend of theirs who performs with the Chieftains and many others. When invited to join in on this project, Alan suggested that this lovely waltz would perfectly complement Hynes’ song as an instrumental interlude. He was absolutely right.

Alan Doyle – vocals
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Maureen Ennis – guitar

 

5. Green Shores of Fogo

Newfoundland traditional

Folk song collector Kenneth Peacock encountered this song in the mid-1950s, sung by a woman he only knew as Mrs. Fogarty, whom Peacock suspected may be the “Katie” in the song, though she did not say so directly (her husband was present at the telling of this). In a career spent travelling Newfoundland’s every cove in search of music, Peacock felt this melody was the fi nest he’d ever heard. While the lyrics speak of a bygone age on Fogo Island, the melody is even older, based on Irish Gaelic songs long forgotten on either side of the Atlantic.

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Fergus O’Byrne – guitar, banjo
Mike Herriott – flugelhorn, French horns, trombones, bass trombone, fretless electric bass

 

6. Sonny’s Dream

Ron Hynes (1950 – 2015)

Ron Hynes was justifiably proud of this heartbreaking song, which he wrote about a relative in his hometown of Ferryland. “Sonny” was the youngest of a large family and had been left behind by his siblings to help care for their aging mother. The song has been recorded by hundreds of singers around the world, but Kelly- Ann Evans has made it her own.

Kelly-Ann Evans – vocals
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – trumpets, French horns, trombone, bass trombone, percussion

 

7. Let Me Fish Off Cape St. Mary’s

Otto Kelland (1904 – 2004)

Otto Kelland was sitting at his desk one day when out of the blue he recalled a conversation he had overheard between two fishermen. Struck by an idea for a song, within 20 minutes he transformed their words into one of the most beautiful and stirring of Newfoundland songs, its soaring melody now a favourite of singers and players from many lands.

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – piccolo trumpet, trumpets, flugelhorns, French horns, trombones, bass trombone, percussion

 

8. Two Ronnies

Ronnie Power

These two jigs by The Irish Descendants’ whistler/ guitarist/bouzouki player, Ronnie Power, feature this album’s producer, recording engineer, and multi-instrumentalist Mike Herriott on solo flugelhorn and piccolo trumpet.

Mike Herriott – solo flugelhorn, solo piccolo trumpet, French horns, trombones, bass trombone, percussion
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos

 

9. The Cliffs of Baccalieu

Jack Withers (1899 – 1964)

Jack Withers wrote this song before World War II for a radio play that dramatized life aboard a fishing schooner. Withers wrote and performed other songs for the show, but “The Cliffs of Baccalieu” was so popular that it quickly spread around the province and has been recorded many times by a wide variety of artists. Who better to sing it here than Fergus O’Byrne, who first recorded it in the early 1970s with his band, Ryan’s Fancy.

Fergus O’Byrne – vocals, guitar, banjo
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos
Mike Herriott – French horns

 

10. Harbour Buffett Double

Baxter Wareham

This Newfoundland reel is attributed to Baxter Wareham, who was born and raised in Harbour Buffett and is known for his extensive work with the great fiddler Rufus Guinchard.

This performance features the “slow” session version with Kendel Carson and Ofra forming a “fiddle band” of two fiddles and a cello. The “fast” session is counted in by Bob Hallett, heard here on accordion, to join Kendel and Ofra in forming a classic kitchen-party band.

Kendel Carson – fiddle
Bob Hallett – accordion
Ofra Harnoy – cellos
Mike Herriott – electric bass, percussion

 

11. Mussels in the Corner

Newfoundland traditional

“Mussels in the Corner” is a mainstay of local dance music, the most familiar tunes in the province. It is a “single,” a unique Newfoundland style of tune descended from English Morris dances and Irish polkas. “Mussels” is so well known that it even has a number of verses, and across the Island there are dozens of variations.

In this rendition, we join fellow patrons of our favourite pub as the band plays and the “rowdy pub crowd” comes in off the street. Their revelling quickly quiets down at the end of the song as a roving gang of cellists get set up to perform the next popular pub song…

Bob Hallett – accordion, mandolin, Irish flute
Ofra Harnoy – cellos
Mike Herriott – electric bass, percussion
Rowdy pub crowd: Anne Whelan, Kevin Woodbury, Bonnie Hayward, Robin Hayward, Marc Thoms, Maureen Lawton, Lisa Sells, Amanda Cash, Ofra Harnoy, Kendel Carson, Matt Kelly

 

12. Barrett’s Privateers

Stan Rogers (1949 – 1983)

Stan Rogers wrote dozens of songs, but none have the power of the legendary “Barrett’s Privateers.” The song has surpassed its origins in the Halifax dockside bars, becoming one of the most recognized songs in the Atlantic Canada songbook. From Sherbrooke to Kracow, wherever sailors and singers gather, the thundering chorus of “Barrett’s” gets them on their feet.

With Ofra recording 11 different tracks to form this large cello band, her solo cello leads the rest of the group through this tale of a hapless young sailor. Our hero finds himself in over his head as a member of Elcid Barrett’s crew on a voyage that leaves him with nothing but regrets.

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos

 

13. Petty Harbour Bait Skiff

Newfoundland traditional

No one knows who wrote this old song or how it came to enter the Newfoundland songbook, but there is no questioning the haunting grace of its melody or that it belongs in the cello’s repertoire. Very few Newfoundland songs tell of death on the sea with such poignancy and beauty. St. John’s jazz chanteuse Heather Bambrick joins Ofra in the telling of this chilling tale.

Heather Bambrick – vocals
Ofra Harnoy – solo cello and ensemble cellos

 

14. Lonely Waterloo

Newfoundland traditional

This old British folksong, written shortly after the Battle of Waterloo during the Napoleonic Wars, was preserved on Fogo Island by a number of traditional singers. Songs of tragedy were very precious to the older singers, and this one, which speaks of a young lover receiving grim tidings of her true love, was one of their favourites.

Ofra Harnoy – solo cello
Mike Herriott – solo trombone

Read more

About

Ofra Harnoy
Mike Herriott
AN 2 8921 Flute Passion Bach
AN 2 8921 Flute Passion Bach

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Ils en ont parlé

Informations sur l'album

Ayant grandi à St. John’s, Terre-Neuve, j’étais très enthousiaste à l’idée de faire découvrir cette étonnante province canadienne à Ofra – l’un des rares endroits où sa carrière ne l’avait pas encore menée. Pendant l’été 2018, nous sommes allés en vacances à St. John’s et Ofra a tellement aimé l’endroit que nous avons décidé d’acheter une maison et de nous y installer.

Ofra est rapidement tombée amoureuse de la beauté du paysage, de l’esprit du peuple et de la culture singulière et mystique. L’été 2019, après avoir terminé l’album Back to Bach, nous sommes partis en voyage pour explorer une partie de l’île. En disant au revoir à l’album baroque – comme avec son enfant : une fois qu’on a fait sa part, il est temps de le laisser parcourir le monde – nous sommes partis à la recherche de la musique terre-neuvienne.

Parmi la longue liste de pièces mises à notre disposition, nous avons choisi une variété de morceaux provenant de sources inconnues, de musiques empruntées à d’autres pays, de chansons et de danses dont certaines écrites par les compositeurs les plus appréciés de Terre-Neuve.

À titre d’arrangeur musical, mon défi était de capter l’essence de la musique originale tout en la plaçant dans un environnement significatif pour le violoncelle d’Ofra. Je voulais avant tout m’assurer de conserver le respect que mérite cette musique. De plus, je devais trouver un moyen d’enrichir ces morceaux de la présence du violoncelle sans pour autant usurper la nature originale de la musique elle-même.

Lorsque la pandémie de la COVID-19 s’est abattue sur le monde au début de 2020, nous avons pu nous plonger dans ce projet, sans être distraits. Alors que nous avons combiné nos efforts pour développer cet album, isolés chacun de notre côté, les contributions de nos invités extraordinaires nous ont enchantées : Alan Doyle, Bob Hallett, Heather Bambrick, Amanda Cash, Kelly-Ann Evans, Fergus O’Byrne, Kendel Carson et Maureen Ennis.

Avec les conseils et la contribution de Bob Hallett, nous avons pu compiler une sélection de chansons, de gigues et de reels avec lesquels Ofra se sentait vraiment liée, et qui racontaient l’histoire de ce qu’elle avait appris à connaître et à aimer de Terre-Neuve. Je suis certain que viendra un moment où elle aura encore un fi l d’histoire à dérouler. Mais pour l’instant, voici ce que nous avons à raconter.

Mike Herriott
St. John’s, Terre-Neuve
Été 2020

 

1. She’s Like the Swallow

Chanson traditionnelle terre-neuvienne

Cette chanson a été découverte en 1930 à Terre- Neuve par la folkloriste Maud Karpeles, qui l’a apprise de John Hunt de Dunville, dans la baie Placentia (historiquement Plaisance.) Au fil des ans, elle est devenue l’une des plus belles chansons de Terre-Neuve. Mme Karpeles était tellement touchée par cette chanson qu’avant de mourir, elle a déclaré : « ma vie aurait valu la peine même si je n’avais fait que mettre cette chanson au grand jour. »

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – bugles, trombone, trombone basse, basse électrique, percussions

 

2. Saltwater Joys

Wayne Chaulk (b. 1949)

L’auteur-compositeur-interprète Wayne Chaulk du groupe Buddy Wasisname and the Other Fellers a écrit Saltwater Joys, une ode à sa ville natale de Charlottetown, Terre-Neuve, et à la vie sans prétention de ce petit port de pêche – style de vie auquel de nombreux Canadiens de l’Atlantique se sont identifiés. Ofra partage l’interprétation de cette chanson avec sa fille, la chanteuse Amanda Cash.

Amanda Cash – voix
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – basse électrique, percussion

 

3. Donald Willy and His Dog

Chanson traditionnelle écossaise

Cet air au nom étrange, venu des Highlands d’Écosse pour aboutir au Canada atlantique, est le préféré des violonistes et des cornemuseurs de toute la côte est, en raison de sa mélodie certes simple, mais aussi hypnotique et triste. Dans cette interprétation, le bugle et le violoncelle poursuivent un dialogue de va-et-vient, presque comme s’ils se faisaient la cour pour danser.

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – bugle, cors, trombones, trombone basse, percussions

 

4. St. John’s Waltz / Cara’s Waltz

Ron Hynes (1950 – 2015)
Alan Doyle et Maureen Ennis

Ron Hynes, le poète élu des coeurs de Terre- Neuve, était un observateur avisé des habitants de St. John’s et, comme beaucoup d’entre eux, aimait se promener sur les quais. Cette chanson parle d’une époque empreinte de simplicité où les bateaux de pêche étrangers remplissaient encore le port, où les marins portugais jouaient au soccer sur les quais, et où une nuit passée à valser dans les bars était tout ce qu’on pouvait espérer.

Cara’s Waltz est une danse écrite par Maureen Ennis et Alan Doyle pour célébrer leur adoration pour Cara Butler, une danseuse et amie irlandaise qui danse avec les Chieftains et bien d’autres. Lorsqu’il a été invité à participer à ce projet, Alan Doyle a suggéré cette jolie valse qui complète parfaitement la chanson de M. Hynes en tant qu’interlude instrumental, et il avait tout à fait raison.

Alan Doyle – voix
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Maureen Ennis – guitare

 

5. Green Shores of Fogo

Chanson traditionnelle terre-neuvienne

Le collectionneur de chansons folkloriques Kenneth Peacock a entendu cette chanson au milieu des années 1950, chantée par une femme qu’il connaissait sous le nom de Mme Fogarty. M. Peacock la soupçonnait d’être la « Katie » de la chanson, bien qu’elle ne l’ait pas dit directement (son mari était présent lors de la narration). Au cours de sa carrière, M. Peacock a parcouru toutes les baies de Terre-Neuve à la recherche de mélodies et celle-ci était selon lui la plus belle qu’il ait jamais entendue. Si les paroles parlent d’une époque révolue sur l’île de Fogo, la mélodie, elle, est encore plus ancienne : elle est fondée sur des chansons gaéliques irlandaises longtemps oubliées des deux côtés de l’Atlantique.

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Fergus O’Byrne – guitare, banjo
Mike Herriott – bugle, cors, trombones, trombone basse, basse électrique sans frettes

 

6. Sonny’s Dream

Ron Hynes (1950 – 2015)

Ron Hynes était à juste titre fi er de cette chanson poignante qu’il a écrite au sujet d’un proche de sa ville natale de Ferryland. « Sonny », comme on l’appelait, était le cadet d’une grande famille et fut délaissé par ses frères et soeurs afi n qu’il prenne soin de leur mère vieillissante. Cette chanson a été enregistrée par des centaines de chanteurs à travers le monde, mais Kelly-Ann Evans l’a faite sienne.

Kelly-Ann Evans – voix
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – trompettes, cors, trombone, trombone basse, percussions

 

7. Let Me Fish Off Cape St. Mary’s

Otto Kelland (1904 – 2004)

Un jour, Otto Kelland était assis à son bureau quand tout à coup il s’est souvenu d’une conversation qu’il avait entendue entre deux pêcheurs. Soudainement inspiré, il a transformé en vingt minutes leurs paroles en l’une des plus belles et des plus émouvantes chansons de Terre- Neuve, dont la mélodie envoutante est aujourd’hui l’une des préférées des chanteurs et musiciens de nombreux pays.

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – trompette piccolo, trompettes, bugles, cors, trombones, trombone basse, percussion

 

8. Two Ronnies

Ronnie Power

Ces deux gigues du siffleur/guitariste/joueur du bouzouki Ronnie Power, membre du groupe The Irish Descendants, mettent en scène le producteur, l’ingénieur du son et le multi-instrumentiste Mike Herriott, dans un solo de bugle et de trompette piccolo.

Mike Herriott – bugle seul, trompette piccolo seule, cors, trombones, trombone basse, percussion
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles

 

9. The Cliffs of Baccalieu

Jack Withers (1899 – 1964)

Jack Withers a écrit cette chanson avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour une pièce radiophonique, qui mettait en scène la vie à bord d’une goélette de pêche. M. Withers a écrit et interprété d’autres chansons pour cette émission, mais la chanson The Cliffs of Baccalieu a été si populaire qu’elle s’est rapidement répandue dans toute la province et a été enregistrée à de nombreuses reprises par des artistes variés. Qui de mieux que Fergus O’Byrne pour la chanter ici, lui qui l’a enregistrée pour la première fois au début des années 70 avec son groupe Ryan’s Fancy.

Fergus O’Byrne – voix, guitare, banjo
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles
Mike Herriott – cors

 

10. Harbour Buffett Double

Baxter Wareham

Ce reel terre-neuvien est attribué à Baxter Wareham, lequel est né et a grandi à Harbour Buffett et est connu pour son travail considérable avec le grand violoneux Rufus Guinchard. Cette interprétation présente la version « lente » avec Kendel Carson et Ofra formant un groupe de deux violons et un violoncelle. La version « rapide » est amenée par Bob Hallett, à l’accordéon, qui se joint à Kendel et Ofra pour former un groupe typique de « party de cuisine ».

Kendel Carson – violon folk
Bob Hallett – accordéon
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelles
Mike Herriott – basse électrique, percussion

 

11. Mussels in the Corner

Chanson traditionnelle terre-neuvienne

Mussels in the Corner est un pilier de la musique de danse locale, parmi les airs les plus connus de la province. Il s’agit d’un « single », un style de musique unique à Terre-Neuve qui provient des danses anglaises Morris et des polkas irlandaises. Mussels est si connue qu’elle comporte même plusieurs couplets dont il existe des dizaines de variations sur l’île.

Dans cette version, on se joint aux fidèles de notre pub préféré pendant que le groupe joue et qu’un groupe de fêtards débarque de la rue : la « rowdy pub crowd ». Leur esprit noceur est rapidement adouci avant la fi n de la chanson lorsqu’une bande de violoncellistes itinérante s’installe pour interpréter la prochaine chanson populaire du pub.

Bob Hallett – accordéon, mandoline, flûte irlandaise
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelles
Mike Herriott – basse électrique, percussion
Rowdy pub crowd : Anne Whelan, Kevin Woodbury, Bonnie Hayward, Robin Hayward, Marc Thoms, Maureen Lawton, Lisa Sells, Amanda Cash, Ofra Harnoy, Kendel Carson, Matt Kelly

 

12. Barrett’s Privateers

Stan Rogers (1949 – 1983)

Stan Rogers a écrit des dizaines de chansons, mais aucune n’a la puissance de la légendaire Barrett’s Privateers. La chanson a rayonné au-delà de son origine, dans les bars des docks d’Halifax, devenant l’une des chansons les plus renommées du répertoire musical du Canada atlantique. De Sherbrooke à Cracovie, partout où les marins et les chanteurs se rassemblent, le choeur retentissant de Barrett’s les fait danser.

À l’aide des onze pistes différentes enregistrées par Ofra pour former ce grand groupe de violoncelles, son violoncelle solo mène le groupe à travers l’histoire d’un jeune marin malchanceux. Notre héros se retrouve dépassé par les événements en tant que membre de l’équipage d’Elcid Barrett dans un voyage qui ne lui laisse que des regrets.

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles

 

13. Petty Harbour Bait Skiff

Chanson traditionnelle terre-neuvienne

Personne ne sait qui a écrit cette vieille chanson ni comment elle est entrée dans le répertoire de Terre-Neuve, mais il n’est pas question ni de remettre en cause la grâce envoutante de sa mélodie ni de savoir si elle appartient au répertoire du violoncelle. Très peu de chansons terre-neuviennes parlent de la mort en mer avec autant d’émoi et de beauté. Heather Bambrick, chanteuse de jazz de St. John’s, se joint à Ofra pour raconter ce récit effrayant.

Heather Bambrick – voix
Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul et ensemble de violoncelles

 

14. Lonely Waterloo

Chanson traditionnelle terre-neuvienne

Cette vieille chanson folklorique britannique, écrite peu après la bataille de Waterloo pendant les guerres napoléoniennes, a survécu sur l’île de Fogo grâce à un certain nombre de chanteurs traditionnels. Les chansons de tragédie étaient très précieuses pour les chanteurs d’un certain âge et celle-ci, qui parle d’une jeune amante recevant la triste nouvelle de la mort de son grand amour, était l’une de leurs préférées.

Ofra Harnoy – violoncelle seul
Mike Herriott – trombone seul

Lire la suite

À propos

Ofra Harnoy
Mike Herriott
AN 2 8924 Constellations CNBP
AN 2 8924 Constellations CNBP

Start typing and press Enter to search