fbpx
AN 2 9975-9

Beethoven Live: 9 Symphonies (5CD)

Release date January 26, 2010
Album code AN 2 9975-9

Album information

Conductor Jean-Philippe Tremblay leads the Orchestre de la Francophonie on a complete Beethoven symphonies cycle. Recorded during 4 live concerts in Quebec City’s Palais Montcalm, the young musicians delivered a fresh and heartfelt performance of the staple of the orchestral repertoire.

Ludwig van Beethoven is without a doubt the incarnation of pure romanticism. A revolutionary both in his approach to the musical and the social, he was a model citizen of the Enlightenment: a musician who was free, open and independent. His work, bearing the stamp of passion, impetuousness, fraternity, love, and above all integrity, communicates a host of emotions that leave no soul indifferent. His ethical values are of striking relevance to our present society, more than 200 years later. His desire to be the work, the creative genius, takes us closer to the concept of the universal creator, bringing out love and the search for the absolute. No compromise can be made with Beethoven’s music. It is the bearer of emotions and a humanist ideal which calls for transcending the self in order to make room for a universal and generous energy.

Beethoven is, for me, the greatest among the greats: the liberator, the guide. To interpret his music is one of the most incredible experiences that can be granted a musician. I have boundless respect and total admiration for this genius. It is in this spirit that my colleagues of the Orchestre de la Francophonie and myself have approached his music.

The influence of musicological research undertaken in the last two decades by specialists of the baroque and classical periods cannot be overlooked. Consequently, it is our duty to ask ourselves about the tempi, the articulations, the attacks, the use of vibrato of course, and the effects known as more romantic. With Beethoven, it is impossible to premeditate these factors of interpretation, as the text itself gives all the indications necessary for the shaping of a sound and energetic, but above all, human musical idea. Is it the right one? No one, except ‘the master’ can answer that. We can, however, assure you that it comes directly from our hearts and that we offer it with great humility.

© Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9975-9

Beethoven Live: 9 Symphonies (5CD)

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 26 janvier 2010
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9975-9

Informations sur l'album

Le chef d’orchestre Jean-Philippe Tremblay dirige l’Orchestre de la Francophonie dans une intégrale des 9 symphonies de Beethoven. Enregistrée lors de quatre concerts au Palais Montcalm de Québec en juillet 2009, les jeunes musiciens ont livrés une interprétation fraîche et dynamique de l’oeuvre maîtresse du répertoire symphonique.

Ludwig van Beethoven est, sans conteste, l’incarnation du romantisme pur. Révolutionnaire tant dans son approche musicale que sociale, Beethoven est un modèle du citoyen des Lumières: un musicien libre, ouvert et indépendant. Son œuvre, empreinte de passion, d’impétuosité, de fraternité, d’amour et surtout d’intégrité, nous transmet une pléiade d’émotions qui ne laissent aucune âme indifférente. Ses valeurs morales sont d’une actualité frappante dans notre société actuelle, plus de 200 ans plus tard. Par sa volonté d’être l’œuvre, le génie créateur, il nous rapproche du concept de créateur universel, faisant surgir amour et quête d’absolu. On ne peut faire de compromis dans la musique de Beethoven. Elle est porteuse d’émotions et d’un idéal humaniste qui appelle le dépassement de soi pour faire place à une énergie universelle et généreuse.

Beethoven est pour moi le plus grand parmi les grands: le libérateur, le guide. Interpréter sa musique est une des plus incroyables expériences données à un musicien. J’ai pour ce génie un respect sans bornes et une admiration totale. C’est dans cet esprit que mes collègues de l’Orchestre de la Francophonie et moi-même avons abordé sa musique.

L’influence des recherches musicologiques effectuées depuis une vingtaine d’années par les spécialistes de la période baroque et classique ne peut être ignorée. Il est donc de notre devoir de nous questionner sur les tempi, les articulations, les attaques et bien entendu sur l’utilisation du vibrato et des effets dits plus romantiques. Avec Beethoven, impossible de préméditer ces facteurs d’interprétation tant le texte lui-même donne tous les indices nécessaires à la formation d’une idée musicale saine et énergique, mais avant tout humaine. Est-ce la bonne? Personne, sauf « le maître », ne peut y répondre! Nous pouvons cependant vous assurer qu’elle vient directement de nos cœurs et que c’est avec une grande humilité que nous vous l’offrons.

© Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 9952
AN 2 9952
AN 2 9952

Start typing and press Enter to search