fbpx
AN 2 9916

Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E flat major, "Romantic" (WAB 104)

Composers
Release date March 11, 2008
Album code AN 2 9916
Periods Romantic

Album information

The wind whispering through the leaves, barely concealing the whimpers of a newborn child in the village of Ansfelden in Upper Austria on September 4, 1824, seems to echo from afar the soft rustling that opens Beethoven’s Ninth, given earlier that year in Vienna on May 7. Just such a nebula (as Robert Simpson calls it) of tremolo strings ushers in, as in many of his movements, the “Romantic” Fourth Symphony by Anton Bruckner, son of a modest schoolmaster-organist from that peaceful little town south of Linz.

Man is no silent onlooker of Creation: he answers nature’s song with a call of his own. While Beethoven had sounded in the strings a series of falling fifths and fourths in dotted rhythm, Bruckner enlists the horn (for whom the E flat of this symphony is a most propitious key), then the winds, to signal the reveille. With greater composure and in broader strokes, but like Beethoven’s in dotted rhythm, Bruckner’s initial motif is altered the second time around from a descending fifth to a minor sixth, the interval’s first note being raised to C flat. Already, the pervading E flat major is blurred with a hint of minor, even though this is Bruckner’s first symphony in a major mode.
Lofty design, love of nature, and the ambiance, so to speak, inherited from the beginning of Beethoven’s Ninth (which Bruckner first heard in 1866) are all elements that parallel to a measure the Titan from Bonn and the rustic organist who in his adopted Vienna would never quite fit in. These elements also help explain the title “Romantic” given to the Fourth by Bruckner himself as early as the primitive form of the symphony in 1874. The first two movements of that version were to remain mostly unchanged, except for a few minor revisions, throughout all future revisions of the work.

The premiere of Symphony No. 4, in its revised version of 1878/80, took place in Vienna on February 20, 1881, under the baton of Hans Richter. Apparently as an afterthought, Bruckner had hinted at a program for the symphony, which we will discreetly evoke. “The day is announced by the horn,” wrote Bruckner to the conductor Hermann Levi in 1884 concerning the first movement’s Hauptthema (main theme). Seemingly naïve, such programmatic indications cannot detract from the grand aspirations of the work, which could just as well do without them. It is also important to dispel the idea that Bruckner’s legendary candour (which saw the composer tip Richter after a satisfying rehearsal of the Fourth), along with an alleged weakness of character, affected his lucid appraisal of the integrity of his own works, particularly the symphonies. We will see how far too widely and injudiciously this notion has been impressed since the end of the 1930s.

A most confident-sounding motif continues the exposition of the movement, marked Ruhig bewegt (nur nicht schnell) [Peacefully agitated (but not fast)]. The propulsive aspect of the tempo marking is found in the ever so typically Brucknerian rhythmic contour of this ascending motif, immediately repeated descending, until it magnificently combines in the first fortissimo passage played by the whole orchestra. Even at this early point in the work, Bruckner’s often mentioned “cathedralesque” sound world is evident, in which superb brass writing contrasts with the refined complexity of more intimate or calm passages. It has regularly been written how this fervent Catholic, organist of the Linz Cathedral, composed according to his nature, in blocks of contrasting registrations with an eye (and an ear) on eternity. This is a manner he never forwent, even when he later retouched, alone or with collaborators, details of orchestration—a discipline, incidentally, he studied with Otto Kitzler, a Wagnerite who had introduced him to Tannhäuser.

Bruckner begins with finesse the second, contrasting part of the exposition, a section he fittingly calls Gesangsperiode (song period) in his outer movements. The strings and winds share a charming motif that Bruckner likens to “the song of the great tit,” in counterpoint to warbling and tender lines. It is in Gesangsperioden such as this that one feels time expanding, a grand moment of respite during which unhurriedly to absorb everything the composer has to offer. Contrary to Beethoven and the other Viennese by adoption Bruckner so admired (Haydn and Mozart, of whom he is also a follower in many respects), his formal constructions are not fuelled by dramatic impulse, except to a certain degree his scherzos. Instead, he lays out a path that crosses great expanses, or sits the listener at the center of a spacious structure he has the time to grasp and admire. The present Gesangsperiode opens on the third “subject group” of the exposition that puts into play (actually, already develops) both the propulsive motif of the beginning and the graceful song that followed.

The development as such begins ever so softly, and displays among other qualities the masterful writing technique Bruckner so laboriously and conscientiously acquired. Listen to how he especially deploys the initial horn signal and the propulsive motif: they are heard in stretto, inversed, in diminution, variously combined, and leading to one of those famous passages he writes in chorale style for the brass. He certainly owes his command of writing technique in great part to the strict correspondence courses he took with the exacting Simon Sechter of Vienna, whom Schubert is also known to have consulted. After a soothing lull, the recapitulation brings on the Hauptthema, now for two horns at the octave embellished notably with melismata by the flute and muted first violins… this very last touch (the muted violins) bringing us to open that dreaded Pandora’s box known as the “Bruckner Problem” concerning the versions of his symphonies.

Here as elsewhere, the orchestration heard in the present recording is that of the 1888 version of the Fourth, which corresponds to the edition prepared in 1889 by Albert J. Gutmann, reissued with corrections in 1890 (see the note by Jean-Philippe Tremblay below). It differs substantially in several respects to the versions commonly performed over the past 70 years: The first is the Robert Hass edition of 1936 (corrected in 1944), based on the autograph manuscript of the 1878/80 version Bruckner had in 1893 bequeathed in his will to what is now the Austrian National Library; the second is the Leopold Nowak edition of 1953, which has as its basis the version Bruckner sent in 1886 to the conductor Anton Seidl of New York, now in the collections of Columbia University. From Bruckner’s death on October 11, 1896 up until the Haas edition, the only edition used and indeed known was the original one, which Bruckner had prepared with his pupils Ferdinand Löwe and Franz Schalk, and in all probability Josef Schalk. These men have long been accused of manipulating Bruckner into modifying his works. Yet, although it is true that as of 1892-93 the composer began suspecting they were acting behind his back (which proved ever more correct), work on the first edition as of 1887 was in this case a collaborative effort. This is attested by the Stichvorlage (engraver’s copy) on which clearly appear Bruckner’s “regulating” (as he calls it) of his pupils’ work as well as other important emendations in his own hand. This version was even given the benefit of a performance on January 22, 1888, again under Richter, with Bruckner’s approval and careful attention during rehearsals. This 1888 Stichvorlage version was published in 2004 alongside the Hass and Nowak editions in the authoritative critical collected works edition. Under the editorship of Benjamin Korstvedt, it corresponds overall to the first Gutmann edition, restoring it to a legitimate place alongside the 1878/80 autograph version.

Muted violins… they were absent in the 1878/80 version, but on the other hand, the kettledrums have disappeared here from the passage. It must then be left to the listener which version he or she prefers (perhaps more than one). Happily, all versions end the movement gloriously with the initial call on all four horns.

The second movement, an Andante in C minor, simply offers “song,” according to Bruckner. This he knew well, having practiced it in childhood, then later with friends at the St. Florian Monastery, and having suffused his sacred works with it so sublimely. Equally sublime is the manner in which he here alternates two progressively ornate manifestations of song. The first, initially played by the cellos and later by the horns and winds, sometimes in mirror form, is admirably ample and covers a wide tessitura. It is reminiscent of the first movement in its leaps of fifths and its dotted rhythm, which underscores the march-like pace. The second song-theme, less solemn but more mysterious, is unfolded principally by the violas over a pizzicato march from the other strings, in a sort of almost spoken arioso with its hesitant and questioning phrases. The answer always seems to lie in the reprise of the first song, around which Bruckner weaves an ever more elaborate web of sound. Like his distant Viennese predecessors often did, the composer ends the movement on the tonic major.

The third movement opens on the famous “hunt” scherzo (Bruckner’s word, again) marked Bewegt, in B flat major. The horns, progressively joined by the trumpets, trombones, and tuba, signal that the hunters are up to the chase with a motif simultaneously combining the propulsive “Brucknerian” rhythm, the dotted upbeat, and the downward interval (a fourth instead of a fifth), all derived from the first movement. The surging energy of the music occasionally gives way to more serene passages, but picks up again only to subside into the G-flat major Trio, marked Gemächlich (Peacefully). A kind of Ländler for the resting hunting party, it mainly pairs flute and clarinet. The Scherzo is afterwards repeated in an abridged form, but ends this time in the clamorous joy of the entire orchestra.
It is necessary here to note the important, mainly structural differences between the present and previous versions. To begin with, Bruckner had discarded his 1874 Scherzo when he revised the work in 1878, replacing it with this Jagd-Scherzo (Hunt Scherzo) that he modified again for the first published version. Apart from the pairing of oboe and clarinet in the Trio and the absence of the piccolo in the rest of the movement, the 1878/80 autograph version most notably contains a complete da capo of the Scherzo, and the final, boisterous coda rounds it off both times. Some have considered the omission of 65 measures in the Gutmann edition as a most unfortunate concession on Bruckner’s part, but he indeed approved the cut. Moreover, prior to the dissemination of the 1878/80 autograph version, such an eminent commentator as Sir Donald Tovey, in the mid-1930s, had found the “extremely effective short cut […] highly dramatic.”

In 1878, Bruckner had replaced the 1874 Finale with a movement entitled Volksfest (Funfair). As early as December 1880, he replaced it again with the Finale we now know and which along with the other movements from 1878 was performed at the premiere. Reworked, this is the Finale of the Gutmann edition. Menacingly, the strings introduce this Mäßig bewegt (Moderately agitated) with a B-flat minor pedal over which horn and clarinet sound their lugubrious three-note call. Following an extreme rise in tension where rhythms and intervals condense and fragment, the call becomes the head-motif of the movement’s massive main theme. This also marks the return of the home key of E flat major, as well as that ominous note, C flat, which had so perturbed the beginning of the symphony and will deliver its last jabs in the penultimate measures before the work’s final triumph. The theme also blends the symphony’s elemental matter, namely the short upbeat, the triplet from the Scherzo, and the famous Brucknerian rhythm in augmented note values. The climax of this first section introduces a new feature: a cymbal crash that prepares a quote of the horn motif from the first movement, now played by all the brass. The cymbals are heard twice again, but pianissimo, just prior to the grand coda. This instrument is absent from the work’s earlier versions, although several conductors elect to insert the first forte crash. The piccolo, also absent from the other versions, again colours the louder passages.

A generous Gesangsperiode offers the opportunity to note a markedly romantic feature that owes nothing to any sort of program (of which this movement is devoid), namely the contiguousness of the major and minor modes, a procedure so close in spirit to Schubert. Various motifs in the themes of this “song period” (conspicuously related, by the way, to other themes in the work) frequently waver between major and minor, giving the harmony a prismatic quality.

A vast development section ensues where the head-motif appears in many guises and combines with the main theme of the Gesangsperiode, displaying the incredible technical prowess Bruckner had gained as a master of fugal organ improvisation. To the surprise (or dismay) of those who are well acquainted with the now standard Haas or Nowak editions of the symphony, the 1888 Stichvorlage version omits the restatement of the Finale’s Hauptthema and presents a modified transition towards the recapitulation of the second theme. Bruckner, though, approved this cut, and had asked for an even greater cut in this region of the movement, from measures 351 to 430, the same year as the work’s premiere in a repeat performance led by Felix Mottl on December 10, 1881.

The long coda then begins, as a road from self-doubt to rapture. It is as if Bruckner wished to free himself from the anxiety inflicted by the merciless Viennese critic Eduard Hanslick, who worsened his own misgivings, to finally bask in the glow of public approval and of thanksgiving. It begins as a murmuring, oscillating string tremolo over which the winds play the Finale’s initial motif in simultaneous contrary motion, then opens on a melodic extension eventually withdrawing onto itself just before trumpets and cymbals discreetly herald the start of the grandiose final crescendo. Here, the string oscillations rise stepwise in ecstatic double appoggiaturas, reaching full orchestral climax on the symphony’s germinal rhythm.

© Jacques-André Houle

__________________________________________

A Note on the Version
by Jean-Philippe Tremblay

The choice of an edition for the present recording of Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4 is certainly the result of careful thought and research, but above all, the aim was to discover (or rediscover) an edition that had been used by Bruno Walter and Toscanini. Was it the right one? The purpose is not here to take a stand on what the “definitive” edition is, but rather—keeping in mind the educational context for the young musicians of the Orchestre de la Francophonie canadienne—to explore different possibilities, different choices. I settled on an edition after consulting a reproduction of the 1889 edition and carefully listening to two recordings, including Walter on Columbia. What counted here was the spirit of discovery.

Read more

About

AN 6 1038
AN 6 1038
AN 6 1038

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9916

Bruckner: Symphonie no 4 en mi bémol majeur, " Romantique " (WAB 104)

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 11 mars 2008
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9916
Periodes Romantique
Genres Orchestre de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Le murmure du vent faisant frémir la nature, cachant à peine le faible vagissement d’un enfant naissant, dans le petit village d’Ansfelden en Haute-Autriche le 4 septembre 1824, déjà fait comme un écho pas si lointain des premiers bruissements de la Neuvième de Beethoven, donnée à Vienne le 7 mai précédent. C’est sur cette nébuleuse (le mot est de Robert Simpson) de trémolos aux cordes que naît également, tel bon nombre de ses mouvements, la Quatrième Symphonie dite  » Romantique «  d’Anton Bruckner, fils d’un modeste instituteur–organiste de cette paisible localité au sud de Linz.

L’Homme, qui n’est pas un acteur muet devant la Création, répond à la nature : si Beethoven lance aux cordes, avec un rythme pointé, des appels de quintes et de quartes descendantes, Bruckner confie au cor (instrument dont le mi bémol de cette symphonie est une tonalité de prédilection), repris par les bois, ce signal matinal qui appelle au réveil. Plus posé, en valeurs plus larges — mais incorporant toujours un rythme pointé —, le motif thématique initial de Bruckner est, dès sa deuxième assertion, plus inquiète aussi, la quinte descendante devenant sixte mineure à cause du do bémol qui amorce l’intervalle. Déjà est embrouillé, minorisé, le mi bémol majeur dans lequel on baigne, alors qu’il s’agit de la première symphonie de Bruckner en mode majeur.

De nobles visées, l’amour de la nature et ce cachet sonore, si l’on ose dire, hérités des débuts de la Neuvième (que Bruckner a entendue pour la première fois en 1866) constituent un parallèle possible entre le maître de Bonn et le rustique organiste devenu (jamais à part entière) viennois. Ces éléments viennent aussi appuyer le titre  » Romantique  » donné à sa Quatrième par le compositeur lui-même — titre qui fait son apparition dès la version primitive de l’œuvre en 1874, dont les deux premiers mouvements sont restés, malgré certaines corrections, essentiellement intacts tout au long des révisions futures.

C’est sous la direction de Hans Richter qu’eut lieu à Vienne le 20 février 1881, dans la version remaniée en 1878 et 1880, la création de la Quatrième Symphonie. Bruckner lui avait accessoirement accolé a posteriori un programme que nous allons discrètement évoquer en cours de route. Car c’est en effet sur  » l’annonce du jour par le cor « , selon une lettre de Bruckner au chef d’orchestre Hermann Levi en 1884, que se fait entendre le Hauptthema (thème principal) de ce premier mouvement. La naïveté apparente de telles indications ne pourra détracter des vastes aspirations de l’œuvre qui de toute manière peut aisément s’en passer. On devra également évacuer de nos esprits l’idée reçue voulant que cette même candeur (qui aurait pourtant poussé Bruckner à offrir un pourboire à Richter à l’issue d’une répétition de la Quatrième) liée à une prétendue faiblesse de caractère ait affecté le jugement de Bruckner face à l’intégrité de la plupart de ses œuvres, en particulier les symphonies. Voilà une notion qui, nous allons le voir peu à peu, s’est fait imposer depuis la fin des années 1930 de façon par trop générale et cavalière.

C’est sur un motif plein d’assurance que se poursuit l’exposition du mouvement, marqué ici Ruhig bewegt (nur nicht schnell) [Tranquillement allant (mais pas vite)]. L’aspect propulsif de cet intitulé s’y trouve dans le contour rythmique si typiquement brucknérien de ce motif ascendant, repris dès après en descendant, jusqu’à se combiner magistralement dans le premier passage fortissimo joué par tout l’orchestre. Ainsi, presque d’entrée de jeu est manifeste la conception sonore  » cathédralesque  » si souvent évoquée de Bruckner, où une écriture consommée pour les cuivres dans toute leur splendeur vient contraster la fine complexité de passages plus intimes ou de plages plus calmes. On l’a souvent écrit, cet organiste de la cathédrale de Linz, fervent catholique, entendait et composait selon sa nature, par blocs de registrations avec une vue sur l’éternité. C’est une manière qu’il n’a jamais délaissée, même lorsqu’il venait plus tard retoucher, seul ou avec des collaborateurs, des détails d’orchestration — discipline qu’il avait par ailleurs étudiée avec Otto Kitzler, un wagnérien qui lui avait fait découvrir Tannhäuser.

C’est en finesse d’ailleurs que commence la deuxième partie contrastante de l’exposition, que Bruckner nomme bellement Gesangsperiode (période ou section de chant) dans ses mouvements extrêmes. Les cordes et les vents se partagent alors ici un charmant motif que Bruckner apparente au  » chant de la mésange charbonnière  » en contrepoint à des lignes gazouillantes ou tendres. C’est dans les Gesangsperioden comme ici que l’on sent le temps prendre de l’expansion, que l’on sent qu’on aura le loisir d’attendre et de recevoir tout ce que le compositeur a à nous offrir, sans presse. Contrairement à Beethoven et aux autres Viennois d’adoption à qui il vouait tant d’admiration — (Haydn et Mozart, dont sous bien des aspects il est aussi l’héritier —, Bruckner n’imprime pas une avancée dramatique impérative à ses constructions formelles, sauf dans une certaine mesure dans ses scherzos. Il trace plutôt des chemins qui traversent un vaste décor, ou alors fixe l’auditeur au centre d’une spacieuse architecture que ce dernier peut prendre le temps de saisir et d’admirer. Cette Gesangsperiode ouvre ainsi sur un troisième  » groupe thématique  » de l’exposition mettant en jeu, donc déjà en développement, à la fois le motif propulsif du début et le chant gracieux qui suivait.

S’amorcera alors à partir d’un rien le développement comme tel, où parmi ses autres qualités brille la science d’écriture si durement et consciencieusement acquise par Bruckner : entendez le déploiement qu’il fait principalement du motif initial du cor et de la cellule propulsive. On les entend en strettes, renversés, en diminution, diversement combinés, aboutissant à l’un de ces célèbres passages en style choral chez les cuivres. L’on doit sans doute une telle maîtrise de l’écriture aux sévères cours qu’il prit par correspondance avec l’exigeant Simon Sechter de Vienne, professeur que Schubert avait jadis consulté. Après une accalmie survient la récapitulation, où le Hauptthema, pour deux cors à l’octave cette fois, est embelli notamment par des mélismes à la flûte et aux premiers violons en sourdine… cette toute dernière touche (les violons en sourdine) nous amenant à ouvrir la boîte de Pandore tant redoutée du  » Problème Bruckner  » entourant les versions des symphonies.

Ici comme ailleurs, l’orchestration entendue dans le présent enregistrement provient de la version de la Quatrième préparée en 1888, qui correspond à l’édition qu’en a réalisée Albert J. Gutmann en 1889 et réimprimée avec corrections en 1890 (voir la note de Jean-Philippe Tremblay plus bas). Elle diffère substantiellement à plusieurs niveaux des versions couramment jouées depuis plus de 70 ans : d’abord l’édition réalisée par Robert Haas en 1936 (corrigée en 1944), s’appuyant sur le manuscrit autographe de la version 1878-80 que Bruckner avait légué par testament en 1893 à ce qui est aujourd’hui la Bibliothèque nationale d’Autriche; puis l’édition de Leopold Nowak en 1953, reprenant pour sa part la version envoyée en 1886 à New York à l’intention du chef d’orchestre Anton Seidl, et qui repose maintenant dans les collections de la Columbia University. Depuis la mort de Bruckner le 11 octobre 1896 jusqu’aux travaux de Haas, on n’utilisait que l’édition originale, la seule connue, que Bruckner avait préparée avec ses élèves Ferdinand Löwe et Franz Schalk, et en toute probabilité Josef Schalk. On a longtemps accusé ceux-ci d’avoir manipulé Bruckner dans le remaniement de ses œuvres. Or s’il est vrai qu’à partir de 1892-93 le compositeur s’est mis à les soupçonner d’agir dans son dos (ce qui s’est avéré de plus en plus), la préparation de l’édition dès 1887 s’est faite quant à elle dans un contexte de collaboration. Ceci est attesté par le Stichvorlage (copie d’éditeur) sur lequel apparaissent clairement les  » régulations « , comme il les nomme, du travail de ses élèves ainsi que d’autres importantes notations de la main de Bruckner.

Cette version a même bénéficié le 22 janvier 1888 d’une exécution publique, à nouveau sous la baguette de Richter, avec l’aval et l’oreille attentive de Bruckner. Ainsi est parue en 2004, aux côtés des éditions Haas et Nowak dans la grande édition critique, la version du Stichvorlage de 1888. Préparée par le musicologue Benjamin Korstvedt, elle correspond pour l’essentiel à la première édition Gutmann et du même coup lui confère une nouvelle légitimité, au même titre que l’autographe de la version 1878-80.

Les violons en sourdine… ils n’étaient pas présents dans la version 1878-80, mais en revanche, les timbales ont ici disparu de ce passage. À l’auditeur donc de décider quelle version il préfère (peut-être en aimera-t-il plus d’une). Heureusement, toutes les versions font clore ce mouvement par l’appel initial aux quatre glorieux cors.

Le second mouvement, un Andante en do mineur, offre simplement le  » chant « , selon le mot Bruckner, ce chant qu’il connaissait si bien de l’avoir pratiqué très jeune, puis plus tard au monastère de Saint-Florian avec des amis et enfin d’en avoir avec tant de grandeur empli ses œuvres sacrées. Le sublime ici se distille en deux incarnations alternantes et progressivement ornées du chant : la première, entendue d’abord aux violoncelles puis plus tard aux cors et aux vents, parfois en miroir, est d’une admirable ampleur occupant une large tessiture et se souvient du premier mouvement par ses sauts de quinte et son rythme pointé (qui ici souligne la cadence de marche); la seconde, moins grave mais plus mystérieuse, a comme principal chantre les altos qui sur la marche en pizzicato des autres cordes déroulent une sorte d’arioso proche du parler tant par ses hésitations que par ses membres de phrase en questionnement. La réponse semble toujours se trouver dans la reprise du chant initial autour duquel Bruckner tisse un décor toujours plus foisonnant. Comme ses lointains prédécesseurs viennois en avaient l’habitude, le compositeur termine le mouvement par la tonique majeure.

Le troisième mouvement s’ouvre sur la fameuse  » chasse  » (encore Bruckner), ce scherzo marqué Bewegt, en si bémol majeur. Les cors, auxquels s’ajouteront progressivement trompettes, trombones et tuba, lancent le signal des chasseurs prêts au défi, en associant simultanément le rythme propulsif  » brucknérien « , l’anacrouse pointée et l’intervalle (la quarte plutôt que la quinte) descendant empruntés au premier mouvement. L’énergie intrépide laisse place parfois à des passages plus aérés, mais reprend de plus belle avant de tranquillement céder la place au Trio en sol bémol majeur, marqué Gemächlich (Paisiblement). Celui-ci, en une sorte de Ländler qui marquerait le repos de l’équipée, associe principalement la flûte et la clarinette. On reprend ensuite le Scherzo, dans une forme abrégée, mais qui se termine cette fois dans une réjouissante clameur de tout l’orchestre.
On se doit de noter ici les importantes divergences, surtout structurelles, de la présente version par rapport aux précédentes. Tout d’abord, Bruckner a mis de côte son Scherzo de 1874 dans sa révision de 1878, le remplaçant par ce Jagd-Scherzo (Scherzo-Chasse), qu’il modifia pour la version publiée. Outre l’association du hautbois et de la clarinette dans le Trio et l’absence dans le reste du mouvement du piccolo, on remarquera surtout que la version autographe de 1878-80 comporte un da capo complet du Scherzo et que la tonitruante coda terminale clôt aussi le Scherzo avant le Trio. Certains voient en l’omission de 65 mesures dans l’édition Gutmann une grave et malheureuse concession de Bruckner, mais il l’a effectivement approuvée et, avant que ne soit diffusée la version autographe de 1878-80, un commentateur comme Sir Donald Tovey, au milieu des années 1930, avait trouvé ce raccourci inopiné d’un effet particulièrement heureux et théâtral.

En 1878, Bruckner avait remplacé le Finale de 1874 par un mouvement titré Volksfest (Fête populaire). Pas plus tard que décembre 1880, il le remplace à nouveau par le Finale qu’on connaît et qui fera avec les autres mouvements de 1878 l’objet de la première exécution. Remanié, c’est le Finale de l’édition Gutmann. Menaçantes, les cordes installent une redoutable pédale de si bémol mineur pour introduire ce Mäßig bewegt (Modérément allant), au-dessus de laquelle cor et clarinette entonnent leur funeste appel de trois notes, qui, après une fulgurante montée de tension où rythmes et intervalles se condensent et se fragmentent, servira de tête au thème massif du mouvement. Ici réapparaît la tonalité principale de mi bémol majeur, en même temps que le do bémol qu’augurait le premier mouvement, note qui hantera jusqu’aux pénultièmes mesures avant le triomphe final de l’œuvre.

Ce thème incorpore lui aussi les matières élémentaires de la symphonie, soit la courte anacrouse, puis le triolet du Scherzo et le fameux rythme brucknérien en valeurs rythmiques augmentées. Le climax de cette première section présente un nouvel élément, un coup de cymbales qui prépare la citation de l’appel au réveil du premier mouvement, cette fois par tous les cuivres. On entendra deux fois encore les cymbales, mais pianissimo, juste avant le début de la grande montée finale. Cet instrument est absent des versions antérieures de l’œuvre, bien que plusieurs chefs aiment à y réinsérer le premier coup forte. Le piccolo, également absent des autres versions, vient de nouveau colorer ici les passages les plus forts.
Une généreuse Gesangsperiode fournit l’occasion de mettre en lumière un élément fortement romantique qui ne doit rien ici à un quelconque programme (évaporé d’ailleurs de ce mouvement) : il s’agit du côtoiement des modes majeur et mineur, procédé si proche de l’esprit schubertien. Divers motifs des thèmes de cette section de chant (qui ne cachent pas leur parenté avec les autres thèmes de l’œuvre) oscillent fréquemment entre le majeur et le mineur, faisant ainsi chatoyer le prisme harmonique.

Un vaste développement où la tête de thème initial sera présentée sous maintes coutures, met celui-ci en jeu avec le thème principal de la Gesangsperiode en rassemblant toute la science qu’arrive à déployer ce maître de l’improvisation fuguée à l’orgue. À la surprise (ou au désarroi) de ceux qui connaissent les versions courantes de la symphonie (éditions Haas ou Nowak), la version issue du Stichvorlage de 1888 omet la récapitulation du Hauptthema de ce Finale et présente une transition modifiée vers la reprise du second thème. Bruckner accepta pourtant cette coupure et avait même demandé une coupure encore plus grande de cette région du mouvement, des mesures 351 à 430, l’année même de la création de l’œuvre lors d’une reprise dirigée par Felix Mottl le 10 décembre 1881.
La longue coda s’engage alors telle une marche menant du doute à l’exaltation, comme Bruckner lui-même voulant se libérer de l’anxiété infligée par l’impitoyable critique viennois Eduard Hanslick aggravant ses propres incertitudes, pour enfin baigner dans la lumière de la reconnaissance publique et de l’action de grâces. Elle commence tout doucement par un trémolo oscillant des cordes au-dessus duquel aux vents se dessine en éventail le motif initial du Finale, s’ouvrant sur une extension mélodique que se replie sur elle-même jusqu’au moment où trompettes et cymbales annoncent discrètement le début du grandiose crescendo final. Ici, l’oscillation des cordes monte par paliers en doubles-appoggiatures extatiques atteignant au paroxysme de tout l’orchestre sur le rythme germinal de la symphonie.

© Jacques-André Houle

_____________________________________

Note sur la version utilisée
par Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Le choix d’édition dans le présent enregistrement de la Quatrième Symphonie d’Anton Bruckner est certainement le résultat de longues réflexions et recherches, mais avant tout illustre la volonté de découvrir (ou redécouvrir) une édition qui était utilisée par Bruno Walter et Toscanini. Était-ce la bonne ? L’idée n’est pas de prendre position en affirmant que c’est  » l’édition  » mais plutôt (il faut se rappeler le contexte pédagogique pour les jeunes musiciens de l’Orchestre de la Francophonie canadienne) de voyager vers d’autres possibilités, vers d’autres choix. C’est en consultant une reproduction de l’édition de 1889 et en écoutant fidèlement les deux enregistrements (dont celui de Walter chez Columbia) que j’ai arrêté mes choix éditoriaux. Le mot d’ordre est donc  » découverte  » !

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1038
AN 6 1038
AN 6 1038

Start typing and press Enter to search