fbpx
AN 2 9893

Bruckner: Symphonie No. 7

Composers
Release date October 30, 2007
Album code AN 2 9893
Periods Romantic

Album information

Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony or Life After Wagner

Today, nobody would contest the fact that Bruckner’s symphonies form one of the most significant bodies of work in the repertoire. And while such recognition was late in coming during his lifetime, the premiere of the Seventh Symphony in Leipzig, on December 30, 1884, marked a turning point for Bruckner. At the age of 60, he was finally enjoying true popular success with one of his symphonies, and international recognition was quick to follow: Munich in 1885; Cologne, Hamburg, Vienna, Graz, Amsterdam, Chicago, and New York in 1886; and Berlin, Budapest, Dresden, and London the following year.

Previously, because of his early and unconditional admiration for the music of Richard Wagner , Bruckner found himself an unwilling participant in an esthetic quarrel between Wagner and the Viennese critic Eduard Hanslick. In a series of theoretical essays published between 1849 and 1851, Wagner had outlined his conception of the “music of the future,” a “total artwork” that he would qualify as “absolute music” since it would fuse music, poetry and dance. Hanslick responded in 1854 with a book entitled On the Musically Beautiful, which would remain a highly influential work until the early 20th century. For Hanslick, true “absolute music” could, on the contrary, be none other than pure music—works that could stand on their own without any extra-musical, literary, pictorial or other references.

Hence, even though Bruckner was fundamentally a composer of pure music, as soon as his first symphonies were premiered—and especially the third, which he presented as an homage to Wagner—Hanslick took a strong dislike to the unfortunate composer and did not miss an opportunity to savage his work.

A shy and timid man, but proud of his humble peasant origins, Bruckner always felt a little overwhelmed by these turf wars between the intelligentsia of large cities such as Vienna, the musical capital of Europe, where his mastery of counterpoint and the organ had won him a professorship at the Conservatory and the position of organist at the imperial chapel. No one contested his exceptional talents in these areas; but when, in his forties, he turned his attention to composing symphonies, introducing the new instrumental forces and daring harmony developed by Wagner in his operas, the defenders of pure music were merciless.

A church musician and a very religious man, Bruckner found solace in his faith. And his daily contact with the organ and its repertoire contributed to a personal style that helped transcend what he borrowed from Wagner. Bruckner demonstrates a mastery of counterpoint and textural shading in his orchestral works, the result of long experience at the organ. Conceived as cathedrals of sound, these symphonies propelled the genre to new heights.

Without calling into question the classical plan of the symphony, in which two allegro movements frame a slow movement and a scherzo, Bruckner nevertheless developed an increasingly original conception of the form within these movements. For instance, in the sonata-form movements, he used three themes rather than the usual two on several occasions, including the monumental “Allegro moderato” in E major that opens the Seventh Symphony.

Over a sustained pianissimo tremolo in the violins, the cellos unveil a broad first theme over twenty measures, making it one of the longest opening themes in the symphonic repertoire. After a fortissimo reprise in the upper register by the violins and woodwinds in unison, a second theme arises, delicately ornamented, whispered like a secret by the oboes and clarinets. The cellos repeat this, wrapped in a luxurious counterpoint by the other strings. It is then freely developed until the violins play its inversion over a pedal note in the basses, beginning a huge crescendo that culminates in a dramatic pounding by the brass.

And yet this pounding is suddenly interrupted by the unexpected entry, subito piano, of a third theme in the woodwinds and strings, surprisingly serene and dance-like. This begins another crescendo that leads to another tempestuous sounding of the brass. Out of the echo of their last chord, the theme is repeated by the violins, again subito piano, that unravels into a slow decrescendo leading to a dreamlike echo in the horns that marks the end of the exposition.

The movement’s development and recapitulation alternate these three themes and their inversions in a skillful play of counterpoint. The climax is reached in the coda, where, over a tremolo pedal reinforced by a tympani roll, the beginning of the first theme in the horns and its inversion in the woodwinds are treated in a mirror-like superimposition that builds into a powerful spiral to the final chord.

Of the two years, that it took to compose the work, from the fall of 1881 to the fall of 1883, Bruckner spent the first fourteen months on this first movement. During this period, Wagner’s last opera was premiered in Bayreuth and, as Bruckner began the second movement in February 1883, a magnificent “very slow and solemn” adagio in the relative key of c-sharp minor, he would have learned of the master’s death.

He would tell the conductor Felix Mottl that he had composed the opening theme haunted by the apprehension of this death, which he could feel was near. The opening motif is exposed by a quartet of Wagner “tubas,” instruments that Wagner had conceived of and had built for certain passages of the Ring cycle where he wanted an especially mysterious and ghost-like sound, such as in Die Walküre, where the goddess Brünnhilde appears to Siegmund to announce his impending death. In this way, these curious brass instruments, a sort of hybrid of horn and tuba and which until then had only been heard in Wagner’s late works, made a most solemn and symbolic entry into the world of pure music.

This theme then appears to want to develop endlessly, a moving and somber eulogy to the memory of he who had dreamed of an “infinite melody.” This development is carried out primarily by the strings and is followed first by a strongly supported reference to the Te Deum Bruckner was working on at the same time. As if to conjure up unhappiness, the strings introduce the motif of the last words of the prayer, “non cunfundar in aeternum” (let me never be confounded). The violins eventually emerge into a more lively though melancholy second theme in a radiant f-sharp major, a kind of smile through the tears of someone remembering happy times with someone who is no longer there. From there, the funeral music and the melancholy theme alternate in a series of variations employing contrapuntal and instrumental textures of extraordinary beauty, giving the whole movement a classical large-scale ternary form (ABABA).

In contrast to the two preceding dramatic frescos, the Scherzo is a wonderful harlequinade. In the first section, over the nervous laughter of the strings, a solo trumpet introduces a theme that is a kind of ironic nose-thumbing, which provokes contagious laugher that is gradually communicated to the entire orchestra in waves, culminating in the outburst of the initial fortissimo cadence. The tympani seem to slyly attempt to set the whole thing off again but the woodwinds intervene and compete with a higher bid of poetic juggling. The trumpet eventually takes over to lead the whole ensemble into yet another outburst of laughter. The tympani then return, pianissimo, but the strings follow with the central trio section, a tender ballad that, in a commedia dell’arte, Pierrot might sing to his Colombine. After this more sentimental moment, the comedy returns anew with a complete repetition of the initial eruption of laughter.

The opening theme of the Finale is none other than that of the first movement, but transformed by a lively and nervous dotted rhythm; as if, after the grief of the second movement, it had been cheered by the comedy of the Scherzo; as if the music had discovered that life was still possible after the death of the god Wagner. The serene melody of the second theme, exposed by the violins over pizzicato basses, has all the characteristics of a chorale, seeming to express that the soul has finally achieved peace. The return of the incisive first theme in a huge fortissimo marks the beginning of a vast development section, built essentially around this initial theme. The recapitulation first returns to the chorale theme before the first enlivened theme is again developed until the coda, where, at the end of which, just as in the first movement, Bruckner presents the theme in mirrored counterpoint and in its original first-movement form, magnified into a final apotheosis.

Predictably, Hanslick did not fail to shoot Bruckner’s new symphony down in flames. But, as noted another critic, the public felt quite otherwise: “First there was surprise, then fascination, then admiration, and finally enthusiasm—such was their reaction.”

For this recording, the conductor used the Haas edition, considered today as the reference. But at the high point of the Adagio (rehearsal letter W), he decided to preserve the cymbal crash that Bruckner added on a piece of paper that was glued to the autograph. Haas rejected it because it also says “invalid,” as if the composer had subsequently rejected the late decision that was apparently a concession to some friends. But other Bruckner specialists stress that a similar passage in the adagio of the Eighth Symphony also includes a cymbal crash. Jean-Philippe Tremblay therefore decided to keep it, while respecting the rest of the reference edition.

© Guy Marchand
Translation: Peter Christensen

Read more

About

AN 2 9962
AN 2 9962
AN 2 9962

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9893

Bruckner: Symphonie No. 7

Compositeurs
Date de sortie 30 octobre 2007
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9893
Periodes Romantique

Informations sur l'album

La Septième symphonie de Bruckner ou
la vie après la mort de Wagner

Aujourd’hui, personne ne conteste que les symphonies d’Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) forment l’un des corpus majeurs du répertoire. Mais, du vivant du compositeur, la reconnaissance fut tardive. La création à Leipzig, le 30 décembre 1884, de sa Septième symphonie marque à cet égard un point tournant. À 60 ans révolus, Bruckner voyait enfin une de ses symphonies connaître un authentique succès public, succès qui devait rapidement mener à la consécration internationale : Munich en 1885 ; Cologne, Hambourg, Vienne, Graz, Amsterdam, Chicago et New York dès 1886 ; Berlin, Budapest, Dresde et Londres, l’année suivante.

Auparavant, à cause de l’admiration sans réserve qu’il manifestât très tôt pour la musique de Richard Wagner , Bruckner s’était retrouvé, bien malgré lui, mêlé à une querelle esthétique qui opposait Wagner au critique viennois Edouard Hanslick. Dans une série d’essais théoriques publiés entre 1849 et 1851, Wagner avait exposé sa conception de  » la musique de l’avenir « ,  » œuvre d’art totale  » qu’il qualifia de  » musique absolue  » car elle fusionnait musique, poésie et danse. Hanslick lui répondit dès 1854 dans Du beau dans la musique, un essai qui fut très influent jusqu’au début du XXe siècle. Pour lui, la véritable musique absolue ne pouvait être, au contraire, qu’une musique pure, qui se suffise à elle-même, sans référents extramusicaux, littéraires, picturaux ou autres.

C’est pourquoi, malgré le fait que Bruckner fut fondamentalement un adepte de la musique pure, dès la création de ses premières symphonies, et surtout à partir de la troisième qu’il présenta comme un hommage à Wagner, Hanslick prit en grippe le pauvre compositeur et s’acharna sans cesse à dénigrer son travail.

Homme discret et timide, mais fier de ses humbles origines paysannes, Bruckner se sentit toujours dépassé par ces querelles de clochers qui divisaient l’intelligentsia des grandes villes, en commençant par Vienne, capitale musicale de l’Europe, où sa maîtrise du contrepoint et de l’orgue lui avaient valu un poste de professeur au Conservatoire et celui d’organiste de la chapelle impériale. Personne ne contestait ses dons exceptionnels en ces domaines. Mais lorsque, au tournant de la quarantaine, il se mit en tête de composer des symphonies en y introduisant les nouvelles ressources instrumentales et audaces harmoniques développées par Wagner dans ses drames lyriques, les défenseurs de la musique pure furent sans merci.

Fervent croyant, ce musicien d’église dévoué trouva dans sa foi un rempart. Plus encore, la fréquentation quotidienne de l’orgue et de son répertoire contribua au développement d’un style personnel qui lui permit de transcender ce qu’il emprunta à Wagner. On retrouve dans l’œuvre symphonique de Bruckner une science du contrepoint et de la gradation des textures sonores propres à l’organiste d’expérience. C’est ainsi que, conçue comme cathédrale sonore, la symphonie devait parvenir, grâce à Bruckner, à de nouveaux sommets.

Sans remettre en cause le plan classique en quatre mouvements dans lequel deux allegros encadrent un mouvement lent et un scherzo, Bruckner développa cependant, à l’intérieur des mouvements, une conception de plus en plus originale de la forme. Dans les mouvements de forme sonate, il utilisa plus d’une fois trois thèmes plutôt que les deux traditionnels. C’est le cas du monumental Allegro moderato en mi majeur qui ouvre la Septième symphonie.

Sur un tremolo soutenu pianissimo des violons, les violoncelles déploient un ample premier thème sur plus de vingt mesures, ce qui en fait l’un des plus longs de tout le répertoire symphonique. Après une reprise fortissimo dans le registre supérieur, violons et bois à l’unisson, un second thème s’élève, délicatement ornementé, murmuré comme une confidence par les hautbois et les clarinettes. Les violoncelles le reprennent enveloppé d’un luxueux contrepoint des autres cordes. Il est ensuite librement développé jusqu’à son renversement aux violons sur une pédale des basses, début d’un grand crescendo qui aboutit à un martèlement dramatique des cuivres.

Ce martèlement est subitement interrompu par l’entrée inopinée, subito piano, d’un troisième thème aux bois et aux cordes, étonnamment serein et dansant. C’est le départ d’un autre crescendo qui débouche sur un nouvel appel intempestif des cuivres. De la résonance de leur dernier accord, à nouveau subito piano, émerge aux violons une reprise du thème qui s’effiloche en un lent decrescendo jusqu’à un écho rêveur des cors marquant la fin de l’exposition.

Développement et récapitulation font alterner ces trois thèmes et leurs renversements en de savants jeux de contrepoint. Le sommet est atteint dans la coda où, sur une pédale tremolo renforcée par un roulement de timbales, la tête du premier thème aux cors et son renversement aux bois sont superposés en miroir et développés en une puissante spirale jusqu’à l’accord final.

Sur les quelque deux ans que dura, de l’automne 1881 à l’automne 1883, la composition de l’œuvre, Bruckner passa les quatorze premier mois sur ce premier mouvement. Pendant cette période, le dernier opéra de Wagner fut créé à Bayreuth et, lorsque Bruckner s’attaqua en février 1883 au second mouvement, un magnifique Adagio  » très lent et solennel  » dans le ton relatif de do# mineur, il devait apprendre la mort du maître.

Il confia au chef d’orchestre Felix Mottl qu’il avait composé le thème d’ouverture, hanté par l’appréhension de cette mort qu’il sentait proche. Le motif de tête est exposé par le fameux quatuor de  » tubas  » que Wagner avait imaginé et fait construire pour certains passages de la Tétralogie qu’il voulait particulièrement mystérieux et fantomatiques, comme le moment où, dans La Walkyrie, la déesse Brünnhilde apparaît à Siegmund pour lui annoncer sa mort prochaine. C’est ainsi que ces curieux cuivres se situant entre le cor et le tuba, que l’on n’avait entendus jusque-là que dans les dernières œuvres de Wagner, firent une entrée on ne peut plus solennelle et emblématique dans le monde de la musique pure.

Ce thème semble par la suite vouloir se développer sans fin, émouvant éloge funèbre à la mémoire de celui qui avait rêvé d’une  » mélodie infinie « . Cette suite est essentiellement conduite par les cordes. Elle enchaîne d’abord par une citation fortement appuyée du Te Deum sur lequel Bruckner travaillait à la même époque. Comme pour conjurer le malheur, les cordes énoncent le motif des derniers mots de la prière :  » non confundar in aeternum « ,  » que plus jamais je ne sois confondu « . Émerge éventuellement aux violons, en un radieux fa# majeur, un second thème plus allant, aux accents élégiaques perçant comme un sourire à travers les larmes chez qui se souvient des moments heureux auprès de celui qui n’est plus. De là, musique funèbre et mélodie élégiaque alternent en une série de variations aux textures contrapuntiques et instrumentales d’une beauté inouïe, donnant à l’ensemble une forme classique de grand da capo (ABABA).

Aux deux fresques dramatiques précédentes, le Scherzo oppose une superbe arlequinade. Dans la première partie, sur un petit rire nerveux des cordes, une trompette solo lance une sorte de pied de nez ironique, provoquant la contagion du rire qui se communique graduellement à tout l’orchestre en plusieurs vagues jusqu’aux éclats d’une première cadence fortissimo. Les timbales, en catimini, semblent vouloir relancer le tout, mais les bois s’en mêlent, rivalisant dans une surenchère de poétiques jongleries. La trompette reprend éventuellement le contrôle pour entraîner tout ce beau monde jusqu’à un nouvel éclat. Les timbales reviennent, pianissimo, mais les cordes enchaînent avec le trio central, une tendre ballade comme pouvait, dans la commedia dell’arte, en chanter Pierrot à sa Colombine. Après ce moment plus sentimental, la comédie reprend de plus belle avec la répétition intégrale du grand rire initial.

Le premier thème du Finale n’est autre que celui du premier mouvement, mais métamorphosé par un rythme pointé, vif et nerveux, comme si, après le deuil du second mouvement, il avait été regaillardit par la comédie du Scherzo, comme si la musique découvrait que la vie était encore possible après la mort du dieu Wagner. La calme mélodie du second thème, exposée aux violons sur pizzicati de basses, a toutes les caractéristiques d’un choral, qui semble exprimer par la suite la paix de l’âme enfin retrouvée. Le retour du premier thème incisif en un fortissimo massif marque le début d’un vaste développement essentiellement construit sur lui. La récapitulation ramènera d’abord le choral avant que ce premier thème revivifié ne soit l’objet d’un nouveau développement jusque dans la coda où Bruckner fait resurgir à la toute fin, comme dans le premier mouvement, le contrepoint en miroir de sa forme originelle ainsi magnifiée en une dernière apothéose.

Hanslick ne manqua pas de descendre en flammes cette nouvelle symphonie de Bruckner. Mais, comme le nota un autre critique, le public réagit d’une tout autre façon :  » D’abord la surprise, ensuite la fascination, puis l’admiration et enfin l’enthousiasme : telle fut la réaction.  »

Dans le présent enregistrement, le chef d’orchestre suit l’édition Haas considérée aujourd’hui comme la référence. Mais, au sommet de l’Adagio (lettre W), il a décidé de conserver le coup de cymbale que Bruckner rajouta sur un bout de papier qui fut collé sur l’autographe. Haas l’a rejeté car on y trouve aussi la mention « non valable », comme si le compositeur avait par la suite renié cette décision tardive qui aurait été une concession faite à des amis. Mais d’autres spécialistes de Bruckner soulignent que dans un passage semblable dans l’adagio de la huitième symphonie, il y a bien un coup de cymbale. Jean-Philippe Tremblay a donc décidé de le conserver tout en respectant pour le reste l’édition de référence.

© Guy Marchand

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1024
AN 6 1024
AN 6 1024

Start typing and press Enter to search