fbpx
AN 2 9838-9

Beethoven: Gods, Heroes, and Men / + FREE ALBUM WITH NARRATION

Release date March 22, 2011
Album code AN 2 9838-9
Periods Classical

Album information

A word from Kent Nagano

The myth of Prometheus symbolizes the European “Enlightenment” of the 18th century and was very popular in France and Germany during this period. It served, on one hand, to legitimize the rise of the bourgeoisie, and, on the other hand, to justify the self-determined individualism associated with 18th century aesthetics and the cult of “genius.” In the “Promethean spirit,” a new human being was revealed in his rebellion, a human being capable of putting the world in order by his own standards. Around 1800, the age gave birth to this type of natural ruler in the figure of Napoleon, a leader who ends the old rules and gives new laws to humankind.

It is curious, however, in view of this historic background, that the Prometheus myth never gained any real entry into the musical and theatrical productions of the time, even though heroic episodes from classical mythology were central to the operatic repertory. Not even the operas of the French Revolution attempted this theme.

All the more striking, then, is the creation-themed ballet The Creatures of Prometheus, written in 1800-1801 by Beethoven and the Italian choreographer Salvatore Vignanò (1769–1821). It stands outside of any tradition, and as a result gains even more in importance, as it must be viewed in the context of being an actual political statement. Beethoven’s music is an expression of admiration for “the Prometheus of the Age” – as Goethe and many contemporaries saw Bonaparte. We cannot fail to recognize the evidence for this in the E-flat Contredanse derived from a French operetta melody, which Beethoven made not only the basis of the ballet’s Finale, but also of the Variations for Piano in E-flat major, Op. 35, and for the Finale of the Eroica Symphony.

We may thus understand Beethoven’s music as homage to Napoleon, the contemporary perfector of a mythical humanity’s growing up. At the same time, however, we may consider its manifold idyllic character as an expression of hope for liberation from the chains of the past and for better times to come.

But the Prometheus figure is one of dazzling contradictions. Prometheus embodies a change in the world order and therefore a sign of progress in technology, science, civilization and culture.

But this leads, in consequence, to a threat to natural conditions and the foundation of life. And for that the mythical Prometheus is punished by being chained to the crags of the Taurus Mountains with the eagle devouring his liver.

Scientific and technological progress has brought humanity many advantages and relief from the harsh conditions of life. But along with it so many problems have arisen that coping with them today actually represents a challenge to our existence. “Progress” is in a very real sense a matter of life and death.

In Napoleon, many contemporaries saw the incarnation of this ambivalence. He was a liberator, but also a dealer in death. This perception is recognizable in Beethoven’s Eroica and also in the history of this symphony.

Today we know that without progress the life we are accustomed to is unsustainable. But for all that, the strain on resources and the scientific penetration of “Nature’s Secrets” are pushing humankind to the brink of the abyss.

The “Promethean Spirit” – for Beethoven and his time, a hope.
And for us today – a warning, or perhaps even worse, – a curse…

Ludwig Van Beethoven:The Creatures of Prometheus, Op. 43 (excerpts)

Beethoven is not a composer who springs to mind when ballet is mentioned. His single extended score of this type, Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (The Creatures of Prometheus), remains one of his least-known orchestral works, though the overture alone is often performed. But even before Prometheus, Beethoven had written something called Musik zu einem Ritterballet in 1791 while still living in Bonn. The music for this ten-minute equestrian ballet was at the time attributed to the producer of the show, Count Ferdinand Waldstein, who had ordered up a private performance, so when Beethoven received the commission to write the ballet music for Prometheus, he was in effect making his debut as a composer of theater music. That it was designed specifically for the pleasure of Empress Maria Theresa made the offer doubly attractive. The first performance took place on March 28, 1801 in Vienna’s Burgtheater.

Ballet was popular in turn-of-the-century Vienna, and Beethoven eagerly seized the opportunity to work with the highly regarded, immensely popular choreographer Salvatore Vignanò as a means to further his career as a composer of symphonic music. (Hitherto his principal orchestral works had been only two piano concertos and a symphony.)

Vignanò’s choreography may well have been a cut above the playful delicacies to which the Viennese were accustomed, but Beethoven’s music, strangely enough, is stylistically more attuned to the niceties of eighteenth-century Viennese classicism than to the heaven-storming pronouncements of the nineteenth-century. One needs only compare the way Beethoven treated the tune he used in both works, the popular little Contredanse to which Kent Nagano refers. Nor is the subject matter truly “Promethean.” The action centers on the title character – that much is true – but the ballet concerns neither rebellious behaviour, punishment nor heroism; instead, it focuses on the ennobling influence of the arts and on human emotions.

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 55 “Eroica”

Critics are wont to pronounce judgments that are subsequently overturned by history, none more so than the assertion by a British writer in 1829 that Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony was “infinitely lengthy […] If this symphony is not by some means abridged, it will soon fall into disuse.” This opinion was not rashly offered in the heat of emotion following the first performance; it came nearly a quarter-century later. Yet few symphonies have acquired as secure a place in the repertory as the Eroica. Beethoven himself proclaimed it to be the favourite of his symphonies (though this was before he had written the Ninth). As for its length (50-55 minutes), it was by far the longest symphony written to date, yet it is inconceivable that a conductor today would make even the slightest cut in performance, so integral to the structure is every note of this score. Beethoven wrote most of the symphony in late 1803 (sketches had been made the previous year), and completed it in early 1804. Following several private performances, the first public performance was given in the Theater an der Wien on April 7, 1805 with the composer conducting.

In size and breadth, the Eroica far surpassed anything of its kind previously written. Its harmonic language was highly advanced for its age. The intensely strong rhythms and the plethora of jarring dissonances disturbed more than one listener at early performances. In the first movement, the dimensions of sonata-allegro form were greatly expanded. Rather than clear-cut first and second themes, Beethoven employed no fewer than eight motivic building blocks. The cornerstone of these is the triadic theme in the cellos first heard after the two shouts that open the work. Other formal features of the movement include an unusually long development section which includes a completely new theme for oboes in the remote key of E minor, a trigger-happy horn entry in the “wrong” key just before the recapitulation, and a long coda which functions as a second development section.

The second movement, entitled “Funeral March,” is one of the blackest, most intense expressions of grief ever written, grief on a heroic scale. The central fugato section suggests the grandeur of a classic Greek tragedy.

After this long, profoundly weighty movement, Beethoven recognized the need for something more than the standard graceful minuet to lift the spirits. Instead, we find a scherzo of driving rhythmic energy and inexorable momentum. Its central trio section is remarkable too, not only in its virtuosic use of horns spanning three octaves, but for the way in which it moves seamlessly back to the scherzo.

The finale – a theme with ten variations – uses for its theme the same one Beethoven had used earlier in his Prometheus ballet music. The theme makes its first appearance in the oboe and is repeated immediately by the violins. This happens not at the very outset of the movement, but several minutes later, when what originally seemed like the theme becomes merely the accompaniment for the true theme.

In contrast to the nameless critic who forecast dire failure for this symphony, let us conclude with the words of a far more astute writer, composer and former program annotator for the Cincinnati Symphony Jonathan Kramer: “Beethoven’s ambivalence toward [Napoleon] became transformed into a subjective statement on heroic birth, death, and rebirth. What Beethoven really buries (with his Funeral March) is not Bonaparte, nor even his own conflicting attitudes toward Napoleon, but the classical style in music. What is born is an overtly emotional music of unprecedented power and immediacy. The real hero of the Eroica is music itself.”

______________________________________

CD BONUS :

The Creatures of Prometheus, Op. 43 (Text by Yan Martel, narrated in french and english)

1. Ouverture /C’est assez! / No. VIII 15:11
2. Membres du jury / No. V / Dieux et déesses / Introduction 12:07
3. Majestés de l’univers / Finale / Quoi? 11:16
4. Overture / That’s enjough! / No. VIII 15:05
5. Members of the Jury / No. V / Gods and Goddesses / Introduction 11:48
6. Your majesties of the Universe / Finale / What? 10:56

Read more

About

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
Kent Nagano
AN 2 9987-8
AN 2 9987-8

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9838-9

Beethoven: Des Dieux, des Héros et des Hommes / CD EN PRIME: ALBUM AVEC NARRATION

Date de sortie 22 mars 2011
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9838-9
Periodes Classique

Informations sur l'album

Un mot de Kent Nagano

Le mythe de Prométhée symbolise l’esprit des Lumières. Il fut très populaire en France et en Allemagne au XVIIIe siècle. Il a d’abord permis de légitimer la montée de la bourgeoisie puis de justifier l’individualisme lié à l’esthétique et au culte du génie.

À travers l’esprit prométhéen, c’est un nouvel être humain, capable d’ordonner le monde à sa manière, qui prend forme. Napoléon Ier symbolise ce nouvel homme, lui qui mit en place de nouvelles règles en mettant fin à l’ordre ancien.

Pourtant, le mythe de Prométhée n’a jamais été intégré dans les productions musicales et théâtrales de cette époque, même si les héros de la mythologie classique jouaient un rôle central dans le répertoire opératique. Même les opéras de la Révolution française ne s’y sont pas attaqués.

En ce sens, Les créatures de Prométhée est encore plus saisissant. Conçu en 1800-1801 par Beethoven et le chorégraphe italien Salvatore Viganò (1768-1821), ce ballet échappe à toutes les traditions et est une véritable prise de position politique. La musique de Beethoven exprime son admiration pour «le Prométhée du siècle», titre dont Goethe et ses contemporains affublaient alors Bonaparte. Beethoven a fait de la contredanse en mi bémol, qui dérive d’une mélodie d’opérette, le fondement non seulement du finale du ballet, mais aussi de ses Variations pour piano en mi bémol majeur (opus 35) et du finale de sa Symphonie «héroïque».

Tout en voyant dans la musique de Beethoven un hommage au Napoléon à la recherche d’une société illusoire, on peut aussi percevoir ce personnage à multiples facettes comme la représentation d’un avenir meilleur, libéré des chaînes du passé.

Le personnage de Prométhée est un être de contradictions. Il incarne le changement de l’ordre établi et donc le progrès sous toutes ses formes (technologique, scientifique, culturel et de civilisation). Il représente cependant aussi une menace à l’ordre naturel.

Voilà pourquoi Prométhée fut puni, enchaîné à un rocher dans les montagnes du Caucase, condamné à ce qu’un aigle lui dévore le foie chaque jour.

Les progrès scientifiques et technologiques ont permis aux hommes d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie. Parallèlement, ils ont aussi créé bien des maux qui représentent de multiples défis à relever. Le «progrès» est réellement une question de vie et de mort.

Plusieurs contemporains ont vu en Napoléon Bonaparte l’incarnation de cette ambivalence. Il libéra et tua tout à la fois. L’histoire de la Symphonie «héroïque» incarne ces perceptions.

Nous savons que sans le progrès, notre style de vie ne résisterait pas. Pourtant, les contraintes excessives exercées sur les ressources et la percée des «secrets de la nature» poussent l’humanité au bord du gouffre.

Pour Beethoven, l’esprit prométhéen représentait l’espoir. Pour nous, il marque un avertissement, voire une malédiction…

Ludwig Van Beethoven: Les Créatures de Prométhée, opus 43 (extraits)

Quand on parle de musique de ballet, le nom de Beethoven ne vient pas automatiquement à l’esprit. L’unique ballet de grande envergure dont il a composé la musique, Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (Les Créatures de Prométhée), est l’une de ses œuvres orchestrales les moins connues, bien que l’ouverture seule soit souvent interprétée. Cependant, avant Prométhée, Beethoven avait déjà écrit une autre musique de ballet intitulée Musik zu einem Ritterballet, en 1791, alors qu’il habitait encore à Bonn. À l’époque, la musique de ce ballet équestre d’une dizaine de minutes a été attribuée au producteur du spectacle, le comte Ferdinand Waldstein, qui en avait commandé une représentation privée. Par conséquent, lorsque Beethoven a reçu la commande de la musique du ballet Prométhée, il faisait en fait ses débuts en tant que compositeur de musique pour la scène. Cette commande était d’autant plus attrayante pour lui que le ballet était destiné tout spécialement à l’impératrice Marie-Thérèse. La création a eu lieu le 28 mars 1801 au Burgtheater de Vienne.

À cette époque charnière entre le XVIIIe et le XIXe siècle, le ballet connaissait une vague de popularité à Vienne, et Beethoven saisit sans se faire prier cette occasion de travailler avec Salvatore Viganò, un chorégraphe très respecté et immensément populaire, y voyant l’occasion de se faire connaître comme compositeur de musique symphonique. (Jusque-là, ses principales œuvres orchestrales se limitaient à deux concertos pour piano et une symphonie).

La chorégraphie de Viganò innovait peut-être, par rapport aux gentilles badineries auxquelles les Viennois étaient habitués, mais la musique de Beethoven reste, assez étrangement, plus proche, d’un point de vue stylistique, du raffinement du classicisme viennois du XVIIIe siècle que des affirmations péremptoires du XIXe siècle. Il suffit de comparer la manière dont Beethoven a traité l’air qu’il a utilisé dans les deux œuvres, la petite contredanse populaire à laquelle Kent Nagano fait référence. Et le thème du ballet n’est pas vraiment «prométhéen». Certes, l’action est centrée sur le rôle-titre, mais il n’est pas question dans le ballet de rébellion, de punition, ni d’héroïsme, mais plutôt de la dignité suscitée par les arts et les émotions humaines.

Symphonie no 3 en mi bémol majeur, opus 55, «héroïque»

Les critiques émettent souvent des opinions ensuite infirmées par l’histoire, mais aucune ne l’a été davantage que celle soutenue par un auteur britannique, en 1829 : «La Symphonie “héroïque” de Beethoven est d’une longueur infinie […]. Si cette symphonie n’est pas abrégée d’une manière ou d’une autre, elle tombera bientôt en désuétude.» Cette opinion n’a pas été formulée sans réfléchir, sous l’impulsion du moment, immédiatement après la création de l’œuvre, mais bien près d’un quart de siècle plus tard. Et pourtant, peu de symphonies se sont taillé une place aussi solide dans le répertoire que la Symphonie « héroïque »… Beethoven disait lui-même qu’elle était la préférée de ses symphonies (bien qu’il ait énoncé ce point de vue avant d’avoir composé sa Neuvième). Quant à sa longueur (de 50 à 55 minutes), il s’agissait de loin de la plus longue symphonie composée jusque-là, mais il est inconcevable qu’un chef d’orchestre puisse y faire la moindre coupure, tant chacune des notes de la partition fait partie intégrante de la structure. Beethoven a écrit la majeure partie de cette symphonie à la fin de l’année 1803 (certaines esquisses datent de l’année précédente), et l’a terminée au début de l’année 1804. Après plusieurs exécutions privées, la première prestation publique a eu lieu au Theater an der Wien le 7 avril 1805, sous la direction du compositeur.

En envergure et en ampleur, la Symphonie «héroïque» dépasse de loin toutes les œuvres de ce genre qui ont été composées auparavant. Son langage harmonique était très avancé, pour l’époque. Ses rythmes extrêmement marqués et sa surabondance de «choquantes» dissonances en ont troublé plus d’un, lors des premières exécutions de l’œuvre. Dans le premier mouvement, Beethoven a considérablement accentué les dimensions de la forme sonate-allegro. Plutôt que d’avoir recours à deux thèmes bien définis, il a utilisé pas moins de huit motifs de base. La pierre angulaire de ces motifs est le thème triadique des violoncelles entendu pour la première fois après les deux cris qui ouvrent l’œuvre. Parmi les autres caractéristiques formelles de ce mouvement, mentionnons une section de développement d’une longueur inhabituelle, qui comprend un thème entièrement nouveau pour les hautbois dans la tonalité éloignée de mi mineur, l’entrée impulsive du cor dans la «mauvaise» tonalité, juste avant la récapitulation, et enfin une longue coda qui prend l’allure d’une seconde section de développement.

Le deuxième mouvement, sous-titré Marche funèbre, est l’une des plus sombres et des plus intenses expressions de douleur jamais écrites, une douleur d’envergure héroïque… La fugue centrale évoque la grandeur d’une tragédie grecque classique.

Après ce mouvement long et profondément lourd, Beethoven se rendit compte qu’il fallait autre chose que l’habituel menuet gracieux, pour remonter le moral des troupes. Il proposa donc un scherzo à l’énergie rythmique impérieuse et au dynamisme inexorable. Le trio central est également remarquable, non seulement grâce à l’utilisation virtuose des cors, qui couvrent trois octaves, mais aussi en raison du retour si harmonieux vers le scherzo.

Pour le finale – un thème suivi de 10 variations – Beethoven emprunte le thème qu’il avait utilisé pour la musique du ballet Les Créatures de Prométhée. Ce thème est d’abord énoncé par le hautbois, puis il est immédiatement répété par les violons. Ceci ne se produit pas au tout début du mouvement, mais plusieurs minutes plus tard, alors que ce qui semblait être le thème devient simplement l’accompagnement du vrai thème.

À la différence du critique anonyme qui a prédit l’échec désastreux de cette symphonie, concluons en citant un auteur bien plus astucieux, le compositeur et ancien musicologue de Cincinnati Symphony, Jonathan Kramer: «L’ambivalence de Beethoven à l’égard de [Napoléon] s’est transformée en un exposé subjectif sur la naissance, la mort et la renaissance d’un héros. Ce que Beethoven enterre réellement (avec sa Marche funèbre) n’est pas Bonaparte, ni même ses propres attitudes contradictoires envers Napoléon, mais plutôt le style classique de la musique. On assiste à la naissance d’une musique qui laisse libre cours aux émotions, une musique d’une puissance et d’une immédiateté sans précédent. Le vrai héros de la Symphonie “héroïque” est la musique elle-même.»

______________________________________

CD BONUS :

Les Créatures de Prométhée, op. 43 (texte de Yan Martel, narration française et anglaise)

1. Ouverture /C’est assez! / No. VIII 15:11
2. Membres du jury / No. V / Dieux et déesses / Introduction 12:07
3. Majestés de l’univers / Finale / Quoi? 11:16
4. Overture / That’s enjough! / No. VIII 15:05
5. Members of the Jury / No. V / Gods and Goddesses / Introduction 11:48
6. Your majesties of the Universe / Finale / What? 10:56

Lire la suite

À propos

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM)
Kent Nagano
AN 2 9130
AN 2 9130

Start typing and press Enter to search