fbpx
AN DVD5 9113

Pavarotti : Christmas at Notre-Dame

Release date November 07, 2006
Album code AN DVD5 9113
Periods Hors période
Genres Musique vocale

Album information

Pavarotti’s Montréal Christmas
Prelude to a global media phenomenon

He was born with a unique voice—a brilliant, pure timbre of incomparable richness. And he learned very young how to use it. “Of course I love Verdi and Puccini,” Pavarotti once said, “but my voice loves Donizetti. Bel canto is the best medicine for the voice because it requires discipline and qualities such as agility, flexibility, a perfectly concentrated sound that flows sweetly and smoothly, a homogenous colour, and the ability to sing long, expressive legati without using portamento, and, above all, without ever exaggerating or sounding forced. All singers should possess such qualities.”

Born in 1935 in Modena, Luciano Pavarotti trained at this school of bel canto with well-known masters such as Arrigo Pola and Ettore Campogalliani. From the start of his career, however, he also mastered the great verismo roles for spinto tenor, but without resorting to the use of portamenti and melodramatic effects. In 1961, at the age of 26, he made his Italian début in the role of Rodolfo, the romantic young poet in Puccini’s La Bohème. Before the decade was out, he had conquered the world’s greatest stages, often with this very role, whose definitive performance he gave in 1972 in a legendary recording with the Berlin Philharmonic under Herbert von Karajan. In another memorable recording that same year, he sang the role of Calaf in Turandot, which also featured Joan Sutherland and Monserrat Caballé with the London Philharmonic under Zubin Metha.

Pavarotti’s meteoric international rise to fame began in 1963, when he stepped in at the last minute for the great Guiseppi di Stefano at the London’s Covent Garden. There, he met Joan Sutherland and her husband, conductor Richard Bonynge. Thus began a fruitful collaboration with the diva in which young Pavarotti reacquainted opera-goers with a number of the great bel canto tenor roles—long distorted by generations of heavy verismo tenors—such as Edgardo in Lucia di Lammermoor, Elvino in La sonnambula and, especially, Tonio in La Fille du regiment. Pavarotti’s electrifying performance of this latter role at the Covent Garden in 1966 (with its famous aria “Ah, mes amis, quel jour de fête” containing no fewer than nine high Cs) was followed soon thereafter by a recording of the opera. This would be the start of a longstanding association with the Decca label, which introduced Pavarotti to the world as “King of the High Cs.”

In the 1970s and 80s, with his voice in full bloom, Pavarotti took on more tragic roles, revealing an innate capacity to convey emotion with both his voice and highly expressive face; these skills also allowed listeners to overlook acting abilities that were hindered by his expansive corpulence. One of the high points of this rich period was certainly the 1982 recording of Verdi’s Un ballo in maschera under the direction of Georg Solti and featuring Margaret Price, Renato Bruson, Christa Ludwig and Kathleen Battle.

1990 marked an important change in media for Pavarotti. To celebrate the miraculous recovery from leukemia of his friend and colleague José Carreras, and to raise funds for the leukemia research centre founded by Carreras, Pavarotti joined with Carreras and Placido Domingo to perform in an open-air concert in Rome before tens of thousands of people at the opening of the FIFA World Cup. Broadcast around the globe on television, the concert was a worldwide bestseller on video, and later on DVD, and launched the phenomenon of the “three tenors,” who performed together several more times over the course of the decade.

But more so than the other two, Pavarotti took a liking to “world media event” concerts in large venues such as London’s Hyde Park, which could accommodate crowds surpassing one-hundred-thousand people. In Italy, he founded Pavarotti & Friends, an annual fundraising concert for victims of conflict throughout the world. The first in this series was prompted in 1993 by the Bosnian conflict; ten years later, the funds raised went to Iraq. In these mega-spectacles, Pavarotti the classical musician often collaborated with stars from the world of pop music, alienating many purists. It must nevertheless be recognized that the Pavarotti phenomenon greatly contributed to the popularity of opera around the world.

***

But it was in Montréal in 1978—long before the “three tenors” or Pavarotti & Friends—that the man with the golden voice performed one of his first grand televised concerts to be broadcast internationally. The man originally behind this event was Jean-Yves Hardy, then in charge of public development for the brand new National Arts Centre in Ottawa. Hardy’s initial goal was to bring Pavarotti to Ottawa in 1975 at the request of a friend who had recently been appointed president of the Ontario Federation of Credit Unions and who wanted something out of the ordinary to close the association’s annual general meeting. But Pavarotti’s agent stipulated that he also perform in Montréal, so Hardy found himself planning not one but two concerts. The success of these performances was the start of a great friendship between the Italian tenor and the budding Québec producer. Pavarotti returned to sing in Montréal in 1976 and 1977, and on several occasions invited Hardy to hear him perform at the Metropolitan Opera and to his luxury apartment in New York.

But on the way to the airport after the 1977 recital, Pavarotti told his friend that he could not see himself returning for a fourth consecutive year to give yet another recital with piano accompaniment. So Hardy suggested that the singer perform the Christmas album he had recorded the previous year, but in a concert with choir and orchestra that would be recorded on video. Although the video market was then only in its infancy, Pavarotti accepted immediately; in less than a year, Hardy secured a co-production between a limited partnership he founded especially for the concert and Société Radio-Canada. He himself took care of bringing together in Notre-Dame Basilica the head organist Pierre Grandmaison, the choir of the Disciples de Massenet, the Petits Chanteurs du Mont-Royal, and some of Montréal’s finest orchestral musicians under the baton of maestro Franz-Paul Decker.

Producer Jean-Yves Landry pulled out all the stops to turn the concert into an exceptional audio-visual document. For the first time, an arts broadcast used special lenses that had been previously reserved for sporting events such as the Montréal Olympics, for which Radio-Canada had been the official broadcaster two years earlier. Recorded on September 21, 1978, the concert was initially broadcast on Radio-Canada for Christmas 1979, in the U.S. on PBS in 1982, and later around the world, before being marketed as a video.

Recently, however, Hardy digitally enhanced the video for transfer onto DVD. And although stereo television did not exist at the time of the recording, one of the sound technicians had the brilliant idea of creating a stereo recording along with the mono track. This previously unused stereo audio track, which Hardy subsequently enhanced to Dolby 5.1, is featured on this new improved DVD edition of the concert, which Analeka is extremely proud to release.

Read more

About

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN DVD5 9113

Pavarotti : Noël à Notre-Dame

Interprètes
Date de sortie 07 novembre 2006
Numéro de l'album AN DVD5 9113
Periodes Hors période
Genres Musique vocale

Informations sur l'album

Le Noël de Pavarotti à Montréal :
Avant-première d’un phénomène médiatique planétaire

Il y eut d’abord cette voix unique, au timbre d’airain d’une pureté et d’une richesse incomparable. Et il y eut aussi très tôt l’art de la mettre en valeur.  » J’aime certes Verdi et Puccini, confia un jour Pavarotti, mais ma voix aime Donizetti. Le bel canto est la meilleure médecine pour la voix, à cause de la discipline et des nombreuses qualités qu’il exige : l’agilité, l’élasticité, un son parfaitement concentré, qui s’écoule doucement et sans heurt, une couleur homogène, la capacité à filer de longs legati expressifs sans avoir recours à des portamenti et, ce qui est le plus important, sans jamais exagérer quoi que ce soit ou donner l’impression de forcer. Tous les chanteurs se doivent de posséder ces qualités. « 

C’est à cette école du bel canto que Luciano Pavarotti, né à Modène en 1935, se forma auprès de maîtres réputés comme Arrigo Pola et Ettore Campogalliani. Mais dès le début de sa carrière, il sut aussi maîtriser les grands rôles véristes de ténor spinto, mais en évitant justement les portamenti et les effets larmoyants trop marqués. En 1961, à l’âge de 26 ans, il fait ses débuts en Italie dans le rôle de Rodolfo, le jeune écrivain romantique de La Bohème de Puccini. Avant la fin de la décennie, il conquiert les plus grandes scènes du monde en reprenant souvent ce rôle avant d’en immortaliser son interprétation, en 1972, dans un enregistrement légendaire avec le Philharmonique de Berlin sous la direction de Karajan. La même année, il tient le rôle de Calaf dans un enregistrement tout aussi mémorable de Turandot, mettant aussi en vedette Joan Sutherland et Monserrat Caballé, avec le Philharmonique de Londres sous la direction de Zubin Metha.

Mais le point de départ de cette fulgurante ascension internationale avait été, dès 1963, le remplacement à pied levé du grand Di Steffano au Covent Garden de Londres. Pavarotti y fait alors la rencontre de Joan Sutherland et de son mari, le chef d’orchestre Richard Bonynge. Une fructueuse collaboration avec la diva permet au jeune Pavarotti de faire redécouvrir aux mélomanes plusieurs grands rôles de ténor belcantistes déformés par des générations de véristes lourds : Edgardo dans Lucia de Lammermoor, Elvino dans La Somnambule et, surtout, Tonio dans La Fille du régiment, avec son fameux air  » Ah, mes amis, quel jour de fête « , comprenant pas moins de neuf contre-ut. L’électrisante prise de rôle au Covent Garden en 1966 fut immédiatement suivie en 1967 d’un enregistrement, début d’une indéfectible association avec la compagnie Decca qui le présente alors au monde entier comme le  » roi des contre-ut « .

Dans les années 1970-80, au faîte de sa maturité vocale, Pavarotti aborde des rôles plus tragiques, révélant une capacité inouïe à faire passer l’émotion dans une voix et un visage des plus expressifs, faisant oublier sa corpulence expansive limitant son jeu d’acteur. Un des sommets de cette riche période fut certainement l’enregistrement en 1982 du Bal masqué de Verdi sous la direction de Georg Solti, en compagnie de Margaret Price, Renato Bruson, Christa Ludwig et Kathleen Battle.

1990 marque un important virage médiatique. Pour fêter le retour à la santé de son collègue et ami José Carreras, miraculeux rescapé d’une leucémie, et pour amasser des fonds pour le centre de recherche qu’il avait par la suite fondé, Pavarotti participe avec lui et Placido Domingo à un concert en plein air présenté à Rome devant des dizaines de milliers de personnes lors de l’ouverture de la coupe du monde de football. Diffusé par la télévision à travers le monde, ce concert devait connaître un succès planétaire sous forme de vidéocassette et, éventuellement de DVD. Ce fut le point de départ du phénomène des  » trois ténors  » qui au cours de la décennie récidiveront à quelques reprises.

Mais plus que les deux autres, Pavarotti prendra goût aux concerts médiatisés à l’échelle planétaire dans de grands espaces comme le Hyde Park de Londres, pouvant recevoir des foules dépassant les cent mille personnes. Chez lui, en Italie, il fonde Pavarotti & Friends, un spectacle annuel dont le but est de ramasser des fonds pour les victimes de conflits à travers le monde. La première édition avait été inspirée en 1993 par le drame de la Bosnie; dix ans plus tard, c’était pour venir en aide à l’Iraq. Dans ces méga-spectacles, le musicien classique multiplie les collaborations avec des vedettes du monde pop, s’aliénant ainsi plusieurs puristes. Mais force est de reconnaître que le phénomène Pavarotti aura grandement contribué à populariser l’opéra à travers le monde.

***

Mais, bien avant les  » trois ténors  » ou Pavarotti & Friends, c’est à Montréal qu’en 1978 l’homme à la voix d’or fit l’une de ses premières expériences de grand concert télévisé appelé à connaître une diffusion internationale. À l’origine se trouve un individu étonnant, Jean-Yves Hardy, qui à l’époque des premières démarches, était en charge du développement du jeune public au tout nouveau Centre National des Arts d’Ottawa. C’est d’ailleurs à Ottawa qu’en 1975 Hardy avait d’abord voulu faire venir Pavarotti à la demande d’un ami mélomane qui venait d’accéder à la présidence de la Fédération des caisses populaires d’Ontario et qui cherchait un événement sortant de l’ordinaire pour clôturer l’assemblée annuelle de l’association. Mais l’agent de Pavarotti ayant exigé que son protégé se produise aussi à Montréal, ce n’est pas un, mais deux récitals que Jean-Yves Hardy eut à planifier. Leur réussite fut le début d’une grande amitié entre le ténor italien et le producteur en herbe québécois. Pavarotti accepta de revenir chanter à Montréal en 1976 et 1977 et invita plus d’une fois Hardy à venir l’entendre lorsqu’il se produisait au Metropolitain Opera, le recevant par la même occasion dans le luxueux appartement qu’il avait alors à New York.

Mais, après le récital de 1977, sur le chemin de l’aéroport, Pavarotti confia à son ami qu’il ne se voyait pas revenir une quatrième année de suite présenter encore une fois un simple récital avec piano. Hardy lui lança alors : pourquoi ne pas reprendre l’album de Noël que le chanteur avait fait l’année précédente, mais en un concert avec chœur et orchestre qui serait capté sur vidéo. Il faut se rappeler qu’à l’époque, le marché de la vidéo en était à ses premiers balbutiements. Mais Pavarotti accepta sur le champ et, en moins d’un an, notre hardi organisateur réussit à arrimer une co-production entre une société en commandite qu’il fonda pour l’occasion et la Société Radio-Canada. Il s’occupa lui-même de rassembler à la basilique Notre-Dame, autour de l’organiste titulaire Pierre Grandmaison, le chœur des Disciples de Massenet, les Petits Chanteurs du Mont-Royal et une phalange des meilleurs musiciens d’orchestre de Montréal sous la direction du maestro Franz-Paul Decker.

De son côté, le réalisateur Jean-Yves Landry ne ménagea pas ses efforts pour faire de cette production un document visuellement exceptionnel. Entre autres choses, il utilisa pour la première fois dans une émission culturelle des lentilles spéciales réservées jusque-là aux programmes sportifs comme les olympiques présentées à Montréal deux ans plus tôt et dont la Société Radio-Canada avait été le diffuseur officiel.

L’émission fut enregistrée le 21 septembre 1978. Elle fut diffusée une première fois à Radio-Canada pour Noël 1979, aux Etats-Unis à PBS en 1982 et, depuis, a fait le tour du monde avant d’être commercialisée en vidéocassette.

Mais récemment, Jean-Yves Hardy a fait rehausser la qualité de l’image numériquement pour la transférer en DVD. Quant à la piste sonore, si à l’époque la stéréo n’existait pas encore à la télévision, un des techniciens du son avait toutefois eu la bonne idée d’en faire en parallèle une seconde captation stéréo. Et c’est cette bande sonore stéréo inédite que Hardy a de plus fait bonifier en Dolby 5.1 pour cette nouvelle édition DVD améliorée dont Analekta est fier d’être le diffuseur.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search