fbpx

Album information

SERATA D’AMORE

Serata d’Amore… A romantic evening is not complete without music : traditional Neapolitan songs perhaps, or maybe a few operatic arias, beautiful melodies that tune the ear and warm the heart with an amalgam of souvenirs. This album was born from a series of performances given by Gino Quilico last summer, in which he offered a journey through various eras, composer and genres. While the original concept included of songs in both French and English, the singer chose to detach himself from them and converge back towards his roots in Italy where, as a child every weekend in the car between Rome and Ostia, he would intone arias of Tosti and traditional ballads along with the warm baritone of his father Louis and the accordion of his mother, Carolina Pizzolongo.

The album is infused with youth but doesn’t want to recall nostalgia, or become an object frozen in time, an old postcard looked at from time to time. With the arrangements of Dominic Boulianne, the titles of the album, all picked by Gino with the utmost delicacy, flow from Chopin to Tosti, Rossini to Dalla, and Mozart to Aznavour. They have been loved for years, and will remain to be hummed for decades to come. One will find treasures such as two of Tosti’s 500 popular parlour ballads, and an aria from Mozart’s Don Giovanni in which the great seducer charms his lady from under a balcony with a simple mandolin. The eternal O sole mio, Santa Lucia and Torna a Surriento, all of which he remembers his father singing in a Venetian gondola after a late night, are also part of the selection.
Rossini’s explosive Neapolitan Tarantella, “La Danza”, eighth song of the cycle Les soirées musicales, has seduced many composers ever since its inception in 1835. Franz Liszt transcribed it for the piano, Ottorino Respighi integrated it to his ballet La Boutique Fantasque, and Chopin took inspiration from it for his Tarentella Op. 43. The arrangement proposed here designed to enhance accordionist Alexander Sevastian’s extraordinary virtuosity.

Parla Pui Piano, another song launched with an immediate success, was taken from Nino Rota’s soundtrack for The Godfather, but had already been used in Fortunella in 1958, therefore precluding it from an Oscar nomination for best soundtrack in 1972. The prestigious prize was however given to him for Speak Softly Love two years later for The Godfather II.

The author, composer, pianist and clarinetist Lucio Dalla first became successful in 1960. Equally a composer for cinema and television, Dalla caused a fantastic worldwide tidal wave with Caruso, an homage to the famous tenor, sold at over nine million copies. Singer Dalida will notably reissue his song 4/3/1943 in French under the title Jésus bambino.

“Il Reuccio della canzone italiana”, the king of the Italian song, Claudio Villa, who also popularized Arrivederci Roma, produced a single of Non Pensare en me, a duet collaboration of Eros Sciorilli and Alberto Testa that was deemed to win the grand prize of the 17th Festival of Sanremo. The song additionally exists in various languages, including a French (Quand tu t’en iras), Russian, Portuguese, as well as English (Time Alone Will Tell) versions.

As Guido Maria Ferilli’s most popular song, Un Amore Così Grande was first popularized by Mario del Monaco, and more recently by Luciano Pavarotti (in a symphonic arrangement by Henry Mancini) et Andrea Bocelli. It was originally written in 1976 as a request from Detto Mariano, the orchestration coordinator for Mario del Monaco.

The Etude Op. 10 No. 3 by Chopin was first referred to as “Tristesse”, meaning sadness, by an editor profoundly touched by the piece. Chopin himself used to state that never again would he compose something as beautiful, and whilst it has been adapted numerous times by famous composers such as Edgardo Donato in the tango La Melodia del Corazón sung by Tino Rossi in French and Giuseppe di Stefano in Italian for instance, this extremely vocal melody persists in haunting listeners with a profound melancholy.

And a romantic night would not be complete without a page dedicated to a beloved one, which is why Gino Quilico integrated in the album Charles Aznavour’s Lei, which was first entitled She in 1974 as the theme of the British televison series Seven Faces of Woman. It was also recorded in French (Tous les visages de l’amour), as well as German and Spanish. Lei is amongst his wife Sara’s favourite arias.

© Lucie Renaud
Translation : Marie Dubeau-Labbé

Read more

About

AN 7 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 7 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 7 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 7 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM

Start typing and press Enter to search

New Jewish Music / Nouvelle musique juive, Vol. 1 - Azrieli Music PrizesOvation | Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

SERATA D’AMORE

Serata d’Amore… Qui dit soirée d’amour pense aussitôt musique : des chansons traditionnelles napolitaines peut-être, un ou deux airs d’opéra, des mélodies porteuses surtout, qui se logent dans l’oreille d’abord, puis s’immiscent dans le coeur, autant de souvenirs qui se déposent, se superposent, se mêlent à d’autres. Cet album est né d’une série de spectacles donnés par Gino Quilico l’été dernier, dans laquelle il proposait un voyage à travers les époques, les compositeurs et les genres, narration au deuxième degré, paysage sentimental. Si le concept original comprenait également des pièces en français et en anglais, le chanteur a choisi de retourner d’une certaine façon à ses origines, de se rappeler l’Italie de jadis. Chaque weekend, sur la banquette arrière de la voiture, entre Rome et Ostia, le jeune Quilico entonnait des airs de Tosti et des chants traditionnels. Le chaud baryton de son père Louis et le petit accordéon de sa mère, Carolina Pizzolongo, soutenant sa voix enfantine.

S’il a souhaité insuffler à cet album un certain parfum de jeunesse, il n’a pas voulu en tirer un objet figé dans le temps, carte postale jaunie qu’on manipule une fois de temps en temps, avec nostalgie. Portés par les arrangements de Dominic Boulianne, les titres retenus permettent de dérouler un fil conducteur, de Chopin à Tosti, de Rossini à Dalla, de Mozart à Aznavour, des chants d’autrefois que l’on fredonne encore aujourd’hui aux plages plus récentes, que l’on continuera d’aimer dans quatre ou cinq décennies. Gino Quilico les a choisies une par une, avec délicatesse, avec tendresse. On retrouvera par exemple deux bijoux de Tosti, à qui l’on doit plus de 500 romances de salon, un air de Don Giovanni de Mozart plus dépouillé, dans lequel le grand séducteur charme la belle au balcon accompagné d’une simple mandoline, ainsi que les éternels O sole mio, Santa Lucia et Torna sorriento, qu’il se rappelle avoir entendu chanté par son père, après une soirée arrosée, dans une gondole vénitienne.

Tarentelle napolitaine explosive, huitième chanson du cycle Les soirées musicales, « La Danza » de Rossini a séduit depuis sa création en 1835 nombre de compositeurs. Franz Liszt l’a transcrite pour piano, Ottorino Respighi intégrée à son ballet La Boutique fantasque et Chopin s’en est inspiré dans sa Tarentelle opus 43. L’arrangement proposé ici a été conçu pour mettre en valeur l’extraordinaire virtuosité de l’accordéoniste Alexander Sevastian.

Autre chanson qui devait connaître un succès instantané, Parla piu piano est tirée de la bande originale composée par Nino Rota pour Le Parrain, thème déjà utilisé dans Fortunellaen 1958, ce qui a empêché la pièce d’être mise en nomination pour l’Oscar pour la meilleure musique de film en 1972. La prestigieuse statuette serait remise à Speak Softly Love deux ans plus tard, lors de la sortie du Parrain 2.

Auteur-compositeur-interprète, pianiste, clarinettiste, Lucio Dalla a connu ses premiers succès dès les années 1960. (4/3/1943 sera notamment reprise en français sous le titre Jésus bambino par Dalida.) Également compositeur de musique pour le cinéma et la télévision, il devait causer un véritable raz-de-marée planétaire avec Caruso, hommage au célèbre ténor, vendu à plus de 9 millions d’exemplaires.

Collaboration du duo Eros Sciorilli et Alberto Testa, Non pensare a me devait remporter le grand prix du 17e Festival de Sanremo, telle que chantée par Claudio Villa (qui rendra aussi célèbre Arrivederci Roma). « Il Reuccio della canzone italiana » (le roitelet de la chanson italienne) en tirerait un simple en janvier 1967. Il en existe également des versions en français (Quand tu t’en iras), en russe, en portugais et en anglais (Time Alone Will Tell).

Sans conteste la mélodie la plus renommée de Guido Maria Ferilli, Un Amore così grande a été d’abord popularisée par Mario del Monaco, puis plus récemment par Luciano Pavarotti (dans un habillage symphonique d’Henry Mancini) et Andrea Bocelli. Elle a été écrite en 1976 à la demande de Detto Mariano, maître d’oeuvre des orchestrations de Mario del Monaco.

Surnommée « Tristesse » par un éditeur, profondément ému par cet air dont Chopin lui-même disait qu’il n’écrirait jamais quelque chose de plus beau, l’Étude opus 10 no 3 a été adaptée à de nombreuses reprises, notamment par Edgardo Donato dans le tango La melodia del corazón, Tino Rossi (en français) et Giuseppe di Stefano (en italien). Peu importe l’arrangement, la langue, cette mélodie foncièrement vocale continue de hanter, instillant une profonde mélancolie chez l’auditeur.

Une soirée d’amour ne saurait être complète sans une page dédiée à celle que l’on aime. C’est pourquoi Gino Quilico a intégré ici Lei (Elle) de Charles Aznavour, d’abord parue sous le titre de She en 1974, thème de la série télévisée britannique Seven Faces of Woman, enregistrée également en français (Tous les visages de l’amour), allemand et espagnol, l’un des airs préférés de sa femme Sara.

© Lucie Renaud

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM
AN 2 8799 Octuor Schubert Solistes OSM

Start typing and press Enter to search

New Jewish Music / Nouvelle musique juive, Vol. 1 - Azrieli Music PrizesOvation | Angèle Dubeau & La Pietà