fbpx
AN 2 8778 Reincarnation

Reincarnation: Schubert - Messiaen

Performers
Release date November 06, 2020
Album code AN 2 8778
Genres Piano

Album information

This album was conceived when I was 18 years old, at an important turning point in my life. Back then, as a sophomore at Yale College and at somewhat of a crossroads, I took my first class in architecture and fell deeply in love with it. After years of performing and mastering the art of the keyboard, beginning something new from scratch felt unsettling. But it was a process that, though frightening, felt right.

My first mentor in architecture was Professor Kent Bloomer, generally considered one of the greatest living American sculptors and designers. After hearing about my career in music, he generously took me under his wing to begin a long-standing conversation about ornamentation in architecture and in music. Discussions of how rhythm, melody, and harmony translate to built structures naturally brought together one chapter of my life with the next in a way that felt almost cyclical. Out of this emerged a wellspring of inspiration and important new perspectives – the results of which are reflected in this recording.

The two pieces on this album, both part of larger circular anthologies, convey the cyclical notion of end and of beginning: reincarnation.

While Schubert’s Sonata in B-flat represents a bittersweet and painful negotiation with death in a moment where his life is fading, Messiaen’s Première communion de la Vierge celebrates the overwhelming joy of new life and birth. The two works are connected by the B-flat major chord, which both triumphantly marks the end of Schubert’s sonata and opens Messiaen’s piece, this time notated with a piano dynamic and marked intérieur.

Schubert’s constant wavering between the narrative of the past and dreams of a new life – evoked through his rapid and oscillating tonal changes – arguably conveys the struggle of detaching from the human world without a sense of resolution. Yet the finale, composed before the first movement, seems to end with a confident acceptance and embrace of death, a vigour that parallels the outbursts of joy in Messiaen’s work.

Although fundamentally a still, meditative contemplation, Première communion de la Vierge explores the divine mystery of the birth of Jesus and of “the Word made flesh” through climactic episodes characterized by rhythmic and animated repetitions of the same three chords, which Messiaen said represent the “theme of God.” This theme underpins the entire piece, occasionally interwoven with birdsong and flickering lights, and forms the basis of a spiritual outlook on the phenomenon of birth and creation.

Though the works are starkly different in style and time period, I felt that, together, they create a singular narrative of cycle and reconstruction, a process deeply evocative of the human condition throughout history, including my own personal path.

In bringing together Schubert and Messiaen, this album intends to bring to light those profound and fundamental human sentiments that I hope the listener can identify with, sentiments that we, as a society, can find solace in.

This album would not have been possible without the mentorship of great masters, Maestro Alfred Brendel, Melvin Chen, Rita Wagner, and Peter Frankl, whose exceptional artistry and wisdom have continuously inspired and fueled this work.

I would also like to give a special thanks to my family, Mari Kodama, Momo Kodama and Kent Nagano, for opening the doors to the musical arts and for their unwavering support, love and guidance.

Sincerely,
Karin

Franz Schubert: Sonata in B-flat Major, D. 960 (1828)

In both his life and work, Franz Schubert was the perfect archetype for the emerging Romantic century. He led a bohemian life that eschewed bourgeois conventions, spending his days composing and his evenings carousing. He died young, at the age of 31, leaving behind an immense body of work, much of which was entirely unknown beyond his inner circle.

The Piano Sonata in B-flat Major, D. 960 is one of three large-scale sonatas Schubert wrote in the final year of his life. These sonatas were composed simultaneously, beginning with initial drafts in the spring of 1828 and concluding with final revisions in September, just two months before his death. As such, the sonatas share deep thematic and tonal connections that have long fascinated musicologists and performers.

As with so much of Schubert’s music, themes of death and mortality seem to abound. The first two movements especially are imbued with a meditative, pensive quality suggestive of the composer contemplating his own demise. Indeed, one can hardly avoid such an interpretation of the ominous G-flat trill in the opening of the first movement, and heard again before the repeat of the exposition – especially when considered in the context of, for instance, Schubert’s early setting of Goethe’s haunting The Erlking, or the variations on the melody from Death and the Maiden, in the eponymous D Minor string quartet. Yet this same “fateful” G-flat trill has purely musical implications as well, presaging the formal importance of G-flat as a key area in both the first movement and the movements that follow.

The Sonata in B-flat Major, along with its two companions, is the culmination of Schubert’s grand and expansive formal designs in his larger works. In his exploration of ever more remote key areas, in the prominence of melodic line and its development, and in the continual return to extramusical themes at once personal and universal, Schubert provided an important model for the generation of composers that followed.

Olivier Messiaen: Première communion de la vierge

from Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus (1944)

French composer Olivier Messiaen was a devout Roman Catholic as well as an avid collector of birdsong. These consuming passions, along with a keen interest in Hinduism and numerology, help define his highly personal musical language. It is an idiom rich with modernist complexities used in the service of an intensely personal expression of faith – religious fervency fused to predetermined musical techniques. Or, as musicologist William W. Austen noted, a “strange combination of novel intellectual challenge and old-fashioned emotional indulgence.”

These myriad traits are present in Première communion de la vierge (The Virgin’s First Communion), the eleventh movement from Messiaen’s monumental 1944 work for solo piano, Vingt regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus (Twenty Glances on the Child Jesus). The work was initially begun after a request for 12 short piano pieces to accompany a radio broadcast of Nativity poetry. However, at over two hours in length, the work far eclipsed its modest original purpose.

This is one of Messiaen’s most intense and spiritual scores. Messiaen wrote extensively about his own works and musical language, noting, “They express the various contemplations of the child Jesus in the crib and glances which are bestowed upon him; from the inexpressible Glances of the Father to the manifold Glances of the Church of Love, through the unparalleled Glances of the Spirit of Joy.”

© Joseph Stillwell

Read more

About

Karin Kei Nagano
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 8778 Reincarnation

Réincarnation : Schubert - Messiaen

Interprètes
Date de sortie 06 novembre 2020
Numéro de l'album AN 2 8778
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Cet album a été conçu à un moment clé de ma trajectoire alors que j’avais dix-huit ans. Encore étudiante en deuxième année à l’Université de Yale, je venais de suivre mon premier cours d’architecture ; de là naquit une grande et profonde passion. Après plusieurs années d’études rigoureuses en musique, chercher à maîtriser une forme d’art complètement différente me paraissait presque insurmontable, mais la bonne voie à suivre.

Néanmoins, j’ai eu la grande chance d’être soutenue tout au long de mon parcours, notamment par mon grand mentor, le Professeur Kent Bloomer, considéré comme un des grands sculpteurs et designers américains vivants. Dès notre première rencontre, nous avons entamé une longue discussion sur les liens entre l’architecture et la musique, sur la manière dont les notions de rythme, de mélodie et d’harmonie peuvent être appliquées au sein d’une structure bâtie. Ces réflexions m’ont permis de passer d’un chapitre de ma vie au prochain, sans avoir besoin de tourner la page, de façon presque cyclique. Elles m’ont également ouvert de nouvelles perspectives – que j’ai tenté d’aborder dans cet album.

Les deux oeuvres interprétées dans cet enregistrement font partie d’un ensemble circulaire plus vaste ; elles évoquent la notion cyclique de la fin et du début : la réincarnation.

Tandis que la Sonate en si bémol de Schubert représente une négociation douloureuse et amère avec la mort, alors que le compositeur approchait la fin de sa vie, la Première Communion de la Vierge de Messiaen célèbre la joie glorieuse de la naissance et de la vie nouvelle. Les oeuvres sont liées par l’accord en si bémol majeur qui marque la fin triomphante de la sonate et qui ouvre également la Première Communion de la Vierge, cette fois-ci indiqué par la nuance piano et l’indication intérieur.

À travers sa sonate remplie de changements brusques et oscillatoires de tonalités, Schubert semble évoquer à la fois le souvenir du passé et l’illusion du futur, révélant ainsi sa lutte contre l’éventualité de quitter le monde humain sans avoir atteint de résolution. Néanmoins, sa finale, composée avant son premier mouvement, laisse percevoir une défaite glorieuse contre la mort, dotée d’une énergie également présente parmi les éclats de joie qui marquent la Première Communion de la Vierge.

Malgré sa nature méditative et contemplative, la Première Communion de la Vierge explore le mystère divin de la naissance de Jésus et de la « Parole faite chair » à travers quelques points culminants caractérisés par la répétition rythmique et accélérée de trois accords, qui représentent d’après Messiaen le « thème de Dieu ». Ce « thème de Dieu » revient à plusieurs reprises, parfois entrelacé avec des chants d’oiseaux et des lumières stalactites ; il sert de fil conducteur qui mène un regard spirituel sur le phénomène de la naissance et de la création.

Malgré les contrastes stylistiques qui distinguent les deux oeuvres, je souhaitais les associer sur cet album afin d’évoquer les thèmes du cycle et de la reconstruction, qui ont depuis toujours caractérisé la nature humaine, ainsi que ma propre trajectoire.

En mariant la musique de Schubert et de Messiaen, cet album cherche à communiquer ces sentiments profondément et fondamentalement humains qui, j’espère, vous toucheront et vous offriront réconfort et espoir en ces temps difficiles.

Cet album n’aurait pu se réaliser sans le mentorat de grands maitres tels que Maestro Alfred Brendel, Melvin Chen, Rita Wagner et Peter Frankl, dont le talent artistique exceptionnel et la sagesse ont inspiré et nourri ce projet.

Un merci tout spécial à ma famille, Mari Kodama, Momo Kodama et Kent Nagano, qui m’ont ouvert les portes sur l’art musical. Je suis très reconnaissante de leur soutien, leur accompagnement et leur amour indéfectible.

Très sincèrement,
Karin

Franz Schubert : Sonate en si bémol majeur, D. 960 (1828)

Franz Schubert, tant dans sa vie personnelle que dans son travail, était le parfait archétype de l’époque romantique en devenir. Il menait une vie de bohème rejetant les conventions bourgeoises, passant ses journées à composer et ses soirées à faire la fête. Il mourut jeune, à l’âge de 31 ans, laissant derrière lui une quantité d’oeuvres considérable dont la plupart étaient complètement inconnues en dehors de son entourage.

La Sonate en si bémol majeur, D. 960, est l’une des trois sonates de grande envergure que Schubert a écrites dans la dernière année de sa vie. Celles-ci ont été composées simultanément, débutant par des ébauches au printemps 1828 et se terminant par la révision finale en septembre, deux mois avant sa mort. D’ailleurs, les sonates ont des liens thématiques et tonals profonds qui fascinent les musicologues et les interprètes depuis toujours.

Les thèmes de la mort et de la mortalité sont encore une fois très présents, comme dans l’ensemble de l’oeuvre de Schubert. Les deux premiers mouvements sont particulièrement imprégnés d’un sentiment méditatif et songeur qui évoque Schubert contemplant sa propre fin. En effet, l’oppressant trille sur le sol bémol du début du premier mouvement, répété avant la reprise de l’exposition, nous amène à cette interprétation – particulièrement dans le contexte de l’arrangement de Schubert du poignant poème de Goethe, The Erlking, par exemple, ou des variations sur un thème mélodique, tirées de La Jeune Fille et la Mort, dans l’éponyme quatuor à cordes en mineur. Pourtant, ce fatidique trille sur le sol bémol a aussi des implications musicales laissant présager l’importance formelle de la tonalité de sol bémol tant dans le premier mouvement que dans le suivant.

La Sonate en si bémol majeur, avec ses deux compagnes, est l’aboutissement des grandes et majestueuses constructions formelles de Schubert qu’on retrouve dans ses oeuvres d’envergure. Dans sa quête d’utiliser des tonalités éloignées, de mettre en évidence la ligne mélodique et son développement et de répéter des thèmes extramusicaux personnels ou universels, Schubert propose un modèle significatif pour les compositeurs des prochaines générations.

Olivier Messiaen : Première communion de la vierge

Tiré de Vingt regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus (1944)

Le compositeur français Olivier Messiaen était un fervent catholique et un avide collectionneur de chants d’oiseaux. Ces deux passions, en plus de son intérêt pour l’hindouisme et la numérologie, ont contribué à définir son langage musical particulier. Son style riche en complexités modernistes est mis au service d’une expression très personnelle de sa foi – la ferveur religieuse fusionnée à des techniques musicales prédéterminées. Or, William W. Austen, musicologue, a observé que le langage de Messiaen était : « un mélange éclectique de défis intellectuels novateurs et d’indulgence émotionnelle démodée. »

Cette myriade de caractéristiques sont présentes dans la Première communion de la vierge, le 11e mouvement de l’oeuvre monumentale pour piano solo, Vingt regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus, composée par Messiaen en 1944. La composition de l’oeuvre a débuté suite à la commande de 12 petites pièces pour piano servant à accompagner une émission de radio portant sur la poésie de la Nativité. Toutefois, l’oeuvre de plus de deux heures s’est éloignée considérablement de son modeste objectif de départ.

Il s’agit en fait de l’oeuvre la plus intense et la plus spirituelle de Messiaen. Celui-ci a beaucoup écrit au sujet de ses propres oeuvres et de son langage musical, mentionnant « Elles expriment les contemplations de l’Enfant Jésus dans la crèche et les regards qu’ils lui sont accordés ; de l’inexprimable Regards du père aux multiples Regards de l’Église d’amour jusqu’à l’incomparable Regards de l’Esprit de joie ».

© Joseph Stillwell

Lire la suite

À propos

Karin Kei Nagano
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2
AN 2 9182 Schubert Intégrale Sonates Piano Vol. 2

Start typing and press Enter to search