fbpx

Album information

A word from Joseph Rouleau

“If youth but knew, if old age but could!” – I like that saying a lot, but I would add, “If fortune smiled on me.” On the occasion of the 60th anniversary of Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, it so happens that lady luck is smiling on me once again for the presentation of this album of three compact discs, produced thanks to François Mario Labbé and the brilliant team at Analekta. I’m at a loss for words to express my gratitude to them.

I sincerely hope that you will spend some pleasant moments listening to these extracts from recital and opera repertoire, which I have chosen for this publication. I would like to thank my pianists Colombe Pelletier, Louise-Andrée Baril, Pierre Jasmin, the late Charles Reiner, the late Claude Savard and Henk Sprint.

Many thanks to Société Radio-Canada, Royal Opera House Covent Garden, VARA Radio Hilversum (Netherlands) and Radio France. You can be assured of my sincere appreciation.
I would like to dedicate this album to my wife, Renée, to my three children, Diane, Jessica and Marc, and to my nine grandchildren.

I’d like to convey my best wishes to everyone. Happy listening!

Joseph Rouleau C.C., G.O.Q, Dr h.c.

Joseph Rouleau, Hommage

Acclaimed on the world’s greatest opera stages, he sang alongside the likes of Joan Sutherland, Victoria de Los Angeles, Maria Callas, Luciano Pavarotti, Cesare Siepi, Placido Domingo, and his compatriots Jon Vickers and Richard Verreau. He was equally at ease with Rossini, Verdi, Bellini, Mussorgsky, and Félix Leclerc. Conscious of the need to promote modern repertoire, he took part in the premiere of Harry Somers’ opera Louis Riel, and he commissioned Jacques Hétu’s Le Prix and Clément Pépin’s Messe sur le monde. He conveyed his passion to a new generation of singers for nearly 20 years at the Université de Québec à Montréal, while taking on the presidency of Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, a position he has held since 1989 and that paved the way for his co-founding, along with André Bourbeau, of the Montréal International Music Competition. Whatever he does, and wherever he goes, whether singing or sharing the memories of an enviable career, Joseph Rouleau is filled with a contagious fervour. Drawing from this Matane native’s impressive discography, Analekta presents here not a description of his legacy but rather a portrayal of his vigour and vitality.

In 1949, when Joseph Rouleau won the Prix Archambault at the age of 20, he did not realize that his life was about to undergo its first major change. Certainly he had been told he “had a voice” before, but he didn’t feel ready to dedicate his whole life to it. Whether alone or with others, he sang for the simple pleasure of music. In addition to receiving $100 in prize money, young Rouleau was invited to perform with the Société des concerts symphoniques de Montréal (which would become the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal in 1953) under the direction of Wilfrid Pelletier. Enchanted by Rouleau’s voice, the conductor took him under his wing and immediately had him admitted to the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, even though it did not yet have a singing class.
Rouleau soon joined a number of Radio-Canada choirs, and it came as no surprise that he was quickly given solo parts, and then taken on tour by Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, the fees for which would help fund his studies in Italy. Even so, he had accumulated a significant debt by the time he returned, so in 1955 he entered the singing contest of the New Orleans Experimental Theatre of America, sponsored by the New Orleans Opera Company. As the only bass selected by the jury, he was offered a series of performances, including the roles of Colline in La bohème, the king in Aida, and the Chevalier des Grieux in Manon.

In December 1956, his second brush with destiny occurred: he was asked to audition for David Webster, legendary director of the Covent Garden Theatre in London. On the fated day, Rouleau came down with a bout of laryngitis. His agent suggested he consult Dr. Reckford, the official laryngologist for the Metropolitan Opera, who prescribed complete silence. Webster rescheduled the audition for three days later after his return from Chicago. The doctor, after hearing him sing a few vocalises, told him to limit himself to three arias. So Rouleau sang an excerpt from Verdi’s Simon Boccanegra, Sarastro’s aria “In diesen Heil’gen Hallen” from Mozart’s The Magic Flute, and Philip II’s aria from Verdi’s Don Carlos. Captivated, Webster asked him: “My boy, would you like to join Covent Garden?”

Half a century later, seated behind his desk at Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, Rouleau is still visibly moved as he describes this moment. He was offered a six-month contract that included five performances of La bohème and five of The Magic Flute, with an option to renew for the 57–58 season. But far from 10 shows, he gave 37 performances of five operas during that first of what would prove to be 30 seasons treading the Covent Garden boards. In all, he gave over a thousand performances of 49 different operas there. “My father said that in life we have three chances to accomplish something extraordinary,” he recalls. “I was able to take advantage of them, and the wind was in my favour, but I never forgot I was from the Gaspé, even as I travelled the world singing.” Even today, before each concert or opera, he admits to saying a little prayer to his father: “Papa, help me… Help me be my best.” And he tells himself, “My Lord, I’m a long way from Matane!”

Throughout his dazzling career, Rouleau left an indelible mark on certain key roles. He avows an unbridled passion for the role of Don Quixote, a character he sympathizes with and whose adventures rested on his bedside table many a year; he incarnated the role of Mephistopheles—in Gounod’s Faust, Berlioz’s La damnation de Faust or Boito’s Mefistofele—over 500 times. But without a doubt, the role that made his claim to fame is that of Boris Godunov. “In my opinion, Boris is the perfect role for an opera singer, whether you look at it from a dramatic, vocal or acting point of view. He goes through every possible emotion—and takes the audience with him. I feel honoured and fortunate to have been able to interpret such a remarkable work.”

Joseph Rouleau feels that a bass voice reaches maturity at about the age of 35, and it was clear that he would not take on the role before then. “You have to have the patience to develop slowly and only take on the great characters like Boris, Mephistopheles, Philip II, or Don Quixote after you have full control over your voice, technique and even your psyche,” he explains in the biography À tour de roles. “You also must have enough stage experience to feel completely comfortable. […] So I resisted when Georg Solti urged me toward the repertoire of Wagner at the age of 30. I no doubt missed out on a number of opportunities, but I was convinced that if I took on Wagner, I wouldn’t be able to sing for half a century, as was the case. An artist must be completely honest with himself and determine what he is able to achieve and, above all, reject that which won’t serve him well.” A man of conviction, he sang excerpts from Boris Godunov, in Russian, under the direction of Wilfrid Pelletier at the age of 35. He first sang the entire role in September 1966, in Kazan in the former USSR, again in Russian, during a triumphant tour in which critics compared him to Feodor Chaliapin.

When asked how he enjoyed such a long career, Rouleau reflects for a moment before offering, in his deep bass voice: “You need an instrument, a lot of study and preparation, excellent technique, nerves of steel, a highly developed memory, constant work on language and acting skills, and an awareness that there are a hundred other singers waiting in the wings to take your place. How did I overcome all the obstacles? Even today it’s a mystery to me. A single answer? Vocal, musical and acting talent, all in the same person.” Certainly, it’s a winning combination, one that proved itself over and over again. “I always loved singing, and I hope I gave pleasure to many people. Audiences make the effort to buy tickets and come to the theatre. If our interpretations are successful, they forget about their long, hard day and return home with a smile. In the end, audiences are our friends and reward us with their applause; we are so fortunate to work in this profession.”

Read more

About

AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036
AN 6 1036

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx

Informations sur l'album

Un mot de Joseph Rouleau

«Si jeunesse savait et si vieillesse pouvait!» J’aime beaucoup cette phrase, mais j’ajouterais : «Si la chance me souriait». À l’occasion du 60e anniversaire des Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, la chance me sourit encore une fois à travers la présentation de cet album de trois disques compacts, réalisée grâce à François Mario Labbé et à la magnifique équipe d’Analekta. Les mots me manquent pour les remercier.

J’espère sincèrement que vous passerez quelques bons moments à l’écoute des extraits de ce répertoire de récital et d’opéra que j’ai choisis pour cette compilation. Permettez-moi de remercier mes pianistes Colombe Pelletier, Louise-Andrée Baril, Pierre Jasmin, feu Charles Reiner, feu Claude Savard et Henk Sprint.
Mille mercis à la Société Radio-Canada, à la Royal Opera House Covent Garden, à Radio VARA de Hilversum (Hollande) et à Radio France. Soyez assurés que je vous suis très reconnaissant.

Je désire dédier cet album à mon épouse Renée, à mes trois enfants, Diane, Jessica et Marc, et à mes neuf petits-enfants.

Amitiés à tous et à toutes, bonne écoute!

Joseph Rouleau C.C., G.O.Q, Dr h.c.

Joseph Rouleau, Hommage

Il a été encensé sur les plus grandes scènes lyriques du monde, a chanté aux côtés de Joan Sutherland, Victoria de Los Angeles, Maria Callas, Luciano Pavarotti, Cesare Siepi, Placido Domingo, de ses compatriotes Jon Vickers et Richard Verreau. Il transmet avec autant d’aisance Rossini, Verdi, Bellini, Moussorgski que Félix Leclerc. Conscient de la nécessité de défendre le répertoire d’aujourd’hui, il a participé à la première de Louis Riel d’Harry Somers et passé commande à Jacques Hétu pour son opéra Le Prix et Clermont Pépin pour la Messesur le monde. Il a transmis sa fièvre à une nouvelle génération de chanteurs pendant près de 20 ans à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, tout en acceptant la présidence des Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, fonction qu’il occupe depuis 1989, et qui lui aura permis de cofonder avec André Bourbeau le Concours Musical International de Montréal. Quoiqu’il fasse, où qu’il aille, qu’il chante ou qu’il partage des souvenirs d’une carrière que tous pourraient lui envier, une ferveur contagieuse habite Joseph Rouleau. Puisant dans les imposantes archives discographiques de la basse matanaise, Analekta présente ici non pas un testament, mais plutôt un témoignage de vivacité, de vitalité.

En 1949, quand, à l’âge de 20 ans, Joseph Rouleau remporte le prix Archambault, il ne réalise pas que sa vie est sur le point de basculer une première fois. Certes, on lui a déjà dit qu’il «avait une voix», mais il ne se sent pas encore prêt à y sacrifier toute son existence. Il chante, seul ou en groupe, pour le simple plaisir de la musique. En plus de la bourse de 100 $, le jeune interprète est invité à se produire avec la Société des concerts symphoniques de Montréal (qui deviendra l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal en 1953), sous la direction de Wilfrid Pelletier. Séduit par la voix du jeune homme, ce dernier devient son mentor et le fait admettre sur le champ au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, même s’il n’existe pas encore de classe de chant!
On retrouve dès lors Joseph Rouleau au sein des chœurs de Radio-Canada. Sans surprise aucune, il y obtient rapidement des solos, puis se voit confier une tournée par les Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, dont les cachets l’aideront à financer ses études en Italie. Criblé de dettes à son retour, il décide de se présenter au concours de chant New Orleans Experimental Theatre of America présenté par la New Orleans Opera Company en 1955. Seule basse distinguée par le jury, on lui offre une série de représentations dans lesquelles il incarnera notamment les rôles de Colline dans La bohème, du roi dans Aïda et du comte Des Grieux dans Manon.

En décembre 1956, deuxième coup du destin : on lui propose une audition avec David Webster, directeur du mythique Covent Garden de Londres. Le jour dit, Joseph Rouleau souffre d’une laryngite aiguë. Sur la recommandation de son agent, il consulte le docteur Reckford, laryngologiste attitré du Metropolitan Opera, qui lui prescrit le silence absolu. David Webster le réentendra trois jours plus tard à son retour de Chicago. Après lui avoir fait compléter quelques vocalises, le spécialiste confirme que Joseph Rouleau ne pourra chanter que trois arias. La basse choisit donc une page de Simon Boccanegra de Verdi, l’air de Sarastro «In diesen Heil’gen Hallen» de La Flûte enchantée de Mozart et celui de Philippe II de Don Carlos de Verdi. Subjugué, David Webster annonce: «My boy, would you like to join Covent Garden?»

Un demi-siècle plus tard, Joseph Rouleau est encore habité d’une émotion vive quand, assis dans son bureau des Jeunesses Musicales du Canada, il revit cet instant. On lui propose un contrat de six mois, qui comprend cinq représentations de La bohème et cinq de La Flûte enchantée, avec une option de renouvellement de contrat pour la saison 57-58. Plutôt que de chanter 10 représentations, il participera à 37 représentations de 5 opéras, lors de la première d’une trentaine de saisons pendant lesquelles il arpentera les corridors du Covent Garden et y donnera plus de 1000 représentations de 49 opéras différents. «Mon père disait que, dans la vie, nous avons trois chances de réussir des choses hors de l’ordinaire, se rappelle-t-il. J’en ai profité et le vent a tourné en ma faveur, mais je n’ai jamais oublié que j’étais un Gaspésien, même lorsque je chantais dans le monde entier.» Avant chaque concert ou opéra, encore aujourd’hui, il admet adresser à son père une prière : «Papa, aide-moi… Fais que je donne le meilleur», et se répète : «Mon Dieu, que je suis loin de Matane!»

Tout au long d’une carrière éblouissante, le chanteur a laissé son empreinte indélébile sur certains rôles-clés. Il voue une passion sans borne à celui de Don Quichotte, personnage auquel il s’associe et dont les aventures ont longtemps reposé sur sa table de chevet, et aura incarné Méphistophélès plus de 500 fois à la scène, que ce soit dans les relectures du mythe de Faust de Gounod, de Boito ou de Berlioz. Mais le rôle qui l’a sans contredit consacré reste celui de Boris Godounov. «Selon moi, Boris est le rôle le plus parfait pour un artiste lyrique, que ce soit au point de vue dramatique, vocal ou de comédien. On passe par toutes les émotions possibles – et le public avec nous. Je me compte chanceux et honoré d’avoir pu interpréter une œuvre aussi remarquable.»

Pour Joseph Rouleau, une voix de basse atteint sa plénitude vers l’âge de 35 ans et il était clair qu’il n’aborderait pas avant le rôle. «Il faut savoir évoluer lentement, être patient et aborder les grands personnages tels que Boris, Méphistophélès, Philippe II ou Don Quichotte en pleine maîtrise vocale, technique et même psychologie, explique-t-il dans la biographie À tour de rôles. En plus, il faut posséder une expérience scénique qui permette une totale sécurité. […] Ainsi, lorsque sir Georg Solti a voulu me diriger vers le répertoire wagnérien lorsque j’avais 30 ans, j’ai résisté. J’ai sûrement manqué un certain nombre d’engagements. Mais j’étais réellement convaincu que si j’allais vers Wagner, je ne pourrais pas chanter pendant un demi-siècle, comme je l’ai fait. L’artiste doit, dans une totale honnêteté envers lui-même, déterminer ce qu’il est capable de réaliser et surtout renoncer à ce qu’il ne peut bien servir.» Homme de conviction, il chantera des extraits de Boris Godounov, en russe, sous la direction de Wilfrid Pelletier, à l’âge de 35 ans. Il chantera le rôle dans son intégralité, en septembre 1966, à Kazan, en ex-Union soviétique, lors d’une première tournée triomphale, la critique le comparant même à Feodor Chaliapin.

Quand on le questionne sur ce qui lui a permis de connaître une carrière d’une telle longévité, Joseph Rouleau réfléchit un instant, avant d’avancer de sa voix profonde : «Cela prend un instrument, beaucoup d’études et de préparation, une très bonne technique, des nerfs de fer, une mémoire bien développée, un travail de tous les instants au niveau des langues et de la comédie, en restant conscient qu’il y a peut-être cent chanteurs en arrière qui attendent de prendre votre place. Comment ai-je passé à travers les obstacles? Cela relève pour moi du mystère, encore aujourd’hui. Une réponse? Un talent vocal, musical et de comédien, dans la même personne.» Combinaison gagnante, certes, qui aura fait ses preuves à de multiples reprises. «J’ai beaucoup aimé chanter et j’espère que j’ai apporté du plaisir à plusieurs personnes. Le spectateur fait un effort, achète des billets, s’assoit au théâtre. Si nos interprétations réussissent à le convaincre, il oubliera la dure journée qu’il vient de passer et retournera à la maison avec le sourire. Au fond, le public est notre ami et nous récompense par ses applaudissements; nous sommes chanceux de pouvoir exercer cette profession.»

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates
AN 2 8798 Ravel Debussy Sonates

Start typing and press Enter to search