fbpx
AN 2 9184 – Schubert  Intégrale des Sonates vol. 4 – Mathieu Gaudet

Schubert: The Complete Sonatas and Major Piano Works, Vol.4 - Explorations

Composers
Performers
Release date March 19, 2021
Album code AN 2 9184
Periods Romantic
Genres Piano

Album information

Volume IV: Explorations 

I was born for nothing
but composing. 

– Franz Schubert 

 

Between his early “post-Mozartean” sonatas  and late masterpieces of symphonic proportions,  Schubert spent the years 1817 and 1818 exploring the possibilities of the piano sonata, through  unusual harmonic relationships, intensive use  of trills, heightened virtuosity, lengthy chord  repetitions, and extreme dynamic contrasts.  The Sonata in F Minor, D. 625, is one of the  fi nest examples of this second manner, with its  committed Romanticism and quest for direct  emotional communication allied with robust  structural features. Its first movement, much like  the Sonata in F-sharp Minor, D. 571, stands as  one of Schubert’s most exquisitely lyrical works.  Its slow movement, an “Adagio” in D-fl at major,  succeeds in melding astonishing modulations in  its development section, while still maintaining  continuity of tone. The “Scherzo & Trio” in the  distant key of E major is among the composer’s  most energetic movements, alternating between  repeated chord progressions and meteoric  flights of scales. The final “Allegro” breaks out  in a breathless cavalcade interspersed with solemn chorale passages that acknowledge a  legacy of medieval European myths. 

In 1818, Schubert also produced the Fantasia in  C Major, unknown until its rediscovery in Graz  in 1962. This work prefigures its more expansive  sister, the Wanderer Fantasy of 1822, and  features a unifying theme varied and developed  in contrasting sections and ostentatious in its  virtuoso pianism, something rather foreign to  Schubert. Indeed, it may have been written, at  least in part, by his friend Anselm Hüttenbrenner.  Nevertheless, it contains moments of pure bliss  that render it both touching and refreshing. 

Schubert composed dozens of easily accessible  dance books for amateurs or students, suitable  for social evenings when the din of conversation  occasionally overshadowed music-making. But  despite their function, for the most part they  are like little gems enclosing the essence of his  genius. The Three German Dances, D. 972 date  from 1823, and even though they each span only  two lines, they succeed in painting miniature  pictures wherein the song’s natural line is as  limpid as its rhythmic clarity. 

The Moments musicaux, D. 780, written in 1823  and 1824, represent Schubert’s first attempts at  the “song without words” genre, which eventually led to his eight Impromptus, D. 899 and  935 as well as the three Klavierstücke, D. 946.  Although it is a compendium of single pieces  assembled by a publisher, the cycle is nevertheless veiled in an aura of mysterious beauty that  has made it a favourite among both music lovers  and performers. 

From its outset, the graceful opening minuet  exudes a shifting harmonic atmosphere through  deft major-minor key alternations. Its trio is a  rich chorale that radiates twilight luminescence.  In the second part, Schubert explores different  facets of the human psyche, moving from a  meditation on a lullaby rhythm to a searing, pier cingly expressive melody in F-sharp minor. The  unexpected repeat of this melody, transformed  into a cry of despair from the depths of the  human soul, creates such a musical shock that  Mahler would emulate its effect in the “Andante  moderato” of his second symphony. The third  piece, like the Hungarian Melody, D. 817, seems  to spring from a minute music box complete with  hopping march rhythm and Eastern European  harmonies. The fourth Moment musical is a  tribute to Bach’s Two-Part Inventions, though  Schubert, as he often does, veils its discourse in  mystery. Its sublimely elegant trio bears witness  to the composer’s tenacious Viennese roots. The mad cavalcade that constitutes the fifth piece,  a formidable technical exercise, reinforces by  contrast the sublime poetry of the final move ment, a long, melancholy postlude built as if on  a succession of sighs, ample lyrical gestures,  and meaningful rests. It is like a key to the entire  work, an open window on Schubert’s soul and  a wonderful offering, brought back from a long  journey of inner exploration. 

© Mathieu Gaudet
Translation: Rachelle Taylor

Read more

About

Mathieu Gaudet
AN 2 9184 – Schubert: The Complete Sonatas and Major Piano Works, Vol.4 – Explorations

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9184 – Schubert  Intégrale des Sonates vol. 4 – Mathieu Gaudet

Schubert: Intégrale des sonates et oeuvres majeures pour piano, Vol.4 - Explorations

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 19 mars 2021
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9184
Periodes Romantique
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Volume IV : Explorations

Je ne suis venu au monde
que pour composer. 

– Franz Schubert 

 

Entre ses premières sonates « post-mozartiennes » et ses derniers chefs-d’œuvre de  dimensions symphoniques, Schubert passe les  années 1817 et 1818 à explorer les possibilités  de la sonate pour piano : relations harmoniques  inusitées, utilisation intensive des trilles, virtuosité exacerbée, longues répétitions d’accords,  contrastes extrêmes de nuances. La Sonate en fa  mineur, D. 625, est un des plus beaux exemples  de cette seconde manière, au romantisme  assumé, qui cherche à intégrer une communication émotive directe à une architecture solide.  Le premier mouvement est, au même titre que  celui de la Sonate en fa dièse mineur, D. 571,  une des pages les plus lyriques de Schubert.  Le mouvement lent, un Adagio en bémol  majeur, parvient à incorporer des modulations  surprenantes dans son développement, tout en  respectant la continuité de ton. Le Scherzo &  Trio est un des mouvements les plus énergiques  du compositeur, alternant des suites d’accords  répétés et des envolées de gammes-fusées. Il  est en outre écrit dans la lointaine tonalité de mi majeur. L’Allegro final se présente comme une chevauchée haletante entrecoupée de chorals  solennels, faisant allusion à tout un héritage de  mythologie médiévale européenne. 

Toujours en 1818, Schubert écrit une Fantaisie en do majeur dont on ne retrouvera la trace  qu’en 1962 à Graz. Ouvrant la voie pour sa  grande sœur la Fantaisie « Wanderer » de 1822,  elle développe et varie un thème unificateur en  différentes sections contrastantes, utilisant un  idiome pianistique d’une virtuosité ostentatoire,  assez étranger à Schubert. Il se pourrait qu’elle  ait été écrite, du moins en partie, par son ami  Anselm Hüttenbrenner. Elle n’en contient pas  moins des moments de pure félicité qui en font  une pièce à la fois touchante et rafraîchissante. 

Schubert a composé des dizaines de cahiers  de danses faciles d’abord, destinées à des  amateurs ou des étudiants, convenant parfaitement aux soirées mondaines où le brouhaha  des conversations prenait parfois le dessus sur  la musique. Malgré cette destination, ce sont  globalement de petits bijoux qui contiennent  toute l’essence de son génie. Les Trois danses  allemandes, D. 972, datent de 1823 et, malgré  le fait qu’elles tiennent chacune sur deux lignes,  elles parviennent à brosser de petits tableaux  dont la ligne naturelle du chant égale la clarté de  l’impulsion rythmique.

Les Moments musicaux, D. 780, écrits en 1823  et 1824, représentent les premiers essais de  Schubert dans la forme du « chant sans parole »  qui le mèneront ensuite aux huit Impromptus, D. 899 et 935, et aux trois Klavierstücke, D. 946.  Bien que le corpus soit un amalgame par l’éditeur de pièces isolées, l’œuvre est néanmoins  voilée d’une aura de beauté mystérieuse et jouit  d’une grande faveur auprès des mélomanes et  des interprètes.

Le gracieux menuet d’ouverture utilise d’emblée  l’alternance majeur-mineur pour installer un  climat harmonique ambigu. Son trio est un riche  choral irradiant une lumière crépusculaire. Le  deuxième volet explore les différents visages  de la psyché humaine en alternant entre une  méditation sur un rythme de berceuse et une  mélodie brûlante en fa dièse mineur, d’une  expressivité perçante. La répétition inattendue  de cette mélodie, transformée en cri de  désespoir venant du plus profond de l’être, crée  un tel choc musical que Mahler reprendra le  même procédé dans l’Andante moderato de sa  deuxième symphonie. La troisième pièce, tout  comme la Mélodie hongroise, D. 817, semble  jaillir d’une petite boîte à musique, avec son  rythme de marche sautillante et ses harmonies  d’Europe de l’Est. Le quatrième moment musical  est un hommage à Bach et à ses Inventions à  2 voix, mais toujours présenté à travers ce même  filtre de mystère. Le trio d’une élégance sublime  témoigne des profondes racines viennoises du  compositeur. La folle cavalcade qui constitue  le cinquième morceau, un exercice technique  redoutable, renforce par contraste la grande  poésie du mouvement final. Ce dernier est un  long postlude mélancolique bâti sur une suite de  soupirs, de grands gestes lyriques et de silences  lourds de sens. Clef de l’œuvre, il est une fenêtre  ouverte sur l’âme de Schubert et un cadeau  merveilleux que le musicien nous rapporte de  ses longues explorations intérieures. 

© Mathieu Gaudet

Lire la suite

À propos

Mathieu Gaudet
AN 2 9184 – Schubert  Intégrale des Sonates vol. 4 – Mathieu Gaudet

Start typing and press Enter to search