fbpx
AN 2 9185 – Mathieu Gaudet Vol.5 Warmth

Schubert: The Complete Sonatas and Major Piano Works, Vol.5 - Warmth

Composers
Performers
Release date October 22, 2021
Album code AN 2 9185
Periods Romantic
Genres Piano

Album information

The next morning was indeed the most
beautiful day in the world and of the world:
[the mountain range] shone and glittered
with splendour in the full sunlight or,
on the contrary, against the light.

– Franz Schubert, 1825

While it is true that Schubert’s music is often tinged with a hushed melancholy, at times it is suffused with an optimistic, bountiful light that ardently celebrates life. The latter is true of the radiant Sonata No. 16 in D Major, D. 850, which forms the last part of Schubert’s 1825 triptych and was composed during his summer holidays in the mountains during a sun-filled month of August. The work stands as a vibrant testimony to Schubert’s love of nature and to the energy he derived from it.

The first movement is exceptionally exuberant. Marked “Allegro 2/2, a perpetuum mobile” and written as if in one fell stroke, it bursts with energy and invention. The short un poco più lento e con capriccio that breaks through the second theme yields a moment of striking originality. The second movement, marked “Andante con moto,” is perhaps the most passionate piano music Schubert ever composed. Its opening part reveals a charming, constantly modulating ländler, setting the stage for the second theme’s breathtaking flight. This theme’s characteristic syncopations and harmonic progressions create unparalleled sensuality and, indeed, a quality of irresistible desire. A short, muted pianissimo interlude graces this movement with an aura of enchantment.

The scherzo provides a moment of rare intensity. Marked “Allegro vivace,” it inexorably steams ahead in dotted rhythms, at times impetuous, at others playful, but always gleeful. The trio section is adapted from Schubert’s very first sonata, D.  157; conceived homophonically, it has an almost choral quality and provides a welcome contrast. Only in the final “Rondo, Allegro moderato” do we re-enter the familiar Schubertian discourse of subtlety, somewhere between a march, a dance, and a song, constantly toying with major-minor colour contrasts whose effect is indescribably nostalgic. The second interlude creates an exquisitely touching moment.

Equally upbeat, though more aristocratic in spirit than the previous, more lustful work, the Sonata No.  5 in A- at Major, D.  557 evinces a pure, post-classical character, making it the most conservative of the six sonatas of 1817. Nevertheless, it is a charming and exciting piece whose surprising second movement digresses from the traditional slow tempo in exchange for a humorous and lively allegretto in 2/4. Its central episode in E- at minor, akin to a diminutive toccata in eighth-note triplets, clearly evokes the two-part counterpoint of J. S. Bach, to whom it is certainly a tribute.

The Variations in A Minor, D.  576 are based on a theme by Anselm Hüttenbrenner (1794–1868), a member of Schubert’s close circle. A composer himself, Hüttenbrenner had already employed the same theme for variations in the slow movement of his own String Quartet in E Major. An obvious tribute to the slow movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7, Schubert had previously used it as the foundation of his lied Death and the Maiden, D.  531. Later, it also appears in the variations of the String Quartet in D Minor, D. 810. It is therefore safe to say that this melody will have haunted Schubert for many years.

The theme and 13 variations are strangely uniform, offering few contrasts, yet imbued with enigmatic beauty. Instead of reflecting Schubert’s Viennese heritage, they seem to favour a Renaissance aesthetic over the Classical theme and variations genre. And rather than adopting a well-mapped dramatic course – examples of which Mozart and Beethoven have so abundantly given us – this work appears as a meditation on a single feeling, like a kaleidoscope’s fractious images which one never tires of contemplating from new angles, captivated by their aching charm.

© Mathieu Gaudet, translation: Rachel Taylor

Read more

About

Mathieu Gaudet
AN 2 9185 – Mathieu Gaudet Vol.5 Warmth
0

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9185 – Mathieu Gaudet Vol.5 Warmth

Schubert: Intégrale des sonates et oeuvres majeures pour piano, Vol.5 - Chaleur

Compositeurs
Interprètes
Date de sortie 22 octobre 2021
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9185
Periodes Romantique
Genres Piano

Informations sur l'album

Le matin suivant fut en effet
le plus beau jour du monde et dans le monde :
[le massif montagneux] brillait et scintillait
splendidement en plein soleil ou au contraire
à contre-jour.

– Franz Schubert, 1825

S’il est vrai que la musique de Schubert est souvent teintée d’une sourde mélancolie, elle est aussi parfois nimbée d’une lumière optimiste et généreuse qui célèbre ardemment la vie et dont la radieuse Sonate no 16 en ré majeur, D. 850, bénéficie. Dernier volet du triptyque de 1825, écrite pendant ses vacances d’été à la montagne lors d’un mois d’août ensoleillé, cette sonate est un vibrant témoignage de l’amour que Schubert porte à la grande nature et de l’énergie qu’elle lui insuffle.

Le premier mouvement est exceptionnellement exubérant. Indiqué Allegro à 2/2, c’est un perpetuum mobile écrit d’un seul souffle, regorgeant d’énergie et d’inventivité. La petite incursion un poco più lento e con capriccio qui interrompt le second thème est frappante d’originalité. Le second volet, marqué Andante con moto, est peut-être le morceau pour piano le plus passionné que Schubert ait jamais composé. La première partie, un ländler charmant qui module constamment, met la table pour l’extraordinaire envolée du deuxième thème. Ce dernier, composé tout en syncopes et en marches harmoniques, révèle une sensualité et une concupiscence inégalées. Le petit interlude pianissimo avec sourdine rajoute une aura féérique au mouvement.

Le Scherzo est d’une rare intensité. Allegro vivace, il avance inexorablement avec ses rythmes pointés, tantôt brave, tantôt badin, toujours souriant. Son Trio est une adaptation de la toute première sonate, D. 157. De conception homophonique, presque chorale, il apporte un contraste bienvenu. Seul le Rondo final, Allegro moderato, retourne à un langage schubertien typique : tout en subtilité, à l’intersection de la marche, de la danse et du chant, et jouant constamment des changements de couleur majeur-mineur pour infuser au langage une indicible nostalgie. Le second interlude est un moment particulièrement touchant.

Également très optimiste, mais d’un esprit davantage aristocrate que charnel, la Sonate no 5 en la bémol majeur, D. 557, est une œuvre purement postclassique, la plus conservatrice des six sonates de 1817. Composition charmante et emballante, elle comporte un second volet surprenant, où le traditionnel mouvement lent est remplacé par un Allegretto à 2/4 rempli d’humour et de verve. Son épisode central en mi bémol mineur, une mini toccate en triples croches, rappelle le contrepoint à deux voix de J. S. Bach et se veut certainement un hommage au maître de Leipzig.

Les Variations en la mineur, D. 576, sont basées sur un thème d’Anselm Hüttenbrenner (1794- 1868), qui fait partie du cercle des intimes de Schubert. Compositeur lui-même, Hüttenbrenner avait déjà utilisé ce même thème pour les variations du mouvement lent de son propre Quatuor à cordes en mi majeur. Le thème est un hommage évident au mouvement lent de la Symphonie no 7 de Beethoven. Schubert en avait déjà tiré la base de son lied La jeune fille et la Mort, D. 531. Plus tard, il le reprendra dans les variations du Quatuor à cordes en ré mineur, D. 810. On peut ainsi avancer que cette mélodie fait partie de celles qui ont hanté Schubert durant de longues années.

L’œuvre qui se compose d’un thème et de treize variations est étrangement uniforme de caractère et offre peu de contrastes, mais est néanmoins empreinte d’une énigmatique beauté. Malgré l’héritage viennois de Schubert, elle semble davantage référer à l’esthétique de la renaissance qu’à la forme classique du thème et variations. Plutôt qu’un parcours dramatique cohérent tel qu’en ont conçu abondamment Mozart et Beethoven, l’œuvre semble une méditation sur un sentiment unique, comme les images d’un kaléidoscope qu’on ne se lasse jamais de contempler sous de nouveaux angles, subjugué par son charme douloureux.

© Mathieu Gaudet

Lire la suite

À propos

Mathieu Gaudet
AN 2 9185 – Mathieu Gaudet Vol.5 Warmth
0

Start typing and press Enter to search