fbpx
AN 2 9810

Cantabile

Release date November 06, 2001
Album code AN 2 9810
Periods Hors période
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

Pergolesi: Sicilienne

The lyrical Sicilienne from the Concerto for violin in B flat Major of Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736) has been described as a precursor to J.S. Bach‘s Sonata for flute in E flat Major. Much like his contemporaries in northern Italy, Pergolesi sought an expressively sentimental tone that was rich in chromaticism and marked by a fragility of texture and balanced phrasing.

Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5

The Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 of Heitor Villa-Lobos, composed between 1938 and 1945 is one of his best known works. Originally scored for voice and an orchestra of cellos, this particular work comes from a group of nine suites. Inspired by the universal quality that J.S. Bach’s music possesses, Villa-Lobos composed the Bachianas as a homage to the Baroque composer. Here, Villa-Lobos unites the rhythmic and formal procedures of Bach with the vitality and expressiveness of Brazilian music.

Godard: Berceuse

Benjamin Godard (1849-1895) was a French violinist who studied at the Paris Conservatoire with Henri Vieuxtemps and developed a reputation for his salon music. The beautiful Berceuse, which is the most popular of his works, springs from Jocelyn, an opera composed in 1888.

Mozart: Andante from Piano Sonata C major K. 545

W.A. Mozart‘s Piano Sonata in C major K. 545 was described by the composer in his thematic catalogue as “a short piano sonata for beginners.” The quality of this music is nostalgic, melancholy and inward looking—undoubtedly due to the fact that its date of composition (6 June, 1788) coincides with the tenth anniversary of his mother’s death.

Massenet: Méditation de Thaïs

Meditation is taken from the symphonic interlude in Act II of Jules Massenet‘s opera Thaïs. The tale, based on a novel dating from 1890 by Anatole France, and set in the fourth century, follows the life of a young courtesan named Thaïs who, with the guidance of the monk Athanaël, decides to abandon her sinful life of debauchery in order to embrace God. This particular interlude represents the young woman’s reflection prior to her conversion. It is this haunting melody that returns at the close of the opera as the repentant Thaïs dies in a convent.

Bizet: Andantino from L’Arlésienne

Georges Bizet composed the incidental music for Alphonse Daudet’s play L’Arlésienne for presentation in Paris in 1872. Of the twenty-seven pieces, Bizet rescored the best of them into two orchestral suites. The music successfully depicts the peasant life of Daudet’s drama which ends in tragedy when the protagonist Frédéri takes his life after experiencing an inability to extinguish his passion for a woman from Arles, known as Arlésienne.

Fauré: Pavane in F sharp minor, Op.50

Gabriel Fauré‘s Pavane in F sharp minor (1887) was composed for a concert in 1887 for Jules Danbé, the conductor of the Opéra-Comique. It was dedicated to the prestigious Countess Greffulhe, who agreed to help Fauré realize a performance with dancing, invisible choir and orchestra. The Pavane was successful in furthering Fauré’s reputation and eventually served as a model for his pupil Ravel and his Pavane pour une infante défunte.

Paganini: Cantabile

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840) was one of the most acclaimed violin virtuosos of the nineteenth century. His flamboyant stage presence and technical virtuosity astonished audiences and brought him great fame. The Cantabile in D Major was composed between 1823 and 1824 and dedicated to Paganini’s protégé – the technically brilliant violinist Camillo Sivori of Genoa.

J.S. Bach: Andante from Sonata in E minor

In 1723 Johann Sebastian Bach moved from the court of Prince Leopold at Cöthen to become the cantor of St. Thomas in Leipzig, a position that he held until the end of his life in 1750. It was during this time that he demonstrated an unusual amount of interest in the transverse flute. It is believed that the Sonata in E minor was composed in 1724, a period when Bach’s flute writing was not only concentrated but also technically challenging, possibly indicating that there was a virtuoso flautist visiting in Leipzig.

Elgar: Salut d’Amour Op.12

Edward Elgar‘s Salut d’Amour Op.12 was composed as a tribute to his future wife Caroline Alice Roberts. The work was one of Elgar’s most poorly paid compositions and ironically – one of his most popular works. He had sold the copyright for two guineas, a ridiculously low price since the piece brought his publishers thousands. Elgar was reported to have given half a crown to a street violinist playing Salut d’Amour, bitterly remarking: “It’s more than Elgar ever made out of it!”

Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Sonatina, Op.205

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (1895-1969), born in Florence, studied composition with Ildebrando Pizzetti at the Instituto Musicale Cherubini and later settled in California. Composed in 1965 for the flautist Werner Tripp and guitarist Konrad Ragossnig, the Sonatina Op.205 is subdivided into three contrasting movements. Technically demanding, this work is characterized by its mood of spontaneity and lyricism.

Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte

Pavane pour une infante défunte has remained, along with Bolero, one of Ravel‘s most publically acclaimed works. Commonly misunderstood as “dead child” (enfant défunte), the title actually refers to a princess (infanta).

The work is not meant to be a funeral piece, but simply an evocation of the old pavan that may have been danced by a princess long ago. Ravel was always disappointed with pianists who consistently played the work too slowly, for according to him, it is the princess, not the pavane, who is dead.

Roux: Soledad

Born in 1962 in Marseille, France, Patrick Roux found his home in Canada in 1967. He studied music at the Conservatoire de Musique du Québec and has received many honours including first place in 1989 at the National Guitar Competition. In 1998 he founded the Canadian Guitar Quartet with Philippe Candelaria. He is a professor of guitar at the Conservatoire de Musique du Québec and teaches at the University of Ottawa. Soledad was composed in 1996.

Ibert: Entr’Acte

Composed in 1937 and adapted for flute and guitar in 1954, Jacques Ibert‘s Entr’Acte is clearly influenced by his travels through Spain. Imbued with wit and technical brilliance, it demonstrates Iberian rhythms and harmonic sequences typical of Spanish guitar music.

© 2001 Alexis Luko, for Traçantes, the research, text writing, and translation service of the Société québécoise de recherche en musique.

Read more

About

Nadia Labrie
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9810

Cantabile

Date de sortie 06 novembre 2001
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9810
Periodes Hors période
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

Pergolesi: Sicilienne

On a déjà décrit la lyrique Sicilienne du Concerto pour violon en si bémol majeur de Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736) comme précurseur de la Sonate pour flûte en mi bémol majeur de J.S. Bach. À l’instar de ses contemporains dans le nord de l’Italie, Pergolèse cherchait un ton d’une grande sensibilité expressive, riche en chromatisme et marqué par un texture fragile et un discours équilibré.

Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras no 5

Le Bachianas Brasileiras no 5 de Heitor Villa-Lobos, composé entre 1938 et 1945, est l’une de ses œuvres les plus connues. Écrite à l’origine pour voix et orchestre de violoncelles, cette œuvre est tirée d’un groupe de neuf suites. Inspiré par l’universalité de la musique de J.S. Bach, Villa-Lobos a cherché avec les Bachianas de rendre hommage au compositeur baroque. Ici, Villa-Lobos marie les procédés rythmiques et formels de Bach avec la vitalité et l’expressivité de la musique brésilienne.

Godard: Berceuse

Le violoniste français Benjamin Godard (1849-1895) avait étudié au Conservatoire de Paris sous Henry Vieuxtemps et s’est fait connaître par sa musique de salon. Cette belle Berceuse, son œuvre la plus populaire, est tirée de son opéra Jocelyn, composé en 1888.

Mozart: Andante de la Sonate pour piano en do majeur, K. 545

Dans son catalogue thématique, W.A. MozartSonate pour piano en do majeur, K. 545 comme « une courte sonate pour piano à l’intention des débutants ». La musique de cet Andante est nostalgique, mélancolique et intérieure, sans doute parce que sa date de composition, le 6 juin 1788, coïncide avec le dixième anniversaire du décès de la mère du compositeur.

Massenet: Méditation de Thaïs

Méditation est tirée de l’interlude symphonique du deuxième acte de l’opéra Thaïs de Jules Massenet. L’histoire, basée sur un roman d’Anatole France datant de 1890, se situe au quatrième siècle. On y suit la vie d’une jeune courtisane, Thaïs, qui sous les conseils du moine Athanaël choisit d’abandonner sa vie dissolue afin de se rapprocher de Dieu. Cette interlude nous montre la réflexion de la jeune femme juste avant sa conversion. C’est cette envoûtante mélodie qui revient à la fin de l’opéra alors que Thaïs, repentante, s’éteint dans un couvent.

Bizet: Andantino de L’Arlésienne

Georges Bizet a composé la musique de scène pour la pièce d’Alphonse Daudet, L’Arlésienne, représentée à Paris en 1872. Des vingt-sept morceaux, Bizet en remania les meilleurs afin de constituer deux suites orchestrales. La musique dépeint avec bonheur la vie paysanne du drame de Daudet au dénouement tragique, où le protagoniste Frédéri s’enlève la vie après s’être montré incapable d’apaiser sa flamme pour l’Arlésienne.

Fauré: Pavane en fa dièse mineur, op.50

La Pavane en fa dièse mineur (1887) de Gabriel Fauré a été composée pour un concert donné en 1887 pour le chef d’orchestre de l’Opéra-Comique, Jules Danbé. Elle avait été dédiée au prestigieux comte Greffulhe, qui avait accepté d’aider Fauré à produire une représentation avec danse, chœur invisible et orchestre. La Pavane a réussi à faire mousser la réputation de Fauré et servit éventuellement de modèle à son élève Ravel pour sa Pavane pour une infante défunte.

Paganini: Cantabile

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840) a été l’un des plus célèbres violonistes virtuoses du dix-neuvième siècle. Sa flamboyante tenue sur scène et sa technique époustouflante ont subjugué le public et lui ont garanti une grande renommée. Le Cantabile en ré majeur a été composé entre 1823 et 1824 et dédié au protégé de Paganini, le violoniste virtuose Camillo Sivori de Gênes.

J.S. Bach: Andante de la Sonate en mi mineur

En 1723, Jean-Sébastien Bach quitta la cour du prince Leopold à Cöthen afin de devenir le Cantor de St-Thomas à Leipzig, poste qu’il gardera jusqu’à sa mort en 1750. C’est durant cette période qu’il démontra un intérêt particulier pour la flûte traversière. Il semble que la Sonate en mi mineur ait été composée en 1724, une époque où non seulement Bach a beaucoup écrit pour la flûte, mais aussi où son écriture pour cet instrument présentait un réel défi technique, ce qui porte à croire qu’un virtuose de la flûte était alors en visite à Leipzig.

Elgar: Salut d’Amour, op.12

Le Salut d’Amour, op.12 de Edward Elgar a été composé en hommage à sa future épouse, Caroline Alice Roberts. L’œuvre a été l’une de ses compositions les moins bien rémunérées — et, ironiquement, l’une de ses plus populaires. Il en avait vendu les droits pour deux guinées, un prix ridiculement bas puisque le morceau en rapporta des milliers à ses éditeurs. Elgar aurait un jour donné une demie couronne à un violoniste de rue qui jouait Salut d’Amour, en laissant tomber amèrement: « C’est plus qu’en a jamais tiré Elgar! »

Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Sonatina, op. 205

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco (1895-1969), né à Florence, a étudié la composition avec Ildebrando Pizzetti à l’Instituto Musicale Cherubini avant d’aller s’établir en Californie. Composée en 1965 pour le flûtiste Werner Tripp et le guitariste Konrad Ragossnig, la Sonatina op. 205 est divisée en trois mouvements contrastés. Très exigeante du point de vue technique, cette œuvre se caractérise par son ambiance spontanée et lyrique.

Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte

Pavane pour une infante défunte demeure, avec Bolero, l’une des œuvres de Ravel les plus appréciées du public. Le titre est souvent mal compris, surtout par les anglophones, comme se référant à une « enfant défunte », mais ils s’agit bien évidemment d’une princesse. L’œuvre ne se veut pas une pièce funéraire mais simplement une évocation de l’ancienne pavane, qu’une infante aurait pu jadis danser. Ravel a toujours été déçu des pianistes qui interprétaient l’œuvre trop lentement, car, d’après lui, c’est la princesse, et non la pavane, qui est défunte.

Roux: Soledad

Né en 1962 à Marseille, Patrick Roux a élu domicile au Canada en 1967. Il a étudié la musique au Conservatoire de musque du Québec et s’est mérité de nombreuses récompenses dont la première place au Concours national de Guitare en 1989. En 1998, il fonda avec Philippe Candelaria le Quatuor de Guitare du Canada. Il est professeur de guitare au Conservatoire de musique du Québec et enseigne à l’Université d’Ottawa. Soledad a été composé en 1996.

Ibert: Entr’Acte

Composé en 1937 et adapté pour flûte et guitare en 1954, Entr’Acte de Jacques Ibert est manifestement influencé par les voyages du compositeur à travers l’Espagne. Brillante et pleine d’esprit, l’œuvre regorge de rythmes ibériques et de séquences harmoniques typiques de la musique espagnole pour guitare.

© 2001 Alexis Luko, pour Traçantes, Service de rédaction et de traduction de la Société québécoise de recherche en musique. (Traduction: Jacques-André Houle)

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041

Start typing and press Enter to search