fbpx
AN 2 9819

Fantasia for Flute and Guitar

Release date October 18, 2005
Album code AN 2 9819
Periods Romantique
Genres Musique de chambre

Album information

The instrumental fantasy on a popular theme is probably almost as old as music itself. In the 19th century, this type of fantasy was a staple in the repertoire of soloists, who would compose these made-to-measure show pieces to display their talents in the best light. One surefire way to attract audiences was to program fantasies on themes from famous operas, which is just how Similia presents this delightful program of arrangements for flute and guitar.

In the second half of the 19th century, transverse flute making in France reached a level of excellence unrivaled in Europe, building on the revolutionary work of German flautist and flute maker Theobald Boehm. In 1847, Boehm literally transformed the instrument, abandoning the traditional conical-bore wooden flute so popular in the Baroque, and creating the cylindrical metal flute equipped with keys that bears his name and which we know today. The Boehm flute allowed greater accuracy and fluidity in virtuosic passages, but it was French makers who perfected its complex and sophisticated system of keys. Not only did French flautists quickly adopt the new instrument—which was at the time a novel prototype regarded with suspicion by many—they also composed a significant repertoire of pieces to highlight the new instrument’s extraordinary capabilities.

Two such flautists were Paul-Agricol (or Agricole) Genin (1832–1909) and, a generation later, François Borne (1862–1929). Very little is known about them except that Genin was principal flute with the orchestras of the Théâtre Italien and the Concerts Colonne in Paris, and that Borne was a flute teacher at the Toulouse Conservatory and co-inventor of the “split E,” a device to make the Boehm flute’s high E more responsive.

However, while these two flautists, who apparently wrote primarily for their instrument, remain in the shadows, their music has remained part of the flute repertoire through changing fashions and times. The reason for their popularity stems not only from their virtuosic sparkle, but also from the famous operatic themes that spring up from what are initially billed as free improvisations. Borne uses this technique in his Fantaisie brillante on Carmen, imitating models of his countryman Genin on La Traviata, and of the German Karl Doppler, in the fantasy for two flutes on Rigoletto.

Karl Doppler (1825–1900) started his career at age nine as a child prodigy travelling Europe with his older brother Franz (1821–1883), also a flautist. The duo was renowned for the cohesion of their playing, even in the most difficult passages, but also for the fact that Karl held his flute “backwards” (i.e., to the left), giving the duo a symmetrical look on stage. Loyal to the old wooden transverse flute to the end, both Dopplers later enjoyed very successful careers as soloists, conductors and composers, dabbling in all the different genres, from chamber music to opera, to symphonic and concert works. They spent nearly 20 years together in the Hungarian capital before Karl was named Kapellmeister to the court at Stuttgart and Franz moved to Vienna to teach at the conservatory and direct the ballet of the Imperial court. Karl’s Fantasy for two flutes on Rigoletto was probably composed for one of the many concerts the two adult brothers continued to give together, as was the Hungarian Pastoral Fantasy, by Franz, who may have also collaborated on the Rigoletto fantasy.

Flautists were not the only ones to write “brilliant fantasies” for their instrument. Violinists were also very much in the game, and Pablo de Sarasate (1844–1908) was probably the most celebrated violinist of his generation. Though born in Spain, Sarasate studied at the Paris Conservatory, and the French capital remained the base for his busy solo career in Europe and the Americas until his death. He composed over fifty solo pieces for violin, with either piano or orchestral accompaniment and many with a Spanish flavour; he also wrote numerous opera fantasies. Once exception, however, is his German-titled Op. 20, Zigeunerweisen (meaning “gypsy songs”), which Similia presents here in a version for flute and guitar. Its succession of languid, nostalgic melodies opening into frenetic dance-like passages owes much to the Hungarian czardas—a “folk dance” which, in one of history’s ironic twists, was adopted by the gypsies as their own, even though it was the complete fabrication of a late-18th-century aristocrat. Nevertheless, Sarasate’s use of spectacular virtuosic effects gives the piece all the characteristics of a “brilliant fantasy.”

_____________________________________

Between these brilliant 19th-century fantasies, Similia has interwoven the works of contemporary composers.
Guitarist-composer, Frenchman Erik Marchelie, is partial to combining the guitar with other instruments or instrumental ensembles. He has composed seven pieces for flute and guitar, including a three-movement Sonatine. The composer writes that in Gémeaux, written for Similia, “contrasting moods succeed one another, with passages that evoke calm or uneasiness giving way to bright, energetic music.” Valse, on the other hand, “is of more modest intent and, with its lightness of spirit and clear simplicity, is also more French. It speaks to the heart, rather than to reason, using plain, direct language .”
Finally, Michael Conway Baker is one of Canada’s most sought after composers for cinema and television. Based in Vancouver, he has composed film scores for over 180 films and TV shows, many of them award-wining. He has also written over 125 symphonic and concert works, as well as dozens of chamber pieces. Elegy is a work originally written for flute and organ, which the composer was happy to rearrange for flute and guitar at the request of Similia.

Read more

About

Nadia Labrie
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres
AN 2 8871-2 Rencontr3s / Rencontres

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9819

Fantasia pour flûte et guitare

Date de sortie 18 octobre 2005
Numéro de l'album AN 2 9819
Periodes Romantique
Genres Musique de chambre

Informations sur l'album

La fantaisie instrumentale sur des mélodies populaires est probablement aussi ancienne que la musique elle-même. Au 19e siècle, ce genre de fantaisie fut surtout le fait de virtuoses qui aimaient se composer des pièces de bravoure faites sur mesure pour mettre en valeur leurs meilleurs atouts. Et une façon supplémentaire de favoriser l’adhésion du public était d’écrire des fantaisies sur des airs connus d’opéras célèbres. C’est justement ce que vous propose Similia, dans des arrangements pour flûte et guitare.

Dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, la facture de la flûte traversière avait atteint en France un niveau d’excellence unique en Europe. On y avait poursuivi le travail révolutionnaire de Theobald Boehm, un flûtiste et facteur allemand qui, en 1847, avait littéralement métamorphosé l’instrument. Il avait abandonné la flûte traditionnelle en bois à perce conique qui avait fait les belles heures du Baroque, pour créer celle que l’on connaît aujourd’hui et qui porte son nom, la flûte Boehm en métal cylindrique pourvue d’un jeu de clefs sur les trous permettant une plus grande précision et fluidité des traits de virtuosité. Les facteurs français perfectionnèrent ce jeu complexe et sophistiqué de clefs et les virtuoses français ne se contentèrent pas d’adopter plus rapidement que les autres ce qui demeurait alors un prototype que plusieurs regardaient avec suspicion, mais ils composèrent un important répertoire de pièces pour mettre en valeur les capacités exceptionnelles du nouvel instrument.

C’est le cas de Paul-Agricol (ou Agricole) Genin (1832-1909) et, une génération après lui, de François Borne (1862-1929), deux flûtistes dont, sur le plan biographique, on ne sait pratiquement rien, si ce n’est que Genin fut première chaise de l’orchestre du Théâtre Italien et des Concerts Colonne à Paris, et Borne, professeur de flûte au Conservatoire de Toulouse et co-inventeur d’un mécanisme qui permet au mi aigu de mieux répondre sur la flûte Boehm.

Si l’on ne connaît que peu de choses de ces deux musiciens qui ne semblent avoir écrit essentiellement que pour leur instrument, leurs nombreuses œuvres par contre se sont maintenues dans le répertoire au-delà des modes et contre vents et marées, à cause bien sûr de leur caractère brillant et virtuose, mais aussi à cause des airs d’opéras célèbres qu’elles s’amusent à faire surgir de ce qui, au départ, se présente comme une improvisation libre. C’est ce que fit François Borne dans sa Fantaisie brillante sur Carmen, imitant en cela les modèles de son prédécesseur Genin sur La Traviata, mais aussi de l’Allemand Karl Doppler, dans sa fantaisie pour deux flûtes sur Rigoletto.

Karl Doppler (1825-1900) commença sa carrière comme enfant prodige à l’âge de neuf ans en parcourant l’Europe avec son frère aîné Franz (1821-1883), également flûtiste. Le duo était réputé pour la cohésion de son jeu même dans les passages les plus difficiles, mais aussi parce que, Karl tenant sa flûte à l’envers (vers la gauche), l’ensemble donnait une image parfaitement symétrique. Fidèles jusqu’à la fin à l’ancienne flûte en bois, tous deux firent par la suite de brillantes carrières de virtuose, de chef d’orchestre et de compositeur, touchant à tous les genres, de la musique de chambre à l’opéra en passant par la musique symphonique et concertante. Ils passèrent d’abord près de 20 ans ensemble dans la capitale hongroise. Ensuite, Carl fut nommé Kapellmeister à la cour de Stuttgart et Franz, à Vienne, devint professeur au conservatoire et directeur du ballet de la cour impériale. La fantaisie pour deux flûtes sur Rigoletto de Karl fut probablement composée pour l’un des concerts qu’il ne cessa de donner avec son frère une fois adulte, ainsi que la Fantaisie pastorale hongroise de Franz, qui aurait peut-être aussi collaboré à celle sur Rigoletto.

Les flûtistes ne furent pas les seuls à écrire des  » fantaisies brillantes  » pour leur instrument. Les violonistes ne leur cédèrent en rien et Pablo de Sarasate (1844-1908) fut probablement le plus célèbre de sa génération. Né en Espagne, il fit cependant ses études au Conservatoire de Paris et la capitale française demeura son port d’attache jusqu’à sa mort, Sarasate menant une intense carrière à travers l’Europe et les Amériques. Il composa aussi pour son instrument plus d’une cinquantaine de pièces de virtuosité, soit avec piano, soit avec orchestre, une grande partie d’inspiration espagnole et une autre faite de fantaisies sur des airs d’opéras célèbres. Avec son titre allemand Zigeunerweisen, qui veut dire  » Airs  » (Weisen)  » Tziganes  » (Zigeuner), son opus 20, que Similia présente ici dans une version pour flûte et guitare, fait figure d’exception. Par sa succession de mélodies langoureuses et nostalgiques débouchant sur des traits de danse endiablée, la pièce s’inspire librement de la csardas hongroise, fausse danse populaire inventée de toutes pièces à la fin du 18e siècle par un aristocrate et qui, ironie de l’histoire, fut par la suite adoptée par les tziganes comme une des leurs. Mais, par la façon dont Sarasate multiplie dans ce canevas les effets spectaculaires, cette œuvre possède aussi toutes les caractéristiques d’une  » fantaisie brillante « .

_______________________________________

Entre ces brillantes fantaisies du 19e siècle, Similia a intercalé des œuvres de jeunes compositeurs d’aujourd’hui.
Guitariste et compositeur, le Français Erik Marchelie privilégie dans son oeuvre l’association de la guitare avec d’autres instruments ou ensembles instrumentaux. Pour la flûte et la guitare, il a composé pas moins de sept pièces, dont une Sonatine en trois mouvements. Dans Gémeaux, dédiée à Similia,  » des atmosphères contrastées sont mises en alternance « , note Marchelie ;  » à des moments calmes ou inquiets succèdent des passages vifs et énergiques « . Quant à la Valse, il s’agit d’une  » pièce plus modeste dans son propos, plus française également par son esprit de légèreté et d’évidente simplicité. Elle parle au cœur plus qu’à la raison dans un langage direct et dépouillé « .

Enfin, Michael Conway Baker est un des compositeurs canadiens les plus en demande dans le domaine du cinéma et de la télévision. Œuvrant à Vancouver, il a composé la musique de plus de 180 films et programmes de télévision, dont plusieurs ont été primés. Mais il a aussi à son actif plus de 125 œuvres de musique symphonique et concertante et plusieurs dizaines de musique de chambre. Elegy est une œuvre originalement conçue pour flûte et orgue que le compositeur s’est fait un plaisir de revoir pour flûte et guitare à la demande de Similia.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041

Start typing and press Enter to search