fbpx
AN 2 9817

Nota del Sol

Album information

Maximo Diego Pujol: Suite Buenos Aires and Dos Aires Candomberos

A guitarist and composer from Buenos Aires, Maximo Diego Pujol (1957-) is renowned for his compositions for guitar. In 1988, he was named classical music composer of the year by the Argentinean composers and authors union. Since then, his works have been regularly played and recorded around the world.

Suite Buenos Aires

Suite Buenos Aires takes the listener on a tour of the most well-known areas of Pujol’s home town: the working-class neighbourhood of “Pompea,” where the tango originated; the Italian quarter, “Palermo”; old “San Telmo,” with its cafés and bazaars; and finally, “Microcentro,” the heart of the city, with its business and commercial district and major arteries. The pieces have a clear and poignant style that is effective in evoking the spirit of these places.

Dos Aires Candomberos

Dos Aires Candomberos means “two candombe melodies,” the candombe being to Uruguay what the tango is to Argentina. But while the roots of the tango are Latino-European, the syncopated rhythm of the candombe is African in origin, introduced to Uruguay by black slaves during that country’s colonial period.

In “Nubes de Buenos Aires” (Clouds of Buenos Aires) and “Candombe de los Buenos Tiempos” (Candombe of the good old days), sustained guitar rhythms are tempered by the sad warmth of the flute lines and by the da capo form (intro-ABA’-coda) in which two up-tempo sections (A and A’) contrast with a slower, more meditative, introduction and B section.

Celso Machado: Musiques populaires brésiliennes (three excerpts)

A guitarist and composer of Brazilian origin, Celso Machado (1953-) first attended traditional samba schools, teaching himself to play guitar, before studying with Oscar M. Guerra (a student of a student of the famous Francisco Tarrega). His first recordings, Brasil Violão (1977) and Violão (1980), attracted both music fans and critics. In 1983, he was invited to London, where he was welcomed with such enthusiasm that he remained in Europe for nearly a decade. In 1992, he moved to Vancouver, where, after an invitation to Expo ’86 he became a regular performer at important festivals such as the International Jazz Festival and the Vancouver Folk Festival. The three pieces on this recording are excerpts from a six-dance suite for flute and guitar entitled Musiques populaires brésiliennes.

The pieces have fanciful, evocative titles such as “Piazza Vittorio” (chôro maxixe), the name of a plaza in Rome that made an impression on Machado; “Paçoca” (chôro), a traditional Brazilian dish made from a paste of Yuca flour mixed with other sweet or savoury ingredients; and “Pé de Moleque” (samba), which means “child’s foot” and refers to a Brazilian treat made from nuts and sugar.

Érik Marchelie: Tango

French guitarist and composer Érik Marchelie (1957-) studied at the conservatories of Tours, Versailles, and Paris. He teaches at the École Nationale de Musique in Mantes en Yvelines in addition to pursuing a career as a performer. As a composer, Marchelie writes primarily for his own instrument, both solos and chamber pieces. He wrote Tango for the duo he formed with recorder player Anne Leleu. The composer writes: “Tango was written in 2000 as an homage to Argentinean music—a music that awakens deep and sincere emotions in each of us, a music of resigned despair.”

Two traditional airs from Latin America: La Llorona and a milonga

La Llorona

La Llorona (the weeper) is a romance based on one of the oldest Mexican legends to emerge from the meeting of European and Native cultures following the Spanish conquest (around 1550). Every version of the legend describes a woman dressed in white, her face hidden behind a heavy veil, wailing as she wanders the streets of Mexico City at night.

Milonga

The milonga—the ancestor of the tango—emerged out of the working class neighbourhoods of Buenos Aires during the 19th-century economic boom that attracted millions of immigrants—mostly single men—to the city.

According to musicologists, the dance exhibits many influences, including the European waltz and polka and the Cuban habanera; its sensual nature is also cited frequently. However, as Jorge Luis Borges explains in Histoire du Tango, the milonga was originally danced by men, who were much more numerous in Buenos Aires at the time. Borges speculates that the dance was actually a stylization of the knife fights that were so prevalent in that male-dominated society.

Astor Piazzolla: Histoire du Tango

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992) literally revolutionized the tango. Indeed, the history of the genre could be divided into two eras: pre- and post-Piazzolla. He had always been torn between his two passions, the tango and classical music. Finally, in the late 1950s, his teacher, Nadia Boulanger, encouraged him to try and blend the two. He spent the rest of his career crossbreeding them and, in the process, completely redefined the traditional notion of the tango.

In Histoire du Tango, a piece written especially for flute and guitar, Piazzolla conveys the broad evolutionary stages of this dance, which arose out of the working-class districts of Buenos Aires around 1900 and conquered the world, becoming as much the musical trademark of Argentina as flamenco is for Spain. “Bordel 1900” recalls the dance’s somewhat disreputable origins; “Café 1930” evokes the emergence of song, which added a storytelling component to the tango; “Nightclub 1960” depicts how the tango was taken up and watered down by the crooners and “civilized” social dance; and finally, “Concert d’aujourd’hui” illustrates how Piazzolla used fusion compositional techniques to return dignity to the tango and elevate it to a new level.

© 2003, Guy Marchand for Traçantes, the music research, text-writing and translation service of the Société québécoise de recherche en musique. (Translation: Peter Christensen)

Read more

About

AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041

Start typing and press Enter to search

fbpx
AN 2 9817

Nota del Sol

Informations sur l'album

Pujol: Suite Buenos Aires et Dos Aires Candomberos

Guitariste et compositeur de Buenos Aires, Maximo Diego Pujol (1957-) est reconnu pour la qualité de ses œuvres dédiées à son instrument. En 1988, il remportait le prix du meilleur compositeur de musique classique de l’année de l’Union des auteurs et compositeurs argentins. Depuis, ses œuvres sont régulièrement jouées et enregistrées un peu partout dans le monde.

Suite Buenos Aires

La Suite Buenos Aires propose un tour des plus célèbres quartiers de sa ville natale: le populaire « Pompeya« , lieu d’origine du tango; l’italien « Palermo« ; le vieux « San Telmo » des cafés et des bazars; et enfin le « Microcentro« , cœur de la cité, quartier des affaires et des grandes artères commerciales. Dans un style clair et direct d’une belle poésie, chaque pièce rend avec justesse l’atmosphère spécifique du quartier qu’elle évoque.

Dos Aires Candomberos

Dos Aires Candomberos signifie « deux airs de candombe », le candombe étant à l’Uruguay ce que le tango est à l’Argentine. Mais, alors que les racines du tango sont plutôt latino-européennes, le rythme syncopé du candombe est d’origine africaine, introduit en Uruguay à l’époque coloniale par les esclaves noirs.

Dans les deux airs « Nubes de Buenos Aires » (Nuages de Buenos Aires) et « Candombe de los Buenos Tiempos » (Candombe du bon vieux temps), le rythme soutenu à la guitare est cependant tempéré par la chaleur élégiaque des mélodies de la flûte et une forme da capo (intro-ABA’-coda) dans laquelle, aux sections cadres plus allantes (A et A’), s’opposent une introduction et une section centrale (B) plus lentes et méditatives.

Machado: Musiques populaires brésiliennes (trois extraits)

Guitariste et compositeur d’origine brésilienne, Celso Machado (1953-) a d’abord fait les écoles traditionnelles de samba et développé son jeu à la guitare en autodidacte avant de parfaire sa formation auprès d’Oscar M. Guerra (un élève d’un élève de Tarrega). Ses premiers enregistrements, Brasil Violão (1977) et Violão (1980), attirent l’attention des mélomanes et de la critique. En 1983, il est invité à Londres et l’accueil est tel qu’il décide de rester en Europe. Machado y passera près d’une décennie avant de s’installer en 1992 à Vancouver où, depuis une invitation à l’Expo ’86, il est régulièrement l’invité d’importants festivals (International Jazz Festival, Vancouver Folk Festival).

Les trois pièces de cet enregistrement sont extraites d’une suite pour flûte et guitare intitulée Musiques populaires brésiliennes, six danses aux titres fantaisistes et évocateurs. « Piazza Vittorio » (chôro maxixe) est le nom d’une place de Rome qui a marqué le compositeur; « Paçoca » (chôro) est le nom d’un met traditionnel brésilien fait d’une pâte de farine de Yuca mélangée à d’autres ingrédients sucrés et savoureux; « Pé de Moleque » (samba) veut dire « pied d’enfant », nom donné à une friandise brésilienne faite de noix et de sucre.

Érik Marchelie: Tango

Guitariste et compositeur français, Érik Marchelie (1957-) a fait ses études aux conservatoires de Tours, de Versailles et de Paris. Il enseigne à l’École Nationale de Musique de Mantes en Yvelines tout en poursuivant une carrière d’interprète. Comme compositeur, il écrit avant tout pour son instrument, des œuvres solos et de musique de chambre, comme ce Tango conçu pour le duo qu’il a formé avec la flûtiste à bec Anne Leleu. « Composé en 2000, dit l’auteur, ce Tango est un hommage à la musique argentine, musique universelle par la profondeur et la sincérité des sentiments qu’elle suscite en chacun de nous, musique de la désespérance résignée. »

Deux airs traditionnels latino-américains: La Llorona et une Milonga

La Llorona

La Llorona (La pleureuse) est une romance fondée sur l’une des plus anciennes légendes mexicaines issues de la rencontre des cultures européenne et indienne au lendemain de la conquête espagnole (vers 1550). Toutes les versions évoquent une femme de blanc vêtue, le visage recouvert d’un voile épais, errant en se lamentant dans les rues de la ville endormie de Mexico.

Milonga

La milonga est l’ancêtre du tango. Elle émerge dans les quartiers populaires de Buenos Aires alors qu’à la fin du XIXe siècle, un boom économique attira des millions d’immigrants, dont une majorité d’hommes seuls. Selon les musicologues, cette danse trahirait de multiples influences: la valse et la polka européenne, ou encore la habanera cubaine.

On a aussi souvent souligné son caractère lascif et sensuel. Mais comme le soulignait Jorge Luis Borges dans son Histoire du Tango, la milonga se dansait à l’origine entre hommes, beaucoup plus nombreux que les femmes dans la Buenos Aires de l’époque. Et Borges se demande si cette danse ne serait pas plutôt une stylisation des duels au couteau qu’engendrait cette surpopulation masculine.

Piazzolla: Histoire du Tango

Astor Piazzolla (1921 – 1992)a littéralement révolutionné le tango. Dans l’histoire du genre, il y a désormais l’avant et l’après Piazzolla. Longtemps partagé entre deux passions, le tango et la musique classique, c’est vers la fin des années 1950, à l’instigation de Nadia Boulanger dont il était l’élève, qu’il entreprendra de fondre les deux et, jusqu’à la fin de sa carrière, il ne cessera de multiplier les métissages, faisant éclater le cadre traditionnel du genre.

Dans Histoire du Tango, pièce originalement écrite pour flûte et guitare, Piazzolla évoque les grandes étapes de l’évolution de cette danse qui, émergeant vers 1900 dans les quartiers populaires de Buenos Aires, devait conquérir la planète en devenant la marque musicale distinctive de l’Argentine comme le flamenco pour l’Espagne. « Bordel 1900 » rappelle ses origines plus ou moins malfamées. « Café 1930 » évoque l’émergence du chant qui, à la musique, rajouta l’art de conter. « Nightclub 1960 » souligne comment le tango fut récupéré et édulcoré par les crooners et la danse sociale policée. Enfin, « Concert d’aujourd’hui » illustre comment Piazzolla, par ses jeux de métissage, voulut redonner au tango sa dignité en lui offrant une nouvelle stature.

© 2003 Guy Marchand pour Traçantes, le service de recherche, de rédaction et de traduction de la Société québécoise de recherche en musique.

Lire la suite

À propos

AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041
AN 6 1041

Start typing and press Enter to search